tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE NAMES - Names In Mutation

THE NAMES

Names In Mutation

MusicCD
Cold WavePost Punk

[93/100]   

Les Disques Du Crépuscule
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps every music fan did it in the 80's: collect tapes. Once I got a tape by Marc Deprez, Ballade à Tervuren. An unknown name for most, but he is the guitarist of The Names, the best post-punk band Belgium ever had. There were three instrumental tracks on the release. Yes, all wonderful, but it sounded like The Durutti Column: the same technique, and mostly the same melancholy. I have cherished the cassette until it was broken. Disappointed for sure, but how could I know that once James Nice (the archivist of both Les Disques Du Crépuscule and Factory Benelux) would release all these beautiful songs on CD?

Today, The Names In Mutation is available, on which you find both the solo tape and a live recording (on February 3 at the Beursschouwburg in Brussels.

During this tour, The Names played as Names In Mutation because the band wanted to show its darkest side. The set begins with Véronique (the kind of title only Vini can come up with) and then the sublime instrumental Music For Someone.

In Leave Her to Heaven, we hear the perfect lament by Michel Sordinia, with an extra dimension because of the use of echoes. (This Is) Harmony with its cold drums is better than the version on the debut Swimming, which was produced by Factory-producer Martin Hannett. Shanghai Gesture also has a special dimension, the desperate voice is in perfect harmony with the (almost eerie) synth melodies.

The small gadget ends with a poignant version of Light. An indispensable piece of music history!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Wellicht deed iedere muziekfanaat het in de jaren 80: tapes verzamelen. Ooit kreeg ik een cassette in mijn handen van Marc Deprez: Ballade à Tervueren. De naam zegt je misschien niets, maar hij is wel degelijk de gitarist van The Names, zeg maar de beste postpunkband die België ooit heeft gehad. Op de release stonden drie instrumentale tracks. Jawel, allemaal prachtig, maar ze klonken wel enorm op The Durutti Column: dezelfde techniek, maar vooral dezelfde melancholie. Ik koesterde de cassette tot die op een bepaald moment stuk was gespeeld. Droevig, maar hoe kon ik toen weten dat James Nice (de archivaris van zowel Les Disques Du Crépuscule en Factory Benelux) ooit al deze prachte songs opnieuw op cd zou uitbrengen?

Vandaag is het zo ver, The Names: In Mutation ligt in de winkel en je vindt er zowel die felbegeerde solotape op, alsook een live-opname die geregistreerd werd op 3 februari in de Brusselse Beursschouwburg.

Tijdens deze toer speelden The Names onder de naam Names In Mutation omdat de Brusselaars hun donkerste kant wilden laten zien. De set begint met Véronique (het soort titel dat alleen Vini kan verzinnen) en daarna de sublieme instrumentaal Music For someone.

In Leave Her To Heaven horen we de perfecte klaagzang van Michel Sordinia die door de echo’s nog een extra dimensie krijgt. (This Is) Harmony is door de koude drums nog beter dan de versie op het debuut Swimming, dat trouwens door Factory-producer Martin Hannett werd geproducet. Ook Shangai Gesture krijgt een speciale dimensie, een wanhopige stem in perfecte harmonie met de (bijna angstaanjagende) synthmelodieën.

Het kleine hebbeding wordt afgesloten met een aangrijpende versie van Light. Een stukje onmisbare muziekgeschiedenis!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HYSTERESIS • Hegemonia Cultural
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SX • Brussels, AB (30/04/2016)
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
MANIC STREET PREACHERS • Brussels, AB (01/05/2016)
GLACIS • Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now
RED SLEEPING BEAUTY • Red Sleeping Beauty
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE ARCH • Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)
LORD OF THE LOST • The Love Of God

 

Other reviews from THE NAMES
THE NAMES • German Nights
THE NAMES • Brussels, Novanois 29/05/2015
THE NAMES • Stranger Than You
THE NAMES • CLASSICS : In Time

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + POST PUNK
RINGFINGER • Pressure
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
WHISPERING SONS • Image
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
O VEUX • O Veux
VEIL OF LIGHT • Talisman (EP)
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!
THE INSIGHT • White Noise

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty