tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE NAMES - Names In Mutation

THE NAMES

Names In Mutation

MusicCD
Cold WavePost Punk

[93/100]   

Les Disques Du Crépuscule
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps every music fan did it in the 80's: collect tapes. Once I got a tape by Marc Deprez, Ballade à Tervuren. An unknown name for most, but he is the guitarist of The Names, the best post-punk band Belgium ever had. There were three instrumental tracks on the release. Yes, all wonderful, but it sounded like The Durutti Column: the same technique, and mostly the same melancholy. I have cherished the cassette until it was broken. Disappointed for sure, but how could I know that once James Nice (the archivist of both Les Disques Du Crépuscule and Factory Benelux) would release all these beautiful songs on CD?

Today, The Names In Mutation is available, on which you find both the solo tape and a live recording (on February 3 at the Beursschouwburg in Brussels.

During this tour, The Names played as Names In Mutation because the band wanted to show its darkest side. The set begins with Véronique (the kind of title only Vini can come up with) and then the sublime instrumental Music For Someone.

In Leave Her to Heaven, we hear the perfect lament by Michel Sordinia, with an extra dimension because of the use of echoes. (This Is) Harmony with its cold drums is better than the version on the debut Swimming, which was produced by Factory-producer Martin Hannett. Shanghai Gesture also has a special dimension, the desperate voice is in perfect harmony with the (almost eerie) synth melodies.

The small gadget ends with a poignant version of Light. An indispensable piece of music history!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Wellicht deed iedere muziekfanaat het in de jaren 80: tapes verzamelen. Ooit kreeg ik een cassette in mijn handen van Marc Deprez: Ballade à Tervueren. De naam zegt je misschien niets, maar hij is wel degelijk de gitarist van The Names, zeg maar de beste postpunkband die België ooit heeft gehad. Op de release stonden drie instrumentale tracks. Jawel, allemaal prachtig, maar ze klonken wel enorm op The Durutti Column: dezelfde techniek, maar vooral dezelfde melancholie. Ik koesterde de cassette tot die op een bepaald moment stuk was gespeeld. Droevig, maar hoe kon ik toen weten dat James Nice (de archivaris van zowel Les Disques Du Crépuscule en Factory Benelux) ooit al deze prachte songs opnieuw op cd zou uitbrengen?

Vandaag is het zo ver, The Names: In Mutation ligt in de winkel en je vindt er zowel die felbegeerde solotape op, alsook een live-opname die geregistreerd werd op 3 februari in de Brusselse Beursschouwburg.

Tijdens deze toer speelden The Names onder de naam Names In Mutation omdat de Brusselaars hun donkerste kant wilden laten zien. De set begint met Véronique (het soort titel dat alleen Vini kan verzinnen) en daarna de sublieme instrumentaal Music For someone.

In Leave Her To Heaven horen we de perfecte klaagzang van Michel Sordinia die door de echo’s nog een extra dimensie krijgt. (This Is) Harmony is door de koude drums nog beter dan de versie op het debuut Swimming, dat trouwens door Factory-producer Martin Hannett werd geproducet. Ook Shangai Gesture krijgt een speciale dimensie, een wanhopige stem in perfecte harmonie met de (bijna angstaanjagende) synthmelodieën.

Het kleine hebbeding wordt afgesloten met een aangrijpende versie van Light. Een stukje onmisbare muziekgeschiedenis!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HYSTERESIS • Hegemonia Cultural
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SX • Brussels, AB (30/04/2016)
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
MANIC STREET PREACHERS • Brussels, AB (01/05/2016)
GLACIS • Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now
RED SLEEPING BEAUTY • Red Sleeping Beauty
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE ARCH • Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)
LORD OF THE LOST • The Love Of God

 

Other reviews from THE NAMES
THE NAMES • German Nights
THE NAMES • Brussels, Novanois 29/05/2015
THE NAMES • Stranger Than You
THE NAMES • CLASSICS : In Time

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + POST PUNK
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
WHISPERING SONS • Image
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
O VEUX • O Veux
VEIL OF LIGHT • Talisman (EP)
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!
THE INSIGHT • White Noise
B9: BELGIAN COLD WAVE • 1979-1983
HAPAX • Stream of Consciousness
CRISPY AMBULANCE • CLASSICS: The Plateau Phase

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus