tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : THE NAMES - Names In Mutation

THE NAMES

Names In Mutation

MusicCD
Cold WavePost Punk

[93/100]   

Les Disques Du Crépuscule
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps every music fan did it in the 80's: collect tapes. Once I got a tape by Marc Deprez, Ballade à Tervuren. An unknown name for most, but he is the guitarist of The Names, the best post-punk band Belgium ever had. There were three instrumental tracks on the release. Yes, all wonderful, but it sounded like The Durutti Column: the same technique, and mostly the same melancholy. I have cherished the cassette until it was broken. Disappointed for sure, but how could I know that once James Nice (the archivist of both Les Disques Du Crépuscule and Factory Benelux) would release all these beautiful songs on CD?

Today, The Names In Mutation is available, on which you find both the solo tape and a live recording (on February 3 at the Beursschouwburg in Brussels.

During this tour, The Names played as Names In Mutation because the band wanted to show its darkest side. The set begins with Véronique (the kind of title only Vini can come up with) and then the sublime instrumental Music For Someone.

In Leave Her to Heaven, we hear the perfect lament by Michel Sordinia, with an extra dimension because of the use of echoes. (This Is) Harmony with its cold drums is better than the version on the debut Swimming, which was produced by Factory-producer Martin Hannett. Shanghai Gesture also has a special dimension, the desperate voice is in perfect harmony with the (almost eerie) synth melodies.

The small gadget ends with a poignant version of Light. An indispensable piece of music history!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Wellicht deed iedere muziekfanaat het in de jaren 80: tapes verzamelen. Ooit kreeg ik een cassette in mijn handen van Marc Deprez: Ballade à Tervueren. De naam zegt je misschien niets, maar hij is wel degelijk de gitarist van The Names, zeg maar de beste postpunkband die België ooit heeft gehad. Op de release stonden drie instrumentale tracks. Jawel, allemaal prachtig, maar ze klonken wel enorm op The Durutti Column: dezelfde techniek, maar vooral dezelfde melancholie. Ik koesterde de cassette tot die op een bepaald moment stuk was gespeeld. Droevig, maar hoe kon ik toen weten dat James Nice (de archivaris van zowel Les Disques Du Crépuscule en Factory Benelux) ooit al deze prachte songs opnieuw op cd zou uitbrengen?

Vandaag is het zo ver, The Names: In Mutation ligt in de winkel en je vindt er zowel die felbegeerde solotape op, alsook een live-opname die geregistreerd werd op 3 februari in de Brusselse Beursschouwburg.

Tijdens deze toer speelden The Names onder de naam Names In Mutation omdat de Brusselaars hun donkerste kant wilden laten zien. De set begint met Véronique (het soort titel dat alleen Vini kan verzinnen) en daarna de sublieme instrumentaal Music For someone.

In Leave Her To Heaven horen we de perfecte klaagzang van Michel Sordinia die door de echo’s nog een extra dimensie krijgt. (This Is) Harmony is door de koude drums nog beter dan de versie op het debuut Swimming, dat trouwens door Factory-producer Martin Hannett werd geproducet. Ook Shangai Gesture krijgt een speciale dimensie, een wanhopige stem in perfecte harmonie met de (bijna angstaanjagende) synthmelodieën.

Het kleine hebbeding wordt afgesloten met een aangrijpende versie van Light. Een stukje onmisbare muziekgeschiedenis!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HYSTERESIS • Hegemonia Cultural
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SX • Brussels, AB (30/04/2016)
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
MANIC STREET PREACHERS • Brussels, AB (01/05/2016)
GLACIS • Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now
RED SLEEPING BEAUTY • Red Sleeping Beauty
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE ARCH • Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)
LORD OF THE LOST • The Love Of God

 

Other reviews from THE NAMES
THE NAMES • German Nights
THE NAMES • Brussels, Novanois 29/05/2015
THE NAMES • Stranger Than You
THE NAMES • CLASSICS : In Time

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + POST PUNK
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
O VEUX • O Veux
VEIL OF LIGHT • Talisman (EP)
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!
THE INSIGHT • White Noise
B9: BELGIAN COLD WAVE • 1979-1983
HAPAX • Stream of Consciousness
CRISPY AMBULANCE • CLASSICS: The Plateau Phase
DREAM AFFAIR • From Now On
AVGVST • Onlooker

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
WINTER SEVERITY INDEX • Human Taxonomy
NORMA LOY • Baphomet
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
HONEYMOON COWBOYS • Still
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
MEDIUM MEDIUM • The Glitterhouse

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!
15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force
11
01
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive