tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE NAMES - Names In Mutation

THE NAMES

Names In Mutation

MusicCD
Cold WavePost Punk

[93/100]   

Les Disques Du Crépuscule
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps every music fan did it in the 80's: collect tapes. Once I got a tape by Marc Deprez, Ballade à Tervuren. An unknown name for most, but he is the guitarist of The Names, the best post-punk band Belgium ever had. There were three instrumental tracks on the release. Yes, all wonderful, but it sounded like The Durutti Column: the same technique, and mostly the same melancholy. I have cherished the cassette until it was broken. Disappointed for sure, but how could I know that once James Nice (the archivist of both Les Disques Du Crépuscule and Factory Benelux) would release all these beautiful songs on CD?

Today, The Names In Mutation is available, on which you find both the solo tape and a live recording (on February 3 at the Beursschouwburg in Brussels.

During this tour, The Names played as Names In Mutation because the band wanted to show its darkest side. The set begins with Véronique (the kind of title only Vini can come up with) and then the sublime instrumental Music For Someone.

In Leave Her to Heaven, we hear the perfect lament by Michel Sordinia, with an extra dimension because of the use of echoes. (This Is) Harmony with its cold drums is better than the version on the debut Swimming, which was produced by Factory-producer Martin Hannett. Shanghai Gesture also has a special dimension, the desperate voice is in perfect harmony with the (almost eerie) synth melodies.

The small gadget ends with a poignant version of Light. An indispensable piece of music history!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Wellicht deed iedere muziekfanaat het in de jaren 80: tapes verzamelen. Ooit kreeg ik een cassette in mijn handen van Marc Deprez: Ballade à Tervueren. De naam zegt je misschien niets, maar hij is wel degelijk de gitarist van The Names, zeg maar de beste postpunkband die België ooit heeft gehad. Op de release stonden drie instrumentale tracks. Jawel, allemaal prachtig, maar ze klonken wel enorm op The Durutti Column: dezelfde techniek, maar vooral dezelfde melancholie. Ik koesterde de cassette tot die op een bepaald moment stuk was gespeeld. Droevig, maar hoe kon ik toen weten dat James Nice (de archivaris van zowel Les Disques Du Crépuscule en Factory Benelux) ooit al deze prachte songs opnieuw op cd zou uitbrengen?

Vandaag is het zo ver, The Names: In Mutation ligt in de winkel en je vindt er zowel die felbegeerde solotape op, alsook een live-opname die geregistreerd werd op 3 februari in de Brusselse Beursschouwburg.

Tijdens deze toer speelden The Names onder de naam Names In Mutation omdat de Brusselaars hun donkerste kant wilden laten zien. De set begint met Véronique (het soort titel dat alleen Vini kan verzinnen) en daarna de sublieme instrumentaal Music For someone.

In Leave Her To Heaven horen we de perfecte klaagzang van Michel Sordinia die door de echo’s nog een extra dimensie krijgt. (This Is) Harmony is door de koude drums nog beter dan de versie op het debuut Swimming, dat trouwens door Factory-producer Martin Hannett werd geproducet. Ook Shangai Gesture krijgt een speciale dimensie, een wanhopige stem in perfecte harmonie met de (bijna angstaanjagende) synthmelodieën.

Het kleine hebbeding wordt afgesloten met een aangrijpende versie van Light. Een stukje onmisbare muziekgeschiedenis!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HYSTERESIS • Hegemonia Cultural
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SX • Brussels, AB (30/04/2016)
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
MANIC STREET PREACHERS • Brussels, AB (01/05/2016)
GLACIS • Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now
RED SLEEPING BEAUTY • Red Sleeping Beauty
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE ARCH • Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)
LORD OF THE LOST • The Love Of God

 

Other reviews from THE NAMES
THE NAMES • German Nights
THE NAMES • Brussels, Novanois 29/05/2015
THE NAMES • Stranger Than You
THE NAMES • CLASSICS : In Time

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + POST PUNK
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
WHISPERING SONS • Image
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
O VEUX • O Veux
VEIL OF LIGHT • Talisman (EP)
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!
THE INSIGHT • White Noise
B9: BELGIAN COLD WAVE • 1979-1983
HAPAX • Stream of Consciousness
CRISPY AMBULANCE • CLASSICS: The Plateau Phase

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death
13
05
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning