tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : THE NAMES - Names In Mutation

THE NAMES

Names In Mutation

MusicCD
Cold WavePost Punk

[93/100]   

Les Disques Du Crépuscule
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps every music fan did it in the 80's: collect tapes. Once I got a tape by Marc Deprez, Ballade à Tervuren. An unknown name for most, but he is the guitarist of The Names, the best post-punk band Belgium ever had. There were three instrumental tracks on the release. Yes, all wonderful, but it sounded like The Durutti Column: the same technique, and mostly the same melancholy. I have cherished the cassette until it was broken. Disappointed for sure, but how could I know that once James Nice (the archivist of both Les Disques Du Crépuscule and Factory Benelux) would release all these beautiful songs on CD?

Today, The Names In Mutation is available, on which you find both the solo tape and a live recording (on February 3 at the Beursschouwburg in Brussels.

During this tour, The Names played as Names In Mutation because the band wanted to show its darkest side. The set begins with Véronique (the kind of title only Vini can come up with) and then the sublime instrumental Music For Someone.

In Leave Her to Heaven, we hear the perfect lament by Michel Sordinia, with an extra dimension because of the use of echoes. (This Is) Harmony with its cold drums is better than the version on the debut Swimming, which was produced by Factory-producer Martin Hannett. Shanghai Gesture also has a special dimension, the desperate voice is in perfect harmony with the (almost eerie) synth melodies.

The small gadget ends with a poignant version of Light. An indispensable piece of music history!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Wellicht deed iedere muziekfanaat het in de jaren 80: tapes verzamelen. Ooit kreeg ik een cassette in mijn handen van Marc Deprez: Ballade à Tervueren. De naam zegt je misschien niets, maar hij is wel degelijk de gitarist van The Names, zeg maar de beste postpunkband die België ooit heeft gehad. Op de release stonden drie instrumentale tracks. Jawel, allemaal prachtig, maar ze klonken wel enorm op The Durutti Column: dezelfde techniek, maar vooral dezelfde melancholie. Ik koesterde de cassette tot die op een bepaald moment stuk was gespeeld. Droevig, maar hoe kon ik toen weten dat James Nice (de archivaris van zowel Les Disques Du Crépuscule en Factory Benelux) ooit al deze prachte songs opnieuw op cd zou uitbrengen?

Vandaag is het zo ver, The Names: In Mutation ligt in de winkel en je vindt er zowel die felbegeerde solotape op, alsook een live-opname die geregistreerd werd op 3 februari in de Brusselse Beursschouwburg.

Tijdens deze toer speelden The Names onder de naam Names In Mutation omdat de Brusselaars hun donkerste kant wilden laten zien. De set begint met Véronique (het soort titel dat alleen Vini kan verzinnen) en daarna de sublieme instrumentaal Music For someone.

In Leave Her To Heaven horen we de perfecte klaagzang van Michel Sordinia die door de echo’s nog een extra dimensie krijgt. (This Is) Harmony is door de koude drums nog beter dan de versie op het debuut Swimming, dat trouwens door Factory-producer Martin Hannett werd geproducet. Ook Shangai Gesture krijgt een speciale dimensie, een wanhopige stem in perfecte harmonie met de (bijna angstaanjagende) synthmelodieën.

Het kleine hebbeding wordt afgesloten met een aangrijpende versie van Light. Een stukje onmisbare muziekgeschiedenis!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HYSTERESIS • Hegemonia Cultural
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SX • Brussels, AB (30/04/2016)
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
MANIC STREET PREACHERS • Brussels, AB (01/05/2016)
GLACIS • Love, If You Love Me, Lie Beside Me Now
RED SLEEPING BEAUTY • Red Sleeping Beauty
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE ARCH • Brussels, The Backpacker Bar (29/04/2016)
LORD OF THE LOST • The Love Of God

 

Other reviews from THE NAMES
THE NAMES • German Nights
THE NAMES • Brussels, Novanois 29/05/2015
THE NAMES • Stranger Than You
THE NAMES • CLASSICS : In Time

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + POST PUNK
WHISPERING SONS • Image
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
O VEUX • O Veux
VEIL OF LIGHT • Talisman (EP)
FACTICE FACTORY • !Nada!
THE INSIGHT • White Noise
B9: BELGIAN COLD WAVE • 1979-1983
HAPAX • Stream of Consciousness
CRISPY AMBULANCE • CLASSICS: The Plateau Phase
DREAM AFFAIR • From Now On

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
LYNCELIA • Forsaken Innocence
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid