tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

09/12/2016 : LA MUERTE - Murder Machine

LA MUERTE

Murder Machine

MusicVinyl
NoiseRock

[90/100]   

Mottow Soundz
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

We are the Dark Side of Your Soul, says the band and who ever saw La Muerte live, can only agree. Since 2015, with a renewed lineup, the 30th anniversary was celebrated with a series of concerts, and you could feel the vibe and the renewed interest.

The concert was not a jukebox or some cash profit, but it showed that La Muerte still sounds relevant and that the new lineup, led by Marc Du Marais and Dee-J, stands like a rock. La Muerte is devilish. What was not planned previously, has become truth: there is new material by La Muerte.

Just as in the good old days, the band released an EP with three tracks. In January, the band went into the studio and on Record Store Day this EP became available. It opens with Wacked This Guy, a short energy bomb with all the ingredients of a solid song in the good old La Muerte tradition: uptempo, Marc’s frenzy, pointed and sharp guitars, bone drums and solid bass.

Je Suis Le Destructeur is more dirty and sounds like pure rock n 'roll on kerosene. This song is even better than the opener. Get Whipped is the last and longest song: it is slowly with a heavy, lumbering pace. A sinister serenade by Du Marais as he is the devil himself who makes his speech at the pulpit.

The EP is a must-have for La Muerte fans or for those who love guitar violence with a dark touch. A confirmation of what we saw on stage. Available in clear or bloodbath vinyl with a download code.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

“We are the Dark Side of Your Soul”, afficheert deze band en wie hem ooit live aan het werk zag, kan dit alleen maar beamen. Sinds in 2015, met een hernieuwde line-up, het 30-jarig bestaan werd gevierd met een reeks concerten, voelden we de vibe en de hernieuwde belangstelling voor de band. De concertreeks was geen jukebox of kassagewin, maar toonde aan dat La Muerte wel degelijk nog relevant klinkt en dat de nieuwe bezetting onder leiding van oerleden Marc Du Marais en Dee-J stevig in de schoenen staat. La Muerte is duivels, donker en het slaat en zalft (vooral slaan).

Wat vooraf niet de intentie was, is nu toch waarheid geworden: er is nieuw materiaal van La Muerte. Zoals in de traditie van de good old days in ep-vorm met drie tracks. In januari ging de band de studio in en op Record Store Day werd de ep uitgebracht.

De ep opent met Wacked This Guy, een korte energiebom met alle ingrediënten van een stevige song in de goede oude La Muerte-traditie: uptempo, de razernij van Marc, puntig en scherp gitaarwerk, bot drumwerk en een stevige bas. Je Suis Le Destructeur is nog iets vuiler en klinkt als pure rock n’ roll op kerosine. Deze song is nog beter dan de opener en live rockt hij als de beesten. Get Whipped is de laatste en de langste song: hij wordt langzaam op gang getrokken en walst met een zware logge tred over alles heen. Heerlijk gitaarwerk, droog drumwerk en de onheilspellende serenade van Du Marais als ware het de duivel zelf die op de kansel zijn redevoering afsteekt.

De ep is een must-have voor de liefhebbers van La Muerte of van gitzwart gitaargeweld. Een bevestiging van wat we al zeiden: La Muerte leeft en verkeert in goeden doen. Verkrijgbaar op clear of blood bath vinyl met downloadcode. Je zou hem al in huis moeten hebben en om de vibe te voelen is het bijwonen van een concert essentieel.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
08
Diane Grace signs Devil's pact with Starman Records
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
08
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control