tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

11/12/2016 : MOON WORSHIP - Book of Pops

MOON WORSHIP

Book of Pops

MusicCassette
ExperimentalNoiseRockabillyThrash

[85/100]   

Raining Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You might expect more dreamy or ethereal music when hearing the name of this band, but Moon Worship from NYC makes nasty, raw, dark and bluesy music. Not as artistic as Tom Waits, but straight from the gut: honest and right in your face. Beauty exists in ugliness. That' s the case here. With bass, drums, vocals and growls, keys and synth, five songs have been recorded live that increases the raw feeling of the music.

Swamp Water Baptism sounds pretty intoxicating after the two direct and raw tracks Rat City and Temple of Greed. Here Moon Worship shows to have a feeling for melody. The female vocals - we could not figure out whether it is a band member or a sample - sound almost angelic. In Here Comes Hell, the female vocals lure you through the gates of hell. Gaol is about what happens once you are in the hell. It does not look attractive...

The EP Book of Pops is no pop music. It is raw and intense with influences of rockabilly, blues, noise and trash. Music for those who love the rawest of Tom Waits, The Birthday Party, etc. Available on tape or download via bandcamp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Je zal misschien eerder zweverige of etherische muziek verwachten als je de bandnaam hoort. Niets is minder waar. Moon Worship uit NYC maakt smerige, rauwe, donkere en bluesy muziek. Niet zo artistiek als een Tom Waits pleegt te doen, maar eerder recht vanuit de onderbuik: eerlijk en recht in je gezicht. Schoonheid bestaat ook in lelijkheid. Dat is hier het geval. Met bas, drum, vocals en growls, keys en synths zijn vijf songs live opgenomen. Die live-opname vergroot het rauwe gevoel van de muziek.

Swampwater Baptism klinkt vrij bezwerend na de twee directe en rauwe tracks Rat City en Temple of Greed. Hier toont Moon Worship gevoel te hebben voor melodie. De vrouwelijke vocals - we konden niet achterhalen of het om een bandlid of een sample gaat - klinken bijna engelachtig. Op Here Comes Hell lokt de vrouwelijke zang je zo de poorten van de hel in. Gaol lijkt op wat er gebeurt eenmaal je in de hel bent. Het ziet er niet fraai uit…

Book of Pops is een ep dat niets met pop te maken heeft. Hij is rauwe en intens met invloeden van rockabilly, blues, noise en trash. Muziek voor wie houdt van het rauwste van Tom Waits, The Birthday Party en aanverwanten. Verkrijgbaar op cassette of te downloaden via bandcamp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
DORIC • Sleep Of Reason
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017

 

Same genre: NOISE
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCKABILLY
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
JACKSON FIREBIRD • Cock Rock
THE BRAINS • Drunk not dead

 

Same genre: THRASH
ELVARON • Ghost Of A Blood Tie
LA HORDE • Dystopie
DARKER IT GETS • Broken Ground
MESSER CHUPS • Church Of Reverb

Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido