tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

11/12/2016 : MOON WORSHIP - Book of Pops

MOON WORSHIP

Book of Pops

MusicCassette
ExperimentalNoiseRockabillyThrash

[85/100]   

Raining Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You might expect more dreamy or ethereal music when hearing the name of this band, but Moon Worship from NYC makes nasty, raw, dark and bluesy music. Not as artistic as Tom Waits, but straight from the gut: honest and right in your face. Beauty exists in ugliness. That' s the case here. With bass, drums, vocals and growls, keys and synth, five songs have been recorded live that increases the raw feeling of the music.

Swamp Water Baptism sounds pretty intoxicating after the two direct and raw tracks Rat City and Temple of Greed. Here Moon Worship shows to have a feeling for melody. The female vocals - we could not figure out whether it is a band member or a sample - sound almost angelic. In Here Comes Hell, the female vocals lure you through the gates of hell. Gaol is about what happens once you are in the hell. It does not look attractive...

The EP Book of Pops is no pop music. It is raw and intense with influences of rockabilly, blues, noise and trash. Music for those who love the rawest of Tom Waits, The Birthday Party, etc. Available on tape or download via bandcamp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Je zal misschien eerder zweverige of etherische muziek verwachten als je de bandnaam hoort. Niets is minder waar. Moon Worship uit NYC maakt smerige, rauwe, donkere en bluesy muziek. Niet zo artistiek als een Tom Waits pleegt te doen, maar eerder recht vanuit de onderbuik: eerlijk en recht in je gezicht. Schoonheid bestaat ook in lelijkheid. Dat is hier het geval. Met bas, drum, vocals en growls, keys en synths zijn vijf songs live opgenomen. Die live-opname vergroot het rauwe gevoel van de muziek.

Swampwater Baptism klinkt vrij bezwerend na de twee directe en rauwe tracks Rat City en Temple of Greed. Hier toont Moon Worship gevoel te hebben voor melodie. De vrouwelijke vocals - we konden niet achterhalen of het om een bandlid of een sample gaat - klinken bijna engelachtig. Op Here Comes Hell lokt de vrouwelijke zang je zo de poorten van de hel in. Gaol lijkt op wat er gebeurt eenmaal je in de hel bent. Het ziet er niet fraai uit…

Book of Pops is een ep dat niets met pop te maken heeft. Hij is rauwe en intens met invloeden van rockabilly, blues, noise en trash. Muziek voor wie houdt van het rauwste van Tom Waits, The Birthday Party en aanverwanten. Verkrijgbaar op cassette of te downloaden via bandcamp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
DORIC • Sleep Of Reason
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCKABILLY
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
JACKSON FIREBIRD • Cock Rock
THE BRAINS • Drunk not dead

 

Same genre: THRASH
ELVARON • Ghost Of A Blood Tie
LA HORDE • Dystopie
DARKER IT GETS • Broken Ground
MESSER CHUPS • Church Of Reverb

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide