tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

11/12/2016 : MOON WORSHIP - Book of Pops

MOON WORSHIP

Book of Pops

MusicCassette
ExperimentalNoiseRockabillyThrash

[85/100]   

Raining Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You might expect more dreamy or ethereal music when hearing the name of this band, but Moon Worship from NYC makes nasty, raw, dark and bluesy music. Not as artistic as Tom Waits, but straight from the gut: honest and right in your face. Beauty exists in ugliness. That' s the case here. With bass, drums, vocals and growls, keys and synth, five songs have been recorded live that increases the raw feeling of the music.

Swamp Water Baptism sounds pretty intoxicating after the two direct and raw tracks Rat City and Temple of Greed. Here Moon Worship shows to have a feeling for melody. The female vocals - we could not figure out whether it is a band member or a sample - sound almost angelic. In Here Comes Hell, the female vocals lure you through the gates of hell. Gaol is about what happens once you are in the hell. It does not look attractive...

The EP Book of Pops is no pop music. It is raw and intense with influences of rockabilly, blues, noise and trash. Music for those who love the rawest of Tom Waits, The Birthday Party, etc. Available on tape or download via bandcamp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Je zal misschien eerder zweverige of etherische muziek verwachten als je de bandnaam hoort. Niets is minder waar. Moon Worship uit NYC maakt smerige, rauwe, donkere en bluesy muziek. Niet zo artistiek als een Tom Waits pleegt te doen, maar eerder recht vanuit de onderbuik: eerlijk en recht in je gezicht. Schoonheid bestaat ook in lelijkheid. Dat is hier het geval. Met bas, drum, vocals en growls, keys en synths zijn vijf songs live opgenomen. Die live-opname vergroot het rauwe gevoel van de muziek.

Swampwater Baptism klinkt vrij bezwerend na de twee directe en rauwe tracks Rat City en Temple of Greed. Hier toont Moon Worship gevoel te hebben voor melodie. De vrouwelijke vocals - we konden niet achterhalen of het om een bandlid of een sample gaat - klinken bijna engelachtig. Op Here Comes Hell lokt de vrouwelijke zang je zo de poorten van de hel in. Gaol lijkt op wat er gebeurt eenmaal je in de hel bent. Het ziet er niet fraai uit…

Book of Pops is een ep dat niets met pop te maken heeft. Hij is rauwe en intens met invloeden van rockabilly, blues, noise en trash. Muziek voor wie houdt van het rauwste van Tom Waits, The Birthday Party en aanverwanten. Verkrijgbaar op cassette of te downloaden via bandcamp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
DORIC • Sleep Of Reason
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: ROCKABILLY
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
JACKSON FIREBIRD • Cock Rock
THE BRAINS • Drunk not dead

 

Same genre: THRASH
ELVARON • Ghost Of A Blood Tie
LA HORDE • Dystopie
DARKER IT GETS • Broken Ground
MESSER CHUPS • Church Of Reverb

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless