tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

11/12/2016 : MOON WORSHIP - Book of Pops

MOON WORSHIP

Book of Pops

MusicCassette
ExperimentalNoiseRockabillyThrash

[85/100]   

Raining Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You might expect more dreamy or ethereal music when hearing the name of this band, but Moon Worship from NYC makes nasty, raw, dark and bluesy music. Not as artistic as Tom Waits, but straight from the gut: honest and right in your face. Beauty exists in ugliness. That' s the case here. With bass, drums, vocals and growls, keys and synth, five songs have been recorded live that increases the raw feeling of the music.

Swamp Water Baptism sounds pretty intoxicating after the two direct and raw tracks Rat City and Temple of Greed. Here Moon Worship shows to have a feeling for melody. The female vocals - we could not figure out whether it is a band member or a sample - sound almost angelic. In Here Comes Hell, the female vocals lure you through the gates of hell. Gaol is about what happens once you are in the hell. It does not look attractive...

The EP Book of Pops is no pop music. It is raw and intense with influences of rockabilly, blues, noise and trash. Music for those who love the rawest of Tom Waits, The Birthday Party, etc. Available on tape or download via bandcamp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Je zal misschien eerder zweverige of etherische muziek verwachten als je de bandnaam hoort. Niets is minder waar. Moon Worship uit NYC maakt smerige, rauwe, donkere en bluesy muziek. Niet zo artistiek als een Tom Waits pleegt te doen, maar eerder recht vanuit de onderbuik: eerlijk en recht in je gezicht. Schoonheid bestaat ook in lelijkheid. Dat is hier het geval. Met bas, drum, vocals en growls, keys en synths zijn vijf songs live opgenomen. Die live-opname vergroot het rauwe gevoel van de muziek.

Swampwater Baptism klinkt vrij bezwerend na de twee directe en rauwe tracks Rat City en Temple of Greed. Hier toont Moon Worship gevoel te hebben voor melodie. De vrouwelijke vocals - we konden niet achterhalen of het om een bandlid of een sample gaat - klinken bijna engelachtig. Op Here Comes Hell lokt de vrouwelijke zang je zo de poorten van de hel in. Gaol lijkt op wat er gebeurt eenmaal je in de hel bent. Het ziet er niet fraai uit…

Book of Pops is een ep dat niets met pop te maken heeft. Hij is rauwe en intens met invloeden van rockabilly, blues, noise en trash. Muziek voor wie houdt van het rauwste van Tom Waits, The Birthday Party en aanverwanten. Verkrijgbaar op cassette of te downloaden via bandcamp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
DORIC • Sleep Of Reason
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =

 

Same genre: NOISE
DIVE • Underneath
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)
30,000 MONKIES • I Ate Myself To Grow Twice As Big
ONMENS • Witruimte

 

Same genre: ROCKABILLY
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
JACKSON FIREBIRD • Cock Rock
THE BRAINS • Drunk not dead

 

Same genre: THRASH
ELVARON • Ghost Of A Blood Tie
LA HORDE • Dystopie
DARKER IT GETS • Broken Ground
MESSER CHUPS • Church Of Reverb

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
12
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)