tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

11/12/2016 : MOON WORSHIP - Book of Pops

MOON WORSHIP

Book of Pops

MusicCassette
ExperimentalNoiseRockabillyThrash

[85/100]   

Raining Records
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

You might expect more dreamy or ethereal music when hearing the name of this band, but Moon Worship from NYC makes nasty, raw, dark and bluesy music. Not as artistic as Tom Waits, but straight from the gut: honest and right in your face. Beauty exists in ugliness. That' s the case here. With bass, drums, vocals and growls, keys and synth, five songs have been recorded live that increases the raw feeling of the music.

Swamp Water Baptism sounds pretty intoxicating after the two direct and raw tracks Rat City and Temple of Greed. Here Moon Worship shows to have a feeling for melody. The female vocals - we could not figure out whether it is a band member or a sample - sound almost angelic. In Here Comes Hell, the female vocals lure you through the gates of hell. Gaol is about what happens once you are in the hell. It does not look attractive...

The EP Book of Pops is no pop music. It is raw and intense with influences of rockabilly, blues, noise and trash. Music for those who love the rawest of Tom Waits, The Birthday Party, etc. Available on tape or download via bandcamp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Je zal misschien eerder zweverige of etherische muziek verwachten als je de bandnaam hoort. Niets is minder waar. Moon Worship uit NYC maakt smerige, rauwe, donkere en bluesy muziek. Niet zo artistiek als een Tom Waits pleegt te doen, maar eerder recht vanuit de onderbuik: eerlijk en recht in je gezicht. Schoonheid bestaat ook in lelijkheid. Dat is hier het geval. Met bas, drum, vocals en growls, keys en synths zijn vijf songs live opgenomen. Die live-opname vergroot het rauwe gevoel van de muziek.

Swampwater Baptism klinkt vrij bezwerend na de twee directe en rauwe tracks Rat City en Temple of Greed. Hier toont Moon Worship gevoel te hebben voor melodie. De vrouwelijke vocals - we konden niet achterhalen of het om een bandlid of een sample gaat - klinken bijna engelachtig. Op Here Comes Hell lokt de vrouwelijke zang je zo de poorten van de hel in. Gaol lijkt op wat er gebeurt eenmaal je in de hel bent. Het ziet er niet fraai uit…

Book of Pops is een ep dat niets met pop te maken heeft. Hij is rauwe en intens met invloeden van rockabilly, blues, noise en trash. Muziek voor wie houdt van het rauwste van Tom Waits, The Birthday Party en aanverwanten. Verkrijgbaar op cassette of te downloaden via bandcamp.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NOVEMBER NOVELET • Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
DORIC • Sleep Of Reason
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017

 

Same genre: NOISE
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Bönen Germany, Festival (23/04/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCKABILLY
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
JACKSON FIREBIRD • Cock Rock
THE BRAINS • Drunk not dead

 

Same genre: THRASH
ELVARON • Ghost Of A Blood Tie
LA HORDE • Dystopie
DARKER IT GETS • Broken Ground
MESSER CHUPS • Church Of Reverb

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked