tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NOVEMBER NOVELET - Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

NOVEMBER NOVELET

Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimal

[84/100]   

Galakthorroe
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If November Növelet means nothing to you, then you've probably heard of Haus Arafna. Mr. and Mrs. Arafna had other musical ideas which didn’t fit within the concept of Haus Arafna, and so November Növelet was born. The band sometimes uses the term Angst Pop to describe its new wave sound, and that fits perfectly! The analog dark sounds seem to come from 1981 instead of 2015. A combination of pop music of hope and destructive industrial made the two popular. A lot of material from the band came out, which is a collector now, like the three singles that were released on their own Galakthorroe label between 1994 and 2015. You do not want to know what you have to pay for it today, and to please the fans, the two Germans released those three singles on one album, with three additional songs that are recorded specifically for Unintended By Nature.

The three singles are presented in a row and it starts with the 7 "Heart Of Stone from 2012, in between Sacred from 2008 and it ends with More Satanic Heroes from 1994, the beginning of it all.

The first single is actually the most experimental November Növelet ever released. The four tracks sound almost spooky, gloomy and chilly with sounds that seek their way through everywhere. With a title such as Bloody November you don’t need a lot of imagination.

The later songs are a lot more accessible. Yet it remains bizarre, icy electronics with the intriguing voice of Mrs. Arafna. The electronic drums sound almost apathetic. Dark music that makes you anxious.

Sometimes it is danceable, like Dancing Queen. No, not ABBA, rather minimal dance for zombies who can hardly move. The soundtrack of the living dead. Occasionally you hear a beat, but it's all well-hidden.

November Növelet could have been the ideal soundtrack for obscure science fiction movies from the 50s. Play Death Singer, and you see images of The Brain That Would not Die in front of you.

If you don't have these single yet (and probably not many readers do), then this compilation should be in your collection!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Indien November Növelet je niets zegt, heb je misschien al van Haus Arafna gehoord. Mr. en Mrs. Arafna hadden behoefte om andere muzikale ideeën de wereld in te sturen en zo werd November Növelet geboren. Wat niet kon binnen het concept van Haus Arafna, werd November Növelet. Zelf gebruiken ze wel eens de term Angst Pop om hun newwavegeluiden te omschrijven en dat woord past perfect! De analoge donkere klanken lijken eerder uit 1981 dan uit 2015 te komen. Zelf gaat het duo er prat op dat het zich tussen hoopgevende pop en destructieve industrial bevindt en het is inderdaad deze combinatie die de muziek van deze twee zo populair maakte. Er verscheen heel wat materiaal van de band, dat nu compleet onvindbaar is, zoals een resem singles die tussen 1994 en 2015 op hun eigen Galakthorroe-label zijn verschenen. Je wil niet weten wat je daar tegenwoordig voor moet betalen, en om de fans te plezieren brachten de twee Duitsers hun drie singles op één cd uit, aangevuld met drie extra songs die speciaal voor Unintended By Nature zijn opgenomen.

De drie singles staan netjes (integraal) op rij, beginnend met de 7" Heart Of Stone uit 2012, daar tussen Sacred uit 2008 en eindigend met More Satanic Heroes uit 1994, waarmee alles begon.

De eerste single is eigenlijk het meest experimentele wat November Növelet ooit heeft uitgebracht. De vier tracks klinken bijna griezelig. Het zijn sombere, kille geluiden die zich overal een weg banen. Zeg zelf, met een titel als Bloody November heb je maar weinig fantasie nodig.

De latere songs zijn een stuk toegankelijker. Toch blijft het bizarre, ijskoude elektronica met de intrigerende zang van Mrs. Arafna. De elektronische drums klinken bijna apathisch. Duistere muziek waar je angstig van wordt.

Soms wordt het een beetje dansbaar, zoals Dancing Queen. Neen, geen ABBA, eerder minimal dance voor zombies die zich nauwelijks kunnen bewegen. De soundtrack van levende doden. Af en toe hoor je ergens wel een beat, maar het zit allemaal goed verscholen.

De muziek van November Növelet is uiterst geschikt voor obscure sciencefictionfilms uit de jaren 50. Speel Death Singer, en je ziet zo de beelden van The Brain That Wouldn't Die voor je.

Als je de singles nog niet hebt (en dat zal wel niet het geval zijn voor de meeste lezers), moet deze compilatie van November Növelet in je collectie!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
DORIC • Sleep Of Reason
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
MORTILLERY • Shapeshifter

 

Other reviews from NOVEMBER NOVELET
NOVEMBER NOVELET • The World In Devotion

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + MINIMAL
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
MAD MASKS • Mad Masks
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Of Factory New York
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware
HAUS ARAFNA • New York Rhapsody

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS