tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NOVEMBER NOVELET - Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

NOVEMBER NOVELET

Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimal

[84/100]   

Galakthorroe
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If November Növelet means nothing to you, then you've probably heard of Haus Arafna. Mr. and Mrs. Arafna had other musical ideas which didn’t fit within the concept of Haus Arafna, and so November Növelet was born. The band sometimes uses the term Angst Pop to describe its new wave sound, and that fits perfectly! The analog dark sounds seem to come from 1981 instead of 2015. A combination of pop music of hope and destructive industrial made the two popular. A lot of material from the band came out, which is a collector now, like the three singles that were released on their own Galakthorroe label between 1994 and 2015. You do not want to know what you have to pay for it today, and to please the fans, the two Germans released those three singles on one album, with three additional songs that are recorded specifically for Unintended By Nature.

The three singles are presented in a row and it starts with the 7 "Heart Of Stone from 2012, in between Sacred from 2008 and it ends with More Satanic Heroes from 1994, the beginning of it all.

The first single is actually the most experimental November Növelet ever released. The four tracks sound almost spooky, gloomy and chilly with sounds that seek their way through everywhere. With a title such as Bloody November you don’t need a lot of imagination.

The later songs are a lot more accessible. Yet it remains bizarre, icy electronics with the intriguing voice of Mrs. Arafna. The electronic drums sound almost apathetic. Dark music that makes you anxious.

Sometimes it is danceable, like Dancing Queen. No, not ABBA, rather minimal dance for zombies who can hardly move. The soundtrack of the living dead. Occasionally you hear a beat, but it's all well-hidden.

November Növelet could have been the ideal soundtrack for obscure science fiction movies from the 50s. Play Death Singer, and you see images of The Brain That Would not Die in front of you.

If you don't have these single yet (and probably not many readers do), then this compilation should be in your collection!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Indien November Növelet je niets zegt, heb je misschien al van Haus Arafna gehoord. Mr. en Mrs. Arafna hadden behoefte om andere muzikale ideeën de wereld in te sturen en zo werd November Növelet geboren. Wat niet kon binnen het concept van Haus Arafna, werd November Növelet. Zelf gebruiken ze wel eens de term Angst Pop om hun newwavegeluiden te omschrijven en dat woord past perfect! De analoge donkere klanken lijken eerder uit 1981 dan uit 2015 te komen. Zelf gaat het duo er prat op dat het zich tussen hoopgevende pop en destructieve industrial bevindt en het is inderdaad deze combinatie die de muziek van deze twee zo populair maakte. Er verscheen heel wat materiaal van de band, dat nu compleet onvindbaar is, zoals een resem singles die tussen 1994 en 2015 op hun eigen Galakthorroe-label zijn verschenen. Je wil niet weten wat je daar tegenwoordig voor moet betalen, en om de fans te plezieren brachten de twee Duitsers hun drie singles op één cd uit, aangevuld met drie extra songs die speciaal voor Unintended By Nature zijn opgenomen.

De drie singles staan netjes (integraal) op rij, beginnend met de 7" Heart Of Stone uit 2012, daar tussen Sacred uit 2008 en eindigend met More Satanic Heroes uit 1994, waarmee alles begon.

De eerste single is eigenlijk het meest experimentele wat November Növelet ooit heeft uitgebracht. De vier tracks klinken bijna griezelig. Het zijn sombere, kille geluiden die zich overal een weg banen. Zeg zelf, met een titel als Bloody November heb je maar weinig fantasie nodig.

De latere songs zijn een stuk toegankelijker. Toch blijft het bizarre, ijskoude elektronica met de intrigerende zang van Mrs. Arafna. De elektronische drums klinken bijna apathisch. Duistere muziek waar je angstig van wordt.

Soms wordt het een beetje dansbaar, zoals Dancing Queen. Neen, geen ABBA, eerder minimal dance voor zombies die zich nauwelijks kunnen bewegen. De soundtrack van levende doden. Af en toe hoor je ergens wel een beat, maar het zit allemaal goed verscholen.

De muziek van November Növelet is uiterst geschikt voor obscure sciencefictionfilms uit de jaren 50. Speel Death Singer, en je ziet zo de beelden van The Brain That Wouldn't Die voor je.

Als je de singles nog niet hebt (en dat zal wel niet het geval zijn voor de meeste lezers), moet deze compilatie van November Növelet in je collectie!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
DORIC • Sleep Of Reason
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
MORTILLERY • Shapeshifter

 

Other reviews from NOVEMBER NOVELET
NOVEMBER NOVELET • The World In Devotion

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + MINIMAL
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
MAD MASKS • Mad Masks
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Of Factory New York
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware
HAUS ARAFNA • New York Rhapsody

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

Music reviews

20
02
UNIDENTIFIED MAN
Memento Mori
17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
02
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO - BEAUTY IN CHAOS
'I am forever indebted to everyone involved in Beauty In Chaos. We are friends, and now family with what we all created'.
19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
21
02
AGNES OBEL
Familiar
20
02
MIREXXX
Nine angles
19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!