tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NOVEMBER NOVELET - Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

NOVEMBER NOVELET

Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimal

[84/100]   

Galakthorroe
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If November Növelet means nothing to you, then you've probably heard of Haus Arafna. Mr. and Mrs. Arafna had other musical ideas which didn’t fit within the concept of Haus Arafna, and so November Növelet was born. The band sometimes uses the term Angst Pop to describe its new wave sound, and that fits perfectly! The analog dark sounds seem to come from 1981 instead of 2015. A combination of pop music of hope and destructive industrial made the two popular. A lot of material from the band came out, which is a collector now, like the three singles that were released on their own Galakthorroe label between 1994 and 2015. You do not want to know what you have to pay for it today, and to please the fans, the two Germans released those three singles on one album, with three additional songs that are recorded specifically for Unintended By Nature.

The three singles are presented in a row and it starts with the 7 "Heart Of Stone from 2012, in between Sacred from 2008 and it ends with More Satanic Heroes from 1994, the beginning of it all.

The first single is actually the most experimental November Növelet ever released. The four tracks sound almost spooky, gloomy and chilly with sounds that seek their way through everywhere. With a title such as Bloody November you don’t need a lot of imagination.

The later songs are a lot more accessible. Yet it remains bizarre, icy electronics with the intriguing voice of Mrs. Arafna. The electronic drums sound almost apathetic. Dark music that makes you anxious.

Sometimes it is danceable, like Dancing Queen. No, not ABBA, rather minimal dance for zombies who can hardly move. The soundtrack of the living dead. Occasionally you hear a beat, but it's all well-hidden.

November Növelet could have been the ideal soundtrack for obscure science fiction movies from the 50s. Play Death Singer, and you see images of The Brain That Would not Die in front of you.

If you don't have these single yet (and probably not many readers do), then this compilation should be in your collection!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Indien November Növelet je niets zegt, heb je misschien al van Haus Arafna gehoord. Mr. en Mrs. Arafna hadden behoefte om andere muzikale ideeën de wereld in te sturen en zo werd November Növelet geboren. Wat niet kon binnen het concept van Haus Arafna, werd November Növelet. Zelf gebruiken ze wel eens de term Angst Pop om hun newwavegeluiden te omschrijven en dat woord past perfect! De analoge donkere klanken lijken eerder uit 1981 dan uit 2015 te komen. Zelf gaat het duo er prat op dat het zich tussen hoopgevende pop en destructieve industrial bevindt en het is inderdaad deze combinatie die de muziek van deze twee zo populair maakte. Er verscheen heel wat materiaal van de band, dat nu compleet onvindbaar is, zoals een resem singles die tussen 1994 en 2015 op hun eigen Galakthorroe-label zijn verschenen. Je wil niet weten wat je daar tegenwoordig voor moet betalen, en om de fans te plezieren brachten de twee Duitsers hun drie singles op één cd uit, aangevuld met drie extra songs die speciaal voor Unintended By Nature zijn opgenomen.

De drie singles staan netjes (integraal) op rij, beginnend met de 7" Heart Of Stone uit 2012, daar tussen Sacred uit 2008 en eindigend met More Satanic Heroes uit 1994, waarmee alles begon.

De eerste single is eigenlijk het meest experimentele wat November Növelet ooit heeft uitgebracht. De vier tracks klinken bijna griezelig. Het zijn sombere, kille geluiden die zich overal een weg banen. Zeg zelf, met een titel als Bloody November heb je maar weinig fantasie nodig.

De latere songs zijn een stuk toegankelijker. Toch blijft het bizarre, ijskoude elektronica met de intrigerende zang van Mrs. Arafna. De elektronische drums klinken bijna apathisch. Duistere muziek waar je angstig van wordt.

Soms wordt het een beetje dansbaar, zoals Dancing Queen. Neen, geen ABBA, eerder minimal dance voor zombies die zich nauwelijks kunnen bewegen. De soundtrack van levende doden. Af en toe hoor je ergens wel een beat, maar het zit allemaal goed verscholen.

De muziek van November Növelet is uiterst geschikt voor obscure sciencefictionfilms uit de jaren 50. Speel Death Singer, en je ziet zo de beelden van The Brain That Wouldn't Die voor je.

Als je de singles nog niet hebt (en dat zal wel niet het geval zijn voor de meeste lezers), moet deze compilatie van November Növelet in je collectie!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void