tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NOVEMBER NOVELET - Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

NOVEMBER NOVELET

Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimal

[84/100]   

Galakthorroe
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If November Növelet means nothing to you, then you've probably heard of Haus Arafna. Mr. and Mrs. Arafna had other musical ideas which didn’t fit within the concept of Haus Arafna, and so November Növelet was born. The band sometimes uses the term Angst Pop to describe its new wave sound, and that fits perfectly! The analog dark sounds seem to come from 1981 instead of 2015. A combination of pop music of hope and destructive industrial made the two popular. A lot of material from the band came out, which is a collector now, like the three singles that were released on their own Galakthorroe label between 1994 and 2015. You do not want to know what you have to pay for it today, and to please the fans, the two Germans released those three singles on one album, with three additional songs that are recorded specifically for Unintended By Nature.

The three singles are presented in a row and it starts with the 7 "Heart Of Stone from 2012, in between Sacred from 2008 and it ends with More Satanic Heroes from 1994, the beginning of it all.

The first single is actually the most experimental November Növelet ever released. The four tracks sound almost spooky, gloomy and chilly with sounds that seek their way through everywhere. With a title such as Bloody November you don’t need a lot of imagination.

The later songs are a lot more accessible. Yet it remains bizarre, icy electronics with the intriguing voice of Mrs. Arafna. The electronic drums sound almost apathetic. Dark music that makes you anxious.

Sometimes it is danceable, like Dancing Queen. No, not ABBA, rather minimal dance for zombies who can hardly move. The soundtrack of the living dead. Occasionally you hear a beat, but it's all well-hidden.

November Növelet could have been the ideal soundtrack for obscure science fiction movies from the 50s. Play Death Singer, and you see images of The Brain That Would not Die in front of you.

If you don't have these single yet (and probably not many readers do), then this compilation should be in your collection!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Indien November Növelet je niets zegt, heb je misschien al van Haus Arafna gehoord. Mr. en Mrs. Arafna hadden behoefte om andere muzikale ideeën de wereld in te sturen en zo werd November Növelet geboren. Wat niet kon binnen het concept van Haus Arafna, werd November Növelet. Zelf gebruiken ze wel eens de term Angst Pop om hun newwavegeluiden te omschrijven en dat woord past perfect! De analoge donkere klanken lijken eerder uit 1981 dan uit 2015 te komen. Zelf gaat het duo er prat op dat het zich tussen hoopgevende pop en destructieve industrial bevindt en het is inderdaad deze combinatie die de muziek van deze twee zo populair maakte. Er verscheen heel wat materiaal van de band, dat nu compleet onvindbaar is, zoals een resem singles die tussen 1994 en 2015 op hun eigen Galakthorroe-label zijn verschenen. Je wil niet weten wat je daar tegenwoordig voor moet betalen, en om de fans te plezieren brachten de twee Duitsers hun drie singles op één cd uit, aangevuld met drie extra songs die speciaal voor Unintended By Nature zijn opgenomen.

De drie singles staan netjes (integraal) op rij, beginnend met de 7" Heart Of Stone uit 2012, daar tussen Sacred uit 2008 en eindigend met More Satanic Heroes uit 1994, waarmee alles begon.

De eerste single is eigenlijk het meest experimentele wat November Növelet ooit heeft uitgebracht. De vier tracks klinken bijna griezelig. Het zijn sombere, kille geluiden die zich overal een weg banen. Zeg zelf, met een titel als Bloody November heb je maar weinig fantasie nodig.

De latere songs zijn een stuk toegankelijker. Toch blijft het bizarre, ijskoude elektronica met de intrigerende zang van Mrs. Arafna. De elektronische drums klinken bijna apathisch. Duistere muziek waar je angstig van wordt.

Soms wordt het een beetje dansbaar, zoals Dancing Queen. Neen, geen ABBA, eerder minimal dance voor zombies die zich nauwelijks kunnen bewegen. De soundtrack van levende doden. Af en toe hoor je ergens wel een beat, maar het zit allemaal goed verscholen.

De muziek van November Növelet is uiterst geschikt voor obscure sciencefictionfilms uit de jaren 50. Speel Death Singer, en je ziet zo de beelden van The Brain That Wouldn't Die voor je.

Als je de singles nog niet hebt (en dat zal wel niet het geval zijn voor de meeste lezers), moet deze compilatie van November Növelet in je collectie!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
DORIC • Sleep Of Reason
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
MORTILLERY • Shapeshifter

 

Other reviews from NOVEMBER NOVELET
NOVEMBER NOVELET • The World In Devotion

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + MINIMAL
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
MAD MASKS • Mad Masks
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Of Factory New York
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware
HAUS ARAFNA • New York Rhapsody

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'
04
12
43 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 34 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty