tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NOVEMBER NOVELET - Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

NOVEMBER NOVELET

Unintended By Nature (The Singles 1994-2012 + Bonus Material)

MusicCD
IndustrialMinimal

[84/100]   

Galakthorroe
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If November Növelet means nothing to you, then you've probably heard of Haus Arafna. Mr. and Mrs. Arafna had other musical ideas which didn’t fit within the concept of Haus Arafna, and so November Növelet was born. The band sometimes uses the term Angst Pop to describe its new wave sound, and that fits perfectly! The analog dark sounds seem to come from 1981 instead of 2015. A combination of pop music of hope and destructive industrial made the two popular. A lot of material from the band came out, which is a collector now, like the three singles that were released on their own Galakthorroe label between 1994 and 2015. You do not want to know what you have to pay for it today, and to please the fans, the two Germans released those three singles on one album, with three additional songs that are recorded specifically for Unintended By Nature.

The three singles are presented in a row and it starts with the 7 "Heart Of Stone from 2012, in between Sacred from 2008 and it ends with More Satanic Heroes from 1994, the beginning of it all.

The first single is actually the most experimental November Növelet ever released. The four tracks sound almost spooky, gloomy and chilly with sounds that seek their way through everywhere. With a title such as Bloody November you don’t need a lot of imagination.

The later songs are a lot more accessible. Yet it remains bizarre, icy electronics with the intriguing voice of Mrs. Arafna. The electronic drums sound almost apathetic. Dark music that makes you anxious.

Sometimes it is danceable, like Dancing Queen. No, not ABBA, rather minimal dance for zombies who can hardly move. The soundtrack of the living dead. Occasionally you hear a beat, but it's all well-hidden.

November Növelet could have been the ideal soundtrack for obscure science fiction movies from the 50s. Play Death Singer, and you see images of The Brain That Would not Die in front of you.

If you don't have these single yet (and probably not many readers do), then this compilation should be in your collection!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Indien November Növelet je niets zegt, heb je misschien al van Haus Arafna gehoord. Mr. en Mrs. Arafna hadden behoefte om andere muzikale ideeën de wereld in te sturen en zo werd November Növelet geboren. Wat niet kon binnen het concept van Haus Arafna, werd November Növelet. Zelf gebruiken ze wel eens de term Angst Pop om hun newwavegeluiden te omschrijven en dat woord past perfect! De analoge donkere klanken lijken eerder uit 1981 dan uit 2015 te komen. Zelf gaat het duo er prat op dat het zich tussen hoopgevende pop en destructieve industrial bevindt en het is inderdaad deze combinatie die de muziek van deze twee zo populair maakte. Er verscheen heel wat materiaal van de band, dat nu compleet onvindbaar is, zoals een resem singles die tussen 1994 en 2015 op hun eigen Galakthorroe-label zijn verschenen. Je wil niet weten wat je daar tegenwoordig voor moet betalen, en om de fans te plezieren brachten de twee Duitsers hun drie singles op één cd uit, aangevuld met drie extra songs die speciaal voor Unintended By Nature zijn opgenomen.

De drie singles staan netjes (integraal) op rij, beginnend met de 7" Heart Of Stone uit 2012, daar tussen Sacred uit 2008 en eindigend met More Satanic Heroes uit 1994, waarmee alles begon.

De eerste single is eigenlijk het meest experimentele wat November Növelet ooit heeft uitgebracht. De vier tracks klinken bijna griezelig. Het zijn sombere, kille geluiden die zich overal een weg banen. Zeg zelf, met een titel als Bloody November heb je maar weinig fantasie nodig.

De latere songs zijn een stuk toegankelijker. Toch blijft het bizarre, ijskoude elektronica met de intrigerende zang van Mrs. Arafna. De elektronische drums klinken bijna apathisch. Duistere muziek waar je angstig van wordt.

Soms wordt het een beetje dansbaar, zoals Dancing Queen. Neen, geen ABBA, eerder minimal dance voor zombies die zich nauwelijks kunnen bewegen. De soundtrack van levende doden. Af en toe hoor je ergens wel een beat, maar het zit allemaal goed verscholen.

De muziek van November Növelet is uiterst geschikt voor obscure sciencefictionfilms uit de jaren 50. Speel Death Singer, en je ziet zo de beelden van The Brain That Wouldn't Die voor je.

Als je de singles nog niet hebt (en dat zal wel niet het geval zijn voor de meeste lezers), moet deze compilatie van November Növelet in je collectie!

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
DORIC • Sleep Of Reason
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
SHINE NOIR • Shine Noir EP
JOHANNES STABEL (XTR HUMAN) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
COCAINE PISS • The Dancer
MORTILLERY • Shapeshifter

 

Other reviews from NOVEMBER NOVELET
NOVEMBER NOVELET • The World In Devotion

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + MINIMAL
BRUTA NON CALCULANT • Instinct
MAD MASKS • Mad Masks
BLACK LIGHT ASCENSION • Post Future Recordings
LAS'S CRIME • Mesmérique
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Of Factory New York
UNDERVIEWER, CRUISE CTRL & MARIA • live at TAG, BRUSSELS, 21/09/2013
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Hardware
HAUS ARAFNA • New York Rhapsody

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

Music reviews

18
11
THE COCKY BITCHES
MERCY
17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
11
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad