tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

13/09/2015 : LAS'S CRIME - Mesmérique

LAS'S CRIME

Mesmérique

MusicVinyl
IndustrialMinimalSynthpop

[75/100]   

Domestica Records
13/09/2015, Luki PUKI

Mesmérique is a compilation of Italian duo’s L.A.S.’s Crime work bringing together demo tapes dating from 1985 through to 1988 and finishing with 2 tracks from their album Abyss. I wasn’t familiar with the group and was pleasantly surprised by the band’s musical ability and the variation of work on this compilation.

The earlier work on Side A ranges from minimal experimental industrial to frantic EBM numbers.

Side B is drawn from later work,and sounds quite different. Tracks like The Act remind me of Trip Hop popularized by PJ Harvey nearly a decade after the L.A.S.’s Crime Demo. It has a wonderful gothic organ and deep male vocal line I loved.

As an Irish man I had to mention that L.A.S.’s Crime are named after Lord Arthur Seville’s Crime the Oscar Wilde story about the power of suggestion (in the stories case a palm reader tells Seville he will commit murder, so Seville sets about committing murder with bloody single-mindedness.) I believe the duo have mastered a musical equivalent to the power of suggestion. It’s the vocal’s on Today’s Sky which induce both my flat mate and I to skip the song every time it starts…

LP run limited to 300 copies including letterpress hand-printing on the sleeve. 

Luki PUKI
13/09/2015


 

Next reviews
VERA GRACE • Novella (EP)
HALSEY • Badlands
CHESKO VANDEKERKHOF (DER KLINKE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RICHARD HAWLEY • Hollow Meadows
THE SPITFIRES • Response
VERTICAL SLUMP • Ruined Value EP
FLORIAN SCHAFER (NOYCE TM) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VPROJEKT • Parallel Commands
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa
SPECTOR • Moth Boys

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VANGUARD • Spectrum
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
46 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
44 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 35 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
POTOCHKINE
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
01
12
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance