tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP)

VERA GRACE

Novella (EP)

MusicCD
MetalPost-Metal

[65/100]   

Self-released
13/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Novella is the self-released concept EP of the Oxford post-metalcore band Vera Grace, a mini-album with solid music, all in the style of what you can expect in this genre: a wall of dark guitars, thunderous percussion and the screaming vocals of singer Stephen Nulty, who decribes Novella as a double story about a priest who loses his faith and accidentally kills a young man, and the mother of the guy who lives in sorrow, until she crosses the path of the assassin.

It all sounds very nice, but the lyrics are almost incomprehensible. Remains: the music, and that always sounds a bit the same, except Acte I, a short atmospheric interlude with dreamy guitars at a leisurely pace. But there is hardly any difference between Exposition, 12_44 and Act II, unless 12_4, that has a drum intro, and Act II in which the loud guitars are exchanged for rumbling drums, a whistling solo guitar and screaming vocals.

Scene I - Griever begins quietly with guitars and drums, atmospheric and melodious. It gets the distorted voice afterwards and the screaming guitars midway. The best track on this EP. Scene II -Catharsis is similar to Exposition, although the guitars sound more melodic, but it is tapped from the same vessel. Perhaps unavoidable, because ultimately this is a metal album. However, the finale of the track is impressive. Only for the diehard fans of the genre.

Tracklisting:
1. Exposition
2. Act I
3. 12_04
4. Act II
5. Scene I – Griever
6. Scene II – Catharsis

http://veragraceband.bandcamp.com/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-RLGZHzzaU

William LIÉNARD
13/09/2015


NL

Novella is de in eigen beheer uitgebrachte concept-ep van de Oxfordse post-metalcoreband Vera Grace, een mini-album waarop stevig wordt gemusiceerd, helemaal in de stijl van wat je in dit genre mag verwachten: een muur van donkere gitaren, donderend slagwerk en de krijsende vocalen van zanger Stephen Nulty, die Novella omschrijft als een dubbelverhaal over een priester die z’n geloof verliest en per ongeluk een jongeman doodt, en de moeder van die kerel die met verdriet verder moet, tot ze op een keer het pad van de moordenaar kruist.

Klinkt allemaal heel mooi, maar de tedksten zijn nauwelijks onverstaanbaar en beslist voor anderstaligen. Blijft over: de muziek, en die klinkt altijd een beetje hetzelfde, met uitzondering van Acte I, een kort atmosferisch intermezzo met dromerige gitaren tegen een rustig tempo, want tussen Exposition, 12_44 en Act II is nauwelijks verschil, tenzij het feit dat 12_4 een drumintro krijgt en Act II het zonder de luide gitaren moet stellen en sporadisch roffelende drums krijgt, een fluitende sologitaar en de schreeuwerige vocalen.

Scene I – Griever begint rustig met gitaren en drums, atmosferisch en welluidend, maar krijgt uiteindelijk toch de overstuurde zangstem en halfweg de gierende gitaren. Misschien toch de beste track op deze ep. Scene II -Catharsis pikt weer aan bij Exposition, zij het dat de gitaren een stuk melodischer klinken, maar uiteindelijk wordt er opnieuw uit hetzelfde vaatje getapt. Wellicht niet te vermijden, want uiteindelijk is dit een metalalbum. De finale is evenwel indrukwekkend, dat willen we nog even meegeven. Voor de rest alleen geschikt voor de diehardfans.

William LIÉNARD
13/09/2015


13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP) 13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP) 13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP)

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death