tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP)

VERA GRACE

Novella (EP)

MusicCD
MetalPost-Metal

[65/100]   

Self-released
13/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Novella is the self-released concept EP of the Oxford post-metalcore band Vera Grace, a mini-album with solid music, all in the style of what you can expect in this genre: a wall of dark guitars, thunderous percussion and the screaming vocals of singer Stephen Nulty, who decribes Novella as a double story about a priest who loses his faith and accidentally kills a young man, and the mother of the guy who lives in sorrow, until she crosses the path of the assassin.

It all sounds very nice, but the lyrics are almost incomprehensible. Remains: the music, and that always sounds a bit the same, except Acte I, a short atmospheric interlude with dreamy guitars at a leisurely pace. But there is hardly any difference between Exposition, 12_44 and Act II, unless 12_4, that has a drum intro, and Act II in which the loud guitars are exchanged for rumbling drums, a whistling solo guitar and screaming vocals.

Scene I - Griever begins quietly with guitars and drums, atmospheric and melodious. It gets the distorted voice afterwards and the screaming guitars midway. The best track on this EP. Scene II -Catharsis is similar to Exposition, although the guitars sound more melodic, but it is tapped from the same vessel. Perhaps unavoidable, because ultimately this is a metal album. However, the finale of the track is impressive. Only for the diehard fans of the genre.

Tracklisting:
1. Exposition
2. Act I
3. 12_04
4. Act II
5. Scene I – Griever
6. Scene II – Catharsis

http://veragraceband.bandcamp.com/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-RLGZHzzaU

William LIÉNARD
13/09/2015


NL

Novella is de in eigen beheer uitgebrachte concept-ep van de Oxfordse post-metalcoreband Vera Grace, een mini-album waarop stevig wordt gemusiceerd, helemaal in de stijl van wat je in dit genre mag verwachten: een muur van donkere gitaren, donderend slagwerk en de krijsende vocalen van zanger Stephen Nulty, die Novella omschrijft als een dubbelverhaal over een priester die z’n geloof verliest en per ongeluk een jongeman doodt, en de moeder van die kerel die met verdriet verder moet, tot ze op een keer het pad van de moordenaar kruist.

Klinkt allemaal heel mooi, maar de tedksten zijn nauwelijks onverstaanbaar en beslist voor anderstaligen. Blijft over: de muziek, en die klinkt altijd een beetje hetzelfde, met uitzondering van Acte I, een kort atmosferisch intermezzo met dromerige gitaren tegen een rustig tempo, want tussen Exposition, 12_44 en Act II is nauwelijks verschil, tenzij het feit dat 12_4 een drumintro krijgt en Act II het zonder de luide gitaren moet stellen en sporadisch roffelende drums krijgt, een fluitende sologitaar en de schreeuwerige vocalen.

Scene I – Griever begint rustig met gitaren en drums, atmosferisch en welluidend, maar krijgt uiteindelijk toch de overstuurde zangstem en halfweg de gierende gitaren. Misschien toch de beste track op deze ep. Scene II -Catharsis pikt weer aan bij Exposition, zij het dat de gitaren een stuk melodischer klinken, maar uiteindelijk wordt er opnieuw uit hetzelfde vaatje getapt. Wellicht niet te vermijden, want uiteindelijk is dit een metalalbum. De finale is evenwel indrukwekkend, dat willen we nog even meegeven. Voor de rest alleen geschikt voor de diehardfans.

William LIÉNARD
13/09/2015


13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP) 13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP) 13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP)

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL
08
07
A SPLIT-SECOND headline at GENTSE FEESTEN (Walter De Buckplein) on Sunday July 21st

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
THE SAINT PAUL
Parkhaus Duisburg
08
07
CYTO
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
11
07
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue