tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP)

VERA GRACE

Novella (EP)

MusicCD
MetalPost-Metal

[65/100]   

Self-released
13/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Novella is the self-released concept EP of the Oxford post-metalcore band Vera Grace, a mini-album with solid music, all in the style of what you can expect in this genre: a wall of dark guitars, thunderous percussion and the screaming vocals of singer Stephen Nulty, who decribes Novella as a double story about a priest who loses his faith and accidentally kills a young man, and the mother of the guy who lives in sorrow, until she crosses the path of the assassin.

It all sounds very nice, but the lyrics are almost incomprehensible. Remains: the music, and that always sounds a bit the same, except Acte I, a short atmospheric interlude with dreamy guitars at a leisurely pace. But there is hardly any difference between Exposition, 12_44 and Act II, unless 12_4, that has a drum intro, and Act II in which the loud guitars are exchanged for rumbling drums, a whistling solo guitar and screaming vocals.

Scene I - Griever begins quietly with guitars and drums, atmospheric and melodious. It gets the distorted voice afterwards and the screaming guitars midway. The best track on this EP. Scene II -Catharsis is similar to Exposition, although the guitars sound more melodic, but it is tapped from the same vessel. Perhaps unavoidable, because ultimately this is a metal album. However, the finale of the track is impressive. Only for the diehard fans of the genre.

Tracklisting:
1. Exposition
2. Act I
3. 12_04
4. Act II
5. Scene I – Griever
6. Scene II – Catharsis

http://veragraceband.bandcamp.com/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-RLGZHzzaU

William LIÉNARD
13/09/2015


NL

Novella is de in eigen beheer uitgebrachte concept-ep van de Oxfordse post-metalcoreband Vera Grace, een mini-album waarop stevig wordt gemusiceerd, helemaal in de stijl van wat je in dit genre mag verwachten: een muur van donkere gitaren, donderend slagwerk en de krijsende vocalen van zanger Stephen Nulty, die Novella omschrijft als een dubbelverhaal over een priester die z’n geloof verliest en per ongeluk een jongeman doodt, en de moeder van die kerel die met verdriet verder moet, tot ze op een keer het pad van de moordenaar kruist.

Klinkt allemaal heel mooi, maar de tedksten zijn nauwelijks onverstaanbaar en beslist voor anderstaligen. Blijft over: de muziek, en die klinkt altijd een beetje hetzelfde, met uitzondering van Acte I, een kort atmosferisch intermezzo met dromerige gitaren tegen een rustig tempo, want tussen Exposition, 12_44 en Act II is nauwelijks verschil, tenzij het feit dat 12_4 een drumintro krijgt en Act II het zonder de luide gitaren moet stellen en sporadisch roffelende drums krijgt, een fluitende sologitaar en de schreeuwerige vocalen.

Scene I – Griever begint rustig met gitaren en drums, atmosferisch en welluidend, maar krijgt uiteindelijk toch de overstuurde zangstem en halfweg de gierende gitaren. Misschien toch de beste track op deze ep. Scene II -Catharsis pikt weer aan bij Exposition, zij het dat de gitaren een stuk melodischer klinken, maar uiteindelijk wordt er opnieuw uit hetzelfde vaatje getapt. Wellicht niet te vermijden, want uiteindelijk is dit een metalalbum. De finale is evenwel indrukwekkend, dat willen we nog even meegeven. Voor de rest alleen geschikt voor de diehardfans.

William LIÉNARD
13/09/2015


13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP) 13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP) 13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna