tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP)

VERA GRACE

Novella (EP)

MusicCD
MetalPost-Metal

[65/100]   

Self-released
13/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Novella is the self-released concept EP of the Oxford post-metalcore band Vera Grace, a mini-album with solid music, all in the style of what you can expect in this genre: a wall of dark guitars, thunderous percussion and the screaming vocals of singer Stephen Nulty, who decribes Novella as a double story about a priest who loses his faith and accidentally kills a young man, and the mother of the guy who lives in sorrow, until she crosses the path of the assassin.

It all sounds very nice, but the lyrics are almost incomprehensible. Remains: the music, and that always sounds a bit the same, except Acte I, a short atmospheric interlude with dreamy guitars at a leisurely pace. But there is hardly any difference between Exposition, 12_44 and Act II, unless 12_4, that has a drum intro, and Act II in which the loud guitars are exchanged for rumbling drums, a whistling solo guitar and screaming vocals.

Scene I - Griever begins quietly with guitars and drums, atmospheric and melodious. It gets the distorted voice afterwards and the screaming guitars midway. The best track on this EP. Scene II -Catharsis is similar to Exposition, although the guitars sound more melodic, but it is tapped from the same vessel. Perhaps unavoidable, because ultimately this is a metal album. However, the finale of the track is impressive. Only for the diehard fans of the genre.

Tracklisting:
1. Exposition
2. Act I
3. 12_04
4. Act II
5. Scene I – Griever
6. Scene II – Catharsis

http://veragraceband.bandcamp.com/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V-RLGZHzzaU

William LIÉNARD
13/09/2015


NL

Novella is de in eigen beheer uitgebrachte concept-ep van de Oxfordse post-metalcoreband Vera Grace, een mini-album waarop stevig wordt gemusiceerd, helemaal in de stijl van wat je in dit genre mag verwachten: een muur van donkere gitaren, donderend slagwerk en de krijsende vocalen van zanger Stephen Nulty, die Novella omschrijft als een dubbelverhaal over een priester die z’n geloof verliest en per ongeluk een jongeman doodt, en de moeder van die kerel die met verdriet verder moet, tot ze op een keer het pad van de moordenaar kruist.

Klinkt allemaal heel mooi, maar de tedksten zijn nauwelijks onverstaanbaar en beslist voor anderstaligen. Blijft over: de muziek, en die klinkt altijd een beetje hetzelfde, met uitzondering van Acte I, een kort atmosferisch intermezzo met dromerige gitaren tegen een rustig tempo, want tussen Exposition, 12_44 en Act II is nauwelijks verschil, tenzij het feit dat 12_4 een drumintro krijgt en Act II het zonder de luide gitaren moet stellen en sporadisch roffelende drums krijgt, een fluitende sologitaar en de schreeuwerige vocalen.

Scene I – Griever begint rustig met gitaren en drums, atmosferisch en welluidend, maar krijgt uiteindelijk toch de overstuurde zangstem en halfweg de gierende gitaren. Misschien toch de beste track op deze ep. Scene II -Catharsis pikt weer aan bij Exposition, zij het dat de gitaren een stuk melodischer klinken, maar uiteindelijk wordt er opnieuw uit hetzelfde vaatje getapt. Wellicht niet te vermijden, want uiteindelijk is dit een metalalbum. De finale is evenwel indrukwekkend, dat willen we nog even meegeven. Voor de rest alleen geschikt voor de diehardfans.

William LIÉNARD
13/09/2015


13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP) 13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP) 13/09/2015 : VERA GRACE - Novella (EP)

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine