tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/09/2015 : THE SPITFIRES - Response

THE SPITFIRES

Response

MusicCD
Post PunkRock

[80/100]   

Catch 22 Records
10/09/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Since 2012, The Spitfires have played more than 200 live shows in England and Western Europe, and meanwhile they have built up a huge fan base in Spain. After three singles, their first full album is finally available. Response is the summary of their career to date, but it is also the story about the band today. On this debut album they have collected the old assets from the live sets and combined those with new and sensitive material, in which singer and guitarist Billy Sullivan proofs his skills as a versatile writer.

In England, The Spitfires belong to the forefront of the new Mod movement, because their post-punk sound and vocals are closely aligned with the needs and problems of the young Brits of the internet generation who, like the generation of the Thatcher era, are the great victims of the economic policy of the British government. Response is an album of its time, says Billy Sullivan, it is our response to the current drought in terms of meaningful music and lyrics, the attitude of the industry and the rose tinted nostalgia about the heroes of yesterday. But the lyrics are mainly about the needs of today's young generation, about deprivation and the lack of opportunities.

The Spitfires can be compared to The Jam and The Clash, but it was Paul Weller of The Specials who asked them as support for one of his tours and in whose studio some of the new tracks were recorded. The sound of The Spitfires is rather violent, rock with loud guitars and emphatic percussion Disciplines is a perfect example, with the hectic Escape Me as icing on the cake. Follows the wonderful and nostalgic hymn Spoke Too Soon, with tingling guitars and fragile vocals. Relapse starts with meandering violins in the intro, followed by emphatic guitars and equally emphatic vocals, while the new single Stand Down is supposed to reach a wider audience, sounding as a rock version of the best of The Men They Could not Hang, with good sounding guitars and attractive and beautiful vocals and harmonies. Serenade Part 1 is a quiet instrumental interlude with acoustic guitar and brass, to let the listener catch his breath.

Then the pace goes up again for the solid rocker I'm holding on, followed by Spark to Start, a track from the early days of The Spitfires, with a nice bass sound, prudent noise a passionate vocals. Beautiful. Words to say is also one of their older songs, but this album version sounds punchy and energetic with glockenspiel and violin in the intro, and a ska-like nod towards The Specials halfway. When I Call out Your Name gives us a glimpse at the sensitive side of Billy Sullivan, nevertheless, the track retains the firmness of the rest of the material. After the instrumental Serenade Part 2, with acoustic guitar and fragile violins, the new single 4am follows, again an attractive mid-tempo composition, in which Sullivan paints a melancholic portrait of the struggle for survival. Great sound and stunning vocals with a hook.

Keep an eye on those guys!

Tracklisting:
1. Disciples
2. Tell Me
3. Escape Me
4. Spoke Too Soon
5. Relapse
6. Stand Down
7. Serenade Part 1
8. I’m Holding On
9. Spark to Start
0. Words to Say
1. When I Call out Your Name
2. Serenade Part 2
3. 4am
 

William LIÉNARD
10/09/2015


NL

Sinds de oprichting in 2012 hebben The Spitfires meer dan 200 liveshows gespeeld in Engeland en in West-Europa, en in Spanje hebben ze ondertussen een flinke fanbase opgebouwd. Na drie singles verschijnt eindelijk hun eerste album. Response is de samenvatting van hun carrière tot nog toe, maar vertelt ons ook waar de band op dit moment staat. Op dit debuutalbum zijn bijgevolg de oude troeven uit de livesets verzameld en gecombineerd met nieuw en gevoelig materiaal, waarmee zanger en gitarist Billy Sullivan het bewijs levert van z’n veelzijdig schrijverschap.

In Engeland worden The Spitfires tot de voorhoede van de nieuwe Mod-beweging gerekend, want hun post-punkgeluid en vocalen sluiten nauw aan bij de behoeften en de klachten van de jonge Britse internetgeneratie die zich, net zoals de generatie uit het Thatcher-tijdperk, als het grote slachtoffer beschouwt van de economische politiek van bezuinigingen die in Engeland aan de orde is. “Response is een album van zijn tijd, zegt frontman Billy Sullivan, het is ons antwoord op de huidige droogte qua betekenisvolle muziek en teksten, op de houding van de industrie en de roze getinte nostalgie over de helden van gisteren”. Maar de teksten gaan in niet mis te verstane woorden over de noden van huidige jonge generatie, over de achterstelling en het gebrek aan kansen.

Qua geluid worden The Spitfires vergeleken met The Jam en The Clash, maar het was Paul Weller van The Specials die ze in zijn voorprogramma zette en in wiens studio eerder een aantal van hun tracks zijn opgenomen. Het geluid van The Spitfires is met andere woorden vrij heftig, rock met luide gitaren en nadrukkelijke percussie, waarvan Disciplines en Tell Me perfecte voorbeelden zijn, met het jachtige Escape Me als neusje van de zalm. Daarna wordt gas teruggenomen voor de prachtige nostalgische hymne Spoke Too Soon, met tintelende gitaren en breekbare vocalen. Relapse gaat van start met meanderende violen in de intro, gevolgd door nadrukkelijke gitaren en al even nadrukkelijke vocalen, terwijl de nieuwe single Stand Down beslist een ruimer publiek kan bereiken, want deze track, die klinkt als een rockversie van het beste van The Men They Couldn’t Hang, bevat goed klinkend gitaarspel, mooie vocalen en aantrekkelijke koortjes. Serenade Part 1 is een rustig instrumentaal intermezzo met akoestische gitaar en koper en moet de luisteraar even op adem laten komen.

Daarna gaat het tempo weer flink omhoog met de stevige rocker I’m Holding On, gevolgd door Spark to Start, een track uit de beginperiode van The Spitfires met een flink basgeluid, voorzichtige noise een gedreven vocalen. Mooi. Ook Words to Say gaat al een tijdje mee in het repertoire van The Spitfires, maar deze albumversie met glockenspiel en violen in de intro en een ska-achtige knipoog richting The Specials halfweg, klinkt pittig en energiek. In When I Call Out Your Name wordt ons een blik gegund op de gevoelige kant van Billy Sullivan, maar de track behoudt desondanks de stevigheid van de rest van het materiaal. Na de instrumental Serenade Part 2, met akoestische gitaar en fragiele violen, volgt nog de nieuwe single 4am, opnieuw een aantrekkelijk mid-tempo compositie waarin Sullivan een melancholisch portret schildert van de strijd om te overleven. Prachtig geluid en bloedmooie vocalen met een haakje.

In het oog houden die kerels!

William LIÉNARD
10/09/2015


10/09/2015 : THE SPITFIRES - Response 10/09/2015 : THE SPITFIRES - Response 10/09/2015 : THE SPITFIRES - Response

 

Next reviews
VERTICAL SLUMP • Ruined Value EP
FLORIAN SCHAFER (NOYCE TM) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VPROJEKT • Parallel Commands
SHE SPREAD SORROW • Rumspringa
SPECTOR • Moth Boys
VARIOUS ARTISTS • NDW Aus grauer Städte Mauern Teil 2 – Die Neue Deutsche Welle 1977 – 85
GIUOIO RICCIARELLI • Im Labyrinth Des Schweigens
MOTORHEAD • Black Magic
ADN’ CKRYSTALL • Jazz' Mad
RESTBRIGADE • Thanks a Lot (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
DIE NERVEN • Out
STAKBABBER • Polarized
ADRIAN BORLAND • The Amsterdam Tapes
RESTBRIGADE • Thanks a Lot (EP)
FLESH WORLD • The Wild Animals in my Life
PINS • Wild Nights
EUROROCK DAY 2 • Neerpelt (16/05/2015)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design