tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/09/2015 : ADRIAN BORLAND - The Amsterdam Tapes

ADRIAN BORLAND

The Amsterdam Tapes

MusicCD
Post PunkRock

[84/100]   

Pop One Records
23/09/2015, Didier BECU

There are never too many articles about Adrian Borland. A handful of people (including yours sincerely) is confident of the fact that he’s the world’s greatest troubadour, someone who knew how to transform beauty and melancholy into touching tunes. Of course the world never cared about them. The Sound are indeed underrated, and even if nowadays some people try to lift up their importance by mentioning in interviews how great they were, they tend to forget the magical solo work.

After The Sound was disbanded, Adrian went for a solo career with a band named The Citizens. The first album Alexandria did it OK in the sales, but the next one (Brittle Heaven) was such a catastrophe that his label PIAS broke the record deal. At that moment Adrian was recording some tracks in the Amsterdam studio of Bart van Poppel. Fourteen songs were recorded with a TEAC 8-track recorder, and Adrian never asked for them. After his tragic death, Bart re-recorded them and assisted by his dad (who included a touching painted portrait in the booklet) they released it posthumous.

Perhaps as a dedicated fan, I’m not the right person to say something in an objective way, but this album is another great proof of how wrong the world was for not listening to this godlike musician. Modern rock songs from a melancholic troubadour, and to quote the words of his friend Mark Burgess: despite his fear it helped that he shared his nostalgia with us. Another great forgotten album. Memories are all that we have, Adrian, but they are all that we need…

Didier BECU
23/09/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain