tempobet yeni adresi

11/12/2016 : NEW MODEL ARMY - Winter

NEW MODEL ARMY

Winter

MusicCD
New wavePost PunkRock

[95/100]   

EarMusic
11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

Winter is coming. No, not really. Not whilst writing this: it's september, too hot in the city and summer's far from gone with this moisty and hot weather. But Winter has come! The brand new and stunning album by New Model Army, released on august 26th, carries that title. Justin Sullivan and the band are back and they are in great form too with maybe the best album in years!

New Model Army takes you into the winter with no less than thirteen exquisite, dark, haunting and beautiful melodies, charged with those typical narrative lyrics sung and hummed by Sullivan. Yes, winter has come, it's a dark beauty and there's no escaping it! And why should you? So, why not enter the Winter with this new powerful experience in the band's 36-year career.

All songs of Winter are illustrated in Matt Huynh's graphic novel with the same title. The band is very happy with it: Matt has the ability to combine violence and tragedy with a certain beauty and human empathy, so it reads. Sounds pretty much like New Model Army, no? Right!

Winter features Devil, the powerful and both spooky and very catchy single for which the band has revealed a new video, using footage from FW Murnau's 1926 movie Faust. Absolutely grand song. And then Devil is only one of the many strong dark diamonds on this album.

The album opens with some guitar distortion, then Justin's characteristic voice takes over and haunts: We watched her as she faded away.... Beginning is the menacing and desperate epical dark ballad that only New Model Army can come up with. And it's a true beauty. The album openingstrack is also one of the highlights if you ask me! Next up is Burn The Castle, which bursts out immediately whilst the haunts and chants of Beginning are fading, a dirty punk rock sing-along which would be a good single too. Listening to this track I wondered: could this have been Andrew Eldritch's follow up to the Sisters Of Mercy's Vision Thing (1992) that was never made? Probably not.

Bring me the snow fall, bring me the cold wind, bring me the winter. The album's title track is vintage New Model Army and NMA 2.0 at the same time. All the ingredients are there. Acoustic guitars, keys, Justin's great and powerful voice, bass... the epical character of the song. Top class this is, boys and girls.

Part the Waters is another mid tempo song, another darkish gem and some food for thought too: roads are filled with fleeing slaves and refugees – singing.

Eyes Get Used To the Darkness
is surely a favourite of mine, and I already heared some instant faves on this album. And when our eyes get used to darkness we could see the storm coming. This little brother of No Rest and I love The World is a killer. Rock 'n roll baby!

New Model Army has always been a master in really strong and catchy melodies and a dark atmosphere, bringing an irresistible blend of folk, post-punk and rock 'n roll. On Winter the band does it all over again, and better than ever. Another favourite of your reviewer surely is the all acoustic Die Trying; simple and powerfull or simply powerfull?

Other must-hear tracks on Winter are Born Feral, with it's tribal percussion added, and the very gloomy and melodramatic Strogoula. No, no, no – you can’t choose who you love, but you should never be there silently denying your own heart. As you listen and the cock crows once, twice, three times. As the day breaks.

The grande finale of Winter features the rocker Weak and Strong and the folk-rock ballad After Something, with both acoustic and electric guitars...

Winter is the 16th album by New Model Army, the band's still going strong and with Winter it made a killer of an album!

My personal faves on this gem are Beginning, Winter, Eyes Get Used To Darkness, Strogoula, Born Feral and Die Trying. But I'm sure you could name some others when you listen to the album. It is very consistent and contains no skip songs, so no fillers and almost all killers!

If you're a fan, you of course have the album already, if you don't own it yet, then buy it and do it now!
Definitely one the albums of the year!

New Model Army is touring with the album in European venues from September 30th to October 22th. The graphic novel (and probably the album too) will be on sale during the tour.

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KARIES • Es Geht Sich Aus
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
CROOKED MAN • Crooked Man
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless

 

Other reviews from NEW MODEL ARMY
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
NEW MODEL ARMY • Between Wine and Blood

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK + ROCK
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds:
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
RAZORLINE • Razorline
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
MEDIUM MEDIUM • The Glitterhouse
LES PANTIES • Cold Science
CRISPY AMBULANCE • Random Textures / Compulsion
O VEUX • O Veux

 

Same genre: ROCK
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
NEIL YOUNG+PROMISE OF THE REAL + LAURA MARLING • London, O2 Arena (11/06/2016)
AN PIERLE • Arches

Music reviews

18
09
SPARKS
Hippopotamus
16
09
SPARE SNARE
Unicorn
14
09
SPREADING POINT
MOMENTUM - PART II
04
09
HEXHEART
Midnight on a Moonless Night
29
08
CEPHALGY
Gott Maschine Vaterland
28
08
3TEETH
Shutdown.exe

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
09
The Knife releases new live album & DVD 'Live at Terminal 5
16
09
LA SCALTRA releases first video single from the forthcoming album FREAKSHOW
15
09
Mortiis releases a free 3-track charity single “Too Little Too Late'
13
09
New album from Electronica project MAURI - 'CYBORGS'
07
09
CAN founder and musician Holger Czukay died at the age of 79
30
08
WAX TRAX! EXPANDS MUSIC DOCUMENTARY WITH SO-CAL EVENT

Concert reviews

27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MARTYR WHORE
''as a lady orgasm multiply times by 100000000000000'. This night was a big surprise cause we were not programmed in the line up in Madrid'
17
09
VERSUS
‘TO PRODUCE A COMMERCIAL ALBUM WAS NEVER OUR INTENTION’
15
09
MASQUERADE
It's too difficult as it is to tour these days when people prefer to stay at home and watch videos from the 80's on YouTube
13
09
THE QUINSY
Each concert is unique. But we are famous for our powerful gigs
11
09
GOTTERDAMMERUNG
Rose gardens are beautiful but they die too…you might as well dance in that garden during the last night.

PHOTOS

13
09
KMFDM
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
12
09
REVOLTING COCKS
O2 Academy Islington, London, UK
28
08
DIE KRUPPS
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
28
08
DER REST
De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
24
08
RABIA SORDA
GDW Festival Tilloloy
24
08
DAS FLUFF
GDW Festival Tilloloy

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
IAMX
North Star
19
09
TRAIN TO SPAIN
Believe In Love
18
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
17
09
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
16
09
SONJA KRAUSHOFER
Wie Tränen Im Regen
16
09
MILA MAR
Das steinerne Kind
16
09
JO QUAIL
Laurus