tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NEW MODEL ARMY - Winter

NEW MODEL ARMY

Winter

MusicCD
New wavePost PunkRock

[95/100]   

EarMusic
11/12/2016, Mark VAN MULLEM

Winter is coming. No, not really. Not whilst writing this: it's september, too hot in the city and summer's far from gone with this moisty and hot weather. But Winter has come! The brand new and stunning album by New Model Army, released on august 26th, carries that title. Justin Sullivan and the band are back and they are in great form too with maybe the best album in years!

New Model Army takes you into the winter with no less than thirteen exquisite, dark, haunting and beautiful melodies, charged with those typical narrative lyrics sung and hummed by Sullivan. Yes, winter has come, it's a dark beauty and there's no escaping it! And why should you? So, why not enter the Winter with this new powerful experience in the band's 36-year career.

All songs of Winter are illustrated in Matt Huynh's graphic novel with the same title. The band is very happy with it: Matt has the ability to combine violence and tragedy with a certain beauty and human empathy, so it reads. Sounds pretty much like New Model Army, no? Right!

Winter features Devil, the powerful and both spooky and very catchy single for which the band has revealed a new video, using footage from FW Murnau's 1926 movie Faust. Absolutely grand song. And then Devil is only one of the many strong dark diamonds on this album.

The album opens with some guitar distortion, then Justin's characteristic voice takes over and haunts: We watched her as she faded away.... Beginning is the menacing and desperate epical dark ballad that only New Model Army can come up with. And it's a true beauty. The album openingstrack is also one of the highlights if you ask me! Next up is Burn The Castle, which bursts out immediately whilst the haunts and chants of Beginning are fading, a dirty punk rock sing-along which would be a good single too. Listening to this track I wondered: could this have been Andrew Eldritch's follow up to the Sisters Of Mercy's Vision Thing (1992) that was never made? Probably not.

Bring me the snow fall, bring me the cold wind, bring me the winter. The album's title track is vintage New Model Army and NMA 2.0 at the same time. All the ingredients are there. Acoustic guitars, keys, Justin's great and powerful voice, bass... the epical character of the song. Top class this is, boys and girls.

Part the Waters is another mid tempo song, another darkish gem and some food for thought too: roads are filled with fleeing slaves and refugees – singing.

Eyes Get Used To the Darkness
is surely a favourite of mine, and I already heared some instant faves on this album. And when our eyes get used to darkness we could see the storm coming. This little brother of No Rest and I love The World is a killer. Rock 'n roll baby!

New Model Army has always been a master in really strong and catchy melodies and a dark atmosphere, bringing an irresistible blend of folk, post-punk and rock 'n roll. On Winter the band does it all over again, and better than ever. Another favourite of your reviewer surely is the all acoustic Die Trying; simple and powerfull or simply powerfull?

Other must-hear tracks on Winter are Born Feral, with it's tribal percussion added, and the very gloomy and melodramatic Strogoula. No, no, no – you can’t choose who you love, but you should never be there silently denying your own heart. As you listen and the cock crows once, twice, three times. As the day breaks.

The grande finale of Winter features the rocker Weak and Strong and the folk-rock ballad After Something, with both acoustic and electric guitars...

Winter is the 16th album by New Model Army, the band's still going strong and with Winter it made a killer of an album!

My personal faves on this gem are Beginning, Winter, Eyes Get Used To Darkness, Strogoula, Born Feral and Die Trying. But I'm sure you could name some others when you listen to the album. It is very consistent and contains no skip songs, so no fillers and almost all killers!

If you're a fan, you of course have the album already, if you don't own it yet, then buy it and do it now!
Definitely one the albums of the year!

New Model Army is touring with the album in European venues from September 30th to October 22th. The graphic novel (and probably the album too) will be on sale during the tour.

Mark VAN MULLEM
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
KARIES • Es Geht Sich Aus
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
CROOKED MAN • Crooked Man
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless

 

Other reviews from NEW MODEL ARMY
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
NEW MODEL ARMY • Between Wine and Blood

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK + ROCK
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers
LAISSEZ FAIRE • No Land for Escape

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative

 

Same genre: ROCK
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day