tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

ADORATION DESTROYED

Ritual Damage

MusicCD
Dark PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Synthpop

[74/100]   

Cleopatra Records
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Ritual Damage, the debut album by the Austin band Adoration Destroyed has been released on Cleopatra Records.We hear frontman Erik Gustafson (who is also a member of 16 Volt and NOIR) on synths and vocals and a live band that consists of Eirik Ashe on drums and Jon Gilyeat on bass. The band has a sound with electro influences from the 80s, dark pop with a refined nod to IDM.

Here To Bleed opens the album: complaining vocals give it a rather dark side, perfectly danceable though.

On Torn Apart, the bass is dominant. The drums sound rougher and it rocks, although the EBM influence is still prominent. The same ingredients of the first two songs are in many following tracks. Not that it is monotonous, not at all. We hear a full range of styles: from spacy sounding synth parts to hard ones. Sometimes you hear guitar riffs throughout the whole song such as in Never Mine, sometimes synth and future pop as in Coma White. On Nothing Left the band is assisted by Cynical Existence.

Erik's lingering vocals remain identical throughout most tracks. Both Of Me sounds more like EBM and later like IDM and shows again the splash of diversity on this album. The vocals are even distorted in this song. Damage Ritual is an instrumental piece, minimalist, with a noisy undertone.

As a bonus, we hear two remixes: Here To Bleed (16 Volt remix) and to Elegant Decay (Mr. Kitty Remix).

We heard worse debut albums. Adoration Destroyed made good record, nothing more. It is done well, and the rocking sound - although IDM - is fun and the bass adds an enjoyable spin to the tracks.

Tracklist:
1. Here To Bleed
2. Torn Apart
3. Voices Carry
4. Carnal Dirge
5. Never Mine
6. Last
7. Coma White
8. Nothing Left
9. In Elegant Decay
10. Both Of Me
11. Ritual Damage
12. Here To Bleed (16 Volt Remix)
13. In Elegant Decay (Mr.Kitty Remix)

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

Ritual Damage is het op Cleopatra Records verschenen debuutalbum van Adoration Destroyed. De band uit Austin, met frontman Erik Gustafson (ook lid van 16 Volt, NOIR) op synths en zang en een live band die bestaat uit Eirik Ashe op drums en Jon Gilyeat op bas. De band zet een sound neer met flarden elektro uit de vroegere jaren 80, darkpop met een verfijnde knipoog naar IDM.

Here To Bleed opent deze eersteling van de band. Meeslepende elektro, klagende en jammerende vocalen geven het geheel een vrij duister kantje, hoewel perfect dansbaar.

De basgitaar scheurt op verschroeiende wijze door de tweede song Torn Apart. De drumpartijen klinken ruwer en het geheel rockt, hoewel de EBM-invloed nog heel duidelijk hoorbaar is. De ingrediënten die we in de eerste twee songs hoorden, blijven behouden in heel wat tracks. Niét dat het eentonig wordt, totaal niet. We krijgen het volledige arsenaal aan stijlen op het bord: van spacy klinkende synthpartijen tot rockend hard. Soms hoor je meeslepende gitaarpartijen die het geheel doorkruisen zoals in Never Mine, dan weer synth- en futurepop in Coma White. En de band slaat ook de handen ineen met al gevestigde waarden. In Nothing Left komt Cynical Existence meedoen.

De slepende vocalen van Erik blijven gelijkluidend doorheen de meeste tracks. Both Of Me klinkt dan weer iets meer EBM dan IDM en toont weer een sprankel van de diversiteit in dit album. De zangpartij wordt zelfs door de distortie-molen gehaald in deze song. Ritual Damage is een instrumentaal stukje, minimalistisch, met zelf een wat noisyere ondertoon.

Als toemaatje horen we twee remixes: Here To Bleed (16 Volt remix) en In Elegant Decay (Mr. Kitty Remix).

In globo: we hoorden al slechtere debuutalbums. Adoration Destroyed levert een goede plaat, maar daarmee is ook alles gezegd. Het zit technisch en qua klankpalet wel goed in elkaar, maar het springt er niet uit. In zijn genre dik OK. De rockende sound - hoewel IDM - is leuk en de baspartijen geven her en der een deugddoende draai aan de tracks.

Tracklist:
1. Here To Bleed
2. Torn Apart
3. Voices Carry
4. Carnal Dirge
5. Never Mine
6. Last
7. Coma White
8. Nothing Left
9. In Elegant Decay
10. Both Of Me
11. Ritual Damage
12. Here To Bleed (16 Volt Remix)
13. In Elegant Decay (Mr.Kitty Remix)

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage 11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage 11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

 

Next reviews
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland

 

Other reviews from ADORATION DESTROYED
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age
HEADDREAMER • Human Frequencies

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury

Music reviews

15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm
25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Classic Pop publishes special issue on the career of Pet Shop Boys!
07
05
This month it is 30 years ago that Front Line Assembly released their Disorder EP

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City
21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’

PHOTOS

21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT
21
05
THE LAST CRY
WGT
20
05
PLASTIC NOICE EXPERIENCE
WGT
20
05
WULFBAND
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue
21
05
ATTRITION
Dante's Kitchen
20
05
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
19
05
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
18
05
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi
17
05
VNV NATION
Nova