tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

ADORATION DESTROYED

Ritual Damage

MusicCD
Dark PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Synthpop

[74/100]   

Cleopatra Records
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Ritual Damage, the debut album by the Austin band Adoration Destroyed has been released on Cleopatra Records.We hear frontman Erik Gustafson (who is also a member of 16 Volt and NOIR) on synths and vocals and a live band that consists of Eirik Ashe on drums and Jon Gilyeat on bass. The band has a sound with electro influences from the 80s, dark pop with a refined nod to IDM.

Here To Bleed opens the album: complaining vocals give it a rather dark side, perfectly danceable though.

On Torn Apart, the bass is dominant. The drums sound rougher and it rocks, although the EBM influence is still prominent. The same ingredients of the first two songs are in many following tracks. Not that it is monotonous, not at all. We hear a full range of styles: from spacy sounding synth parts to hard ones. Sometimes you hear guitar riffs throughout the whole song such as in Never Mine, sometimes synth and future pop as in Coma White. On Nothing Left the band is assisted by Cynical Existence.

Erik's lingering vocals remain identical throughout most tracks. Both Of Me sounds more like EBM and later like IDM and shows again the splash of diversity on this album. The vocals are even distorted in this song. Damage Ritual is an instrumental piece, minimalist, with a noisy undertone.

As a bonus, we hear two remixes: Here To Bleed (16 Volt remix) and to Elegant Decay (Mr. Kitty Remix).

We heard worse debut albums. Adoration Destroyed made good record, nothing more. It is done well, and the rocking sound - although IDM - is fun and the bass adds an enjoyable spin to the tracks.

Tracklist:
1. Here To Bleed
2. Torn Apart
3. Voices Carry
4. Carnal Dirge
5. Never Mine
6. Last
7. Coma White
8. Nothing Left
9. In Elegant Decay
10. Both Of Me
11. Ritual Damage
12. Here To Bleed (16 Volt Remix)
13. In Elegant Decay (Mr.Kitty Remix)

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

Ritual Damage is het op Cleopatra Records verschenen debuutalbum van Adoration Destroyed. De band uit Austin, met frontman Erik Gustafson (ook lid van 16 Volt, NOIR) op synths en zang en een live band die bestaat uit Eirik Ashe op drums en Jon Gilyeat op bas. De band zet een sound neer met flarden elektro uit de vroegere jaren 80, darkpop met een verfijnde knipoog naar IDM.

Here To Bleed opent deze eersteling van de band. Meeslepende elektro, klagende en jammerende vocalen geven het geheel een vrij duister kantje, hoewel perfect dansbaar.

De basgitaar scheurt op verschroeiende wijze door de tweede song Torn Apart. De drumpartijen klinken ruwer en het geheel rockt, hoewel de EBM-invloed nog heel duidelijk hoorbaar is. De ingrediënten die we in de eerste twee songs hoorden, blijven behouden in heel wat tracks. Niét dat het eentonig wordt, totaal niet. We krijgen het volledige arsenaal aan stijlen op het bord: van spacy klinkende synthpartijen tot rockend hard. Soms hoor je meeslepende gitaarpartijen die het geheel doorkruisen zoals in Never Mine, dan weer synth- en futurepop in Coma White. En de band slaat ook de handen ineen met al gevestigde waarden. In Nothing Left komt Cynical Existence meedoen.

De slepende vocalen van Erik blijven gelijkluidend doorheen de meeste tracks. Both Of Me klinkt dan weer iets meer EBM dan IDM en toont weer een sprankel van de diversiteit in dit album. De zangpartij wordt zelfs door de distortie-molen gehaald in deze song. Ritual Damage is een instrumentaal stukje, minimalistisch, met zelf een wat noisyere ondertoon.

Als toemaatje horen we twee remixes: Here To Bleed (16 Volt remix) en In Elegant Decay (Mr. Kitty Remix).

In globo: we hoorden al slechtere debuutalbums. Adoration Destroyed levert een goede plaat, maar daarmee is ook alles gezegd. Het zit technisch en qua klankpalet wel goed in elkaar, maar het springt er niet uit. In zijn genre dik OK. De rockende sound - hoewel IDM - is leuk en de baspartijen geven her en der een deugddoende draai aan de tracks.

Tracklist:
1. Here To Bleed
2. Torn Apart
3. Voices Carry
4. Carnal Dirge
5. Never Mine
6. Last
7. Coma White
8. Nothing Left
9. In Elegant Decay
10. Both Of Me
11. Ritual Damage
12. Here To Bleed (16 Volt Remix)
13. In Elegant Decay (Mr.Kitty Remix)

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage 11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage 11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

 

Next reviews
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland

 

Other reviews from ADORATION DESTROYED
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: DARK POP
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VANGUARD • Spectrum
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets