tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

ADORATION DESTROYED

Ritual Damage

MusicCD
Dark PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Synthpop

[74/100]   

Cleopatra Records
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Ritual Damage, the debut album by the Austin band Adoration Destroyed has been released on Cleopatra Records.We hear frontman Erik Gustafson (who is also a member of 16 Volt and NOIR) on synths and vocals and a live band that consists of Eirik Ashe on drums and Jon Gilyeat on bass. The band has a sound with electro influences from the 80s, dark pop with a refined nod to IDM.

Here To Bleed opens the album: complaining vocals give it a rather dark side, perfectly danceable though.

On Torn Apart, the bass is dominant. The drums sound rougher and it rocks, although the EBM influence is still prominent. The same ingredients of the first two songs are in many following tracks. Not that it is monotonous, not at all. We hear a full range of styles: from spacy sounding synth parts to hard ones. Sometimes you hear guitar riffs throughout the whole song such as in Never Mine, sometimes synth and future pop as in Coma White. On Nothing Left the band is assisted by Cynical Existence.

Erik's lingering vocals remain identical throughout most tracks. Both Of Me sounds more like EBM and later like IDM and shows again the splash of diversity on this album. The vocals are even distorted in this song. Damage Ritual is an instrumental piece, minimalist, with a noisy undertone.

As a bonus, we hear two remixes: Here To Bleed (16 Volt remix) and to Elegant Decay (Mr. Kitty Remix).

We heard worse debut albums. Adoration Destroyed made good record, nothing more. It is done well, and the rocking sound - although IDM - is fun and the bass adds an enjoyable spin to the tracks.

Tracklist:
1. Here To Bleed
2. Torn Apart
3. Voices Carry
4. Carnal Dirge
5. Never Mine
6. Last
7. Coma White
8. Nothing Left
9. In Elegant Decay
10. Both Of Me
11. Ritual Damage
12. Here To Bleed (16 Volt Remix)
13. In Elegant Decay (Mr.Kitty Remix)

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

Ritual Damage is het op Cleopatra Records verschenen debuutalbum van Adoration Destroyed. De band uit Austin, met frontman Erik Gustafson (ook lid van 16 Volt, NOIR) op synths en zang en een live band die bestaat uit Eirik Ashe op drums en Jon Gilyeat op bas. De band zet een sound neer met flarden elektro uit de vroegere jaren 80, darkpop met een verfijnde knipoog naar IDM.

Here To Bleed opent deze eersteling van de band. Meeslepende elektro, klagende en jammerende vocalen geven het geheel een vrij duister kantje, hoewel perfect dansbaar.

De basgitaar scheurt op verschroeiende wijze door de tweede song Torn Apart. De drumpartijen klinken ruwer en het geheel rockt, hoewel de EBM-invloed nog heel duidelijk hoorbaar is. De ingrediënten die we in de eerste twee songs hoorden, blijven behouden in heel wat tracks. Niét dat het eentonig wordt, totaal niet. We krijgen het volledige arsenaal aan stijlen op het bord: van spacy klinkende synthpartijen tot rockend hard. Soms hoor je meeslepende gitaarpartijen die het geheel doorkruisen zoals in Never Mine, dan weer synth- en futurepop in Coma White. En de band slaat ook de handen ineen met al gevestigde waarden. In Nothing Left komt Cynical Existence meedoen.

De slepende vocalen van Erik blijven gelijkluidend doorheen de meeste tracks. Both Of Me klinkt dan weer iets meer EBM dan IDM en toont weer een sprankel van de diversiteit in dit album. De zangpartij wordt zelfs door de distortie-molen gehaald in deze song. Ritual Damage is een instrumentaal stukje, minimalistisch, met zelf een wat noisyere ondertoon.

Als toemaatje horen we twee remixes: Here To Bleed (16 Volt remix) en In Elegant Decay (Mr. Kitty Remix).

In globo: we hoorden al slechtere debuutalbums. Adoration Destroyed levert een goede plaat, maar daarmee is ook alles gezegd. Het zit technisch en qua klankpalet wel goed in elkaar, maar het springt er niet uit. In zijn genre dik OK. De rockende sound - hoewel IDM - is leuk en de baspartijen geven her en der een deugddoende draai aan de tracks.

Tracklist:
1. Here To Bleed
2. Torn Apart
3. Voices Carry
4. Carnal Dirge
5. Never Mine
6. Last
7. Coma White
8. Nothing Left
9. In Elegant Decay
10. Both Of Me
11. Ritual Damage
12. Here To Bleed (16 Volt Remix)
13. In Elegant Decay (Mr.Kitty Remix)

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage 11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage 11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

 

Next reviews
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland

 

Other reviews from ADORATION DESTROYED
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: DARK POP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)