tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

ADORATION DESTROYED

Ritual Damage

MusicCD
Dark PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Synthpop

[74/100]   

Cleopatra Records
11/12/2016, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Ritual Damage, the debut album by the Austin band Adoration Destroyed has been released on Cleopatra Records.We hear frontman Erik Gustafson (who is also a member of 16 Volt and NOIR) on synths and vocals and a live band that consists of Eirik Ashe on drums and Jon Gilyeat on bass. The band has a sound with electro influences from the 80s, dark pop with a refined nod to IDM.

Here To Bleed opens the album: complaining vocals give it a rather dark side, perfectly danceable though.

On Torn Apart, the bass is dominant. The drums sound rougher and it rocks, although the EBM influence is still prominent. The same ingredients of the first two songs are in many following tracks. Not that it is monotonous, not at all. We hear a full range of styles: from spacy sounding synth parts to hard ones. Sometimes you hear guitar riffs throughout the whole song such as in Never Mine, sometimes synth and future pop as in Coma White. On Nothing Left the band is assisted by Cynical Existence.

Erik's lingering vocals remain identical throughout most tracks. Both Of Me sounds more like EBM and later like IDM and shows again the splash of diversity on this album. The vocals are even distorted in this song. Damage Ritual is an instrumental piece, minimalist, with a noisy undertone.

As a bonus, we hear two remixes: Here To Bleed (16 Volt remix) and to Elegant Decay (Mr. Kitty Remix).

We heard worse debut albums. Adoration Destroyed made good record, nothing more. It is done well, and the rocking sound - although IDM - is fun and the bass adds an enjoyable spin to the tracks.

Tracklist:
1. Here To Bleed
2. Torn Apart
3. Voices Carry
4. Carnal Dirge
5. Never Mine
6. Last
7. Coma White
8. Nothing Left
9. In Elegant Decay
10. Both Of Me
11. Ritual Damage
12. Here To Bleed (16 Volt Remix)
13. In Elegant Decay (Mr.Kitty Remix)

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


NL

Ritual Damage is het op Cleopatra Records verschenen debuutalbum van Adoration Destroyed. De band uit Austin, met frontman Erik Gustafson (ook lid van 16 Volt, NOIR) op synths en zang en een live band die bestaat uit Eirik Ashe op drums en Jon Gilyeat op bas. De band zet een sound neer met flarden elektro uit de vroegere jaren 80, darkpop met een verfijnde knipoog naar IDM.

Here To Bleed opent deze eersteling van de band. Meeslepende elektro, klagende en jammerende vocalen geven het geheel een vrij duister kantje, hoewel perfect dansbaar.

De basgitaar scheurt op verschroeiende wijze door de tweede song Torn Apart. De drumpartijen klinken ruwer en het geheel rockt, hoewel de EBM-invloed nog heel duidelijk hoorbaar is. De ingrediënten die we in de eerste twee songs hoorden, blijven behouden in heel wat tracks. Niét dat het eentonig wordt, totaal niet. We krijgen het volledige arsenaal aan stijlen op het bord: van spacy klinkende synthpartijen tot rockend hard. Soms hoor je meeslepende gitaarpartijen die het geheel doorkruisen zoals in Never Mine, dan weer synth- en futurepop in Coma White. En de band slaat ook de handen ineen met al gevestigde waarden. In Nothing Left komt Cynical Existence meedoen.

De slepende vocalen van Erik blijven gelijkluidend doorheen de meeste tracks. Both Of Me klinkt dan weer iets meer EBM dan IDM en toont weer een sprankel van de diversiteit in dit album. De zangpartij wordt zelfs door de distortie-molen gehaald in deze song. Ritual Damage is een instrumentaal stukje, minimalistisch, met zelf een wat noisyere ondertoon.

Als toemaatje horen we twee remixes: Here To Bleed (16 Volt remix) en In Elegant Decay (Mr. Kitty Remix).

In globo: we hoorden al slechtere debuutalbums. Adoration Destroyed levert een goede plaat, maar daarmee is ook alles gezegd. Het zit technisch en qua klankpalet wel goed in elkaar, maar het springt er niet uit. In zijn genre dik OK. De rockende sound - hoewel IDM - is leuk en de baspartijen geven her en der een deugddoende draai aan de tracks.

Tracklist:
1. Here To Bleed
2. Torn Apart
3. Voices Carry
4. Carnal Dirge
5. Never Mine
6. Last
7. Coma White
8. Nothing Left
9. In Elegant Decay
10. Both Of Me
11. Ritual Damage
12. Here To Bleed (16 Volt Remix)
13. In Elegant Decay (Mr.Kitty Remix)

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
11/12/2016


11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage 11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage 11/12/2016 : ADORATION DESTROYED - Ritual Damage

 

Next reviews
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
ROME • The Hyperion Machine
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland

 

Other reviews from ADORATION DESTROYED
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown