tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ROME - The Hyperion Machine

ROME

The Hyperion Machine

MusicCD
Dark FolkDark PopNeofolk

[87/100]   

Trisol
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

During recent gigs we got a glimpse of the new album, which gave us the feeling that the latest of Rome would be a great masterpiece. And yes, The Hyperion Machine may be the most accessible album of this Luxembourg band so far, it is also its finest.

The bells in the short intro song sound ominous, you hear distorted voices and the familiar neofolk guitars. You hear it from the first note: this will be a stunner.

The acoustic Celine in Jerusalem is about the never ending war tragedy in the Israeli capital. A simple song that grabs you by the scuff and shows that Jerome Reuter is a songwriter who transcends all genres.

In Transference we hear Eric Becker’s guitar and the booming bass of Patrick Kleinbauer: dark pop like you only find on masterpieces by Nick Cave. This is huge.

The Hyperion Machine is also the most varied album of Rome, Alabanda Breviary reminds you why this Luxembourg band is so loved by the neofolk audience.

An album by Rome must contain a large dose of melancholy. Stillwell which is a duet with his Swedish friend Thåström, is melancholy at its best. You notice that Rome is in evolution, but it is a band that respects its own sound. Cities Of Asylum and Skirmishes For Diotima could have been on the first Rome records: dark acoustic pop, but extremely beautiful. Adamas sounds macabre, subtle guitars which pierce your heart.

Verschliesse nicht das Tor, verschliesse nicht dein Herz, lasst weder Angst noch Hass Europas Erbe bestimmen, it's Jerome Reuters cry of fear in The Secret Germany. It is followed by Die Mörder Mühsams that sounds like a gramophone record from the 30s, food for thought.

This gem is completed with the poppy but moving Fanfan. The Hyperion Machine may not become the typical record some neofolk fans wanted to hear, but if you’re in love with beauty, then you will fall in the arms of The Hyperion Machine.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Tijdens recente optredens konden we er al een glimp van opvangen en kregen we het gevoel dat de nieuwste van Rome wel eens een groot meesterwerk zou kunnen worden. En jawel, The Hyperion Machine mag dan de meest toegankelijke plaat zijn die de Luxemburgse band tot dusver heeft gemaakt, het is ook met verve hun allermooiste.

Het klokkengelui in de korte introsong klinkt onheilspellend, je hoort vervormde stemmen en de vertrouwde neofolkgitaren. Je merkt het vanaf de eerste noot: dit wordt een prachtplaat.

Het akoestische Celine In Jerusalem gaat over de eeuwige oorlogsellende in de Israëlische hoofdstad. Eenvoud die je bij je nekvel grijpt en toont dat Jerome Reuter een songsmid is die boven alle genres uitstijgt.

In Transference horen we de gitaar van Eric Becker en de doordringende bas van Patrick Kleinbauer, beklemmende donkere pop zoals je die alleen maar op meesterwerken van Nick Cave aantreft. Groots.

The Hyperion Machine is ook het meest gevarieerde album van Rome Zo laat The Alabanda Breviary nog eens horen waarom deze Luxemburgse band zo geliefd is bij het neofolkpubliek.

Een Rome-plaat kan natuurlijk niet zonder een portie weemoed. Stillwell, een duet met zijn Zweedse vriend Thåström, is melancholie ten top. Je merkt duidelijk dat Rome een band in evolutie is zonder dat het eigen geluid wordt verloochend, Cities Of Asylum en Skirmishes For Diotima halen herinneringen op aan de eerste platen van Rome: eenvoudige akoestische donkere pop, maar bloedstollend mooi. Adamas klinkt macaber, subtiele gitaren die je hart doorboren.

Verschliesse nicht das Tor, verschliesse nicht dein Herz, lasst weder Angst noch Hass Europas Erbe bestimmen, het is Jerome Reuters angstkreet in het aangrijpende The Secret Germany. Het wordt gevolgd door Die Mörder Mühsams dat klinkt als een gramofoonplaat uit de jaren 30, stof tot nadenken.

Deze prachtplaat wordt afgesloten met het poppy maar ontroerende Fanfan. The Hyperion Machine is mogelijkerwijs niet de doorsneeplaat waarop neofolkfans met oogkleppen op zitten te wachten. Wie verliefd is op schoonheid, zal zonder twijfel in de armen van The Hyperion Machine vallen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
07
Empirion end their two decade hiatus with Double A-Side Single!
18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
07
DANA CALLEY (VAPORS OF MORPHINE)
From the beginning to the last note
19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
07
AND ONE
The End of Your Life (feat. Douglas J. McCarthy)
21
07
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
20
07
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away