tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ROME - The Hyperion Machine

ROME

The Hyperion Machine

MusicCD
Dark FolkDark PopNeofolk

[87/100]   

Trisol
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

During recent gigs we got a glimpse of the new album, which gave us the feeling that the latest of Rome would be a great masterpiece. And yes, The Hyperion Machine may be the most accessible album of this Luxembourg band so far, it is also its finest.

The bells in the short intro song sound ominous, you hear distorted voices and the familiar neofolk guitars. You hear it from the first note: this will be a stunner.

The acoustic Celine in Jerusalem is about the never ending war tragedy in the Israeli capital. A simple song that grabs you by the scuff and shows that Jerome Reuter is a songwriter who transcends all genres.

In Transference we hear Eric Becker’s guitar and the booming bass of Patrick Kleinbauer: dark pop like you only find on masterpieces by Nick Cave. This is huge.

The Hyperion Machine is also the most varied album of Rome, Alabanda Breviary reminds you why this Luxembourg band is so loved by the neofolk audience.

An album by Rome must contain a large dose of melancholy. Stillwell which is a duet with his Swedish friend Thåström, is melancholy at its best. You notice that Rome is in evolution, but it is a band that respects its own sound. Cities Of Asylum and Skirmishes For Diotima could have been on the first Rome records: dark acoustic pop, but extremely beautiful. Adamas sounds macabre, subtle guitars which pierce your heart.

Verschliesse nicht das Tor, verschliesse nicht dein Herz, lasst weder Angst noch Hass Europas Erbe bestimmen, it's Jerome Reuters cry of fear in The Secret Germany. It is followed by Die Mörder Mühsams that sounds like a gramophone record from the 30s, food for thought.

This gem is completed with the poppy but moving Fanfan. The Hyperion Machine may not become the typical record some neofolk fans wanted to hear, but if you’re in love with beauty, then you will fall in the arms of The Hyperion Machine.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Tijdens recente optredens konden we er al een glimp van opvangen en kregen we het gevoel dat de nieuwste van Rome wel eens een groot meesterwerk zou kunnen worden. En jawel, The Hyperion Machine mag dan de meest toegankelijke plaat zijn die de Luxemburgse band tot dusver heeft gemaakt, het is ook met verve hun allermooiste.

Het klokkengelui in de korte introsong klinkt onheilspellend, je hoort vervormde stemmen en de vertrouwde neofolkgitaren. Je merkt het vanaf de eerste noot: dit wordt een prachtplaat.

Het akoestische Celine In Jerusalem gaat over de eeuwige oorlogsellende in de Israëlische hoofdstad. Eenvoud die je bij je nekvel grijpt en toont dat Jerome Reuter een songsmid is die boven alle genres uitstijgt.

In Transference horen we de gitaar van Eric Becker en de doordringende bas van Patrick Kleinbauer, beklemmende donkere pop zoals je die alleen maar op meesterwerken van Nick Cave aantreft. Groots.

The Hyperion Machine is ook het meest gevarieerde album van Rome Zo laat The Alabanda Breviary nog eens horen waarom deze Luxemburgse band zo geliefd is bij het neofolkpubliek.

Een Rome-plaat kan natuurlijk niet zonder een portie weemoed. Stillwell, een duet met zijn Zweedse vriend Thåström, is melancholie ten top. Je merkt duidelijk dat Rome een band in evolutie is zonder dat het eigen geluid wordt verloochend, Cities Of Asylum en Skirmishes For Diotima halen herinneringen op aan de eerste platen van Rome: eenvoudige akoestische donkere pop, maar bloedstollend mooi. Adamas klinkt macaber, subtiele gitaren die je hart doorboren.

Verschliesse nicht das Tor, verschliesse nicht dein Herz, lasst weder Angst noch Hass Europas Erbe bestimmen, het is Jerome Reuters angstkreet in het aangrijpende The Secret Germany. Het wordt gevolgd door Die Mörder Mühsams dat klinkt als een gramofoonplaat uit de jaren 30, stof tot nadenken.

Deze prachtplaat wordt afgesloten met het poppy maar ontroerende Fanfan. The Hyperion Machine is mogelijkerwijs niet de doorsneeplaat waarop neofolkfans met oogkleppen op zitten te wachten. Wie verliefd is op schoonheid, zal zonder twijfel in de armen van The Hyperion Machine vallen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)