tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ROME - The Hyperion Machine

ROME

The Hyperion Machine

MusicCD
Dark FolkDark PopNeofolk

[87/100]   

Trisol
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

During recent gigs we got a glimpse of the new album, which gave us the feeling that the latest of Rome would be a great masterpiece. And yes, The Hyperion Machine may be the most accessible album of this Luxembourg band so far, it is also its finest.

The bells in the short intro song sound ominous, you hear distorted voices and the familiar neofolk guitars. You hear it from the first note: this will be a stunner.

The acoustic Celine in Jerusalem is about the never ending war tragedy in the Israeli capital. A simple song that grabs you by the scuff and shows that Jerome Reuter is a songwriter who transcends all genres.

In Transference we hear Eric Becker’s guitar and the booming bass of Patrick Kleinbauer: dark pop like you only find on masterpieces by Nick Cave. This is huge.

The Hyperion Machine is also the most varied album of Rome, Alabanda Breviary reminds you why this Luxembourg band is so loved by the neofolk audience.

An album by Rome must contain a large dose of melancholy. Stillwell which is a duet with his Swedish friend Thåström, is melancholy at its best. You notice that Rome is in evolution, but it is a band that respects its own sound. Cities Of Asylum and Skirmishes For Diotima could have been on the first Rome records: dark acoustic pop, but extremely beautiful. Adamas sounds macabre, subtle guitars which pierce your heart.

Verschliesse nicht das Tor, verschliesse nicht dein Herz, lasst weder Angst noch Hass Europas Erbe bestimmen, it's Jerome Reuters cry of fear in The Secret Germany. It is followed by Die Mörder Mühsams that sounds like a gramophone record from the 30s, food for thought.

This gem is completed with the poppy but moving Fanfan. The Hyperion Machine may not become the typical record some neofolk fans wanted to hear, but if you’re in love with beauty, then you will fall in the arms of The Hyperion Machine.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Tijdens recente optredens konden we er al een glimp van opvangen en kregen we het gevoel dat de nieuwste van Rome wel eens een groot meesterwerk zou kunnen worden. En jawel, The Hyperion Machine mag dan de meest toegankelijke plaat zijn die de Luxemburgse band tot dusver heeft gemaakt, het is ook met verve hun allermooiste.

Het klokkengelui in de korte introsong klinkt onheilspellend, je hoort vervormde stemmen en de vertrouwde neofolkgitaren. Je merkt het vanaf de eerste noot: dit wordt een prachtplaat.

Het akoestische Celine In Jerusalem gaat over de eeuwige oorlogsellende in de Israëlische hoofdstad. Eenvoud die je bij je nekvel grijpt en toont dat Jerome Reuter een songsmid is die boven alle genres uitstijgt.

In Transference horen we de gitaar van Eric Becker en de doordringende bas van Patrick Kleinbauer, beklemmende donkere pop zoals je die alleen maar op meesterwerken van Nick Cave aantreft. Groots.

The Hyperion Machine is ook het meest gevarieerde album van Rome Zo laat The Alabanda Breviary nog eens horen waarom deze Luxemburgse band zo geliefd is bij het neofolkpubliek.

Een Rome-plaat kan natuurlijk niet zonder een portie weemoed. Stillwell, een duet met zijn Zweedse vriend Thåström, is melancholie ten top. Je merkt duidelijk dat Rome een band in evolutie is zonder dat het eigen geluid wordt verloochend, Cities Of Asylum en Skirmishes For Diotima halen herinneringen op aan de eerste platen van Rome: eenvoudige akoestische donkere pop, maar bloedstollend mooi. Adamas klinkt macaber, subtiele gitaren die je hart doorboren.

Verschliesse nicht das Tor, verschliesse nicht dein Herz, lasst weder Angst noch Hass Europas Erbe bestimmen, het is Jerome Reuters angstkreet in het aangrijpende The Secret Germany. Het wordt gevolgd door Die Mörder Mühsams dat klinkt als een gramofoonplaat uit de jaren 30, stof tot nadenken.

Deze prachtplaat wordt afgesloten met het poppy maar ontroerende Fanfan. The Hyperion Machine is mogelijkerwijs niet de doorsneeplaat waarop neofolkfans met oogkleppen op zitten te wachten. Wie verliefd is op schoonheid, zal zonder twijfel in de armen van The Hyperion Machine vallen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway