tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : ROME - The Hyperion Machine

ROME

The Hyperion Machine

MusicCD
Dark FolkDark PopNeofolk

[87/100]   

Trisol
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

During recent gigs we got a glimpse of the new album, which gave us the feeling that the latest of Rome would be a great masterpiece. And yes, The Hyperion Machine may be the most accessible album of this Luxembourg band so far, it is also its finest.

The bells in the short intro song sound ominous, you hear distorted voices and the familiar neofolk guitars. You hear it from the first note: this will be a stunner.

The acoustic Celine in Jerusalem is about the never ending war tragedy in the Israeli capital. A simple song that grabs you by the scuff and shows that Jerome Reuter is a songwriter who transcends all genres.

In Transference we hear Eric Becker’s guitar and the booming bass of Patrick Kleinbauer: dark pop like you only find on masterpieces by Nick Cave. This is huge.

The Hyperion Machine is also the most varied album of Rome, Alabanda Breviary reminds you why this Luxembourg band is so loved by the neofolk audience.

An album by Rome must contain a large dose of melancholy. Stillwell which is a duet with his Swedish friend Thåström, is melancholy at its best. You notice that Rome is in evolution, but it is a band that respects its own sound. Cities Of Asylum and Skirmishes For Diotima could have been on the first Rome records: dark acoustic pop, but extremely beautiful. Adamas sounds macabre, subtle guitars which pierce your heart.

Verschliesse nicht das Tor, verschliesse nicht dein Herz, lasst weder Angst noch Hass Europas Erbe bestimmen, it's Jerome Reuters cry of fear in The Secret Germany. It is followed by Die Mörder Mühsams that sounds like a gramophone record from the 30s, food for thought.

This gem is completed with the poppy but moving Fanfan. The Hyperion Machine may not become the typical record some neofolk fans wanted to hear, but if you’re in love with beauty, then you will fall in the arms of The Hyperion Machine.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Tijdens recente optredens konden we er al een glimp van opvangen en kregen we het gevoel dat de nieuwste van Rome wel eens een groot meesterwerk zou kunnen worden. En jawel, The Hyperion Machine mag dan de meest toegankelijke plaat zijn die de Luxemburgse band tot dusver heeft gemaakt, het is ook met verve hun allermooiste.

Het klokkengelui in de korte introsong klinkt onheilspellend, je hoort vervormde stemmen en de vertrouwde neofolkgitaren. Je merkt het vanaf de eerste noot: dit wordt een prachtplaat.

Het akoestische Celine In Jerusalem gaat over de eeuwige oorlogsellende in de Israëlische hoofdstad. Eenvoud die je bij je nekvel grijpt en toont dat Jerome Reuter een songsmid is die boven alle genres uitstijgt.

In Transference horen we de gitaar van Eric Becker en de doordringende bas van Patrick Kleinbauer, beklemmende donkere pop zoals je die alleen maar op meesterwerken van Nick Cave aantreft. Groots.

The Hyperion Machine is ook het meest gevarieerde album van Rome Zo laat The Alabanda Breviary nog eens horen waarom deze Luxemburgse band zo geliefd is bij het neofolkpubliek.

Een Rome-plaat kan natuurlijk niet zonder een portie weemoed. Stillwell, een duet met zijn Zweedse vriend Thåström, is melancholie ten top. Je merkt duidelijk dat Rome een band in evolutie is zonder dat het eigen geluid wordt verloochend, Cities Of Asylum en Skirmishes For Diotima halen herinneringen op aan de eerste platen van Rome: eenvoudige akoestische donkere pop, maar bloedstollend mooi. Adamas klinkt macaber, subtiele gitaren die je hart doorboren.

Verschliesse nicht das Tor, verschliesse nicht dein Herz, lasst weder Angst noch Hass Europas Erbe bestimmen, het is Jerome Reuters angstkreet in het aangrijpende The Secret Germany. Het wordt gevolgd door Die Mörder Mühsams dat klinkt als een gramofoonplaat uit de jaren 30, stof tot nadenken.

Deze prachtplaat wordt afgesloten met het poppy maar ontroerende Fanfan. The Hyperion Machine is mogelijkerwijs niet de doorsneeplaat waarop neofolkfans met oogkleppen op zitten te wachten. Wie verliefd is op schoonheid, zal zonder twijfel in de armen van The Hyperion Machine vallen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CANDLEBAGS • Albert
THE PINEAPPLE THIEF • Your Wilderness
THE DIVINE COMEDY • Foreverland
CRISIS ACTOR • Superstar
MICHAEL PLATER • Mythologies
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SANDIE TRASH • Tu Veux Monter Dans Le Wagon?
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
THOM SONNY GREEN • High Anxiety

 

Same combination of genres: DARK FOLK + DARK POP + NEOFOLK
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man

 

Same genre: DARK FOLK
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DARKHER • Realms
WOLJAGER • Van T Liewen Un Stiäwen

 

Same genre: DARK POP
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
DEATH IN ROME • Hitparade
HAUTVILLE • Mater Dolorosa
SIEGFRIED • K

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland