tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MICHAEL PLATER - Mythologies

MICHAEL PLATER

Mythologies

MusicCD

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even if Australia looks like a paradise, it is the birthplace of dark pop. Nick Cave is the best known example, and it is clear that Michael Plater of Melbourne has a soft spot for the apocalyptic singer-songwriter style.

In Australia, Michael is already noted with his bands Exit Keys and Willing Victims. His latest solo album Mythologies includes ten tracks and each of those can stand alongside the work of people like Hugo Race of Mick Harvey. The dark tone is immediately set on The Officer's Mess. How beautiful and timeless it may sound, you can not ignore the influence of, say, Crime & The City Solution. We even hear influences of The Go-Betweens and the Triffids on Pretty Maids, although the 60s organ gives it an own unique character.

Music that breaks your heart, and when the country song We Lit The Lamps gets the company of a melancholy Nashville guitar, you start mumbling: Wilco. Through his baritone and desolate texts (or just the cover), the music gets a gothic touch, although you can hear the poetry of Leonard Cohen as well.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Hoe het komt, weten we ook niet, maar het paradijselijke Australië is tevens de bakermat van donkere pop. Uiteraard is Nick Cave het bekendste voorbeeld, en het is overduidelijk dat Michael Plater uit Melbourne een boontje heeft voor de apocalyptische singersongwriterstijl.

In eigen land viel Michael al op met zijn bands Exit Keys en Willing Victims. Zijn nieuwste soloplaat Mythologies telt tien tracks die stuk voor stuk naast het werk van grootheden als Hugo Race of Mick Harvey kunnen staan. De duistere toon wordt met The Officer’s Mess meteen gezet. Hoe mooi en tijdloos ook, toch kan je niet naast de invloed van pakweg Crime & The City Solution kijken. We horen zelfs de invloeden van The Go-Betweens of The Triffids op Pretty Maids, hoewel door een opzwepend 60s-orgeltje Plater de track toch een eigen karakter geeft.

Muziek die je hart breekt, en als de sombere countrysong We Lit The Lamps het gezelschap van een droefgeestige Nashvillegitaar krijgt, mompel je binnensmonds: Wilco. Door zijn bariton en troosteloze teksten (of gewoon het hoesje) krijgt de muziek een gothictintje, ofschoon je er evengoed de poëzie van Leonard Cohen in kan horen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm
25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Classic Pop publishes special issue on the career of Pet Shop Boys!
07
05
This month it is 30 years ago that Front Line Assembly released their Disorder EP

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City
21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’

PHOTOS

21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT
21
05
THE LAST CRY
WGT
20
05
PLASTIC NOICE EXPERIENCE
WGT
20
05
WULFBAND
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue
21
05
ATTRITION
Dante's Kitchen
20
05
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
19
05
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
18
05
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi
17
05
VNV NATION
Nova