tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MICHAEL PLATER - Mythologies

MICHAEL PLATER

Mythologies

MusicCD

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even if Australia looks like a paradise, it is the birthplace of dark pop. Nick Cave is the best known example, and it is clear that Michael Plater of Melbourne has a soft spot for the apocalyptic singer-songwriter style.

In Australia, Michael is already noted with his bands Exit Keys and Willing Victims. His latest solo album Mythologies includes ten tracks and each of those can stand alongside the work of people like Hugo Race of Mick Harvey. The dark tone is immediately set on The Officer's Mess. How beautiful and timeless it may sound, you can not ignore the influence of, say, Crime & The City Solution. We even hear influences of The Go-Betweens and the Triffids on Pretty Maids, although the 60s organ gives it an own unique character.

Music that breaks your heart, and when the country song We Lit The Lamps gets the company of a melancholy Nashville guitar, you start mumbling: Wilco. Through his baritone and desolate texts (or just the cover), the music gets a gothic touch, although you can hear the poetry of Leonard Cohen as well.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Hoe het komt, weten we ook niet, maar het paradijselijke Australië is tevens de bakermat van donkere pop. Uiteraard is Nick Cave het bekendste voorbeeld, en het is overduidelijk dat Michael Plater uit Melbourne een boontje heeft voor de apocalyptische singersongwriterstijl.

In eigen land viel Michael al op met zijn bands Exit Keys en Willing Victims. Zijn nieuwste soloplaat Mythologies telt tien tracks die stuk voor stuk naast het werk van grootheden als Hugo Race of Mick Harvey kunnen staan. De duistere toon wordt met The Officer’s Mess meteen gezet. Hoe mooi en tijdloos ook, toch kan je niet naast de invloed van pakweg Crime & The City Solution kijken. We horen zelfs de invloeden van The Go-Betweens of The Triffids op Pretty Maids, hoewel door een opzwepend 60s-orgeltje Plater de track toch een eigen karakter geeft.

Muziek die je hart breekt, en als de sombere countrysong We Lit The Lamps het gezelschap van een droefgeestige Nashvillegitaar krijgt, mompel je binnensmonds: Wilco. Door zijn bariton en troosteloze teksten (of gewoon het hoesje) krijgt de muziek een gothictintje, ofschoon je er evengoed de poëzie van Leonard Cohen in kan horen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem