tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MICHAEL PLATER - Mythologies

MICHAEL PLATER

Mythologies

MusicCD

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even if Australia looks like a paradise, it is the birthplace of dark pop. Nick Cave is the best known example, and it is clear that Michael Plater of Melbourne has a soft spot for the apocalyptic singer-songwriter style.

In Australia, Michael is already noted with his bands Exit Keys and Willing Victims. His latest solo album Mythologies includes ten tracks and each of those can stand alongside the work of people like Hugo Race of Mick Harvey. The dark tone is immediately set on The Officer's Mess. How beautiful and timeless it may sound, you can not ignore the influence of, say, Crime & The City Solution. We even hear influences of The Go-Betweens and the Triffids on Pretty Maids, although the 60s organ gives it an own unique character.

Music that breaks your heart, and when the country song We Lit The Lamps gets the company of a melancholy Nashville guitar, you start mumbling: Wilco. Through his baritone and desolate texts (or just the cover), the music gets a gothic touch, although you can hear the poetry of Leonard Cohen as well.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Hoe het komt, weten we ook niet, maar het paradijselijke Australië is tevens de bakermat van donkere pop. Uiteraard is Nick Cave het bekendste voorbeeld, en het is overduidelijk dat Michael Plater uit Melbourne een boontje heeft voor de apocalyptische singersongwriterstijl.

In eigen land viel Michael al op met zijn bands Exit Keys en Willing Victims. Zijn nieuwste soloplaat Mythologies telt tien tracks die stuk voor stuk naast het werk van grootheden als Hugo Race of Mick Harvey kunnen staan. De duistere toon wordt met The Officer’s Mess meteen gezet. Hoe mooi en tijdloos ook, toch kan je niet naast de invloed van pakweg Crime & The City Solution kijken. We horen zelfs de invloeden van The Go-Betweens of The Triffids op Pretty Maids, hoewel door een opzwepend 60s-orgeltje Plater de track toch een eigen karakter geeft.

Muziek die je hart breekt, en als de sombere countrysong We Lit The Lamps het gezelschap van een droefgeestige Nashvillegitaar krijgt, mompel je binnensmonds: Wilco. Door zijn bariton en troosteloze teksten (of gewoon het hoesje) krijgt de muziek een gothictintje, ofschoon je er evengoed de poëzie van Leonard Cohen in kan horen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!
28
11
Out Of Line presents: Persistence Illusions Tour featuring Ashbury Heights & Massive Ego
28
11
Today it's exactly 39 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
01
12
LINEA ASPERA
@ Centre Tour à Plomb Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance
01
12
DEPECHE MODE
Where's the Revolution
30
11
ARBEID ADELT!
Apparaat
29
11
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela