tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : MICHAEL PLATER - Mythologies

MICHAEL PLATER

Mythologies

MusicCD

Self-released
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Even if Australia looks like a paradise, it is the birthplace of dark pop. Nick Cave is the best known example, and it is clear that Michael Plater of Melbourne has a soft spot for the apocalyptic singer-songwriter style.

In Australia, Michael is already noted with his bands Exit Keys and Willing Victims. His latest solo album Mythologies includes ten tracks and each of those can stand alongside the work of people like Hugo Race of Mick Harvey. The dark tone is immediately set on The Officer's Mess. How beautiful and timeless it may sound, you can not ignore the influence of, say, Crime & The City Solution. We even hear influences of The Go-Betweens and the Triffids on Pretty Maids, although the 60s organ gives it an own unique character.

Music that breaks your heart, and when the country song We Lit The Lamps gets the company of a melancholy Nashville guitar, you start mumbling: Wilco. Through his baritone and desolate texts (or just the cover), the music gets a gothic touch, although you can hear the poetry of Leonard Cohen as well.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Hoe het komt, weten we ook niet, maar het paradijselijke Australië is tevens de bakermat van donkere pop. Uiteraard is Nick Cave het bekendste voorbeeld, en het is overduidelijk dat Michael Plater uit Melbourne een boontje heeft voor de apocalyptische singersongwriterstijl.

In eigen land viel Michael al op met zijn bands Exit Keys en Willing Victims. Zijn nieuwste soloplaat Mythologies telt tien tracks die stuk voor stuk naast het werk van grootheden als Hugo Race of Mick Harvey kunnen staan. De duistere toon wordt met The Officer’s Mess meteen gezet. Hoe mooi en tijdloos ook, toch kan je niet naast de invloed van pakweg Crime & The City Solution kijken. We horen zelfs de invloeden van The Go-Betweens of The Triffids op Pretty Maids, hoewel door een opzwepend 60s-orgeltje Plater de track toch een eigen karakter geeft.

Muziek die je hart breekt, en als de sombere countrysong We Lit The Lamps het gezelschap van een droefgeestige Nashvillegitaar krijgt, mompel je binnensmonds: Wilco. Door zijn bariton en troosteloze teksten (of gewoon het hoesje) krijgt de muziek een gothictintje, ofschoon je er evengoed de poëzie van Leonard Cohen in kan horen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'
08
02
Interview with Douglas P. / Death In June released + new video 'Fall Apart'.
07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 47-Today!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'
24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige
13
02
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
Alice
12
02
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
11
02
GARY NUMAN
Cars