tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : POSEYDON - Masterpiece

POSEYDON

Masterpiece

MusicCD
Death MetalTrashmetal

[76/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Poseydon was founded in 1992 and after a relatively successful start, a silent period followed. Especially as some of the members were successful with EverGlow. Since 2010 the band is on the way up again. Cold World came out in 2011, followed by many gigs throughout Flanders. Poseydon takes its time to write and record new material.

Masterpiece is, like Cold World, an album that is situated between death and thrash metal. They who have appreciated the previous release, certainly will like this album. The sound and the guitars are recognizable. The lyrics are macabre, for instance about the thoughts of a serial killer.

Realm of the Dead is one of the best tracks with great riffs, hooks and rhythms. The same counts for Last Sunset. The dark track Innocent Blood closes the album and convinces me. Weakness includes fast riffs, but the vocals are less stong. Christoph Lamsens' voice fits with the music, but it is not really memorable. That is my only criticism. Just listen to a band like Sacred Reich, and you will hear the difference in the vocals.

One song is an instrumental: Tortured Shadows, which is sober and well done. For the rest we hear traditional thrash metal with lyrics that are typical for the genre. Masterpiece is no masterpiece, therefore I miss a distinct sound, but it is a decent and good album that will do fine on stage.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Poseydon is in 1992 opgericht en kende na een vrij succesvol begin een stille periode, vooral toen een deel van de leden furore maakten met Everglow. Sedert 2010 timmert de band weer aan de weg. In 2011 kwam Cold World uit (een snedig album) en werd er veel in Vlaanderen opgetreden. Poseydon heeft zijn tijd genomen om nieuw materiaal te schrijven.

Masterpiece is net als Cold World een album dat zich situeert tussen death- en trashmetal. Wie het vorige album kon apporeciëren, zal dit zeker ook goed vinden. Het geluid en de gitaren zijn herkenbaar. De teksten zijn macaber en gaan o.a. over de gedachtengang van een seriemoordenaar. Realm of the Dead is één van de beste tracks met ferme riffs, hooks en ritmes. Ook de donkere track Innocent Blood dat het album afsluit, kan mij overtuigen.

Weakness bevat vlugge riffs, maar vocaal kan het mij minder overtuigen. De stem van Christoph Lamsens past bij de muziek, maar de zanglijnen zijn niet echt onvergetelijk. Dat is mijn enige punt van kritiek. Luister naar een gelijksoortige band zoals bijv. Sacred Reich, en je hoort het verschil in de vocals. De ritmiek en melodie zijn uitgesprokener.

Eén track is een instrumental: Tortured Shadows, dat stemmig in goed in elkaar zit. Voor de rest krijgen we nogal traditionele trashmetal met vooral op het vlak van de lyrics elementen van deathmetal. Masterpiece is geen meesterwerk. Ik mis daarvoor een beetje wat eigenheid. Het is wel een degelijk en goed album dat live zonder twijfel tot zijn recht zal komen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string