tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : POSEYDON - Masterpiece

POSEYDON

Masterpiece

MusicCD
Death MetalTrashmetal

[76/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Poseydon was founded in 1992 and after a relatively successful start, a silent period followed. Especially as some of the members were successful with EverGlow. Since 2010 the band is on the way up again. Cold World came out in 2011, followed by many gigs throughout Flanders. Poseydon takes its time to write and record new material.

Masterpiece is, like Cold World, an album that is situated between death and thrash metal. They who have appreciated the previous release, certainly will like this album. The sound and the guitars are recognizable. The lyrics are macabre, for instance about the thoughts of a serial killer.

Realm of the Dead is one of the best tracks with great riffs, hooks and rhythms. The same counts for Last Sunset. The dark track Innocent Blood closes the album and convinces me. Weakness includes fast riffs, but the vocals are less stong. Christoph Lamsens' voice fits with the music, but it is not really memorable. That is my only criticism. Just listen to a band like Sacred Reich, and you will hear the difference in the vocals.

One song is an instrumental: Tortured Shadows, which is sober and well done. For the rest we hear traditional thrash metal with lyrics that are typical for the genre. Masterpiece is no masterpiece, therefore I miss a distinct sound, but it is a decent and good album that will do fine on stage.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Poseydon is in 1992 opgericht en kende na een vrij succesvol begin een stille periode, vooral toen een deel van de leden furore maakten met Everglow. Sedert 2010 timmert de band weer aan de weg. In 2011 kwam Cold World uit (een snedig album) en werd er veel in Vlaanderen opgetreden. Poseydon heeft zijn tijd genomen om nieuw materiaal te schrijven.

Masterpiece is net als Cold World een album dat zich situeert tussen death- en trashmetal. Wie het vorige album kon apporeciëren, zal dit zeker ook goed vinden. Het geluid en de gitaren zijn herkenbaar. De teksten zijn macaber en gaan o.a. over de gedachtengang van een seriemoordenaar. Realm of the Dead is één van de beste tracks met ferme riffs, hooks en ritmes. Ook de donkere track Innocent Blood dat het album afsluit, kan mij overtuigen.

Weakness bevat vlugge riffs, maar vocaal kan het mij minder overtuigen. De stem van Christoph Lamsens past bij de muziek, maar de zanglijnen zijn niet echt onvergetelijk. Dat is mijn enige punt van kritiek. Luister naar een gelijksoortige band zoals bijv. Sacred Reich, en je hoort het verschil in de vocals. De ritmiek en melodie zijn uitgesprokener.

Eén track is een instrumental: Tortured Shadows, dat stemmig in goed in elkaar zit. Voor de rest krijgen we nogal traditionele trashmetal met vooral op het vlak van de lyrics elementen van deathmetal. Masterpiece is geen meesterwerk. Ik mis daarvoor een beetje wat eigenheid. Het is wel een degelijk en goed album dat live zonder twijfel tot zijn recht zal komen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)