tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : POSEYDON - Masterpiece

POSEYDON

Masterpiece

MusicCD
Death MetalTrashmetal

[76/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Poseydon was founded in 1992 and after a relatively successful start, a silent period followed. Especially as some of the members were successful with EverGlow. Since 2010 the band is on the way up again. Cold World came out in 2011, followed by many gigs throughout Flanders. Poseydon takes its time to write and record new material.

Masterpiece is, like Cold World, an album that is situated between death and thrash metal. They who have appreciated the previous release, certainly will like this album. The sound and the guitars are recognizable. The lyrics are macabre, for instance about the thoughts of a serial killer.

Realm of the Dead is one of the best tracks with great riffs, hooks and rhythms. The same counts for Last Sunset. The dark track Innocent Blood closes the album and convinces me. Weakness includes fast riffs, but the vocals are less stong. Christoph Lamsens' voice fits with the music, but it is not really memorable. That is my only criticism. Just listen to a band like Sacred Reich, and you will hear the difference in the vocals.

One song is an instrumental: Tortured Shadows, which is sober and well done. For the rest we hear traditional thrash metal with lyrics that are typical for the genre. Masterpiece is no masterpiece, therefore I miss a distinct sound, but it is a decent and good album that will do fine on stage.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Poseydon is in 1992 opgericht en kende na een vrij succesvol begin een stille periode, vooral toen een deel van de leden furore maakten met Everglow. Sedert 2010 timmert de band weer aan de weg. In 2011 kwam Cold World uit (een snedig album) en werd er veel in Vlaanderen opgetreden. Poseydon heeft zijn tijd genomen om nieuw materiaal te schrijven.

Masterpiece is net als Cold World een album dat zich situeert tussen death- en trashmetal. Wie het vorige album kon apporeciëren, zal dit zeker ook goed vinden. Het geluid en de gitaren zijn herkenbaar. De teksten zijn macaber en gaan o.a. over de gedachtengang van een seriemoordenaar. Realm of the Dead is één van de beste tracks met ferme riffs, hooks en ritmes. Ook de donkere track Innocent Blood dat het album afsluit, kan mij overtuigen.

Weakness bevat vlugge riffs, maar vocaal kan het mij minder overtuigen. De stem van Christoph Lamsens past bij de muziek, maar de zanglijnen zijn niet echt onvergetelijk. Dat is mijn enige punt van kritiek. Luister naar een gelijksoortige band zoals bijv. Sacred Reich, en je hoort het verschil in de vocals. De ritmiek en melodie zijn uitgesprokener.

Eén track is een instrumental: Tortured Shadows, dat stemmig in goed in elkaar zit. Voor de rest krijgen we nogal traditionele trashmetal met vooral op het vlak van de lyrics elementen van deathmetal. Masterpiece is geen meesterwerk. Ik mis daarvoor een beetje wat eigenheid. Het is wel een degelijk en goed album dat live zonder twijfel tot zijn recht zal komen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless