tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : POSEYDON - Masterpiece

POSEYDON

Masterpiece

MusicCD
Death MetalTrashmetal

[76/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Poseydon was founded in 1992 and after a relatively successful start, a silent period followed. Especially as some of the members were successful with EverGlow. Since 2010 the band is on the way up again. Cold World came out in 2011, followed by many gigs throughout Flanders. Poseydon takes its time to write and record new material.

Masterpiece is, like Cold World, an album that is situated between death and thrash metal. They who have appreciated the previous release, certainly will like this album. The sound and the guitars are recognizable. The lyrics are macabre, for instance about the thoughts of a serial killer.

Realm of the Dead is one of the best tracks with great riffs, hooks and rhythms. The same counts for Last Sunset. The dark track Innocent Blood closes the album and convinces me. Weakness includes fast riffs, but the vocals are less stong. Christoph Lamsens' voice fits with the music, but it is not really memorable. That is my only criticism. Just listen to a band like Sacred Reich, and you will hear the difference in the vocals.

One song is an instrumental: Tortured Shadows, which is sober and well done. For the rest we hear traditional thrash metal with lyrics that are typical for the genre. Masterpiece is no masterpiece, therefore I miss a distinct sound, but it is a decent and good album that will do fine on stage.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Poseydon is in 1992 opgericht en kende na een vrij succesvol begin een stille periode, vooral toen een deel van de leden furore maakten met Everglow. Sedert 2010 timmert de band weer aan de weg. In 2011 kwam Cold World uit (een snedig album) en werd er veel in Vlaanderen opgetreden. Poseydon heeft zijn tijd genomen om nieuw materiaal te schrijven.

Masterpiece is net als Cold World een album dat zich situeert tussen death- en trashmetal. Wie het vorige album kon apporeciëren, zal dit zeker ook goed vinden. Het geluid en de gitaren zijn herkenbaar. De teksten zijn macaber en gaan o.a. over de gedachtengang van een seriemoordenaar. Realm of the Dead is één van de beste tracks met ferme riffs, hooks en ritmes. Ook de donkere track Innocent Blood dat het album afsluit, kan mij overtuigen.

Weakness bevat vlugge riffs, maar vocaal kan het mij minder overtuigen. De stem van Christoph Lamsens past bij de muziek, maar de zanglijnen zijn niet echt onvergetelijk. Dat is mijn enige punt van kritiek. Luister naar een gelijksoortige band zoals bijv. Sacred Reich, en je hoort het verschil in de vocals. De ritmiek en melodie zijn uitgesprokener.

Eén track is een instrumental: Tortured Shadows, dat stemmig in goed in elkaar zit. Voor de rest krijgen we nogal traditionele trashmetal met vooral op het vlak van de lyrics elementen van deathmetal. Masterpiece is geen meesterwerk. Ik mis daarvoor een beetje wat eigenheid. Het is wel een degelijk en goed album dat live zonder twijfel tot zijn recht zal komen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux