tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : POSEYDON - Masterpiece

POSEYDON

Masterpiece

MusicCD
Death MetalTrashmetal

[76/100]   

Self-released
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Poseydon was founded in 1992 and after a relatively successful start, a silent period followed. Especially as some of the members were successful with EverGlow. Since 2010 the band is on the way up again. Cold World came out in 2011, followed by many gigs throughout Flanders. Poseydon takes its time to write and record new material.

Masterpiece is, like Cold World, an album that is situated between death and thrash metal. They who have appreciated the previous release, certainly will like this album. The sound and the guitars are recognizable. The lyrics are macabre, for instance about the thoughts of a serial killer.

Realm of the Dead is one of the best tracks with great riffs, hooks and rhythms. The same counts for Last Sunset. The dark track Innocent Blood closes the album and convinces me. Weakness includes fast riffs, but the vocals are less stong. Christoph Lamsens' voice fits with the music, but it is not really memorable. That is my only criticism. Just listen to a band like Sacred Reich, and you will hear the difference in the vocals.

One song is an instrumental: Tortured Shadows, which is sober and well done. For the rest we hear traditional thrash metal with lyrics that are typical for the genre. Masterpiece is no masterpiece, therefore I miss a distinct sound, but it is a decent and good album that will do fine on stage.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Poseydon is in 1992 opgericht en kende na een vrij succesvol begin een stille periode, vooral toen een deel van de leden furore maakten met Everglow. Sedert 2010 timmert de band weer aan de weg. In 2011 kwam Cold World uit (een snedig album) en werd er veel in Vlaanderen opgetreden. Poseydon heeft zijn tijd genomen om nieuw materiaal te schrijven.

Masterpiece is net als Cold World een album dat zich situeert tussen death- en trashmetal. Wie het vorige album kon apporeciëren, zal dit zeker ook goed vinden. Het geluid en de gitaren zijn herkenbaar. De teksten zijn macaber en gaan o.a. over de gedachtengang van een seriemoordenaar. Realm of the Dead is één van de beste tracks met ferme riffs, hooks en ritmes. Ook de donkere track Innocent Blood dat het album afsluit, kan mij overtuigen.

Weakness bevat vlugge riffs, maar vocaal kan het mij minder overtuigen. De stem van Christoph Lamsens past bij de muziek, maar de zanglijnen zijn niet echt onvergetelijk. Dat is mijn enige punt van kritiek. Luister naar een gelijksoortige band zoals bijv. Sacred Reich, en je hoort het verschil in de vocals. De ritmiek en melodie zijn uitgesprokener.

Eén track is een instrumental: Tortured Shadows, dat stemmig in goed in elkaar zit. Voor de rest krijgen we nogal traditionele trashmetal met vooral op het vlak van de lyrics elementen van deathmetal. Masterpiece is geen meesterwerk. Ik mis daarvoor een beetje wat eigenheid. Het is wel een degelijk en goed album dat live zonder twijfel tot zijn recht zal komen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House