tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE MISSION - Another Fall From Grace

THE MISSION

Another Fall From Grace

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Eyes Wide Shut Recordings
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Time slips away and without noticing we are getting older every day. It’s quite difficult to believe, but The Mission celebrates its thirtieth anniversary this year. A European tour is scheduled and a brand new album is out. Fans have high expectations because it is a release of the best goth rock band ever. In numerous interviews Wayne Hussey has suggested that Another Fall From Grace will sound like a record from 1985. Even more, he describes the new album as the missing link between First, Last and Always by The Sisters of Mercy and God's Own Medicine by The Mission.

Big words indeed. And although such promo talk will make many goth hearts beat faster, we can assure you that this is the best album of The Mission in years! The band stays loyal to its own sound, and in the case of The Mission that is more than enough!

Another Fall From Grace had to be a special album. Again the band teamed up with Tim Palmer (who worked with Robert Plant and David Bowie) and musician friends like Martin Gore, Julianne Reagan, Gary Numan, Evi Vine and Ville Valo are featured on some songs. Another Fall From Grace is not the best record of The Mission (no fan would believe that), but it is definitely true that it fits perfectly with other Mission classics. The key to this album is melancholy. Regularly you hear goth rock guitars (Tyranny Of Darkness could actually be on First, Last And Always), but Another Fall From Grace is mostly a collection of melancholic songs that sound like classics after a few spins.

The Mission contunues to build on the sound that made the band the greatest in the genre. Another Fall From Grace has to be in your record collection, you’ll play it many times...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Stilletjes aan glijdt de tijd voort en zonder dat we het merken (of net niet te vaak) worden we met de dag ouder. Neem The Mission. Dit jaar viert dit Britse gothrockinstituut zijn dertigste verjaardag. Er is niet alleen een Europese tour, maar ook een gloednieuw album, een plaat waar iedere fan hoge verwachtingen over heeft. Niet alleen omdat het een release is van de beste gothrockband ooit, maar ook omdat Wayne Hussey in talrijke interviews liet uitschijnen dat Another Fall From Grace zou klinken als een plaat uit 1985. Meer zelfs, Hussey omschreef de nieuwe plaat als de ontbrekende schakel tussen First, Last And Always van The Sisters Of Mercy en God’s Own Medicine van The Mission.

Grote woorden die kunnen tellen. En hoewel zo’n promozin menig gothharten sneller zal doen slaan, kunnen we je gerust stellen: dit is de beste plaat van The Mission sinds jaren! De band maakt geen vreemde uitstapjes, papt niet aan met andere genres om cool te klinken, maar blijft gewoon trouw aan zijn eigen geluid. En in het geval van The Mission is dat meer dan voldoende!

Another Fall From Grace mocht niet maar een nieuwe Mission-plaat worden. De band trok opnieuw de studio in met Tim Palmer die samenwerkte met de allergrootsten (van Robert Plant tot David Bowie) en er werd aan bevriende muzikantencollega’s (Martin Gore, Julianne Reagan, Gary Numan, Evi Vine en Ville Valo) gevraagd om mee te werken aan sommige nummers. Another Fall From Grace is niet de beste plaat uit Husseys carrière (dat zou geen fan geloven), maar het is inderdaad zo dat ze in de jaren 80 kon zijn uitgebracht en perfect aansluit bij de klassiekers. Het sleutelwoord op deze plaat is melancholie. Geregeld hoor je de gothrockgitaren (Tyranny Of Darkness kon eigenlijk op First, Last And Always staan), maar Another Fall From Grace bestaat vooral uit weemoedige songs. Ze zitten allemaal geniaal in elkaar en voelen na een paar beluisteringen aan als klassiekers.

The Mission heeft zichzelf geen seconde verloochent op deze plaat, maar bouwt gewoon voort op het geluid dat de band tot de allergrootsten uit het genre heeft gemaakt. Another Fall From Grace mag dan ook gerust in je platencollectie, leg ze bovenaan, want je zal er vaak naar luisteren...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane