tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : THE MISSION - Another Fall From Grace

THE MISSION

Another Fall From Grace

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Eyes Wide Shut Recordings
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Time slips away and without noticing we are getting older every day. It’s quite difficult to believe, but The Mission celebrates its thirtieth anniversary this year. A European tour is scheduled and a brand new album is out. Fans have high expectations because it is a release of the best goth rock band ever. In numerous interviews Wayne Hussey has suggested that Another Fall From Grace will sound like a record from 1985. Even more, he describes the new album as the missing link between First, Last and Always by The Sisters of Mercy and God's Own Medicine by The Mission.

Big words indeed. And although such promo talk will make many goth hearts beat faster, we can assure you that this is the best album of The Mission in years! The band stays loyal to its own sound, and in the case of The Mission that is more than enough!

Another Fall From Grace had to be a special album. Again the band teamed up with Tim Palmer (who worked with Robert Plant and David Bowie) and musician friends like Martin Gore, Julianne Reagan, Gary Numan, Evi Vine and Ville Valo are featured on some songs. Another Fall From Grace is not the best record of The Mission (no fan would believe that), but it is definitely true that it fits perfectly with other Mission classics. The key to this album is melancholy. Regularly you hear goth rock guitars (Tyranny Of Darkness could actually be on First, Last And Always), but Another Fall From Grace is mostly a collection of melancholic songs that sound like classics after a few spins.

The Mission contunues to build on the sound that made the band the greatest in the genre. Another Fall From Grace has to be in your record collection, you’ll play it many times...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Stilletjes aan glijdt de tijd voort en zonder dat we het merken (of net niet te vaak) worden we met de dag ouder. Neem The Mission. Dit jaar viert dit Britse gothrockinstituut zijn dertigste verjaardag. Er is niet alleen een Europese tour, maar ook een gloednieuw album, een plaat waar iedere fan hoge verwachtingen over heeft. Niet alleen omdat het een release is van de beste gothrockband ooit, maar ook omdat Wayne Hussey in talrijke interviews liet uitschijnen dat Another Fall From Grace zou klinken als een plaat uit 1985. Meer zelfs, Hussey omschreef de nieuwe plaat als de ontbrekende schakel tussen First, Last And Always van The Sisters Of Mercy en God’s Own Medicine van The Mission.

Grote woorden die kunnen tellen. En hoewel zo’n promozin menig gothharten sneller zal doen slaan, kunnen we je gerust stellen: dit is de beste plaat van The Mission sinds jaren! De band maakt geen vreemde uitstapjes, papt niet aan met andere genres om cool te klinken, maar blijft gewoon trouw aan zijn eigen geluid. En in het geval van The Mission is dat meer dan voldoende!

Another Fall From Grace mocht niet maar een nieuwe Mission-plaat worden. De band trok opnieuw de studio in met Tim Palmer die samenwerkte met de allergrootsten (van Robert Plant tot David Bowie) en er werd aan bevriende muzikantencollega’s (Martin Gore, Julianne Reagan, Gary Numan, Evi Vine en Ville Valo) gevraagd om mee te werken aan sommige nummers. Another Fall From Grace is niet de beste plaat uit Husseys carrière (dat zou geen fan geloven), maar het is inderdaad zo dat ze in de jaren 80 kon zijn uitgebracht en perfect aansluit bij de klassiekers. Het sleutelwoord op deze plaat is melancholie. Geregeld hoor je de gothrockgitaren (Tyranny Of Darkness kon eigenlijk op First, Last And Always staan), maar Another Fall From Grace bestaat vooral uit weemoedige songs. Ze zitten allemaal geniaal in elkaar en voelen na een paar beluisteringen aan als klassiekers.

The Mission heeft zichzelf geen seconde verloochent op deze plaat, maar bouwt gewoon voort op het geluid dat de band tot de allergrootsten uit het genre heeft gemaakt. Another Fall From Grace mag dan ook gerust in je platencollectie, leg ze bovenaan, want je zal er vaak naar luisteren...

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial Band NEON INSECT Announces The Release Of New Moscow Underground

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!

PHOTOS

07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
12
09
NINE INCH NAILS
Burning Bright (Field On Fire)
11
09
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
10
09
AUSTRA
Utopia