tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PLEXIPHONES - Electric

PLEXIPHONES

Electric

MusicCD
Electro Rock

[60/100]   

Echozone
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The German band Plexiphones keeps both its feet on the ground. According to the bio, the music has been done before (it’s just a bit too long ago since we heard it). Great, so we don’t have to say it ourselves: the electro tunes of these six really sound familiar. Some readers might even thinkthat they are just too familiar, as the songs often tend to sound like FM rock.

You hear many influences on this debut which is recorded at the Kreeme studios in London. The Germans even believe that the UK is ready for their songs. Believing in yourself is surely a good thing, but we have serious doubts whether the English are waiting for a band that sounds like Duran Duran without the glam.

Most of the songs follow the pattern of electro rock and you hear that they are composed hoping that one day the fans will scream the lyrics in sold-out venues. Who knows, because the quality of the indie pop tunes on the radio is hardly any better. The competition, however, is huge.

Those of you who love electro rock à la Foreigner might like Electric, but there is not a cliché that has not been used.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

De Duitse band Plexiphones houdt de beide voeten op de grond. Volgens de bio is de muziek al eens eerder gedaan (alleen net iets te lang geleden). Mooi, dan moeten wij het niet zeggen, want de elektrodeuntjes van deze zes klinken inderdaad vertrouwd in de oren. Voor sommige lezers misschien net iets te vertrouwd, want de songs durven net iets te vaak in het gevreesde FM-rockstraatje belanden.

Je hoort vele invloeden op dit debuut dat in de Kreeme-studio’s in Londen is opgenomen. Zelf geloven de Duitsers dat de Britse markt wel pap zal lusten van hun songs. In jezelf geloven kan geen kwaad, alleen weten we niet of de Britten staan te springen voor een band die klinkt als Duran Duran zonder de glam.

De meeste songs volgen het stramien van elektrorock en steeds hoor je dat ze gecomponeerd zijn in de hoop dat ze door een bomvolle zaal worden meegeschreeuwd. Dat zou kunnen, de kwaliteit van de indiepopdeuntjes die je op de radio hoort is nauwelijks beter, alleen is de concurrentie zo groot dat we er wat voor vrezen.

Nu goed, wie houdt van elektrorock met stadionallures en hoge stemmetjes in pure Foreigner-stijl zal Electric af en toe wel een draaibeurt gunnen. Slecht is het niet, alleen heeft men geen enkel cliché uit het genre overgeslagen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6