tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PLEXIPHONES - Electric

PLEXIPHONES

Electric

MusicCD
Electro Rock

[60/100]   

Echozone
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The German band Plexiphones keeps both its feet on the ground. According to the bio, the music has been done before (it’s just a bit too long ago since we heard it). Great, so we don’t have to say it ourselves: the electro tunes of these six really sound familiar. Some readers might even thinkthat they are just too familiar, as the songs often tend to sound like FM rock.

You hear many influences on this debut which is recorded at the Kreeme studios in London. The Germans even believe that the UK is ready for their songs. Believing in yourself is surely a good thing, but we have serious doubts whether the English are waiting for a band that sounds like Duran Duran without the glam.

Most of the songs follow the pattern of electro rock and you hear that they are composed hoping that one day the fans will scream the lyrics in sold-out venues. Who knows, because the quality of the indie pop tunes on the radio is hardly any better. The competition, however, is huge.

Those of you who love electro rock à la Foreigner might like Electric, but there is not a cliché that has not been used.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

De Duitse band Plexiphones houdt de beide voeten op de grond. Volgens de bio is de muziek al eens eerder gedaan (alleen net iets te lang geleden). Mooi, dan moeten wij het niet zeggen, want de elektrodeuntjes van deze zes klinken inderdaad vertrouwd in de oren. Voor sommige lezers misschien net iets te vertrouwd, want de songs durven net iets te vaak in het gevreesde FM-rockstraatje belanden.

Je hoort vele invloeden op dit debuut dat in de Kreeme-studio’s in Londen is opgenomen. Zelf geloven de Duitsers dat de Britse markt wel pap zal lusten van hun songs. In jezelf geloven kan geen kwaad, alleen weten we niet of de Britten staan te springen voor een band die klinkt als Duran Duran zonder de glam.

De meeste songs volgen het stramien van elektrorock en steeds hoor je dat ze gecomponeerd zijn in de hoop dat ze door een bomvolle zaal worden meegeschreeuwd. Dat zou kunnen, de kwaliteit van de indiepopdeuntjes die je op de radio hoort is nauwelijks beter, alleen is de concurrentie zo groot dat we er wat voor vrezen.

Nu goed, wie houdt van elektrorock met stadionallures en hoge stemmetjes in pure Foreigner-stijl zal Electric af en toe wel een draaibeurt gunnen. Slecht is het niet, alleen heeft men geen enkel cliché uit het genre overgeslagen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls