tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PLEXIPHONES - Electric

PLEXIPHONES

Electric

MusicCD
Electro Rock

[60/100]   

Echozone
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The German band Plexiphones keeps both its feet on the ground. According to the bio, the music has been done before (it’s just a bit too long ago since we heard it). Great, so we don’t have to say it ourselves: the electro tunes of these six really sound familiar. Some readers might even thinkthat they are just too familiar, as the songs often tend to sound like FM rock.

You hear many influences on this debut which is recorded at the Kreeme studios in London. The Germans even believe that the UK is ready for their songs. Believing in yourself is surely a good thing, but we have serious doubts whether the English are waiting for a band that sounds like Duran Duran without the glam.

Most of the songs follow the pattern of electro rock and you hear that they are composed hoping that one day the fans will scream the lyrics in sold-out venues. Who knows, because the quality of the indie pop tunes on the radio is hardly any better. The competition, however, is huge.

Those of you who love electro rock à la Foreigner might like Electric, but there is not a cliché that has not been used.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

De Duitse band Plexiphones houdt de beide voeten op de grond. Volgens de bio is de muziek al eens eerder gedaan (alleen net iets te lang geleden). Mooi, dan moeten wij het niet zeggen, want de elektrodeuntjes van deze zes klinken inderdaad vertrouwd in de oren. Voor sommige lezers misschien net iets te vertrouwd, want de songs durven net iets te vaak in het gevreesde FM-rockstraatje belanden.

Je hoort vele invloeden op dit debuut dat in de Kreeme-studio’s in Londen is opgenomen. Zelf geloven de Duitsers dat de Britse markt wel pap zal lusten van hun songs. In jezelf geloven kan geen kwaad, alleen weten we niet of de Britten staan te springen voor een band die klinkt als Duran Duran zonder de glam.

De meeste songs volgen het stramien van elektrorock en steeds hoor je dat ze gecomponeerd zijn in de hoop dat ze door een bomvolle zaal worden meegeschreeuwd. Dat zou kunnen, de kwaliteit van de indiepopdeuntjes die je op de radio hoort is nauwelijks beter, alleen is de concurrentie zo groot dat we er wat voor vrezen.

Nu goed, wie houdt van elektrorock met stadionallures en hoge stemmetjes in pure Foreigner-stijl zal Electric af en toe wel een draaibeurt gunnen. Slecht is het niet, alleen heeft men geen enkel cliché uit het genre overgeslagen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!
29
08
41 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag
15
09
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Die Interimsliebenden