tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PLEXIPHONES - Electric

PLEXIPHONES

Electric

MusicCD
Electro Rock

[60/100]   

Echozone
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The German band Plexiphones keeps both its feet on the ground. According to the bio, the music has been done before (it’s just a bit too long ago since we heard it). Great, so we don’t have to say it ourselves: the electro tunes of these six really sound familiar. Some readers might even thinkthat they are just too familiar, as the songs often tend to sound like FM rock.

You hear many influences on this debut which is recorded at the Kreeme studios in London. The Germans even believe that the UK is ready for their songs. Believing in yourself is surely a good thing, but we have serious doubts whether the English are waiting for a band that sounds like Duran Duran without the glam.

Most of the songs follow the pattern of electro rock and you hear that they are composed hoping that one day the fans will scream the lyrics in sold-out venues. Who knows, because the quality of the indie pop tunes on the radio is hardly any better. The competition, however, is huge.

Those of you who love electro rock à la Foreigner might like Electric, but there is not a cliché that has not been used.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

De Duitse band Plexiphones houdt de beide voeten op de grond. Volgens de bio is de muziek al eens eerder gedaan (alleen net iets te lang geleden). Mooi, dan moeten wij het niet zeggen, want de elektrodeuntjes van deze zes klinken inderdaad vertrouwd in de oren. Voor sommige lezers misschien net iets te vertrouwd, want de songs durven net iets te vaak in het gevreesde FM-rockstraatje belanden.

Je hoort vele invloeden op dit debuut dat in de Kreeme-studio’s in Londen is opgenomen. Zelf geloven de Duitsers dat de Britse markt wel pap zal lusten van hun songs. In jezelf geloven kan geen kwaad, alleen weten we niet of de Britten staan te springen voor een band die klinkt als Duran Duran zonder de glam.

De meeste songs volgen het stramien van elektrorock en steeds hoor je dat ze gecomponeerd zijn in de hoop dat ze door een bomvolle zaal worden meegeschreeuwd. Dat zou kunnen, de kwaliteit van de indiepopdeuntjes die je op de radio hoort is nauwelijks beter, alleen is de concurrentie zo groot dat we er wat voor vrezen.

Nu goed, wie houdt van elektrorock met stadionallures en hoge stemmetjes in pure Foreigner-stijl zal Electric af en toe wel een draaibeurt gunnen. Slecht is het niet, alleen heeft men geen enkel cliché uit het genre overgeslagen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static