tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : PLEXIPHONES - Electric

PLEXIPHONES

Electric

MusicCD
Electro Rock

[60/100]   

Echozone
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The German band Plexiphones keeps both its feet on the ground. According to the bio, the music has been done before (it’s just a bit too long ago since we heard it). Great, so we don’t have to say it ourselves: the electro tunes of these six really sound familiar. Some readers might even thinkthat they are just too familiar, as the songs often tend to sound like FM rock.

You hear many influences on this debut which is recorded at the Kreeme studios in London. The Germans even believe that the UK is ready for their songs. Believing in yourself is surely a good thing, but we have serious doubts whether the English are waiting for a band that sounds like Duran Duran without the glam.

Most of the songs follow the pattern of electro rock and you hear that they are composed hoping that one day the fans will scream the lyrics in sold-out venues. Who knows, because the quality of the indie pop tunes on the radio is hardly any better. The competition, however, is huge.

Those of you who love electro rock à la Foreigner might like Electric, but there is not a cliché that has not been used.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

De Duitse band Plexiphones houdt de beide voeten op de grond. Volgens de bio is de muziek al eens eerder gedaan (alleen net iets te lang geleden). Mooi, dan moeten wij het niet zeggen, want de elektrodeuntjes van deze zes klinken inderdaad vertrouwd in de oren. Voor sommige lezers misschien net iets te vertrouwd, want de songs durven net iets te vaak in het gevreesde FM-rockstraatje belanden.

Je hoort vele invloeden op dit debuut dat in de Kreeme-studio’s in Londen is opgenomen. Zelf geloven de Duitsers dat de Britse markt wel pap zal lusten van hun songs. In jezelf geloven kan geen kwaad, alleen weten we niet of de Britten staan te springen voor een band die klinkt als Duran Duran zonder de glam.

De meeste songs volgen het stramien van elektrorock en steeds hoor je dat ze gecomponeerd zijn in de hoop dat ze door een bomvolle zaal worden meegeschreeuwd. Dat zou kunnen, de kwaliteit van de indiepopdeuntjes die je op de radio hoort is nauwelijks beter, alleen is de concurrentie zo groot dat we er wat voor vrezen.

Nu goed, wie houdt van elektrorock met stadionallures en hoge stemmetjes in pure Foreigner-stijl zal Electric af en toe wel een draaibeurt gunnen. Slecht is het niet, alleen heeft men geen enkel cliché uit het genre overgeslagen.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo