tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DUSTERLUST - Düster Lust

DUSTERLUST

Düster Lust

MusicCD
progressive metalSymphonic Metal

[90/100]   

FemMeropa
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the first album of this German female fronted symphonic/progressive metal band. The beautiful detailed artwork is an eye-catcher. The digipack contains the lyrics, which is always useful and unfortunately not done enough in the current download mp3 era.

What immediately stands out is the very high and classically trained voice of Regina Rumpel. It takes some time before you get used to it. On Spaceflight we hear a beautiful chorus that can serve as an anthem with some delicate rhythms. The song has a spacey atmosphere.

Kaleidoscope is slightly heavier in terms of guitar work. It includes grunts by Philip Seibert and Michél Greul. The drum and bass captivate me. This is very professionally done. Beast of War contains epic elements: the intro sounds like a medieval battlefield. The guitars and vocal harmonies in the choruses reinforce this feeling. The middle part shows again the abilities of the bandmembers.

Next Level Racism starts a little laid back, but it rocks during the second half. A very well written and original song. Regina's voice sounds less well in slow and subdued pieces. Finally, the epic and eight-minute long Day In Hell is very impressive: the song goes in all directions and includes beautiful vocals, harmonie and sharp guitars.

The three bonus tracks are no fillers but songs of equal quality, which brings the total at 13 tracks. Musicianship of a high quality, just like the songs. Whether you like Regina's voice or not is a matter of taste, but her vocals are definitely special. A band with a specific sound and an impressive debut album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Wat tijdens het beluisteren meteen opvalt is de erg hoge en klassiek geschoolde zangstem van Regina Rumpel. Ik vind het persoonlijk wat aanpassen om ernaar te luisteren, maar het went en de muziek zit goed in elkaar. in Spaceflight horen we een mooi refrein dat als een anthem kan dienen met heeft fijne ritmes. De track heeft iets spacy.

Kaleidoscope is iets zwaarder qua gitaarwerk. Het bevat grunts van Philip Seibert en Michél Greul. Ook het drum- en baswerk kan mij uitermate bekoren. Het is zeer vakkundig gedaan. Beast of War bevat epische elementen: de intro lijkt op geluiden die van een middeleeuws slagveld komen. Het gitaarwerk en de samenzang in de refreinen versterken dit gevoel nog. Het middenstuk toont nog maar eens de capaciteiten van de bandleden en die zijn best indrukwekkend…

In Next Level Racism kiest men in de eerste helft van de song voor rust om daarna los te barsten en te rocken. Een heel goede en origineel geschreven track. Alleen jammer dat Regina's stem niet altijd zo goed tot haar rechtkomt in de trage en ingetogen stukken. Ten slotte is er het episch en acht minuten durende Day In Hell: een hoogtepunt om u tegen te zeggen. De song gaat alle kanten uit en bevat mooie vocals, samenzang, snedig gitaarwerk en een pittige en verrassende ritmesectie.

De drie bonustracks zijn geen opvullers, maar evenwaardige songs die het totaal op 13 tracks brengen. Er wordt hier op hoog niveau gemusiceerd en gecomponeerd. Of je van haar hoge stem houdt is een kwestie van smaak, maar Regina's vocals zijn zeker niet doordeweeks. Een band met een geheel eigen gelaat en een debuut dat indruk maakt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love