tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DUSTERLUST - Düster Lust

DUSTERLUST

Düster Lust

MusicCD
progressive metalSymphonic Metal

[90/100]   

FemMeropa
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the first album of this German female fronted symphonic/progressive metal band. The beautiful detailed artwork is an eye-catcher. The digipack contains the lyrics, which is always useful and unfortunately not done enough in the current download mp3 era.

What immediately stands out is the very high and classically trained voice of Regina Rumpel. It takes some time before you get used to it. On Spaceflight we hear a beautiful chorus that can serve as an anthem with some delicate rhythms. The song has a spacey atmosphere.

Kaleidoscope is slightly heavier in terms of guitar work. It includes grunts by Philip Seibert and Michél Greul. The drum and bass captivate me. This is very professionally done. Beast of War contains epic elements: the intro sounds like a medieval battlefield. The guitars and vocal harmonies in the choruses reinforce this feeling. The middle part shows again the abilities of the bandmembers.

Next Level Racism starts a little laid back, but it rocks during the second half. A very well written and original song. Regina's voice sounds less well in slow and subdued pieces. Finally, the epic and eight-minute long Day In Hell is very impressive: the song goes in all directions and includes beautiful vocals, harmonie and sharp guitars.

The three bonus tracks are no fillers but songs of equal quality, which brings the total at 13 tracks. Musicianship of a high quality, just like the songs. Whether you like Regina's voice or not is a matter of taste, but her vocals are definitely special. A band with a specific sound and an impressive debut album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Wat tijdens het beluisteren meteen opvalt is de erg hoge en klassiek geschoolde zangstem van Regina Rumpel. Ik vind het persoonlijk wat aanpassen om ernaar te luisteren, maar het went en de muziek zit goed in elkaar. in Spaceflight horen we een mooi refrein dat als een anthem kan dienen met heeft fijne ritmes. De track heeft iets spacy.

Kaleidoscope is iets zwaarder qua gitaarwerk. Het bevat grunts van Philip Seibert en Michél Greul. Ook het drum- en baswerk kan mij uitermate bekoren. Het is zeer vakkundig gedaan. Beast of War bevat epische elementen: de intro lijkt op geluiden die van een middeleeuws slagveld komen. Het gitaarwerk en de samenzang in de refreinen versterken dit gevoel nog. Het middenstuk toont nog maar eens de capaciteiten van de bandleden en die zijn best indrukwekkend…

In Next Level Racism kiest men in de eerste helft van de song voor rust om daarna los te barsten en te rocken. Een heel goede en origineel geschreven track. Alleen jammer dat Regina's stem niet altijd zo goed tot haar rechtkomt in de trage en ingetogen stukken. Ten slotte is er het episch en acht minuten durende Day In Hell: een hoogtepunt om u tegen te zeggen. De song gaat alle kanten uit en bevat mooie vocals, samenzang, snedig gitaarwerk en een pittige en verrassende ritmesectie.

De drie bonustracks zijn geen opvullers, maar evenwaardige songs die het totaal op 13 tracks brengen. Er wordt hier op hoog niveau gemusiceerd en gecomponeerd. Of je van haar hoge stem houdt is een kwestie van smaak, maar Regina's vocals zijn zeker niet doordeweeks. Een band met een geheel eigen gelaat en een debuut dat indruk maakt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected