tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : DUSTERLUST - Düster Lust

DUSTERLUST

Düster Lust

MusicCD
progressive metalSymphonic Metal

[90/100]   

FemMeropa
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This is the first album of this German female fronted symphonic/progressive metal band. The beautiful detailed artwork is an eye-catcher. The digipack contains the lyrics, which is always useful and unfortunately not done enough in the current download mp3 era.

What immediately stands out is the very high and classically trained voice of Regina Rumpel. It takes some time before you get used to it. On Spaceflight we hear a beautiful chorus that can serve as an anthem with some delicate rhythms. The song has a spacey atmosphere.

Kaleidoscope is slightly heavier in terms of guitar work. It includes grunts by Philip Seibert and Michél Greul. The drum and bass captivate me. This is very professionally done. Beast of War contains epic elements: the intro sounds like a medieval battlefield. The guitars and vocal harmonies in the choruses reinforce this feeling. The middle part shows again the abilities of the bandmembers.

Next Level Racism starts a little laid back, but it rocks during the second half. A very well written and original song. Regina's voice sounds less well in slow and subdued pieces. Finally, the epic and eight-minute long Day In Hell is very impressive: the song goes in all directions and includes beautiful vocals, harmonie and sharp guitars.

The three bonus tracks are no fillers but songs of equal quality, which brings the total at 13 tracks. Musicianship of a high quality, just like the songs. Whether you like Regina's voice or not is a matter of taste, but her vocals are definitely special. A band with a specific sound and an impressive debut album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Wat tijdens het beluisteren meteen opvalt is de erg hoge en klassiek geschoolde zangstem van Regina Rumpel. Ik vind het persoonlijk wat aanpassen om ernaar te luisteren, maar het went en de muziek zit goed in elkaar. in Spaceflight horen we een mooi refrein dat als een anthem kan dienen met heeft fijne ritmes. De track heeft iets spacy.

Kaleidoscope is iets zwaarder qua gitaarwerk. Het bevat grunts van Philip Seibert en Michél Greul. Ook het drum- en baswerk kan mij uitermate bekoren. Het is zeer vakkundig gedaan. Beast of War bevat epische elementen: de intro lijkt op geluiden die van een middeleeuws slagveld komen. Het gitaarwerk en de samenzang in de refreinen versterken dit gevoel nog. Het middenstuk toont nog maar eens de capaciteiten van de bandleden en die zijn best indrukwekkend…

In Next Level Racism kiest men in de eerste helft van de song voor rust om daarna los te barsten en te rocken. Een heel goede en origineel geschreven track. Alleen jammer dat Regina's stem niet altijd zo goed tot haar rechtkomt in de trage en ingetogen stukken. Ten slotte is er het episch en acht minuten durende Day In Hell: een hoogtepunt om u tegen te zeggen. De song gaat alle kanten uit en bevat mooie vocals, samenzang, snedig gitaarwerk en een pittige en verrassende ritmesectie.

De drie bonustracks zijn geen opvullers, maar evenwaardige songs die het totaal op 13 tracks brengen. Er wordt hier op hoog niveau gemusiceerd en gecomponeerd. Of je van haar hoge stem houdt is een kwestie van smaak, maar Regina's vocals zijn zeker niet doordeweeks. Een band met een geheel eigen gelaat en een debuut dat indruk maakt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation