tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ELFERYA - Eden's Fall

ELFERYA

Eden's Fall

MusicCD
Symphonic Metal

[72/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It is definitely not easy for a symphonic metal band to be original with female vocals. Even if it is done well, names like Xandria, Epica, Delain or Nightwish always will be haunting your head. The Swiss band Elferya is one of those bands, but that does not mean you won’t find any good CD in this genre. At the contrary, anyone who is fond of heavy, melodic metal in which a woman's voice plays the starring role, will enjoy this debut. The band is around for seven years now, but it was only since singer Melody Dylem joined that everything fell into momentum. And she’s not just someone, because Melody worked with Phil Collins (yes, that Phil Collins!).

It's almost an obligation, but also Eden's Fall opens with an instrumental intro. Ideal to get into the atmosphere, as they say. With All My Love shows where this Swiss band stands for: symphonic metal with strong female vocals.

Ghost Of Mary is bombastic, even a bit pompous, but thanks to the magical keyboards of Lionel Blanc, the song stands. The Dreamcatcher is a lovely song in which we hear the superb violin by Mathilde Sonney and drums by Greg Turini. In the deafening Toys Of A Modern Man, Valery Veings gets the opportunity to show what he can do with a guitar.

Across The Earth is another instrumental song that sounds astounding, while Alone With You is a ballad for the campfire, although we prefer Close Your Eyes that end this CD in a perfect way.

Elferya certainly is not an original album, but a very solid one that will please the fans of the genre.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het is beslist geen pretje om als symfonische metalband origineel te zijn met vrouwelijke vocalen. Hoe goed je het ook doet, namen als Xandria, Epica, Delain of Nightwish zullen altijd wel boven je hoofd blijven spoken. Ook de zeskoppige Zwitserse band Elferya ontsnapt daar niet aan. Dat betekent evenwel niet dat er geen degelijke cd’s meer in het genre worden gemaakt. Integendeel, wie verzot is op stevige, melodieuze metal met een vrouwenstem in de hoofdrol, zal van dit debuut volop genieten. De band is al zeven jaar bezig, maar het is vooral sinds de toetreding van zangeres Melody Dylem dat alles in een stroomversnelling terecht is gekomen. Ze is niet zo maar de eerste de beste, want ze werkte eerder met Phil Collins (jawel, die Phil Collins!).

Het is bijna een plicht, maar ook Eden’s Fall opent met een instrumentale intro. Ideaal om in de sfeer te komen, zoals dat heet. With All My Love toont meteen waar deze Zwitserse band voor staat: symfonische metal met vrouwelijke stemmen.

Ghost Of Mary is bombastisch, zelfs wat pompeus, maar dankzij de sprookjesachtige keyboards van Lionel Blanc blijft het allemaal mooi overeind. The Dreamcatcher is één van de beste nummers op dit leuke debuut waarop zowel het knappe vioolwerk van Mathilde Sonney als de stevige drums van Greg Turini mooi in de verf worden gezet. Op het vrij oorverdovende Toys Of A Modern Man krijgt Valery Veings uitgebreid de mogelijkheid om te tonen wat hij met een gitaar kan.

Across The Earth is ook een instrumentale song die ronduit verbluffend klinkt, terwijl Alone With You de ballade voor het kampvuur is, hoewel we toch de voorkeur geven aan het nog mooiere Close Your Eyes dat deze cd op een waardige wijze afsluit.

Elferya is zeker geen originele plaat, wel oerdegelijk en eentje die de fans van het genre zal doen likkebaarden.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion