tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ELFERYA - Eden's Fall

ELFERYA

Eden's Fall

MusicCD
Symphonic Metal

[72/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It is definitely not easy for a symphonic metal band to be original with female vocals. Even if it is done well, names like Xandria, Epica, Delain or Nightwish always will be haunting your head. The Swiss band Elferya is one of those bands, but that does not mean you won’t find any good CD in this genre. At the contrary, anyone who is fond of heavy, melodic metal in which a woman's voice plays the starring role, will enjoy this debut. The band is around for seven years now, but it was only since singer Melody Dylem joined that everything fell into momentum. And she’s not just someone, because Melody worked with Phil Collins (yes, that Phil Collins!).

It's almost an obligation, but also Eden's Fall opens with an instrumental intro. Ideal to get into the atmosphere, as they say. With All My Love shows where this Swiss band stands for: symphonic metal with strong female vocals.

Ghost Of Mary is bombastic, even a bit pompous, but thanks to the magical keyboards of Lionel Blanc, the song stands. The Dreamcatcher is a lovely song in which we hear the superb violin by Mathilde Sonney and drums by Greg Turini. In the deafening Toys Of A Modern Man, Valery Veings gets the opportunity to show what he can do with a guitar.

Across The Earth is another instrumental song that sounds astounding, while Alone With You is a ballad for the campfire, although we prefer Close Your Eyes that end this CD in a perfect way.

Elferya certainly is not an original album, but a very solid one that will please the fans of the genre.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het is beslist geen pretje om als symfonische metalband origineel te zijn met vrouwelijke vocalen. Hoe goed je het ook doet, namen als Xandria, Epica, Delain of Nightwish zullen altijd wel boven je hoofd blijven spoken. Ook de zeskoppige Zwitserse band Elferya ontsnapt daar niet aan. Dat betekent evenwel niet dat er geen degelijke cd’s meer in het genre worden gemaakt. Integendeel, wie verzot is op stevige, melodieuze metal met een vrouwenstem in de hoofdrol, zal van dit debuut volop genieten. De band is al zeven jaar bezig, maar het is vooral sinds de toetreding van zangeres Melody Dylem dat alles in een stroomversnelling terecht is gekomen. Ze is niet zo maar de eerste de beste, want ze werkte eerder met Phil Collins (jawel, die Phil Collins!).

Het is bijna een plicht, maar ook Eden’s Fall opent met een instrumentale intro. Ideaal om in de sfeer te komen, zoals dat heet. With All My Love toont meteen waar deze Zwitserse band voor staat: symfonische metal met vrouwelijke stemmen.

Ghost Of Mary is bombastisch, zelfs wat pompeus, maar dankzij de sprookjesachtige keyboards van Lionel Blanc blijft het allemaal mooi overeind. The Dreamcatcher is één van de beste nummers op dit leuke debuut waarop zowel het knappe vioolwerk van Mathilde Sonney als de stevige drums van Greg Turini mooi in de verf worden gezet. Op het vrij oorverdovende Toys Of A Modern Man krijgt Valery Veings uitgebreid de mogelijkheid om te tonen wat hij met een gitaar kan.

Across The Earth is ook een instrumentale song die ronduit verbluffend klinkt, terwijl Alone With You de ballade voor het kampvuur is, hoewel we toch de voorkeur geven aan het nog mooiere Close Your Eyes dat deze cd op een waardige wijze afsluit.

Elferya is zeker geen originele plaat, wel oerdegelijk en eentje die de fans van het genre zal doen likkebaarden.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart