tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ELFERYA - Eden's Fall

ELFERYA

Eden's Fall

MusicCD
Symphonic Metal

[72/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It is definitely not easy for a symphonic metal band to be original with female vocals. Even if it is done well, names like Xandria, Epica, Delain or Nightwish always will be haunting your head. The Swiss band Elferya is one of those bands, but that does not mean you won’t find any good CD in this genre. At the contrary, anyone who is fond of heavy, melodic metal in which a woman's voice plays the starring role, will enjoy this debut. The band is around for seven years now, but it was only since singer Melody Dylem joined that everything fell into momentum. And she’s not just someone, because Melody worked with Phil Collins (yes, that Phil Collins!).

It's almost an obligation, but also Eden's Fall opens with an instrumental intro. Ideal to get into the atmosphere, as they say. With All My Love shows where this Swiss band stands for: symphonic metal with strong female vocals.

Ghost Of Mary is bombastic, even a bit pompous, but thanks to the magical keyboards of Lionel Blanc, the song stands. The Dreamcatcher is a lovely song in which we hear the superb violin by Mathilde Sonney and drums by Greg Turini. In the deafening Toys Of A Modern Man, Valery Veings gets the opportunity to show what he can do with a guitar.

Across The Earth is another instrumental song that sounds astounding, while Alone With You is a ballad for the campfire, although we prefer Close Your Eyes that end this CD in a perfect way.

Elferya certainly is not an original album, but a very solid one that will please the fans of the genre.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het is beslist geen pretje om als symfonische metalband origineel te zijn met vrouwelijke vocalen. Hoe goed je het ook doet, namen als Xandria, Epica, Delain of Nightwish zullen altijd wel boven je hoofd blijven spoken. Ook de zeskoppige Zwitserse band Elferya ontsnapt daar niet aan. Dat betekent evenwel niet dat er geen degelijke cd’s meer in het genre worden gemaakt. Integendeel, wie verzot is op stevige, melodieuze metal met een vrouwenstem in de hoofdrol, zal van dit debuut volop genieten. De band is al zeven jaar bezig, maar het is vooral sinds de toetreding van zangeres Melody Dylem dat alles in een stroomversnelling terecht is gekomen. Ze is niet zo maar de eerste de beste, want ze werkte eerder met Phil Collins (jawel, die Phil Collins!).

Het is bijna een plicht, maar ook Eden’s Fall opent met een instrumentale intro. Ideaal om in de sfeer te komen, zoals dat heet. With All My Love toont meteen waar deze Zwitserse band voor staat: symfonische metal met vrouwelijke stemmen.

Ghost Of Mary is bombastisch, zelfs wat pompeus, maar dankzij de sprookjesachtige keyboards van Lionel Blanc blijft het allemaal mooi overeind. The Dreamcatcher is één van de beste nummers op dit leuke debuut waarop zowel het knappe vioolwerk van Mathilde Sonney als de stevige drums van Greg Turini mooi in de verf worden gezet. Op het vrij oorverdovende Toys Of A Modern Man krijgt Valery Veings uitgebreid de mogelijkheid om te tonen wat hij met een gitaar kan.

Across The Earth is ook een instrumentale song die ronduit verbluffend klinkt, terwijl Alone With You de ballade voor het kampvuur is, hoewel we toch de voorkeur geven aan het nog mooiere Close Your Eyes dat deze cd op een waardige wijze afsluit.

Elferya is zeker geen originele plaat, wel oerdegelijk en eentje die de fans van het genre zal doen likkebaarden.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell