tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ELFERYA - Eden's Fall

ELFERYA

Eden's Fall

MusicCD
Symphonic Metal

[72/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It is definitely not easy for a symphonic metal band to be original with female vocals. Even if it is done well, names like Xandria, Epica, Delain or Nightwish always will be haunting your head. The Swiss band Elferya is one of those bands, but that does not mean you won’t find any good CD in this genre. At the contrary, anyone who is fond of heavy, melodic metal in which a woman's voice plays the starring role, will enjoy this debut. The band is around for seven years now, but it was only since singer Melody Dylem joined that everything fell into momentum. And she’s not just someone, because Melody worked with Phil Collins (yes, that Phil Collins!).

It's almost an obligation, but also Eden's Fall opens with an instrumental intro. Ideal to get into the atmosphere, as they say. With All My Love shows where this Swiss band stands for: symphonic metal with strong female vocals.

Ghost Of Mary is bombastic, even a bit pompous, but thanks to the magical keyboards of Lionel Blanc, the song stands. The Dreamcatcher is a lovely song in which we hear the superb violin by Mathilde Sonney and drums by Greg Turini. In the deafening Toys Of A Modern Man, Valery Veings gets the opportunity to show what he can do with a guitar.

Across The Earth is another instrumental song that sounds astounding, while Alone With You is a ballad for the campfire, although we prefer Close Your Eyes that end this CD in a perfect way.

Elferya certainly is not an original album, but a very solid one that will please the fans of the genre.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Het is beslist geen pretje om als symfonische metalband origineel te zijn met vrouwelijke vocalen. Hoe goed je het ook doet, namen als Xandria, Epica, Delain of Nightwish zullen altijd wel boven je hoofd blijven spoken. Ook de zeskoppige Zwitserse band Elferya ontsnapt daar niet aan. Dat betekent evenwel niet dat er geen degelijke cd’s meer in het genre worden gemaakt. Integendeel, wie verzot is op stevige, melodieuze metal met een vrouwenstem in de hoofdrol, zal van dit debuut volop genieten. De band is al zeven jaar bezig, maar het is vooral sinds de toetreding van zangeres Melody Dylem dat alles in een stroomversnelling terecht is gekomen. Ze is niet zo maar de eerste de beste, want ze werkte eerder met Phil Collins (jawel, die Phil Collins!).

Het is bijna een plicht, maar ook Eden’s Fall opent met een instrumentale intro. Ideaal om in de sfeer te komen, zoals dat heet. With All My Love toont meteen waar deze Zwitserse band voor staat: symfonische metal met vrouwelijke stemmen.

Ghost Of Mary is bombastisch, zelfs wat pompeus, maar dankzij de sprookjesachtige keyboards van Lionel Blanc blijft het allemaal mooi overeind. The Dreamcatcher is één van de beste nummers op dit leuke debuut waarop zowel het knappe vioolwerk van Mathilde Sonney als de stevige drums van Greg Turini mooi in de verf worden gezet. Op het vrij oorverdovende Toys Of A Modern Man krijgt Valery Veings uitgebreid de mogelijkheid om te tonen wat hij met een gitaar kan.

Across The Earth is ook een instrumentale song die ronduit verbluffend klinkt, terwijl Alone With You de ballade voor het kampvuur is, hoewel we toch de voorkeur geven aan het nog mooiere Close Your Eyes dat deze cd op een waardige wijze afsluit.

Elferya is zeker geen originele plaat, wel oerdegelijk en eentje die de fans van het genre zal doen likkebaarden.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl