tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP)

JUSSKA

Tsuki (EP)

MusicDigital
MetalProg Rock

[85/100]   

Prog Sphere Promotions
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Jusska is the brainchild of guitarist Leander Verheyen, who also plays in Bear and Atmospheres. Iasson Passaris was a perfect companion to add melody and vocals to his project.

The aim is to release three EP’s during three semesters. First, they released L'Homme de L'Ombre (Summer), and now there's part two: Tsuki (Winter). In the spring, a third EP will be released. For Tsuki they got the collaboration of drummer Mike Malyan, who used to be in Monunements & Disperse.

The songs on this EP go more in the direction of progressive rock and metal than the tracks we heard on L'Homme de L'Ombre. The grooves are still there, but they have become more complex. The sound of this EP also has more variety and melody. The guitar work is superb and the drums lift the songs to a higher level. Three fairly short songs of three to five minutes. Limbo is a gem: magnificent guitar playing and a nice bass to open the song. The vocals are at times quite melancholic. Cascade and Geisha are of the same level.

This EP shows a real evolution in their work which is already of a fairly high level. I wonder what they have to offer next time.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Jusska is het geesteskind van gitarist Leander Verheyen, die ook bij Bear en Atmospheres zit. In Iasson Passaris vond hij de geschikte kompaan om melodie en zang aan zijn project toe te voegen.

Het opzet is om gedurende drie semesters telkens één ep uit te brengen. We kregen al L’ Homme de L’ Ombre (Summer). Nu is er deel twee: Tsuki (Winter) en in de lente komt nog een derde luik uit. Voor Tsuki trokken ze niemand minder dan drummer Mike Malyan (ex-Monunements & Disperse) aan.

De songs op deze ep gaan nog iets meer in de richting van progressieve rock en metal dan de tracks die we op L’ Homme de L’ Ombre hoorden. De grooves zijn gebleven, maar ze zijn complexer geworden. De sound van deze ep vertoont ook meer variatie en melodie dan de vorige. Het gitaarwerk is wederom schitterend en de drums tillen de songs naar een hoger niveau. De zang heeft een episch gehalte. Drie vrij korte (tussen drie en vijf minuten) songs dus, en wat mij betreft mochten het er gerust wat meer geweest zijn. Limbo is een pareltje: magnifiek gitaarspel en een vette bas openen de song. De zang is bij momenten vrij melancholisch en tevens stevig. De drums lijmen alles mooi tezamen. Cascade en Geisha zijn van hetzelfde niveau.

Deze ep toont evolutie in werk dat nu toch al een vrij hoog niveau haalt. Ik ben benieuwd naar wat de derde ep ons te bieden heeft.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP) 09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP)

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem