tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP)

JUSSKA

Tsuki (EP)

MusicDigital
MetalProg Rock

[85/100]   

Prog Sphere Promotions
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Jusska is the brainchild of guitarist Leander Verheyen, who also plays in Bear and Atmospheres. Iasson Passaris was a perfect companion to add melody and vocals to his project.

The aim is to release three EP’s during three semesters. First, they released L'Homme de L'Ombre (Summer), and now there's part two: Tsuki (Winter). In the spring, a third EP will be released. For Tsuki they got the collaboration of drummer Mike Malyan, who used to be in Monunements & Disperse.

The songs on this EP go more in the direction of progressive rock and metal than the tracks we heard on L'Homme de L'Ombre. The grooves are still there, but they have become more complex. The sound of this EP also has more variety and melody. The guitar work is superb and the drums lift the songs to a higher level. Three fairly short songs of three to five minutes. Limbo is a gem: magnificent guitar playing and a nice bass to open the song. The vocals are at times quite melancholic. Cascade and Geisha are of the same level.

This EP shows a real evolution in their work which is already of a fairly high level. I wonder what they have to offer next time.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Jusska is het geesteskind van gitarist Leander Verheyen, die ook bij Bear en Atmospheres zit. In Iasson Passaris vond hij de geschikte kompaan om melodie en zang aan zijn project toe te voegen.

Het opzet is om gedurende drie semesters telkens één ep uit te brengen. We kregen al L’ Homme de L’ Ombre (Summer). Nu is er deel twee: Tsuki (Winter) en in de lente komt nog een derde luik uit. Voor Tsuki trokken ze niemand minder dan drummer Mike Malyan (ex-Monunements & Disperse) aan.

De songs op deze ep gaan nog iets meer in de richting van progressieve rock en metal dan de tracks die we op L’ Homme de L’ Ombre hoorden. De grooves zijn gebleven, maar ze zijn complexer geworden. De sound van deze ep vertoont ook meer variatie en melodie dan de vorige. Het gitaarwerk is wederom schitterend en de drums tillen de songs naar een hoger niveau. De zang heeft een episch gehalte. Drie vrij korte (tussen drie en vijf minuten) songs dus, en wat mij betreft mochten het er gerust wat meer geweest zijn. Limbo is een pareltje: magnifiek gitaarspel en een vette bas openen de song. De zang is bij momenten vrij melancholisch en tevens stevig. De drums lijmen alles mooi tezamen. Cascade en Geisha zijn van hetzelfde niveau.

Deze ep toont evolutie in werk dat nu toch al een vrij hoog niveau haalt. Ik ben benieuwd naar wat de derde ep ons te bieden heeft.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP) 09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP)

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag