tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP)

JUSSKA

Tsuki (EP)

MusicDigital
MetalProg Rock

[85/100]   

Prog Sphere Promotions
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Jusska is the brainchild of guitarist Leander Verheyen, who also plays in Bear and Atmospheres. Iasson Passaris was a perfect companion to add melody and vocals to his project.

The aim is to release three EP’s during three semesters. First, they released L'Homme de L'Ombre (Summer), and now there's part two: Tsuki (Winter). In the spring, a third EP will be released. For Tsuki they got the collaboration of drummer Mike Malyan, who used to be in Monunements & Disperse.

The songs on this EP go more in the direction of progressive rock and metal than the tracks we heard on L'Homme de L'Ombre. The grooves are still there, but they have become more complex. The sound of this EP also has more variety and melody. The guitar work is superb and the drums lift the songs to a higher level. Three fairly short songs of three to five minutes. Limbo is a gem: magnificent guitar playing and a nice bass to open the song. The vocals are at times quite melancholic. Cascade and Geisha are of the same level.

This EP shows a real evolution in their work which is already of a fairly high level. I wonder what they have to offer next time.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Jusska is het geesteskind van gitarist Leander Verheyen, die ook bij Bear en Atmospheres zit. In Iasson Passaris vond hij de geschikte kompaan om melodie en zang aan zijn project toe te voegen.

Het opzet is om gedurende drie semesters telkens één ep uit te brengen. We kregen al L’ Homme de L’ Ombre (Summer). Nu is er deel twee: Tsuki (Winter) en in de lente komt nog een derde luik uit. Voor Tsuki trokken ze niemand minder dan drummer Mike Malyan (ex-Monunements & Disperse) aan.

De songs op deze ep gaan nog iets meer in de richting van progressieve rock en metal dan de tracks die we op L’ Homme de L’ Ombre hoorden. De grooves zijn gebleven, maar ze zijn complexer geworden. De sound van deze ep vertoont ook meer variatie en melodie dan de vorige. Het gitaarwerk is wederom schitterend en de drums tillen de songs naar een hoger niveau. De zang heeft een episch gehalte. Drie vrij korte (tussen drie en vijf minuten) songs dus, en wat mij betreft mochten het er gerust wat meer geweest zijn. Limbo is een pareltje: magnifiek gitaarspel en een vette bas openen de song. De zang is bij momenten vrij melancholisch en tevens stevig. De drums lijmen alles mooi tezamen. Cascade en Geisha zijn van hetzelfde niveau.

Deze ep toont evolutie in werk dat nu toch al een vrij hoog niveau haalt. Ik ben benieuwd naar wat de derde ep ons te bieden heeft.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP) 09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP)

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh