tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP)

JUSSKA

Tsuki (EP)

MusicDigital
MetalProg Rock

[85/100]   

Prog Sphere Promotions
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Jusska is the brainchild of guitarist Leander Verheyen, who also plays in Bear and Atmospheres. Iasson Passaris was a perfect companion to add melody and vocals to his project.

The aim is to release three EP’s during three semesters. First, they released L'Homme de L'Ombre (Summer), and now there's part two: Tsuki (Winter). In the spring, a third EP will be released. For Tsuki they got the collaboration of drummer Mike Malyan, who used to be in Monunements & Disperse.

The songs on this EP go more in the direction of progressive rock and metal than the tracks we heard on L'Homme de L'Ombre. The grooves are still there, but they have become more complex. The sound of this EP also has more variety and melody. The guitar work is superb and the drums lift the songs to a higher level. Three fairly short songs of three to five minutes. Limbo is a gem: magnificent guitar playing and a nice bass to open the song. The vocals are at times quite melancholic. Cascade and Geisha are of the same level.

This EP shows a real evolution in their work which is already of a fairly high level. I wonder what they have to offer next time.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Jusska is het geesteskind van gitarist Leander Verheyen, die ook bij Bear en Atmospheres zit. In Iasson Passaris vond hij de geschikte kompaan om melodie en zang aan zijn project toe te voegen.

Het opzet is om gedurende drie semesters telkens één ep uit te brengen. We kregen al L’ Homme de L’ Ombre (Summer). Nu is er deel twee: Tsuki (Winter) en in de lente komt nog een derde luik uit. Voor Tsuki trokken ze niemand minder dan drummer Mike Malyan (ex-Monunements & Disperse) aan.

De songs op deze ep gaan nog iets meer in de richting van progressieve rock en metal dan de tracks die we op L’ Homme de L’ Ombre hoorden. De grooves zijn gebleven, maar ze zijn complexer geworden. De sound van deze ep vertoont ook meer variatie en melodie dan de vorige. Het gitaarwerk is wederom schitterend en de drums tillen de songs naar een hoger niveau. De zang heeft een episch gehalte. Drie vrij korte (tussen drie en vijf minuten) songs dus, en wat mij betreft mochten het er gerust wat meer geweest zijn. Limbo is een pareltje: magnifiek gitaarspel en een vette bas openen de song. De zang is bij momenten vrij melancholisch en tevens stevig. De drums lijmen alles mooi tezamen. Cascade en Geisha zijn van hetzelfde niveau.

Deze ep toont evolutie in werk dat nu toch al een vrij hoog niveau haalt. Ik ben benieuwd naar wat de derde ep ons te bieden heeft.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP) 09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain