tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP)

JUSSKA

Tsuki (EP)

MusicDigital
MetalProg Rock

[85/100]   

Prog Sphere Promotions
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Jusska is the brainchild of guitarist Leander Verheyen, who also plays in Bear and Atmospheres. Iasson Passaris was a perfect companion to add melody and vocals to his project.

The aim is to release three EP’s during three semesters. First, they released L'Homme de L'Ombre (Summer), and now there's part two: Tsuki (Winter). In the spring, a third EP will be released. For Tsuki they got the collaboration of drummer Mike Malyan, who used to be in Monunements & Disperse.

The songs on this EP go more in the direction of progressive rock and metal than the tracks we heard on L'Homme de L'Ombre. The grooves are still there, but they have become more complex. The sound of this EP also has more variety and melody. The guitar work is superb and the drums lift the songs to a higher level. Three fairly short songs of three to five minutes. Limbo is a gem: magnificent guitar playing and a nice bass to open the song. The vocals are at times quite melancholic. Cascade and Geisha are of the same level.

This EP shows a real evolution in their work which is already of a fairly high level. I wonder what they have to offer next time.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Jusska is het geesteskind van gitarist Leander Verheyen, die ook bij Bear en Atmospheres zit. In Iasson Passaris vond hij de geschikte kompaan om melodie en zang aan zijn project toe te voegen.

Het opzet is om gedurende drie semesters telkens één ep uit te brengen. We kregen al L’ Homme de L’ Ombre (Summer). Nu is er deel twee: Tsuki (Winter) en in de lente komt nog een derde luik uit. Voor Tsuki trokken ze niemand minder dan drummer Mike Malyan (ex-Monunements & Disperse) aan.

De songs op deze ep gaan nog iets meer in de richting van progressieve rock en metal dan de tracks die we op L’ Homme de L’ Ombre hoorden. De grooves zijn gebleven, maar ze zijn complexer geworden. De sound van deze ep vertoont ook meer variatie en melodie dan de vorige. Het gitaarwerk is wederom schitterend en de drums tillen de songs naar een hoger niveau. De zang heeft een episch gehalte. Drie vrij korte (tussen drie en vijf minuten) songs dus, en wat mij betreft mochten het er gerust wat meer geweest zijn. Limbo is een pareltje: magnifiek gitaarspel en een vette bas openen de song. De zang is bij momenten vrij melancholisch en tevens stevig. De drums lijmen alles mooi tezamen. Cascade en Geisha zijn van hetzelfde niveau.

Deze ep toont evolutie in werk dat nu toch al een vrij hoog niveau haalt. Ik ben benieuwd naar wat de derde ep ons te bieden heeft.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP) 09/12/2016 : JUSSKA - Tsuki (EP)

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid