tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/03/2015 : MINUTIAN - Inwards

MINUTIAN

Inwards

MusicCD
MetalProg Rock

[88/100]   

Secret Entertainment
04/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This Finnish band plays Prog Metal/Rock. As influences they cite bands like King Crimson, Oceanside, Tool and Mastodon. In 2011 they released their debut Reprecussions. After a promising start, they lost both their guitarist Jaakko Jernberg and their touring guitarist Teemu Kokkonen in an accident in 2012. After a moment of consideration the band decided to go on.

The music is characterized by guitar songs. They exchange classical guitar parts with rock and metal pieces (just like Metallica did on eg. Master Of Puppets). We get a nice example of that on On Derelict Sidings. A strong song with powerful singing. On The Crust Of The Earth we hear some nice drums and bass play. Void Within has some Tool-ish guitar riffs and the composition has a strong song structure. Aphelion is their longest track (more than ten minutes), but it is also one of their most interesting: exciting, melodic and alternative.

The singing is mostly very good. Only when he tries to sing in a mean way, I find it a little less. Nice guitar work and rhythm section (especially the drums). A good production and nice artwork. A very good album, that has a progressive approach, but that is mostly a very well written piece of metal/hard rock. An album that will stay for some time in my CD-player.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/03/2015


NL

Deze Finse band brengt progrock/metal. Als invloeden vermelden ze o.a. King Crimson, Oceanside, Tool en Mastodon. De band bracht in 2011 z'n debuutalbum Reprecussions uit. Na een veelbelovende start verloren ze in 2012 door een ongeluk gitarist Jaakko Jernberg en ook nog hun toergitarist Teemu Kokkonen. Na overleg besloten ze evenwel om door te gaan en ze spelen sinds 2013 in de huidige bezetting.

De muziek kenmerkt zich door sterk gitaargerichte nummers. Ze wisselen klassieke gitaarstukjes af met rock en metal (zoals Metallica dat vroeger ook op bijv. Master of Puppets deed). Op On Derelict Sidings krijgen we daar een mooi voorbeeld van. Een sterk nummer en sterke zanglijn trouwens. Op The Crust of the Earth horen we aardig bas- en drumwerk, met een mooie ruimtelijke zangpartij in het refrein. Void Within is een ferm nummer met enkele Tool-plichtige gitaarriffs. Aphelion is hun langste song (meer dan tien minuten), en zeker één van hun interessantste: afwisselend, melodieus…

De zangpartij is over het algemeen heel goed. Alleen als hij gemeen wil klinken, vind ik het wat minder. Fijn gitaarwerk en dito ritmesectie (vooral het drumwerk). Een goede productie en smaakvol artwork. Dit is een heel goed album dat qua aanpak een aantal progressieve stijlkenmerken vertoont, maar het is vooral een goed uitgewerkt metal/hardrock-album geworden. Eéntje dat nog een tijdje in mijn speler zal blijven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/03/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)