tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/03/2015 : MINUTIAN - Inwards

MINUTIAN

Inwards

MusicCD
MetalProg Rock

[88/100]   

Secret Entertainment
04/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This Finnish band plays Prog Metal/Rock. As influences they cite bands like King Crimson, Oceanside, Tool and Mastodon. In 2011 they released their debut Reprecussions. After a promising start, they lost both their guitarist Jaakko Jernberg and their touring guitarist Teemu Kokkonen in an accident in 2012. After a moment of consideration the band decided to go on.

The music is characterized by guitar songs. They exchange classical guitar parts with rock and metal pieces (just like Metallica did on eg. Master Of Puppets). We get a nice example of that on On Derelict Sidings. A strong song with powerful singing. On The Crust Of The Earth we hear some nice drums and bass play. Void Within has some Tool-ish guitar riffs and the composition has a strong song structure. Aphelion is their longest track (more than ten minutes), but it is also one of their most interesting: exciting, melodic and alternative.

The singing is mostly very good. Only when he tries to sing in a mean way, I find it a little less. Nice guitar work and rhythm section (especially the drums). A good production and nice artwork. A very good album, that has a progressive approach, but that is mostly a very well written piece of metal/hard rock. An album that will stay for some time in my CD-player.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/03/2015


NL

Deze Finse band brengt progrock/metal. Als invloeden vermelden ze o.a. King Crimson, Oceanside, Tool en Mastodon. De band bracht in 2011 z'n debuutalbum Reprecussions uit. Na een veelbelovende start verloren ze in 2012 door een ongeluk gitarist Jaakko Jernberg en ook nog hun toergitarist Teemu Kokkonen. Na overleg besloten ze evenwel om door te gaan en ze spelen sinds 2013 in de huidige bezetting.

De muziek kenmerkt zich door sterk gitaargerichte nummers. Ze wisselen klassieke gitaarstukjes af met rock en metal (zoals Metallica dat vroeger ook op bijv. Master of Puppets deed). Op On Derelict Sidings krijgen we daar een mooi voorbeeld van. Een sterk nummer en sterke zanglijn trouwens. Op The Crust of the Earth horen we aardig bas- en drumwerk, met een mooie ruimtelijke zangpartij in het refrein. Void Within is een ferm nummer met enkele Tool-plichtige gitaarriffs. Aphelion is hun langste song (meer dan tien minuten), en zeker één van hun interessantste: afwisselend, melodieus…

De zangpartij is over het algemeen heel goed. Alleen als hij gemeen wil klinken, vind ik het wat minder. Fijn gitaarwerk en dito ritmesectie (vooral het drumwerk). Een goede productie en smaakvol artwork. Dit is een heel goed album dat qua aanpak een aantal progressieve stijlkenmerken vertoont, maar het is vooral een goed uitgewerkt metal/hardrock-album geworden. Eéntje dat nog een tijdje in mijn speler zal blijven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/03/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself