tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/03/2015 : MINUTIAN - Inwards

MINUTIAN

Inwards

MusicCD
MetalProg Rock

[88/100]   

Secret Entertainment
04/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This Finnish band plays Prog Metal/Rock. As influences they cite bands like King Crimson, Oceanside, Tool and Mastodon. In 2011 they released their debut Reprecussions. After a promising start, they lost both their guitarist Jaakko Jernberg and their touring guitarist Teemu Kokkonen in an accident in 2012. After a moment of consideration the band decided to go on.

The music is characterized by guitar songs. They exchange classical guitar parts with rock and metal pieces (just like Metallica did on eg. Master Of Puppets). We get a nice example of that on On Derelict Sidings. A strong song with powerful singing. On The Crust Of The Earth we hear some nice drums and bass play. Void Within has some Tool-ish guitar riffs and the composition has a strong song structure. Aphelion is their longest track (more than ten minutes), but it is also one of their most interesting: exciting, melodic and alternative.

The singing is mostly very good. Only when he tries to sing in a mean way, I find it a little less. Nice guitar work and rhythm section (especially the drums). A good production and nice artwork. A very good album, that has a progressive approach, but that is mostly a very well written piece of metal/hard rock. An album that will stay for some time in my CD-player.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/03/2015


NL

Deze Finse band brengt progrock/metal. Als invloeden vermelden ze o.a. King Crimson, Oceanside, Tool en Mastodon. De band bracht in 2011 z'n debuutalbum Reprecussions uit. Na een veelbelovende start verloren ze in 2012 door een ongeluk gitarist Jaakko Jernberg en ook nog hun toergitarist Teemu Kokkonen. Na overleg besloten ze evenwel om door te gaan en ze spelen sinds 2013 in de huidige bezetting.

De muziek kenmerkt zich door sterk gitaargerichte nummers. Ze wisselen klassieke gitaarstukjes af met rock en metal (zoals Metallica dat vroeger ook op bijv. Master of Puppets deed). Op On Derelict Sidings krijgen we daar een mooi voorbeeld van. Een sterk nummer en sterke zanglijn trouwens. Op The Crust of the Earth horen we aardig bas- en drumwerk, met een mooie ruimtelijke zangpartij in het refrein. Void Within is een ferm nummer met enkele Tool-plichtige gitaarriffs. Aphelion is hun langste song (meer dan tien minuten), en zeker één van hun interessantste: afwisselend, melodieus…

De zangpartij is over het algemeen heel goed. Alleen als hij gemeen wil klinken, vind ik het wat minder. Fijn gitaarwerk en dito ritmesectie (vooral het drumwerk). Een goede productie en smaakvol artwork. Dit is een heel goed album dat qua aanpak een aantal progressieve stijlkenmerken vertoont, maar het is vooral een goed uitgewerkt metal/hardrock-album geworden. Eéntje dat nog een tijdje in mijn speler zal blijven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/03/2015


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky