tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

04/03/2015 : MINUTIAN - Inwards

MINUTIAN

Inwards

MusicCD
MetalProg Rock

[88/100]   

Secret Entertainment
04/03/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This Finnish band plays Prog Metal/Rock. As influences they cite bands like King Crimson, Oceanside, Tool and Mastodon. In 2011 they released their debut Reprecussions. After a promising start, they lost both their guitarist Jaakko Jernberg and their touring guitarist Teemu Kokkonen in an accident in 2012. After a moment of consideration the band decided to go on.

The music is characterized by guitar songs. They exchange classical guitar parts with rock and metal pieces (just like Metallica did on eg. Master Of Puppets). We get a nice example of that on On Derelict Sidings. A strong song with powerful singing. On The Crust Of The Earth we hear some nice drums and bass play. Void Within has some Tool-ish guitar riffs and the composition has a strong song structure. Aphelion is their longest track (more than ten minutes), but it is also one of their most interesting: exciting, melodic and alternative.

The singing is mostly very good. Only when he tries to sing in a mean way, I find it a little less. Nice guitar work and rhythm section (especially the drums). A good production and nice artwork. A very good album, that has a progressive approach, but that is mostly a very well written piece of metal/hard rock. An album that will stay for some time in my CD-player.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/03/2015


NL

Deze Finse band brengt progrock/metal. Als invloeden vermelden ze o.a. King Crimson, Oceanside, Tool en Mastodon. De band bracht in 2011 z'n debuutalbum Reprecussions uit. Na een veelbelovende start verloren ze in 2012 door een ongeluk gitarist Jaakko Jernberg en ook nog hun toergitarist Teemu Kokkonen. Na overleg besloten ze evenwel om door te gaan en ze spelen sinds 2013 in de huidige bezetting.

De muziek kenmerkt zich door sterk gitaargerichte nummers. Ze wisselen klassieke gitaarstukjes af met rock en metal (zoals Metallica dat vroeger ook op bijv. Master of Puppets deed). Op On Derelict Sidings krijgen we daar een mooi voorbeeld van. Een sterk nummer en sterke zanglijn trouwens. Op The Crust of the Earth horen we aardig bas- en drumwerk, met een mooie ruimtelijke zangpartij in het refrein. Void Within is een ferm nummer met enkele Tool-plichtige gitaarriffs. Aphelion is hun langste song (meer dan tien minuten), en zeker één van hun interessantste: afwisselend, melodieus…

De zangpartij is over het algemeen heel goed. Alleen als hij gemeen wil klinken, vind ik het wat minder. Fijn gitaarwerk en dito ritmesectie (vooral het drumwerk). Een goede productie en smaakvol artwork. Dit is een heel goed album dat qua aanpak een aantal progressieve stijlkenmerken vertoont, maar het is vooral een goed uitgewerkt metal/hardrock-album geworden. Eéntje dat nog een tijdje in mijn speler zal blijven.

Wim GUILLEMYN
04/03/2015


Music reviews

27
01
MARTIN L. GORE
The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)