tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NOSOUND - Scintilla

NOSOUND

Scintilla

MusicCD
PopProgProg Rock

[78/100]   

Kscope
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Scintilla is the fifth album by the Italian Nosound. It includes a guest appearance by Vincent Cavanagh (Anathema) in The Perfect Wife and In Celebration of Life. It is an advantage of being part of the Kscope family, isn't it? But the cooperation is not so surprising, as both bands have similar musical intrests. But the cooperation is not explicit. The voice and the guitar solo in In Celebration of Life may be attributed to Cavanagh. They provide the climax that the song deserves.

The tracks are all nicely detailed and they contain nice keys, bass, percussion and strings. A good example is Last Lunch, which, more than the music of Anathema and Porcupine Tree, sounds as progressive pop. Sogno e Incendio is sung in Italian and sounds quite pathetic. Halfway through the song we hear a Pink Floyd-like guitar. Personally, I would have preferred English lyrics here. But it is the most progressive song on the album.

Nosound has made an excellent album that sounds nice and good. Sometimes the production lacks a bit of depth, which has a negative influence on the songs. but that is our only negative comment about Scintilla.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Scintilla is het vijfde album van het Italiaanse Nosound en bevat o.a. een bijdrage van Vincent Cavanagh (Anathema) in The Perfect Wife en In Celebration of Life. Een voordeel van deel uit te maken van de Kscope-familie, denk ik dan zo. Maar de samenwerking is daarnaast ook wel een beetje logisch aangezien beide bands min of meer in dezelfde muzikale vijver vissen. Maar de samenwerking is niet nadrukkelijk. Het stemgeluid en de gitaarsolo op In Celebration of Life zouden inderdaad van Canvanagh kunnen zijn. Ze geven de song in elk geval de climax die hij verdient.

De tracks zijn allemaal mooi uitgewerkt en bevatten leuke keys, baswerk, percussie en strijkers. Een mooi voorbeeld is Last Lunch, dat meer dan de muziek van Anathema en Porcupine Tree als progressieve pop klinkt Tree. Sogno e Incendio wordt in het Italiaans gezongen en klinkt daardoor nogal pathetisch. Halfweg wordt de song onderbroken door een Pink Floyd-achtige gitaarsolo. Persoonlijk had ik deze track liever in het Engels gehoord, maar als song is hij zowat de meest progressieve van het album.

Met Scintilla heeft Nosound een prima album gemaakt dat mooi en goed klinkt. Hier en daar zou een beetje meer diepgang - via de productie - de songs ten goede komen, want nu klinkt het geheel wat te braaf. Nu en dan mocht er een weerhaakje aan de muziek zitten, maar voor de rest valt er weinig negatiefs te zeggen over Scintilla.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice