tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NOSOUND - Scintilla

NOSOUND

Scintilla

MusicCD
PopProgProg Rock

[78/100]   

Kscope
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Scintilla is the fifth album by the Italian Nosound. It includes a guest appearance by Vincent Cavanagh (Anathema) in The Perfect Wife and In Celebration of Life. It is an advantage of being part of the Kscope family, isn't it? But the cooperation is not so surprising, as both bands have similar musical intrests. But the cooperation is not explicit. The voice and the guitar solo in In Celebration of Life may be attributed to Cavanagh. They provide the climax that the song deserves.

The tracks are all nicely detailed and they contain nice keys, bass, percussion and strings. A good example is Last Lunch, which, more than the music of Anathema and Porcupine Tree, sounds as progressive pop. Sogno e Incendio is sung in Italian and sounds quite pathetic. Halfway through the song we hear a Pink Floyd-like guitar. Personally, I would have preferred English lyrics here. But it is the most progressive song on the album.

Nosound has made an excellent album that sounds nice and good. Sometimes the production lacks a bit of depth, which has a negative influence on the songs. but that is our only negative comment about Scintilla.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Scintilla is het vijfde album van het Italiaanse Nosound en bevat o.a. een bijdrage van Vincent Cavanagh (Anathema) in The Perfect Wife en In Celebration of Life. Een voordeel van deel uit te maken van de Kscope-familie, denk ik dan zo. Maar de samenwerking is daarnaast ook wel een beetje logisch aangezien beide bands min of meer in dezelfde muzikale vijver vissen. Maar de samenwerking is niet nadrukkelijk. Het stemgeluid en de gitaarsolo op In Celebration of Life zouden inderdaad van Canvanagh kunnen zijn. Ze geven de song in elk geval de climax die hij verdient.

De tracks zijn allemaal mooi uitgewerkt en bevatten leuke keys, baswerk, percussie en strijkers. Een mooi voorbeeld is Last Lunch, dat meer dan de muziek van Anathema en Porcupine Tree als progressieve pop klinkt Tree. Sogno e Incendio wordt in het Italiaans gezongen en klinkt daardoor nogal pathetisch. Halfweg wordt de song onderbroken door een Pink Floyd-achtige gitaarsolo. Persoonlijk had ik deze track liever in het Engels gehoord, maar als song is hij zowat de meest progressieve van het album.

Met Scintilla heeft Nosound een prima album gemaakt dat mooi en goed klinkt. Hier en daar zou een beetje meer diepgang - via de productie - de songs ten goede komen, want nu klinkt het geheel wat te braaf. Nu en dan mocht er een weerhaakje aan de muziek zitten, maar voor de rest valt er weinig negatiefs te zeggen over Scintilla.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots