tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NOSOUND - Scintilla

NOSOUND

Scintilla

MusicCD
PopProgProg Rock

[78/100]   

Kscope
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Scintilla is the fifth album by the Italian Nosound. It includes a guest appearance by Vincent Cavanagh (Anathema) in The Perfect Wife and In Celebration of Life. It is an advantage of being part of the Kscope family, isn't it? But the cooperation is not so surprising, as both bands have similar musical intrests. But the cooperation is not explicit. The voice and the guitar solo in In Celebration of Life may be attributed to Cavanagh. They provide the climax that the song deserves.

The tracks are all nicely detailed and they contain nice keys, bass, percussion and strings. A good example is Last Lunch, which, more than the music of Anathema and Porcupine Tree, sounds as progressive pop. Sogno e Incendio is sung in Italian and sounds quite pathetic. Halfway through the song we hear a Pink Floyd-like guitar. Personally, I would have preferred English lyrics here. But it is the most progressive song on the album.

Nosound has made an excellent album that sounds nice and good. Sometimes the production lacks a bit of depth, which has a negative influence on the songs. but that is our only negative comment about Scintilla.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Scintilla is het vijfde album van het Italiaanse Nosound en bevat o.a. een bijdrage van Vincent Cavanagh (Anathema) in The Perfect Wife en In Celebration of Life. Een voordeel van deel uit te maken van de Kscope-familie, denk ik dan zo. Maar de samenwerking is daarnaast ook wel een beetje logisch aangezien beide bands min of meer in dezelfde muzikale vijver vissen. Maar de samenwerking is niet nadrukkelijk. Het stemgeluid en de gitaarsolo op In Celebration of Life zouden inderdaad van Canvanagh kunnen zijn. Ze geven de song in elk geval de climax die hij verdient.

De tracks zijn allemaal mooi uitgewerkt en bevatten leuke keys, baswerk, percussie en strijkers. Een mooi voorbeeld is Last Lunch, dat meer dan de muziek van Anathema en Porcupine Tree als progressieve pop klinkt Tree. Sogno e Incendio wordt in het Italiaans gezongen en klinkt daardoor nogal pathetisch. Halfweg wordt de song onderbroken door een Pink Floyd-achtige gitaarsolo. Persoonlijk had ik deze track liever in het Engels gehoord, maar als song is hij zowat de meest progressieve van het album.

Met Scintilla heeft Nosound een prima album gemaakt dat mooi en goed klinkt. Hier en daar zou een beetje meer diepgang - via de productie - de songs ten goede komen, want nu klinkt het geheel wat te braaf. Nu en dan mocht er een weerhaakje aan de muziek zitten, maar voor de rest valt er weinig negatiefs te zeggen over Scintilla.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
01
Blackened Bass Act, LUNA 13 Drops The Provocative LP, Gorgo & New Single, 'Hear My Call'
27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
Crossroads
27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover