tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NOSOUND - Scintilla

NOSOUND

Scintilla

MusicCD
PopProgProg Rock

[78/100]   

Kscope
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Scintilla is the fifth album by the Italian Nosound. It includes a guest appearance by Vincent Cavanagh (Anathema) in The Perfect Wife and In Celebration of Life. It is an advantage of being part of the Kscope family, isn't it? But the cooperation is not so surprising, as both bands have similar musical intrests. But the cooperation is not explicit. The voice and the guitar solo in In Celebration of Life may be attributed to Cavanagh. They provide the climax that the song deserves.

The tracks are all nicely detailed and they contain nice keys, bass, percussion and strings. A good example is Last Lunch, which, more than the music of Anathema and Porcupine Tree, sounds as progressive pop. Sogno e Incendio is sung in Italian and sounds quite pathetic. Halfway through the song we hear a Pink Floyd-like guitar. Personally, I would have preferred English lyrics here. But it is the most progressive song on the album.

Nosound has made an excellent album that sounds nice and good. Sometimes the production lacks a bit of depth, which has a negative influence on the songs. but that is our only negative comment about Scintilla.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Scintilla is het vijfde album van het Italiaanse Nosound en bevat o.a. een bijdrage van Vincent Cavanagh (Anathema) in The Perfect Wife en In Celebration of Life. Een voordeel van deel uit te maken van de Kscope-familie, denk ik dan zo. Maar de samenwerking is daarnaast ook wel een beetje logisch aangezien beide bands min of meer in dezelfde muzikale vijver vissen. Maar de samenwerking is niet nadrukkelijk. Het stemgeluid en de gitaarsolo op In Celebration of Life zouden inderdaad van Canvanagh kunnen zijn. Ze geven de song in elk geval de climax die hij verdient.

De tracks zijn allemaal mooi uitgewerkt en bevatten leuke keys, baswerk, percussie en strijkers. Een mooi voorbeeld is Last Lunch, dat meer dan de muziek van Anathema en Porcupine Tree als progressieve pop klinkt Tree. Sogno e Incendio wordt in het Italiaans gezongen en klinkt daardoor nogal pathetisch. Halfweg wordt de song onderbroken door een Pink Floyd-achtige gitaarsolo. Persoonlijk had ik deze track liever in het Engels gehoord, maar als song is hij zowat de meest progressieve van het album.

Met Scintilla heeft Nosound een prima album gemaakt dat mooi en goed klinkt. Hier en daar zou een beetje meer diepgang - via de productie - de songs ten goede komen, want nu klinkt het geheel wat te braaf. Nu en dan mocht er een weerhaakje aan de muziek zitten, maar voor de rest valt er weinig negatiefs te zeggen over Scintilla.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline