tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : NOSOUND - Scintilla

NOSOUND

Scintilla

MusicCD
PopProgProg Rock

[78/100]   

Kscope
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Scintilla is the fifth album by the Italian Nosound. It includes a guest appearance by Vincent Cavanagh (Anathema) in The Perfect Wife and In Celebration of Life. It is an advantage of being part of the Kscope family, isn't it? But the cooperation is not so surprising, as both bands have similar musical intrests. But the cooperation is not explicit. The voice and the guitar solo in In Celebration of Life may be attributed to Cavanagh. They provide the climax that the song deserves.

The tracks are all nicely detailed and they contain nice keys, bass, percussion and strings. A good example is Last Lunch, which, more than the music of Anathema and Porcupine Tree, sounds as progressive pop. Sogno e Incendio is sung in Italian and sounds quite pathetic. Halfway through the song we hear a Pink Floyd-like guitar. Personally, I would have preferred English lyrics here. But it is the most progressive song on the album.

Nosound has made an excellent album that sounds nice and good. Sometimes the production lacks a bit of depth, which has a negative influence on the songs. but that is our only negative comment about Scintilla.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Scintilla is het vijfde album van het Italiaanse Nosound en bevat o.a. een bijdrage van Vincent Cavanagh (Anathema) in The Perfect Wife en In Celebration of Life. Een voordeel van deel uit te maken van de Kscope-familie, denk ik dan zo. Maar de samenwerking is daarnaast ook wel een beetje logisch aangezien beide bands min of meer in dezelfde muzikale vijver vissen. Maar de samenwerking is niet nadrukkelijk. Het stemgeluid en de gitaarsolo op In Celebration of Life zouden inderdaad van Canvanagh kunnen zijn. Ze geven de song in elk geval de climax die hij verdient.

De tracks zijn allemaal mooi uitgewerkt en bevatten leuke keys, baswerk, percussie en strijkers. Een mooi voorbeeld is Last Lunch, dat meer dan de muziek van Anathema en Porcupine Tree als progressieve pop klinkt Tree. Sogno e Incendio wordt in het Italiaans gezongen en klinkt daardoor nogal pathetisch. Halfweg wordt de song onderbroken door een Pink Floyd-achtige gitaarsolo. Persoonlijk had ik deze track liever in het Engels gehoord, maar als song is hij zowat de meest progressieve van het album.

Met Scintilla heeft Nosound een prima album gemaakt dat mooi en goed klinkt. Hier en daar zou een beetje meer diepgang - via de productie - de songs ten goede komen, want nu klinkt het geheel wat te braaf. Nu en dan mocht er een weerhaakje aan de muziek zitten, maar voor de rest valt er weinig negatiefs te zeggen over Scintilla.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete