tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

19/10/2015 : OPETH - Brussels, AB (15/10/2015)

OPETH

Brussels, AB (15/10/2015)

Concert
MetalProg 19/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

For the third time in as many years, I went to the AB to see Opeth. Still with excitement, because Opeth stands for quality and as a bonus you'll know that they will play Ghost Reveries, and a set that includes their greatest hits.

Ghost Reveries is for several reasons an excellent choice for a jubilee tour. Firstbecause the album has all the elements of Opeth: the grunts and clean vocals, the metal and prog influences, epic and acoustic parts. Furthermore, it is just a respected record by both critics and fans.

I noticed a lot of excitement during the Ghost Reveries set, especially during Beneath the Mire and of course The Grand Conjuration: a classic that is played with an apparent ease, although the calmer Isolation Years also appealed to the audience. Frontman Akerfeldt was as always ironic and nonchalant.

The second part of the show began with two songs from their latest, and very good album Pale Communion. Eternal Rains and Cups of Eternity are two songs that are always good on stage. With The Leper Affinity, To Rid The Disease, I Feel the Dark, Voice of Treason and Master's Apprentices we got a small selection of their oeuvre

In addition, the band did some crazy things with Freebird by Lynyrd Skynyrd, and of course there had to be a joke about Brussels waffles.

The encore was The Lotus Eater which finished off a wonderful evening. It was not a complete overview of 25 years Opeth, because no songs were played from the first four albums, but the set list was well balanced. I wonder how they evolve on the next album. Opeth showed in Brussels that they are still at the top of the prog metal scene alongside bands like Porcupine Tree and Dream Theater.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/10/2015


NL

Voor de derde keer in evenveel jaar jaren was ik naar de AB afgezakt om Opeth aan het werk te zien. Nog steeds met opwinding, want Opeth staat garant voor kwaliteit en als bonus weet je dat ze Ghost Reveries integraal zullen spelen, en een set die bestaat uit hun grootste hits.

Ghost Reveries is om verschillende redenen een uitstekende keuze voor een jubileumtoer.In de eerste plaats omdat het album alle elementen van Opeth bevat: de grunts en de cleane vocalen, de metal en de proginvloeden, de epische en akoestische stukken. Daarnaast is het gewoon een gerespecteerde plaat, zowel bij de critici als bij de fans.

Jammer dat we het openingsstuk van de show moesten missen wegens de nodige verkeersproblemen in Brussel. Sedert het nieuwe verkeersplan zijn de tunnels echt te vermijden. Maar geen gezeur, want de concerthal was heel goed gevuld en zo goed als uitverkocht. Wat meteen opviel was dat het geluid ook weer perfect was. Tijdens elke song werden mooie visuals op drie videoschermen geprojecteerd. Voeg daarbij een mooie lichtshow en de kandelaars op het podium en je weet dat het niet meer stuk kon!

Ik merkte vooral veel opwinding tijdens de Ghost Reveries-set, vooral tijdens Beneath the Mire en natuurlijk The Grand Conjuration: een klassieker die gespeeld wordt met een schijnbaar gemak, ofschoon ook het kalmere Isolation Years het publiek kon bekoren. Frontman Akerfeldt was zoals steeds weer ironisch en nonchalant.

Het tweede luik van de show begon met twee nummers uit hun laatste, en erg goede album Pale Communion. Eternal Rains en Cups of Eternity zijn twee songs die het live altijd goed doen. Met The Leper Affinity, To Rid The Disease, I Feel the Dark, Voice of Treason en Master’s Apprentices kregen we een kleine selectie uit hun oeuvre. De visuals sloten telkens aan bij de songs en linkten met de desbetreffende albums. Ook werd tussen de hoofdsongs nu en dan gerefereerd naar andere nummers zoals The Drapery Falls, Shine on You, Harvest… Daarnaast werd er wat gek gedaan over Freebird van Lynyrd Skynyrd en moest er natuurlijk een grapje over Brusselse waffels worden gemaakt.

Het bisnummer werd The Lotus Eaterdat een prachtige avond afrondde. Het werd geen compleet overzicht van 25 jaar Opeth, want er werden geen nummers uit de eerste vier albums gespeeld, maar toch was de setlist goed gebalanceerd. Ik ben benieuwd hoe ze evolueren op een volgend album. Opeth toonde dat het nog steeds aan de top van de prog metal scene staat, naast bands als Porcupine Tree of Dream Theater.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/10/2015


 

Next reviews
P.I.L. • Antwerp, Trix (18/10/2015)
LAZY SCHULZ (WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TREHA SEKTORI • The Sens of Dust and Sheer
PIQUET • Heywawisze
DARKER IT GETS • Broken Ground
MAIA VIDAL • You're the Waves
TORUL • Difficult To Kill
NEW ORDER • Restless (Agoria Remix)
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)

 

Other reviews from OPETH
OPETH • Sorceress

 

Same combination of genres: METAL + PROG
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
ELDRITCH • Underlying Issues
NAïVE • Altra
EREB ALTOR • Nattram
THURISAZ, DYSCORDIA, ITCHILIEN, VERMILION • Thurisaz releaseparty 3 april 2015, JH Den Tap Kuurne.
THURISAZ • The Pulse Of Mourning
SIMUS • Vox Vult
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert at Het Depot in Leuven on 24th October 2013
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert in Antwerp on 12 March 2013
ANATHEMA • Weather Systems

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: PROG
NOSOUND • Scintilla
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
ILL WICKER • Untamed
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
VLY • I/Time
KRAKOW • Amaran
IRIS DIVINE • Karma Sown
HASSE FRöBERG & MUSICAL COMPANION • HMFC
ISOLE • The Calm Hunter

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete