tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

19/10/2015 : OPETH - Brussels, AB (15/10/2015)

OPETH

Brussels, AB (15/10/2015)

Concert
MetalProg 19/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

For the third time in as many years, I went to the AB to see Opeth. Still with excitement, because Opeth stands for quality and as a bonus you'll know that they will play Ghost Reveries, and a set that includes their greatest hits.

Ghost Reveries is for several reasons an excellent choice for a jubilee tour. Firstbecause the album has all the elements of Opeth: the grunts and clean vocals, the metal and prog influences, epic and acoustic parts. Furthermore, it is just a respected record by both critics and fans.

I noticed a lot of excitement during the Ghost Reveries set, especially during Beneath the Mire and of course The Grand Conjuration: a classic that is played with an apparent ease, although the calmer Isolation Years also appealed to the audience. Frontman Akerfeldt was as always ironic and nonchalant.

The second part of the show began with two songs from their latest, and very good album Pale Communion. Eternal Rains and Cups of Eternity are two songs that are always good on stage. With The Leper Affinity, To Rid The Disease, I Feel the Dark, Voice of Treason and Master's Apprentices we got a small selection of their oeuvre

In addition, the band did some crazy things with Freebird by Lynyrd Skynyrd, and of course there had to be a joke about Brussels waffles.

The encore was The Lotus Eater which finished off a wonderful evening. It was not a complete overview of 25 years Opeth, because no songs were played from the first four albums, but the set list was well balanced. I wonder how they evolve on the next album. Opeth showed in Brussels that they are still at the top of the prog metal scene alongside bands like Porcupine Tree and Dream Theater.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/10/2015


NL

Voor de derde keer in evenveel jaar jaren was ik naar de AB afgezakt om Opeth aan het werk te zien. Nog steeds met opwinding, want Opeth staat garant voor kwaliteit en als bonus weet je dat ze Ghost Reveries integraal zullen spelen, en een set die bestaat uit hun grootste hits.

Ghost Reveries is om verschillende redenen een uitstekende keuze voor een jubileumtoer.In de eerste plaats omdat het album alle elementen van Opeth bevat: de grunts en de cleane vocalen, de metal en de proginvloeden, de epische en akoestische stukken. Daarnaast is het gewoon een gerespecteerde plaat, zowel bij de critici als bij de fans.

Jammer dat we het openingsstuk van de show moesten missen wegens de nodige verkeersproblemen in Brussel. Sedert het nieuwe verkeersplan zijn de tunnels echt te vermijden. Maar geen gezeur, want de concerthal was heel goed gevuld en zo goed als uitverkocht. Wat meteen opviel was dat het geluid ook weer perfect was. Tijdens elke song werden mooie visuals op drie videoschermen geprojecteerd. Voeg daarbij een mooie lichtshow en de kandelaars op het podium en je weet dat het niet meer stuk kon!

Ik merkte vooral veel opwinding tijdens de Ghost Reveries-set, vooral tijdens Beneath the Mire en natuurlijk The Grand Conjuration: een klassieker die gespeeld wordt met een schijnbaar gemak, ofschoon ook het kalmere Isolation Years het publiek kon bekoren. Frontman Akerfeldt was zoals steeds weer ironisch en nonchalant.

Het tweede luik van de show begon met twee nummers uit hun laatste, en erg goede album Pale Communion. Eternal Rains en Cups of Eternity zijn twee songs die het live altijd goed doen. Met The Leper Affinity, To Rid The Disease, I Feel the Dark, Voice of Treason en Master’s Apprentices kregen we een kleine selectie uit hun oeuvre. De visuals sloten telkens aan bij de songs en linkten met de desbetreffende albums. Ook werd tussen de hoofdsongs nu en dan gerefereerd naar andere nummers zoals The Drapery Falls, Shine on You, Harvest… Daarnaast werd er wat gek gedaan over Freebird van Lynyrd Skynyrd en moest er natuurlijk een grapje over Brusselse waffels worden gemaakt.

Het bisnummer werd The Lotus Eaterdat een prachtige avond afrondde. Het werd geen compleet overzicht van 25 jaar Opeth, want er werden geen nummers uit de eerste vier albums gespeeld, maar toch was de setlist goed gebalanceerd. Ik ben benieuwd hoe ze evolueren op een volgend album. Opeth toonde dat het nog steeds aan de top van de prog metal scene staat, naast bands als Porcupine Tree of Dream Theater.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/10/2015


 

Next reviews
P.I.L. • Antwerp, Trix (18/10/2015)
LAZY SCHULZ (WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TREHA SEKTORI • The Sens of Dust and Sheer
PIQUET • Heywawisze
DARKER IT GETS • Broken Ground
MAIA VIDAL • You're the Waves
TORUL • Difficult To Kill
NEW ORDER • Restless (Agoria Remix)
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Helen Walsh: The Violators
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Laurent Van Lancker: Fallow (Brak)

 

Other reviews from OPETH
OPETH • Sorceress

 

Same combination of genres: METAL + PROG
EMBASSY OF SILENCE • Verisimilitude
ELDRITCH • Underlying Issues
NAïVE • Altra
EREB ALTOR • Nattram
THURISAZ, DYSCORDIA, ITCHILIEN, VERMILION • Thurisaz releaseparty 3 april 2015, JH Den Tap Kuurne.
THURISAZ • The Pulse Of Mourning
SIMUS • Vox Vult
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert at Het Depot in Leuven on 24th October 2013
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert in Antwerp on 12 March 2013
ANATHEMA • Weather Systems

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: PROG
NOSOUND • Scintilla
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
INFINITE SPECTRUM • Haunter of the Dark
ILL WICKER • Untamed
IRRADIANCE • Dissidence
VLY • I/Time
KRAKOW • Amaran
IRIS DIVINE • Karma Sown
HASSE FRöBERG & MUSICAL COMPANION • HMFC
ISOLE • The Calm Hunter

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless