tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/01/2015 : ISOLE - The Calm Hunter

ISOLE

The Calm Hunter

MusicCD
Doom MetalProg

[88/100]   

Empire Records
19/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Isole exists thirty years, but they released their first album in 2005. Apparently, everything went pretty quickly afterwards, because this is their sixth album, with which the four Swedes return to the Cyclone Empire label (their previous album, Born From Shadows, was released on Napalm Records).

The opening song The Calm Hunter is reminiscent of Opeth. Voice and style of singing are between Serj Tankian and Michael Akerfeldt. Dead To Me also has a beautiful structure, with great guitar riffs and astonishing keys in the background. The Eye Of Light starts with an acoustic intro before the heavy guitars start. My favourite track is Perdition and it is one of the strongest tracks on the album. Especially the rhythm changes and the question-and-answer game between the two singers is well done.

This album contains seven songs, all top quality and fully in line with the predecessor. The only comment I have is that there are no new territories explored on this album. But that is detail criticism. Not many bands will reach this level in 2015.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/01/2015


NL

Isole is al meer dan dertig jaar bezig, ofschoon ze pas in 2005 hun eerste album uitbrachten. Blijkbaar ging het achteraf snel, want dit is er hun zesde album, waarmee de vier Zweden naar platenmlabel Cyclone Empire terugkeren (hun vorige album, Born From Shadows, kwam uit op Napalm Records).

De openingssong The Calm Hunter doet bij momenten wat aan Opeth denken. De stem en manier van zingen zit daar voor een stukje tussen: mooi en helder zoals Serj Tankian of Michael Akerfeldt. Het rustig middenstukje bouwt mooi op naar de tweede helft van het nummer. Dead To Me heeft ook een mooie opbouw, met heerlijke gitaarpartijen en mooie keys op de achtergrond. The Eye Of Light begint met een prachtig akoestische intro vooraleer men de zware gitaren bovenhaalt en een versnelling hoger gaat. Mijn albumfavoriet. Perdition beschouw ik als één van de sterkste nummers van het album. Vooral de ritmewissels en het vraag-en-antwoordspel tussen de twee zangers is heel goed gedaan. Ook afsluiter My Regret heeft een mooie songstructuur en fijne melodieën.

Dit album bevat zeven nummers, allemaal van topkwaliteit, en het ligt volledig in de lijn van hun voorganger. De enige opmerking die ik heb is dat er geen nieuwe oorden worden verkend. Soms zou het ook ietsje minder braaf mogen klinken, zodat de breekbare stukken en melodieën nog wat beter naar voren komen. Maar dat is detailkritiek, veel bands zullen dit jaar dit niveau niet halen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/01/2015


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
20
05
ELEFANT
Mumbo Jumbo