tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/01/2015 : ISOLE - The Calm Hunter

ISOLE

The Calm Hunter

MusicCD
Doom MetalProg

[88/100]   

Empire Records
19/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Isole exists thirty years, but they released their first album in 2005. Apparently, everything went pretty quickly afterwards, because this is their sixth album, with which the four Swedes return to the Cyclone Empire label (their previous album, Born From Shadows, was released on Napalm Records).

The opening song The Calm Hunter is reminiscent of Opeth. Voice and style of singing are between Serj Tankian and Michael Akerfeldt. Dead To Me also has a beautiful structure, with great guitar riffs and astonishing keys in the background. The Eye Of Light starts with an acoustic intro before the heavy guitars start. My favourite track is Perdition and it is one of the strongest tracks on the album. Especially the rhythm changes and the question-and-answer game between the two singers is well done.

This album contains seven songs, all top quality and fully in line with the predecessor. The only comment I have is that there are no new territories explored on this album. But that is detail criticism. Not many bands will reach this level in 2015.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/01/2015


NL

Isole is al meer dan dertig jaar bezig, ofschoon ze pas in 2005 hun eerste album uitbrachten. Blijkbaar ging het achteraf snel, want dit is er hun zesde album, waarmee de vier Zweden naar platenmlabel Cyclone Empire terugkeren (hun vorige album, Born From Shadows, kwam uit op Napalm Records).

De openingssong The Calm Hunter doet bij momenten wat aan Opeth denken. De stem en manier van zingen zit daar voor een stukje tussen: mooi en helder zoals Serj Tankian of Michael Akerfeldt. Het rustig middenstukje bouwt mooi op naar de tweede helft van het nummer. Dead To Me heeft ook een mooie opbouw, met heerlijke gitaarpartijen en mooie keys op de achtergrond. The Eye Of Light begint met een prachtig akoestische intro vooraleer men de zware gitaren bovenhaalt en een versnelling hoger gaat. Mijn albumfavoriet. Perdition beschouw ik als één van de sterkste nummers van het album. Vooral de ritmewissels en het vraag-en-antwoordspel tussen de twee zangers is heel goed gedaan. Ook afsluiter My Regret heeft een mooie songstructuur en fijne melodieën.

Dit album bevat zeven nummers, allemaal van topkwaliteit, en het ligt volledig in de lijn van hun voorganger. De enige opmerking die ik heb is dat er geen nieuwe oorden worden verkend. Soms zou het ook ietsje minder braaf mogen klinken, zodat de breekbare stukken en melodieën nog wat beter naar voren komen. Maar dat is detailkritiek, veel bands zullen dit jaar dit niveau niet halen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/01/2015


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination