tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/01/2015 : ISOLE - The Calm Hunter

ISOLE

The Calm Hunter

MusicCD
Doom MetalProg

[88/100]   

Empire Records
19/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Isole exists thirty years, but they released their first album in 2005. Apparently, everything went pretty quickly afterwards, because this is their sixth album, with which the four Swedes return to the Cyclone Empire label (their previous album, Born From Shadows, was released on Napalm Records).

The opening song The Calm Hunter is reminiscent of Opeth. Voice and style of singing are between Serj Tankian and Michael Akerfeldt. Dead To Me also has a beautiful structure, with great guitar riffs and astonishing keys in the background. The Eye Of Light starts with an acoustic intro before the heavy guitars start. My favourite track is Perdition and it is one of the strongest tracks on the album. Especially the rhythm changes and the question-and-answer game between the two singers is well done.

This album contains seven songs, all top quality and fully in line with the predecessor. The only comment I have is that there are no new territories explored on this album. But that is detail criticism. Not many bands will reach this level in 2015.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/01/2015


NL

Isole is al meer dan dertig jaar bezig, ofschoon ze pas in 2005 hun eerste album uitbrachten. Blijkbaar ging het achteraf snel, want dit is er hun zesde album, waarmee de vier Zweden naar platenmlabel Cyclone Empire terugkeren (hun vorige album, Born From Shadows, kwam uit op Napalm Records).

De openingssong The Calm Hunter doet bij momenten wat aan Opeth denken. De stem en manier van zingen zit daar voor een stukje tussen: mooi en helder zoals Serj Tankian of Michael Akerfeldt. Het rustig middenstukje bouwt mooi op naar de tweede helft van het nummer. Dead To Me heeft ook een mooie opbouw, met heerlijke gitaarpartijen en mooie keys op de achtergrond. The Eye Of Light begint met een prachtig akoestische intro vooraleer men de zware gitaren bovenhaalt en een versnelling hoger gaat. Mijn albumfavoriet. Perdition beschouw ik als één van de sterkste nummers van het album. Vooral de ritmewissels en het vraag-en-antwoordspel tussen de twee zangers is heel goed gedaan. Ook afsluiter My Regret heeft een mooie songstructuur en fijne melodieën.

Dit album bevat zeven nummers, allemaal van topkwaliteit, en het ligt volledig in de lijn van hun voorganger. De enige opmerking die ik heb is dat er geen nieuwe oorden worden verkend. Soms zou het ook ietsje minder braaf mogen klinken, zodat de breekbare stukken en melodieën nog wat beter naar voren komen. Maar dat is detailkritiek, veel bands zullen dit jaar dit niveau niet halen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/01/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag