tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/01/2015 : ISOLE - The Calm Hunter

ISOLE

The Calm Hunter

MusicCD
Doom MetalProg

[88/100]   

Empire Records
19/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Isole exists thirty years, but they released their first album in 2005. Apparently, everything went pretty quickly afterwards, because this is their sixth album, with which the four Swedes return to the Cyclone Empire label (their previous album, Born From Shadows, was released on Napalm Records).

The opening song The Calm Hunter is reminiscent of Opeth. Voice and style of singing are between Serj Tankian and Michael Akerfeldt. Dead To Me also has a beautiful structure, with great guitar riffs and astonishing keys in the background. The Eye Of Light starts with an acoustic intro before the heavy guitars start. My favourite track is Perdition and it is one of the strongest tracks on the album. Especially the rhythm changes and the question-and-answer game between the two singers is well done.

This album contains seven songs, all top quality and fully in line with the predecessor. The only comment I have is that there are no new territories explored on this album. But that is detail criticism. Not many bands will reach this level in 2015.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/01/2015


NL

Isole is al meer dan dertig jaar bezig, ofschoon ze pas in 2005 hun eerste album uitbrachten. Blijkbaar ging het achteraf snel, want dit is er hun zesde album, waarmee de vier Zweden naar platenmlabel Cyclone Empire terugkeren (hun vorige album, Born From Shadows, kwam uit op Napalm Records).

De openingssong The Calm Hunter doet bij momenten wat aan Opeth denken. De stem en manier van zingen zit daar voor een stukje tussen: mooi en helder zoals Serj Tankian of Michael Akerfeldt. Het rustig middenstukje bouwt mooi op naar de tweede helft van het nummer. Dead To Me heeft ook een mooie opbouw, met heerlijke gitaarpartijen en mooie keys op de achtergrond. The Eye Of Light begint met een prachtig akoestische intro vooraleer men de zware gitaren bovenhaalt en een versnelling hoger gaat. Mijn albumfavoriet. Perdition beschouw ik als één van de sterkste nummers van het album. Vooral de ritmewissels en het vraag-en-antwoordspel tussen de twee zangers is heel goed gedaan. Ook afsluiter My Regret heeft een mooie songstructuur en fijne melodieën.

Dit album bevat zeven nummers, allemaal van topkwaliteit, en het ligt volledig in de lijn van hun voorganger. De enige opmerking die ik heb is dat er geen nieuwe oorden worden verkend. Soms zou het ook ietsje minder braaf mogen klinken, zodat de breekbare stukken en melodieën nog wat beter naar voren komen. Maar dat is detailkritiek, veel bands zullen dit jaar dit niveau niet halen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/01/2015


Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
78 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
Dark-Electro Project THRILLSVILLE Draws Upon Psychological Horror With 'Creeps In The House' Single
07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty