tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/01/2015 : ISOLE - The Calm Hunter

ISOLE

The Calm Hunter

MusicCD
Doom MetalProg

[88/100]   

Empire Records
19/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Isole exists thirty years, but they released their first album in 2005. Apparently, everything went pretty quickly afterwards, because this is their sixth album, with which the four Swedes return to the Cyclone Empire label (their previous album, Born From Shadows, was released on Napalm Records).

The opening song The Calm Hunter is reminiscent of Opeth. Voice and style of singing are between Serj Tankian and Michael Akerfeldt. Dead To Me also has a beautiful structure, with great guitar riffs and astonishing keys in the background. The Eye Of Light starts with an acoustic intro before the heavy guitars start. My favourite track is Perdition and it is one of the strongest tracks on the album. Especially the rhythm changes and the question-and-answer game between the two singers is well done.

This album contains seven songs, all top quality and fully in line with the predecessor. The only comment I have is that there are no new territories explored on this album. But that is detail criticism. Not many bands will reach this level in 2015.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/01/2015


NL

Isole is al meer dan dertig jaar bezig, ofschoon ze pas in 2005 hun eerste album uitbrachten. Blijkbaar ging het achteraf snel, want dit is er hun zesde album, waarmee de vier Zweden naar platenmlabel Cyclone Empire terugkeren (hun vorige album, Born From Shadows, kwam uit op Napalm Records).

De openingssong The Calm Hunter doet bij momenten wat aan Opeth denken. De stem en manier van zingen zit daar voor een stukje tussen: mooi en helder zoals Serj Tankian of Michael Akerfeldt. Het rustig middenstukje bouwt mooi op naar de tweede helft van het nummer. Dead To Me heeft ook een mooie opbouw, met heerlijke gitaarpartijen en mooie keys op de achtergrond. The Eye Of Light begint met een prachtig akoestische intro vooraleer men de zware gitaren bovenhaalt en een versnelling hoger gaat. Mijn albumfavoriet. Perdition beschouw ik als één van de sterkste nummers van het album. Vooral de ritmewissels en het vraag-en-antwoordspel tussen de twee zangers is heel goed gedaan. Ook afsluiter My Regret heeft een mooie songstructuur en fijne melodieën.

Dit album bevat zeven nummers, allemaal van topkwaliteit, en het ligt volledig in de lijn van hun voorganger. De enige opmerking die ik heb is dat er geen nieuwe oorden worden verkend. Soms zou het ook ietsje minder braaf mogen klinken, zodat de breekbare stukken en melodieën nog wat beter naar voren komen. Maar dat is detailkritiek, veel bands zullen dit jaar dit niveau niet halen.

Wim GUILLEMYN
19/01/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis