tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

19/01/2015 : MONICA JEFFRIES - Old Demons EP

MONICA JEFFRIES

Old Demons EP

MusicCD (EP)
DarkwaveElectronicsSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[72/100]   

Self-released
19/01/2015, Benny CALUWE

Monica Jeffries is a 28 year old singer from Hamburg, Germany. Actually she was born in Poland. She learned to play piano and guitar at a young age, and later she learned to play bass and drums as well. In 2013 she debuted with her critically acclaimed album Back to Eden. In 2014 she played as support for The Cruxhadows during their Light & Shadow-tour and in 2015 Monica will join Project Pichfork on their Blood-tour. She is also booked for Eurorock in Neerpelt, Belgium and for the Polish Castle Party.

Monica Jeffries’Old Demons EP was released on 31/10/2014 and counts 5 tracks. She describes her music as romantic gothic synth rock. You can hear influences of synthpop, dark wave and EBM throughout the album.

The EP opens with The road ahead. I like the sample in the intro: “quite an experience to live in fear, isnt it; that’s what it is to be a slave”. The song combines danceable beats with dark synth overtones. I also like the colour of Monica’s melancholic voice. In the title track the same elements return and guitars blend in nicely. Drowning in love is a slower track, reminiscent of Depeche Mode. I like the retro sound. The next track is a cover of Absolute Body Control: Surrender no resistance. It stays close to the original but it matches with Monica’s voice, that sounds more menacing this time. Waiting for Godot is another slower and melancholic track with gloomy synths. The vocal lines in Drowning in love and Waiting for Godot remind me of Mesh and are sung with a lot of emotion.

The Old Demons EP sounds promising. I am looking forward to hear more of Monica Jeffries in the future. Her versatile voice is a great weapon. I am looking forward to see her perform at Eurorock as well. My interest is aroused.

Benny CALUWE
19/01/2015


 

Next reviews
ISOLE • The Calm Hunter
ALIX DELAPORTE • Angèle Et Tony
THE ELWINS • So Down Low
DAVID ATTENBOROUGH • Galápagos
DAMIAN GUILLON & MASQUES • Erbarme Dich (Antwerpen, deSingel, 17/01/2015)
WOODBENDER / CINEMA PERDU /THE [LAW-RAH] COLLECTIVE • Blue Ruins Under Yellow Skies
SEBASTIEN CRUSENER • Dwaalspoor
MORTEN TYDLUM • The Imitation Game
VARIOUS ARTISTS • THE 15TH
BOARDS OF CANADA • Olson (Midland Remix)

 

Other reviews from MONICA JEFFRIES
MONICA JEFFRIES • Into Temptation
MONICA JEFFRIES • In Circles EP

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
DAGEIST • Sexy
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing