tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

19/01/2015 : MONICA JEFFRIES - Old Demons EP

MONICA JEFFRIES

Old Demons EP

MusicCD (EP)
DarkwaveElectronicsSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[72/100]   

Self-released
19/01/2015, Benny CALUWE

Monica Jeffries is a 28 year old singer from Hamburg, Germany. Actually she was born in Poland. She learned to play piano and guitar at a young age, and later she learned to play bass and drums as well. In 2013 she debuted with her critically acclaimed album Back to Eden. In 2014 she played as support for The Cruxhadows during their Light & Shadow-tour and in 2015 Monica will join Project Pichfork on their Blood-tour. She is also booked for Eurorock in Neerpelt, Belgium and for the Polish Castle Party.

Monica Jeffries’Old Demons EP was released on 31/10/2014 and counts 5 tracks. She describes her music as romantic gothic synth rock. You can hear influences of synthpop, dark wave and EBM throughout the album.

The EP opens with The road ahead. I like the sample in the intro: “quite an experience to live in fear, isnt it; that’s what it is to be a slave”. The song combines danceable beats with dark synth overtones. I also like the colour of Monica’s melancholic voice. In the title track the same elements return and guitars blend in nicely. Drowning in love is a slower track, reminiscent of Depeche Mode. I like the retro sound. The next track is a cover of Absolute Body Control: Surrender no resistance. It stays close to the original but it matches with Monica’s voice, that sounds more menacing this time. Waiting for Godot is another slower and melancholic track with gloomy synths. The vocal lines in Drowning in love and Waiting for Godot remind me of Mesh and are sung with a lot of emotion.

The Old Demons EP sounds promising. I am looking forward to hear more of Monica Jeffries in the future. Her versatile voice is a great weapon. I am looking forward to see her perform at Eurorock as well. My interest is aroused.

Benny CALUWE
19/01/2015


 

Next reviews
ISOLE • The Calm Hunter
ALIX DELAPORTE • Angèle Et Tony
THE ELWINS • So Down Low
DAVID ATTENBOROUGH • Galápagos
DAMIAN GUILLON & MASQUES • Erbarme Dich (Antwerpen, deSingel, 17/01/2015)
WOODBENDER / CINEMA PERDU /THE [LAW-RAH] COLLECTIVE • Blue Ruins Under Yellow Skies
SEBASTIEN CRUSENER • Dwaalspoor
MORTEN TYDLUM • The Imitation Game
VARIOUS ARTISTS • THE 15TH
BOARDS OF CANADA • Olson (Midland Remix)

 

Other reviews from MONICA JEFFRIES
MONICA JEFFRIES • Into Temptation
MONICA JEFFRIES • In Circles EP

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
DER KLINKE • Decade
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem