tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd (ep) review

19/01/2015 : MONICA JEFFRIES - Old Demons EP

MONICA JEFFRIES

Old Demons EP

MusicCD (EP)
DarkwaveElectronicsSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[72/100]   

Self-released
19/01/2015, Benny CALUWE

Monica Jeffries is a 28 year old singer from Hamburg, Germany. Actually she was born in Poland. She learned to play piano and guitar at a young age, and later she learned to play bass and drums as well. In 2013 she debuted with her critically acclaimed album Back to Eden. In 2014 she played as support for The Cruxhadows during their Light & Shadow-tour and in 2015 Monica will join Project Pichfork on their Blood-tour. She is also booked for Eurorock in Neerpelt, Belgium and for the Polish Castle Party.

Monica Jeffries’Old Demons EP was released on 31/10/2014 and counts 5 tracks. She describes her music as romantic gothic synth rock. You can hear influences of synthpop, dark wave and EBM throughout the album.

The EP opens with The road ahead. I like the sample in the intro: “quite an experience to live in fear, isnt it; that’s what it is to be a slave”. The song combines danceable beats with dark synth overtones. I also like the colour of Monica’s melancholic voice. In the title track the same elements return and guitars blend in nicely. Drowning in love is a slower track, reminiscent of Depeche Mode. I like the retro sound. The next track is a cover of Absolute Body Control: Surrender no resistance. It stays close to the original but it matches with Monica’s voice, that sounds more menacing this time. Waiting for Godot is another slower and melancholic track with gloomy synths. The vocal lines in Drowning in love and Waiting for Godot remind me of Mesh and are sung with a lot of emotion.

The Old Demons EP sounds promising. I am looking forward to hear more of Monica Jeffries in the future. Her versatile voice is a great weapon. I am looking forward to see her perform at Eurorock as well. My interest is aroused.

Benny CALUWE
19/01/2015


Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'
04
12
43 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 34 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty