tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

18/02/2021 : WULF7 - Dark Hate

WULF7

Dark Hate

MusicCD / Digital
Dark ElectroEBMElectronics

[91/100]   

Self-released
18/02/2021, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

After their very strong EP The Night Of The Wolves in 2019, these wolves hit us once more with their solid beats on their new album Dark Hate. With this release, Brussels EBM band WULF7 consolidates their position in the already well-filled Belgian, and hopefully also soon international, EBM scene.

The band was founded after these two gentlemen, Bwolf Sebmer (vocals) and Cyrb VII (instruments) bumped into each other on a Front Line Assembly concert, where they both drunk a significant amount of heavy Belgian beers. And behold, yet another great electro / EBM concept is released by them!

It's definitely darker, more sophisticated and more intriguing than their first EP. Knowing the first EP was already a gem, you know that this is the next level shit! It feels smoother, is extremely danceable and doesn't shy away from various dark electro styles. These gentlemen offer quality work.

Opening track 'Wülf7' immediately thunders down from your speakers like an avalanche. Without respite from anything that might block its way down. Relentlessly and without any caution.

Sebmer’s voice sounds really great on Dark Hate. On 'Humanity' for example it is mutilated and yet still full of passion. It gets to you. The very refined melody that runs through the song only contributes to that feeling.

The third song is one of my favorites. It also points out Wülf7 also addresses relevant and contemporary debated themes. 'Euthanasia' for example; "Let me die, I want to rest... I did my time". Self-determination about life or death should be a right. Supported by a very catchy rhythm section, this song sounds great.

Then, we get a healthy dose of dark electro pounded in our stomach with 'In What Name'. Without being extremely loud, the song is still lashing out. With 'Child Soldier' we get a firm stomper track, angular and unscrupulous. Again, an indictment and this time about the exploitation of innocent children.

Earlier we stated they do not shy away from different styles, well 'Fight' is a track that leans toward the dark-wave style. Yet still danceable, but a bit more subdued. 'Ephemeral Human' is another dance floor killer piece in the making, if not already...

Besides the seven brand new songs, with which Wülf7 presents us an unexpected great gift, we can also find a number of remixes. Remixes by Dreadfool, the French EBM band TöT, Struck9, who puts a very heavy old school stamp on 'Wülf7'. The remix by the Russian one-man project Ultimate Soldier gives a more dark electro switch to 'In What Name' and there is the great remix of 'Ephemeral Human' by the heavily underrated and Belgian old-school EBM-ers, Zynik 14.

Belgium can be proud to add this Wülf7 to its already quite impressive list of electro and EBM bands. Dark Hate is a varied and strong album in which the wolves roam howling through terrible nights and share their experiences, backed up by an electronic machine park. Accepted with many thanks. Howl on, you Wülfs!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/02/2021


NL

Na hun heel sterke EP The Night Of The Wolves in 2019, slaan de wolven met hun stevige beats nog eens in het rond op hun album Dark Hate. De Brusselse EBM-band zet zich met dit album nog wat steviger op de al goed gevulde Belgische en hopelijk internationale EBM-scène.
De band ontstond toen de beide heren, Bwolf Sebmer (vocals) en Cyrb VII (instrumenten) elkaar op een optreden van Front Line Assembly en overgoten door een heel betekenisvol aantal liters zwaar Belgisch bier tegen het lijf liepen. En zie: een tweede geweldige electro/EBM- album is reeds daar.

Het is donkerder, geraffineerder en intrigerender dan de eerste EP. Wetende dat die al steengoed was, weet u nu al dat dit the next level shit is! Het voelt soepeler aan, is uitermate dansbaar en tapt uit verschillende donkere electro-vaatjes. Het zal me worst wezen, deze heren bieden kwalitatief werk.

Wülf7 dendert meteen als een lawine uit je boxen naar beneden. Zonder respijt voor alles wat op de weg naar beneden de weg zou kunnen versperren. Meedogenloos en zonder enige voorzichtigheid.
Sebmer’s stem is op deze Dark Hate echt wel op alk vlak geweldig, In Humanity bijvoorbeeld is die gesloopt en toch vol passie. Ze bekruipt je. Daar zal de heel geraffineerde melodie die het nummer doorkruist wel toe bijdragen.
De derde song is één van mijn favorieten. Het maakt ook duidelijk dat Wülf7 ook relevante en hedendaagse veelbesproken thema’s aansnijdt. Euthanasia bijvoorbeeld; "Let me die, I want to rest… I did my time". Beschikken over leven of dood moet een keuze zijn. Ondersteund door een heel aanstekelijke ritmesectie echt een juweel van een nummer. We krijgen een dosis stevige dosis dark electro in onze maag gestampt met In What Name. Zonder extreem hard te zijn slaat het nummer om zich heen. Een stevige meestamper vinden we in Child Soldier. Hoekig en zonder scrupules. Ook hier weer een aanklacht tegen uitbuiting van onschuldige kinderen.
Eerder gaven we al mee dat er uit verschillende flessen werd geschonken. Fight gaat richting darkwave. Het blijft dansbaar, maar dan iets ingetogener. Ephemeral Human is nog een dancefloorkiller in wording. Als hij het nog niet is...

Naast de 7 gloednieuwe songs waarmee Wülf7 ons op ongeziene wijze een geweldig cadeau doet, vinden we ook nog een aantal remixes. Oa van Dreadfool, de Franse EBM-band TöT, van Struck9 die een stevige zware old school stempel drukt op de song Wülf7, een remix van de hand van het Russisché éénmansproject Ultimate Soldier. Die geeft een meer dark electro-switch aan In What Name. Dan ook nog een geweldige remix van Ephemeral Human van de zwaar onderschatte en te weinig bekende Belgische oldschool-EBM-ers Zynik 14.

België mag deze Wülf7 toevoegen aan een al vrij indrukwekkende lijst electro- en EBM-bands. Dark Hate is een gevarieerd en sterk album waarbij de wolven huilend door vreselijke nachten dwalen en hun belevingen, geruggesteund door een elektronisch machinepark met ons delen. Met héél veel dank aanvaard. Howl on, you Wülfs!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
18/02/2021


 

Next reviews
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Burn Forever
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
DISTANT VOICES • Long Road to Home

 

Other reviews from WULF7
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there

 

Same genre: EBM
THE JUGGERNAUTS • Fear
ELM • Penetrator
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
CONFORMIST FEAT. H O R S E S • Heddiw
STAATSEINDE • Fehlerlinie
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face