tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / vinyl / digital review

19/04/2022 : HOCICO - HyperViolent

HOCICO

HyperViolent

MusicCD / Vinyl / Digital
Dark ElectroHarshHarsh ElectroIndustrial

[80/100]   

Out Of Line
19/04/2022, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Hocico has just recently danced to Porta Nigra's tenth anniversary festival and is giving us another new boost on April 14th with the release of their new album HyperViolent on Out Of Line records.

There were already some preliminary singles, the most recent one being a collaboration with Aaron Matts of the death-core band Ten65. A hybrid slap in the face, featuring Erk's screams and Aaron's death-core grunts. An incendiary song that contains the best of both worlds.

A few months ago we also got the single ‘Backstabbers’, which this music-loving undersigned had some reservations about. I called it drum'n'bass, our Mexican friends call it dark'n'bass. Whatever, the song didn’t blow me away, quite the contrary. Deep down I hoped ‘Backstabbers’ would be more of an exception. So I’m curious…

This Hyperviolent opens with an intro called ‘When The Trumpets Of Hate Blow’. A melancholy towards classical atmosphere, as we have heard on many of Hocico's albums before. Ominous, yes … A harbinger of truly hyper-violent and mind-blowing songs to come? Or will we remain empty handed?

‘Un Sepulchro Sin Kadaver’ which we find further on the album exudes the same morbid atmosphere. Those epic lash-outs! I love it! And if you feel like more there is ‘El Jardin de Las Locura’ in a bit more in the drone-like atmosphere taking out the pace in an effective way.

‘Broken Empires’ then again sounds contained and far from 'violent’ and it doesn't really explode either. But hey, it doesn't always have to blow you from your socks … patience is a virtue, right?

Sometimes you get hungry only seeing the menu, and well the next song was something that made my stomach growl. Aggression! You'd start drooling looking forward to those blows in your stomach. The 'violent' part from the title is already getting taking form. But we are still waiting for 'hyper' part to kick in!

However ‘What Are Nightmares Made Of’ kept me in the right atmosphere. Slow, lingering, dark but blissful dark beats and a frugal melody carried on wings by the wind. This is the Hocico I love.

The silent fear these latest releases would introduce 'the new Hocico sound’ is fading away … but still…

It’s quite a long wait before HyperViolent becomes what is says it is but with ‘Lost World’ the time has come. Smashing hard, tempo, fast beats, seething bass-lines and vibrating dark beats. Hocico finally achieves to make you feel Hyper-Violent lashing out. The dark electro/industrial sound that made me embrace these two Mexicans for so long. ‘NWO’ is build from the same DNA, and gets some solid guitar on top.

And then it seems as if a song by another band was mistakenly placed on this album. Something in between death and black metal. But what a great track! Ultra hard, nice tempo changes, sublime guitar work that makes your style go backwards. Talk about a blowout! Lasting seven minutes, yet I press repeat immediately. With each listen, the excellent song still seems to grow.

HyperViolent became another, yet varied little piece of art. Swinging thirteen songs long, back and forth, between epic parts of dark and hard electro, a smack of industrial and a metal-lash that will take you off balance for a few days. Personally I don’t feel like it’s Hocico’s greatest masterpiece, but they are certainly back on track! Top Notch!

The album is available in a deluxe 2-CD pack with extra track & remixes like ‘Odio Bajo el Alma (Version Mariachi)’ and the song ‘Weapons of Resistance’ feat. Aaron Matt. It will be also available on vinyl, and the real die-hards should hurry to their bandcamp page to order the “exclusive set (400 copies)”: A limited wooden box that contains, besides the album, a ceramic tile with an art print (incl. holder), a clay spice shaker handmade in Mexico with an individual Mexican design, a bandana, favorite recipes from Erk and Racso, a bag of chili peppers and a hand numbered certificate.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/04/2022


NL

Hocico speelde nog maar net op het tienjarige bestaan van Porta Nigra en geeft ons op 14 april een nieuwe oplawaai met het nieuwe album HyperViolent dat verschijnt op Out Of Line.

Er waren al singles, en net voor het verschijnen is er een nieuwe. Een samenwerking met Aaron Matts van de deathcore band Ten65. Een hybride veeg rond de oren, met het geschreeuw van Erik en de deathcore grunts van Aaron. Een opruiende song die het beste van twee werelden in zich draagt.

Een paar maanden geleden was er al de single Backstabbers waar ik wel wat bedenkingen bij had. Voor mij is het drum’n’bass, zelf noemen de Mexicaanse vrienden het dark’n’bass. Whatever, het is niet de song die mij omver blies. Diep vanbinnen hoopte ik bij de eerste luisterbeurten van Backstabbers dat het toch niet ‘meer-van-dat’ zou worden. Benieuwd dus…

Deze Hyperviolent opent met de intro When The Trumpets Of Hate Blow. Een zwaarmoedig naar klassiek neigend sfeerbrengertje, zoals we er al op veel albums van Hocico mochten horen. Onheilspellend, dat wel. Voorbode van echte hypergewelddadige en alles omver blazende songs? Of toch ietwat op de honger blijven zitten?

Un Sepulchro Sin Cadaver dat wat verder op het album staat ademt dezelfde morbide sfeer uit. Die epische uithalen: ik hou ervan! En als je nog je zin niet had: het wat meer in dronesfeer hangende El Jardin de Las Locuras haalt er nog eens op verbluffend pakkende manier het tempo uit.

Broken Empires klinkt nog heel braafjes en verre van ‘violent’. Het ontploft ook niet echt. Het hoéft ook niet altijd meteen iets zijn dat je van je sokken blaast. Geduld is een mooie deugd, toch?

Je kan al trek krijgen bij het zien van een menu, wel de volgende song was iets waar de maag van begon te grommen. Acts Of Agression. Je zou van minder beginnen kwijlen als je uitkijkt naar die stoempen in je maag. De ‘violent’ uit de titel krijgt al wat zijn plaats. Maar ‘hyper’ is het nog niet (genoeg).

Waar ik wel spontaan warmer van werd, is What Are Nightmares Made Of. Traag, slepend, donker maar met zalige darkbeats en een zuinige maar op vleugels door de wind gedragen melodie. Dit is de Hocico waar ik van hou.

De stille hoop dat dit niet ‘de nieuwe Hocico’ zou worden. Het heeft nog scherpe randjes, maar toch.

Helemaal los gaan, daarvoor is het vrij lang wachten op deze HyperViolent. Met Lost World is het echter zover. Snoeihard, tempo, snelle beats, ziedende baslijnen en diep tot in je vezels trillende darkbeats. Hocico doet hier wat de titel je laat verwachten: hypergewelddadig uithalen. De dark electro/industrial die ervoor zorgde dat ik deze twee Mexicanen al zo lang in de armen sluit. N.W.O. heeft hetzelfde DNA, en krijgt er wat stevige gitaren bij.

En dan lijkt alsof per ongeluk een song van een andere band verkeerdelijk op dit album is geplaatst. Iets tussen death en black metal in. Wat een géweldig nummer. Snoeihard, mooie tempowissels, subliem gitaarwerk waarvan je stijl achterover gaat. Van een oplawaai gesproken. 7 minuten lang, push repeat. Bij elke luisterbeurt groeit de song die op zich al uitmuntend is.

HyperViolent is alweer een gevarieerd muzikaal kleinood, dat 13 nummers langs heen en weer slingert tussen epische stukken, dark en harsh electro, een veeg industrial en een metaldreun waarvan je een paar dagen uit je lood geslagen bent. Voor mij persoonlijk niet het grootste meesterwerk ooit van Hocico. Maar wel weer op niveau. Hoog niveau.

Het album bestaat in een deluxe 2-CD-pack met o.a. remixes, en een versie van Odio Bajo el Alma (Version Mariachi) en de song Weapons of Resistance feat. Aaron Matts. Ook te krijgen op vinyl, en de échte die hards reppen zich best zo snel mogelijk naar de bandcamppage om de exclusieve set te bestellen (400 exemplaren): de gelimiteerde houten kist die, naast het album, een ​​keramische tegel met een kunstprint (incl. houder), een kleikruidenschudder handgemaakt in Mexico met een individuele Mexicaanse design, een bandana, favoriete recepten van Erk en Racso, een zakje chilipepers en een handgenummerd certificaat bevat.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
19/04/2022


19/04/2022 : HOCICO - HyperViolent 19/04/2022 : HOCICO - HyperViolent

 

Next reviews
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
MATT HART • Decimate
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
THE PULSEBEATS • LOOKIN’ OUT
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls

 

Other reviews from HOCICO
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
HOCICO • Ofensor
HOCICO • Forgotten Tears
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
HOCICO • Bite me EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
YOUR ENEMY • Broken Toys
YELWORC • The Ghosts I Called
DARKVOLT • Electric Angel
MATT HART • Infinite Horizon Requiem
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7 • EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
MISERIA ULTIMA • Witch Heart Apparition
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
MATT HART • Decimate

 

Same genre: HARSH
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy
SIN DNA • Iconoclast

 

Same genre: HARSH ELECTRO
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
DATACODE DIVISION • Dissections
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
DOUBLE EYELID • Broken Mirror
CHAINREACTOR • Dirt

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BHPL • II
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here

Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
05
TRAGIC VISIONS Confronts Mental Health Struggles With First New Album In 15 Years
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
50 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
38 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
43 years Spellbound!
19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
05
LIVERNOIS
An Interview With Industrial Band, Livernois
27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING

PHOTOS

26
05
DER W STEFAN WEIDNER
Christuskirche Bochum
20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
VOITH
Kraftwerk (Roboterkönige)
28
05
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
27
05
MIDAS FALL
Glue
26
05
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
25
05
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
24
05
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
23
05
SRSQ
Permission