tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

28/03/2018 : MISERIA ULTIMA - Phospor

MISERIA ULTIMA

Phospor

MusicCD
Dark ElectroHarsh Electro

[84/100]   

Advoxya Records
28/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

It took a while for Miseria Ultima to take shape as a band but in 2016, after lots of chats, the Finns Aleksi Martikainen and Kimmo Huhtala finally joined forces. After a first demo, Unfocus, released early 2017, the first full-length Phosphor album is finally there, released on the Hungarian label Advoxya Records.

We don't favour a box mentality, as much it might be oppressive and often quite discourteous towards the creative brains that give the best of themselves to express music that often touches the deepest regions of the soul. On this record these Finnish gentlemen delight us with a fine danceable mix of EBM, harsh and dark electro.

Not leaving too much space to the imagination of the listener Phosphor starts firmly with Omega Transmission. An up-tempo, slap in the face track. Talk about a warm welcome! Neuroveil is cut from the same hard wood. Latter Dissaray: despite the fact that this is harsh electro, there is still a lot of attention to the arrangement and the melody. Where many bands in the this genre only seem to think of 'sounding hard’, there is more to discover on this album. We go down a gear with Shift To Crimson. Sometimes it also may sound a bit more tranquill, with a touch of future-pop, such as the track Morningstar. Not that this song is vocally giving in on aggression, not even close! Strong distortion on vocal cords remains a constant.

Garden Of Abstractions is like a short resting point with downtempo but still oh-so-dark electro, almost lyrical. With Scarlet the pedal is pressed to the floor again. This song has something subtle, probably because of a rather subdued melody sound in the background flowing over the violent of the beats. Shapeshifter Of Dreams is again a bit more quiet, and holds something mesmerizing.

Didn’t we say it was all about diversity? The Deep Red Heart, leans more towards aggro-tech. Extremely aggressive, with a top notch, very tight and solid battery of beats. Submerged is again more dark electro, with an slight EBM touch. Ditto for Halo Of Affliction.

But is there still a red thread? Yes! And it’s a strong danceable one! Miseria Ultima pumps up your heart rhythm without doubt. I already see a colourful crowd of cybers go crazy on this. And it’s allowed, isn’t it? Like mentioned before, a song like Latter Dissaray is actually a stomping song. Full on, with tons of darkbeats lavishly scattered around. We are guided to the exit by Vertigo. Both composers probably thought they should drive the adrenaline to the top once again before people get the chance to recuperate from this avalanche of songs. And they succeed perfectly with this last harsh electro song.

The Finnish Miseria Ultima has certainly delivered a nice piece of work with this first full album, varied and far from monotonous. They might not really be in a segment of the electro genre that everyone is fond off, but it’s not their fault if so. Phosphor became a great album everybody should listen too!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
28/03/2018


NL

Het had wat voeten in de aarde voor Miseria Ultima als band vorm kreeg. In 2016, na veel gepraat, was het toch zover. Aleksi Martikainen en Kimmo Huhtala sloegen de muzikale handen in elkaar op het Finlandse vasteland. Na een eerste demo begin 2017, Unfocus, volgde de eerste volwaardige longplayer Phosphor. De schijf verscheen op het Hongaarse label Advoxya Records.

We houden niet van hokjesdenken, want dat werkt beklemmend en doet vaak oneer aan de creatieve breinen die het beste van zichzelf geven in de muziek die vaak aan de diepste regionen van de ziel ontspruiten. Deze Finse heren verblijden ons met een mix van EBM, harsh en dark electro. Dansbare deuntjes dus.

Kwestie van niet te veel aan de verbeelding over te laten begint Phosphor vrij stevig met Omega Transmission. Uptempo, een klap in het gezicht. Van een warm welkom gesproken. Neuroveil is uit hetzelfde harsh-hout gesneden. Latter Dissaray: ondanks het feit dat dit harsh electro is, is er toch veel aandacht voor het arrangement en de melodie. Waar veel bands in het genre enkel denken aan ‘hard-klinken’ is hier méér te ontdekken. Een versnelling lager bij Shift To Crimson. En soms mag het ook wat vredevoller klinken, met een vleugje future-pop, zoals Morningstar. Niet dat dit nummer vocaal inboet aan agressie, verre van. Een stevig shot distortie in de stembanden blijft een constante.

Garden Of Abstractions is een klein rustpuntje met downtempo maar o zo donkere electro. Het heeft bijna iets lyrisch. En bij Scarlet wordt het gaspedaal wat dieper ingesdrukt. Dit nummer heeft iets subtiels, wellicht doordat een eerder ingetogen melodie op de achtergrond door het geweld van de beats heen klinkt. Shapeshifter Of Dreams is ook wat rustiger, en heeft iets bezwerends.
In den beginne… ging het over verscheidenheid. The Deep Red Heart, leunt aan bij aggrotech. Agressief tot het uiterste, met een heel strak tempo en een arsenaal beats van de bovenste plank. Submerged is dan weer meer dark electro, met een EBM-tintje. Idem dito voor Halo Of Affliction.

Is er dan nog een rode draad? Ja hoor: stevig en dansbaar over de ganse lijn. Miseria Ultima drijft het hartritme onversaagd de hoogte in. Ik zie al een kleurrijk menigte cybers volledig uit hun dak gaan. En dat mag, niet? Latter Dissaray is eigenlijk een stampvoet-song. Alle registers gaan open, een ton darkbeats wordt kwistig rondgestrooid. We worden uittrede gedaan door Vertigo. De heerschappen dachten wellicht: we drijven de adrenaline nog eens op voordat mensen van deze schijf bekomen. En daar slagen ze wonderwel in met deze snoeiharde harsh electro song.

Het Finse Miseria Ultima heeft met deze eerste full zeker een mooi visitekaartje afgeleverd. Het album is gevarieerd en verre van eentonig. Ze zitten in een segment van de electro waar niet iedereen storm voor loopt, maar dat is volgens mij ten onrechte. In elk geval is Phosphor een goede schijf.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
28/03/2018


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design