tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

24/03/2018 : NORMORIA - Origin

NORMORIA

Origin

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic RockIndustrial Rock

[86/100]   

Self-released
24/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Normoria is an American / Swedish band based in Sweden. Their sound is an amalgamation of different styles: mainly gothic-rock and electro-industrial. This mix of dark styles is supported by solid bass and guitar playing, as well as versatile, mostly female, vocals. Striking melodies, a barrel full of expression with an obscure sound.

Normoria was founded in 2016 by singer and songwriter, Angel Moonshine but it took until 2017 before something musical was sent into the world. In that year they released two songs for which they also produced music videos. Now, after many months of hard work, they release their first EP Origin.

The first track Last Prayer comes in hard. Solid guitars, tight basses and also male and female vocal violence drag you along in the song. The singing is melodic, less screaming. We Came in Peace is a solid harsh electro track, with some discrete guitars and strong pumping beats and synths. The song is about the terrible ability of humanity to slowly but certainly destroy our ecosystem.

Their need to deliver a message also goes for The Right To Be Me. Dedicated to the Swedish anti-discrimination project and campaign "Rätten Till Sin Identitet" (Right to Subcultural identity): or no one's choice of fashion or identity can lead to any form of discrimination. A campaign that was also supported by musicians and bands like Wayne Hussey and Covenant. The song breathes the industrial rock spirit.

As a bonus we get an extended version of We Came In Peace, this time poured in a EBM format: very danceable, tight and super rhythmic. Without doubt this is a potential club hit!

Normoria delivers us a very nice business card with this EP Origin!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
24/03/2018


NL

Normoria is een Amerikaans / Zweedse band gevestigd in Zweden. Hun sound is een samensmelting van verschillende stijlen, voornamelijk gothic rock en electro-industrial. Hun muziek brengt donkere stijlen samen met stevige bas en gitaar en veelzijdige (en veel vrouwelijke) vocalen. Opvallende melodieën, een vat vol expressie met een obscure sound.

Normoria werd opgericht in 2016 door zanger en songwriter, Angel Moonshine. Het duurde tot 2017 voordat er iets muzikaals de wereld werd ingestuurd. In dat jaar brachten ze twee nummers uit met bijhorende videoclips. Nu, na vele maanden hard werken, verschijnt hun eerste EP Origin.

Last Prayer komt snoeihard binnen. Stevige gitaren, stevige bassen en zowel mannelijk als vrouwelijk vocaal geweld sleuren je mee in de song. De zang is melodisch, weinig geschreeuw. We Came in Peace is stevige harsh electro, die een zuinige gitaar meekrijgt. Stevig pompende beats en synths. Het nummer gaat over het vreselijke vermogen van de mensheid om het ecosysteem langzaam maar zeker te vernietigen.

Dat ze een boodschap willen brengen bewijst ook The Right To Be Me. Dit nummer is gewijd aan de Zweedse
antidiscriminatieprojectcampagne "Rätten Till Sin Identitet" (Recht Op Subculturele Identiteit): niemands keuze inzake mode of identiteit mag leiden tot enige vorm van discriminatie. Een campagne die ook door andere muzikanten werd gesteund (o.a. Covenant, Wayne Hussey,...). De song is opnieuw industrial rock.

Als toemaatje krijgen we een extended Version van We Came In Peace. In EBM-formaat: heel goed dansbaar, strak, ritmisch super. Dit is een clubhit zonder weerga.

Normoria levert met deze EP een heel mooi visitekaartje af.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
24/03/2018


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
04
07
'Locating Silver Lake' celebrates its international premiere at Edinburgh Film Festival!
29
06
Tonight! Dark Entries Night @ Kinky Star with Dead Man's Hill & Causenation!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl
12
07
SOFT RIOT
Waiting For Something Terrible To Happen
11
07
EUROPEAN GHOST
Suspended in the void