tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

24/03/2018 : NORMORIA - Origin

NORMORIA

Origin

MusicCD (EP)
Gothic RockIndustrial Rock

[86/100]   

Self-released
24/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Normoria is an American / Swedish band based in Sweden. Their sound is an amalgamation of different styles: mainly gothic-rock and electro-industrial. This mix of dark styles is supported by solid bass and guitar playing, as well as versatile, mostly female, vocals. Striking melodies, a barrel full of expression with an obscure sound.

Normoria was founded in 2016 by singer and songwriter, Angel Moonshine but it took until 2017 before something musical was sent into the world. In that year they released two songs for which they also produced music videos. Now, after many months of hard work, they release their first EP Origin.

The first track Last Prayer comes in hard. Solid guitars, tight basses and also male and female vocal violence drag you along in the song. The singing is melodic, less screaming. We Came in Peace is a solid harsh electro track, with some discrete guitars and strong pumping beats and synths. The song is about the terrible ability of humanity to slowly but certainly destroy our ecosystem.

Their need to deliver a message also goes for The Right To Be Me. Dedicated to the Swedish anti-discrimination project and campaign "Rätten Till Sin Identitet" (Right to Subcultural identity): or no one's choice of fashion or identity can lead to any form of discrimination. A campaign that was also supported by musicians and bands like Wayne Hussey and Covenant. The song breathes the industrial rock spirit.

As a bonus we get an extended version of We Came In Peace, this time poured in a EBM format: very danceable, tight and super rhythmic. Without doubt this is a potential club hit!

Normoria delivers us a very nice business card with this EP Origin!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
24/03/2018


NL

Normoria is een Amerikaans / Zweedse band gevestigd in Zweden. Hun sound is een samensmelting van verschillende stijlen, voornamelijk gothic rock en electro-industrial. Hun muziek brengt donkere stijlen samen met stevige bas en gitaar en veelzijdige (en veel vrouwelijke) vocalen. Opvallende melodieën, een vat vol expressie met een obscure sound.

Normoria werd opgericht in 2016 door zanger en songwriter, Angel Moonshine. Het duurde tot 2017 voordat er iets muzikaals de wereld werd ingestuurd. In dat jaar brachten ze twee nummers uit met bijhorende videoclips. Nu, na vele maanden hard werken, verschijnt hun eerste EP Origin.

Last Prayer komt snoeihard binnen. Stevige gitaren, stevige bassen en zowel mannelijk als vrouwelijk vocaal geweld sleuren je mee in de song. De zang is melodisch, weinig geschreeuw. We Came in Peace is stevige harsh electro, die een zuinige gitaar meekrijgt. Stevig pompende beats en synths. Het nummer gaat over het vreselijke vermogen van de mensheid om het ecosysteem langzaam maar zeker te vernietigen.

Dat ze een boodschap willen brengen bewijst ook The Right To Be Me. Dit nummer is gewijd aan de Zweedse
antidiscriminatieprojectcampagne "Rätten Till Sin Identitet" (Recht Op Subculturele Identiteit): niemands keuze inzake mode of identiteit mag leiden tot enige vorm van discriminatie. Een campagne die ook door andere muzikanten werd gesteund (o.a. Covenant, Wayne Hussey,...). De song is opnieuw industrial rock.

Als toemaatje krijgen we een extended Version van We Came In Peace. In EBM-formaat: heel goed dansbaar, strak, ritmisch super. Dit is een clubhit zonder weerga.

Normoria levert met deze EP een heel mooi visitekaartje af.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
24/03/2018


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth