tempobet yeni adresi
like this cassette review

16/03/2018 : MESSIER 39 - Venus Eclipse

MESSIER 39

Venus Eclipse

MusicCassette
MinimalSynth Wave

[87/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
16/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

After its first great EP, Coil, the Belgian band Messier 39 is back with a successor, limited to 100 copies on cassette. Masterminds Cape Sidereal (Jan Vinoelst) and Dutch Ludwika Jakubowska bring us nice minimalistic synth-wave music which is released by Wool-e-tapes.

The EP opens with When She Turns Blue and immediately we get a firm dose of analog synthesizers accompanied by Jan's vocals. Whereas on the first EP Ludwika did the majority of the vocals, Jan takes most of the vocal duties on this one. In a very contagious way, this song pleasantly meanders through the headphones. The next track Separate Sides sounds somewhat darker, more drastic and deeper. It carves deep inside you and throws us almost 30 years back in time with a great overall retro sound.

This EP really gets to you … Including Two Sixteen (Halloween). The vocals go even lower, sounding more threatening and with some creepy horror - voices in-between that gives the song even a darker touch. It is musically one of the most varied songs on this EP. With more tempo changes, up-tempo melodies and a distorted guitar. For me, personally, it is the highlight on this overall great sounding EP. Although it is still a solid synth-wave EP, the dark-wave touch is just around the corner. Whatever style: it works!..... And we go back to the primeval days of synth-wave with In My World. All the machinery on full force!

With their first-ever EP Coil was already a winner, this second one Venus Eclipse proves once again Messier 39 has the potential make it! A rock-solid EP, more varied and darker than their first fruits. In my opinion, partly due to the fact that Jan takes care of the vocals on this EP … smoother … darker … what the hell, my opinion does not really matter. Go listen to this EP and judge for yourself! One thing is certain: Messier 39 deserves to be seen on stage more often!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/03/2018


 

Next reviews
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF • De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
DISTORTED RETROSPECT • Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
ERASURE • Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
DRAB MAJESTY • Drab Majesty London show review
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP

 

Other reviews from MESSIER 39
MESSIER 39 • Coil

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
RINGFINGER • Pressure

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?