tempobet yeni adresi
like this cassette review

16/03/2018 : MESSIER 39 - Venus Eclipse

MESSIER 39

Venus Eclipse

MusicCassette
MinimalSynth Wave

[87/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
16/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

After its first great EP, Coil, the Belgian band Messier 39 is back with a successor, limited to 100 copies on cassette. Masterminds Cape Sidereal (Jan Vinoelst) and Dutch Ludwika Jakubowska bring us nice minimalistic synth-wave music which is released by Wool-e-tapes.

The EP opens with When She Turns Blue and immediately we get a firm dose of analog synthesizers accompanied by Jan's vocals. Whereas on the first EP Ludwika did the majority of the vocals, Jan takes most of the vocal duties on this one. In a very contagious way, this song pleasantly meanders through the headphones. The next track Separate Sides sounds somewhat darker, more drastic and deeper. It carves deep inside you and throws us almost 30 years back in time with a great overall retro sound.

This EP really gets to you … Including Two Sixteen (Halloween). The vocals go even lower, sounding more threatening and with some creepy horror - voices in-between that gives the song even a darker touch. It is musically one of the most varied songs on this EP. With more tempo changes, up-tempo melodies and a distorted guitar. For me, personally, it is the highlight on this overall great sounding EP. Although it is still a solid synth-wave EP, the dark-wave touch is just around the corner. Whatever style: it works!..... And we go back to the primeval days of synth-wave with In My World. All the machinery on full force!

With their first-ever EP Coil was already a winner, this second one Venus Eclipse proves once again Messier 39 has the potential make it! A rock-solid EP, more varied and darker than their first fruits. In my opinion, partly due to the fact that Jan takes care of the vocals on this EP … smoother … darker … what the hell, my opinion does not really matter. Go listen to this EP and judge for yourself! One thing is certain: Messier 39 deserves to be seen on stage more often!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/03/2018


 

Next reviews
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF • De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
DISTORTED RETROSPECT • Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
ERASURE • Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
DRAB MAJESTY • Drab Majesty London show review
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP

 

Other reviews from MESSIER 39
MESSIER 39 • Coil

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
MESSIER 39 • Coil

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless