tempobet yeni adresi
like this cassette review

16/03/2018 : MESSIER 39 - Venus Eclipse

MESSIER 39

Venus Eclipse

MusicCassette
MinimalSynth Wave

[87/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
16/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

After its first great EP, Coil, the Belgian band Messier 39 is back with a successor, limited to 100 copies on cassette. Masterminds Cape Sidereal (Jan Vinoelst) and Dutch Ludwika Jakubowska bring us nice minimalistic synth-wave music which is released by Wool-e-tapes.

The EP opens with When She Turns Blue and immediately we get a firm dose of analog synthesizers accompanied by Jan's vocals. Whereas on the first EP Ludwika did the majority of the vocals, Jan takes most of the vocal duties on this one. In a very contagious way, this song pleasantly meanders through the headphones. The next track Separate Sides sounds somewhat darker, more drastic and deeper. It carves deep inside you and throws us almost 30 years back in time with a great overall retro sound.

This EP really gets to you … Including Two Sixteen (Halloween). The vocals go even lower, sounding more threatening and with some creepy horror - voices in-between that gives the song even a darker touch. It is musically one of the most varied songs on this EP. With more tempo changes, up-tempo melodies and a distorted guitar. For me, personally, it is the highlight on this overall great sounding EP. Although it is still a solid synth-wave EP, the dark-wave touch is just around the corner. Whatever style: it works!..... And we go back to the primeval days of synth-wave with In My World. All the machinery on full force!

With their first-ever EP Coil was already a winner, this second one Venus Eclipse proves once again Messier 39 has the potential make it! A rock-solid EP, more varied and darker than their first fruits. In my opinion, partly due to the fact that Jan takes care of the vocals on this EP … smoother … darker … what the hell, my opinion does not really matter. Go listen to this EP and judge for yourself! One thing is certain: Messier 39 deserves to be seen on stage more often!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/03/2018


 

Next reviews
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF • De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
DISTORTED RETROSPECT • Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
ERASURE • Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
DRAB MAJESTY • Drab Majesty London show review
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP

 

Other reviews from MESSIER 39
MESSIER 39 • Coil

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
MESSIER 39 • Coil
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle
LA STELE DES PLEURS • Le Regret/Gare Du Nord
METAL DISCO • Fetish Club Anthems

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
SYNTHS VERSUS ME • 1987 12'

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno