tempobet yeni adresi
like this cassette review

16/03/2018 : MESSIER 39 - Venus Eclipse

MESSIER 39

Venus Eclipse

MusicCassette
MinimalSynth Wave

[87/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
16/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

After its first great EP, Coil, the Belgian band Messier 39 is back with a successor, limited to 100 copies on cassette. Masterminds Cape Sidereal (Jan Vinoelst) and Dutch Ludwika Jakubowska bring us nice minimalistic synth-wave music which is released by Wool-e-tapes.

The EP opens with When She Turns Blue and immediately we get a firm dose of analog synthesizers accompanied by Jan's vocals. Whereas on the first EP Ludwika did the majority of the vocals, Jan takes most of the vocal duties on this one. In a very contagious way, this song pleasantly meanders through the headphones. The next track Separate Sides sounds somewhat darker, more drastic and deeper. It carves deep inside you and throws us almost 30 years back in time with a great overall retro sound.

This EP really gets to you … Including Two Sixteen (Halloween). The vocals go even lower, sounding more threatening and with some creepy horror - voices in-between that gives the song even a darker touch. It is musically one of the most varied songs on this EP. With more tempo changes, up-tempo melodies and a distorted guitar. For me, personally, it is the highlight on this overall great sounding EP. Although it is still a solid synth-wave EP, the dark-wave touch is just around the corner. Whatever style: it works!..... And we go back to the primeval days of synth-wave with In My World. All the machinery on full force!

With their first-ever EP Coil was already a winner, this second one Venus Eclipse proves once again Messier 39 has the potential make it! A rock-solid EP, more varied and darker than their first fruits. In my opinion, partly due to the fact that Jan takes care of the vocals on this EP … smoother … darker … what the hell, my opinion does not really matter. Go listen to this EP and judge for yourself! One thing is certain: Messier 39 deserves to be seen on stage more often!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/03/2018


 

Next reviews
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF • De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
DISTORTED RETROSPECT • Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
ERASURE • Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
DRAB MAJESTY • Drab Majesty London show review
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP

 

Other reviews from MESSIER 39
MESSIER 39 • Coil

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
MESSIER 39 • Coil
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends
PEINE PERDUE • La Peur Belle

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)