tempobet yeni adresi
like this cassette review

16/03/2018 : MESSIER 39 - Venus Eclipse

MESSIER 39

Venus Eclipse

MusicCassette
MinimalSynth Wave

[87/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
16/03/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

After its first great EP, Coil, the Belgian band Messier 39 is back with a successor, limited to 100 copies on cassette. Masterminds Cape Sidereal (Jan Vinoelst) and Dutch Ludwika Jakubowska bring us nice minimalistic synth-wave music which is released by Wool-e-tapes.

The EP opens with When She Turns Blue and immediately we get a firm dose of analog synthesizers accompanied by Jan's vocals. Whereas on the first EP Ludwika did the majority of the vocals, Jan takes most of the vocal duties on this one. In a very contagious way, this song pleasantly meanders through the headphones. The next track Separate Sides sounds somewhat darker, more drastic and deeper. It carves deep inside you and throws us almost 30 years back in time with a great overall retro sound.

This EP really gets to you … Including Two Sixteen (Halloween). The vocals go even lower, sounding more threatening and with some creepy horror - voices in-between that gives the song even a darker touch. It is musically one of the most varied songs on this EP. With more tempo changes, up-tempo melodies and a distorted guitar. For me, personally, it is the highlight on this overall great sounding EP. Although it is still a solid synth-wave EP, the dark-wave touch is just around the corner. Whatever style: it works!..... And we go back to the primeval days of synth-wave with In My World. All the machinery on full force!

With their first-ever EP Coil was already a winner, this second one Venus Eclipse proves once again Messier 39 has the potential make it! A rock-solid EP, more varied and darker than their first fruits. In my opinion, partly due to the fact that Jan takes care of the vocals on this EP … smoother … darker … what the hell, my opinion does not really matter. Go listen to this EP and judge for yourself! One thing is certain: Messier 39 deserves to be seen on stage more often!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/03/2018


 

Next reviews
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF • De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
DISTORTED RETROSPECT • Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
ERASURE • Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
DRAB MAJESTY • Drab Majesty London show review
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP

 

Other reviews from MESSIER 39
MESSIER 39 • Coil

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH WAVE
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
MESSIER 39 • Coil
HANTE • This Fog That Never Ends

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)

Music reviews

20
02
UNIDENTIFIED MAN
Memento Mori
17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
02
Blutengel releases new album UN:GOT!
18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
02
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO - BEAUTY IN CHAOS
'I am forever indebted to everyone involved in Beauty In Chaos. We are friends, and now family with what we all created'.
19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
02
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
21
02
AGNES OBEL
Familiar
20
02
MIREXXX
Nine angles
19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!