tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore

TANGO MANGALORE

Dear Shore

MusicVinyl
DarkwaveDeath Rock / BatcaveHorror

[85/100]   

Fabrika Records
08/03/2018, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

The spooky sailor and Greek weirdo Tango Mangalore is back with a third album, this time released by one of the best Darkwave labels out there, Fabrika Records (home to Selofan, She Past Away, and many more). Dear Shore comes after two fantastic previous albums, Comandante Macabro and the super weird Contra Los Vampiros Y Hombre Lobo Discoteca (a collaboration with Doctor Mutanto), and in a way, it completes those two records, like a collection of scary stories for children.

However, Dear Shore is also the most serious Tango Mangaore album to date. The spooky playfulness is still there, a trait that links it to the beloved Deathrock Revival scene from the early 2000s, only now it's gotten darker, more menacing than ever. The vocal performance is straightforward and powerful, sometimes almost bluesy but without losing any of its dramatic and uncomfortable quality. The album is kinda Coldwave rhythmically speaking but completely different in terms of sound, vocals and of the overall atmosphere it conveys. Songs like "Momentum" or the title track "Dear Shore" are good examples of this. It's like a Deathrock album that's built around the keyboards, and with no guitars whatsoever.

Tango Mangalore is an artist who, being aware of the entire Goth/Darkwave tradition, chooses to do something completely personal and original with it. On this album, available through the Fabrika Records webstore, he has managed to create the musical equivalent of reading a nice collection of William Hope Hodgson's maritime ghost stories. Delightfully dark stuff.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
08/03/2018


08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore 08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore 08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)