tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore

TANGO MANGALORE

Dear Shore

MusicVinyl
DarkwaveDeath Rock / BatcaveHorror

[85/100]   

Fabrika Records
08/03/2018, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

The spooky sailor and Greek weirdo Tango Mangalore is back with a third album, this time released by one of the best Darkwave labels out there, Fabrika Records (home to Selofan, She Past Away, and many more). Dear Shore comes after two fantastic previous albums, Comandante Macabro and the super weird Contra Los Vampiros Y Hombre Lobo Discoteca (a collaboration with Doctor Mutanto), and in a way, it completes those two records, like a collection of scary stories for children.

However, Dear Shore is also the most serious Tango Mangaore album to date. The spooky playfulness is still there, a trait that links it to the beloved Deathrock Revival scene from the early 2000s, only now it's gotten darker, more menacing than ever. The vocal performance is straightforward and powerful, sometimes almost bluesy but without losing any of its dramatic and uncomfortable quality. The album is kinda Coldwave rhythmically speaking but completely different in terms of sound, vocals and of the overall atmosphere it conveys. Songs like "Momentum" or the title track "Dear Shore" are good examples of this. It's like a Deathrock album that's built around the keyboards, and with no guitars whatsoever.

Tango Mangalore is an artist who, being aware of the entire Goth/Darkwave tradition, chooses to do something completely personal and original with it. On this album, available through the Fabrika Records webstore, he has managed to create the musical equivalent of reading a nice collection of William Hope Hodgson's maritime ghost stories. Delightfully dark stuff.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
08/03/2018


08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore 08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore 08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore

Music reviews

20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
19
11
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
First And Last And Always
18
11
THE COCKY BITCHES
MERCY
17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
Dark Entity | In The Flat Field At Thirty-Eight
20
11
Artificial Adolescents | The X-Ray Spex Masterpiece Turns 40
19
11
New PALAIS IDEAL single and video clip with unique choreography by Burning Bridges!
19
11
'Write When You Get Work' in theaters this weekend!
18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
11
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween
20
11
JO QUAIL
Gold
19
11
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission