tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore

TANGO MANGALORE

Dear Shore

MusicVinyl
DarkwaveDeath Rock / BatcaveHorror

[85/100]   

Fabrika Records
08/03/2018, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

The spooky sailor and Greek weirdo Tango Mangalore is back with a third album, this time released by one of the best Darkwave labels out there, Fabrika Records (home to Selofan, She Past Away, and many more). Dear Shore comes after two fantastic previous albums, Comandante Macabro and the super weird Contra Los Vampiros Y Hombre Lobo Discoteca (a collaboration with Doctor Mutanto), and in a way, it completes those two records, like a collection of scary stories for children.

However, Dear Shore is also the most serious Tango Mangaore album to date. The spooky playfulness is still there, a trait that links it to the beloved Deathrock Revival scene from the early 2000s, only now it's gotten darker, more menacing than ever. The vocal performance is straightforward and powerful, sometimes almost bluesy but without losing any of its dramatic and uncomfortable quality. The album is kinda Coldwave rhythmically speaking but completely different in terms of sound, vocals and of the overall atmosphere it conveys. Songs like "Momentum" or the title track "Dear Shore" are good examples of this. It's like a Deathrock album that's built around the keyboards, and with no guitars whatsoever.

Tango Mangalore is an artist who, being aware of the entire Goth/Darkwave tradition, chooses to do something completely personal and original with it. On this album, available through the Fabrika Records webstore, he has managed to create the musical equivalent of reading a nice collection of William Hope Hodgson's maritime ghost stories. Delightfully dark stuff.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
08/03/2018


08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore 08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore 08/03/2018 : TANGO MANGALORE - Dear Shore

Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover