tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Bipolar Sounds Volume 1

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Bipolar Sounds Volume 1

MusicDigital
Death Rock / BatcavePost Punk

[88/100]   

Manic Depression
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Manic Depression is well known for its batcave, post-punk, darkwave and deathrock releases. This compilation is free to download on the website. Meanwhile, a second volume is already available.

On Bipolar Sounds you get a nice view of the different styles the label has to offer: from batcave to electro, all wrapped in a black and/or punk look.

Drama of The Spheres offers a track from the album A Tale Kafka. The Italian Date At Midnight presents the single No Love from the eponymous first album (2011) for Manic Depression Records.

From Fear Incorporated we hear Spooked of the new album Phobos. We also get a demo version of The Pen of Blood by The Cemetary Girlz, a solid death rock/goth rock band which presents an uptempo song from its latest album Opus Vitae.

Agent Side Grinder is one of the spotlight bands on this compilation because the style differs from the rest. We hear a fantastic live version of Screams. Crimson Muddle is also recommended. The music is an interesting mix of punk, cold wave, electro and violins. Basura is very good. Check it out now!

The French Joy/Disaster is present with the excellent post punk song Miss Trust; with a kind of metal guitar! BA13 has nervous punk vocals. Wallenberg closes this fine compilation, which is perfect if you want to discover the highlights of this label for free.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Manic Depression staat bekend voor zijn releases van vooral batcave, postpunk, darkwave en deathrock. Deze compilatie is gratis te downloaden via de website. Intussen is er nu ook al een tweede volume beschikbaar.

Op Bipolar Sounds is als een staalkaart, waardoor je een mooi zicht krijgt op wat men te bieden heeft: van batcave tot electro, gehuld in een zwart en/of punkkleedje.

Drama of The Spheres mag de spits afbijten met een track uit het album A Kafka Tale. Het Italiaanse Date At Midnight brengt No Love met een single uit het eerste gelijknamige album voor Manic Depression Records uit 2011.

Van Fear Incorporated horen we Spooked, een heel recent lied van het nieuwe album Phobos. We horen ook een demoversie van The Pen of Blood door The Cemetary Girlz. Een degelijke deathrock-/gothrockband met een uptempo song uit het laatste album Opus Vitae.

Agent Side Grinder is een band die in de kijker loopt omdat hij qua stijl wat afwijkt van de rest. We horen Screams in een liveversie. Een fantastische uitvoering trouwens. Crimson Muddle is ook een aanrader. De muziek is een interessante mengeling van punk, cold wave, electro en violen. Check Basura maar eens uit!

Het Franse Joy/Disaster brengt het uitstekende Miss Trust, een postpunksong met een naar metal smachtende gitaar. BA13 valt op met nerveuze punk vocals. Wallenberg sluit tenslotte deze verzamelaar af.

Een heel goede compilatie van Manic Depression waarbij je gratis kan ontdekken wat dit label te bieden heeft.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT • Adcbep1
CHROM • Peak And Decay
SIDEARTICA • Sideartica: a forgotten gem
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
LEAETHER STRIP • Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
PANTSERFABRIEK • Krachtpatser

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Zeal Records: 15 Years The Essence Of Music
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Not So Cold: The Complete Collection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Domestic landscape Vol. 2
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Swedish Electro Vol.3

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + POST PUNK
THEN COMES SILENCE • Nyctophilian

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015
DYSTOPIAN SOCIETY • Overturned Reality

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart