tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

11/12/2016 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Bipolar Sounds Volume 1

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Bipolar Sounds Volume 1

MusicDigital
Death Rock / BatcavePost Punk

[88/100]   

Manic Depression
11/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Manic Depression is well known for its batcave, post-punk, darkwave and deathrock releases. This compilation is free to download on the website. Meanwhile, a second volume is already available.

On Bipolar Sounds you get a nice view of the different styles the label has to offer: from batcave to electro, all wrapped in a black and/or punk look.

Drama of The Spheres offers a track from the album A Tale Kafka. The Italian Date At Midnight presents the single No Love from the eponymous first album (2011) for Manic Depression Records.

From Fear Incorporated we hear Spooked of the new album Phobos. We also get a demo version of The Pen of Blood by The Cemetary Girlz, a solid death rock/goth rock band which presents an uptempo song from its latest album Opus Vitae.

Agent Side Grinder is one of the spotlight bands on this compilation because the style differs from the rest. We hear a fantastic live version of Screams. Crimson Muddle is also recommended. The music is an interesting mix of punk, cold wave, electro and violins. Basura is very good. Check it out now!

The French Joy/Disaster is present with the excellent post punk song Miss Trust; with a kind of metal guitar! BA13 has nervous punk vocals. Wallenberg closes this fine compilation, which is perfect if you want to discover the highlights of this label for free.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


NL

Manic Depression staat bekend voor zijn releases van vooral batcave, postpunk, darkwave en deathrock. Deze compilatie is gratis te downloaden via de website. Intussen is er nu ook al een tweede volume beschikbaar.

Op Bipolar Sounds is als een staalkaart, waardoor je een mooi zicht krijgt op wat men te bieden heeft: van batcave tot electro, gehuld in een zwart en/of punkkleedje.

Drama of The Spheres mag de spits afbijten met een track uit het album A Kafka Tale. Het Italiaanse Date At Midnight brengt No Love met een single uit het eerste gelijknamige album voor Manic Depression Records uit 2011.

Van Fear Incorporated horen we Spooked, een heel recent lied van het nieuwe album Phobos. We horen ook een demoversie van The Pen of Blood door The Cemetary Girlz. Een degelijke deathrock-/gothrockband met een uptempo song uit het laatste album Opus Vitae.

Agent Side Grinder is een band die in de kijker loopt omdat hij qua stijl wat afwijkt van de rest. We horen Screams in een liveversie. Een fantastische uitvoering trouwens. Crimson Muddle is ook een aanrader. De muziek is een interessante mengeling van punk, cold wave, electro en violen. Check Basura maar eens uit!

Het Franse Joy/Disaster brengt het uitstekende Miss Trust, een postpunksong met een naar metal smachtende gitaar. BA13 valt op met nerveuze punk vocals. Wallenberg sluit tenslotte deze verzamelaar af.

Een heel goede compilatie van Manic Depression waarbij je gratis kan ontdekken wat dit label te bieden heeft.

Wim GUILLEMYN
11/12/2016


 

Next reviews
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT • Adcbep1
CHROM • Peak And Decay
SIDEARTICA • Sideartica: a forgotten gem
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
LEAETHER STRIP • Reptile Man Drop: A Tribute To Simple Minds
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
PANTSERFABRIEK • Krachtpatser

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3

 

Same combination of genres: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE + POST PUNK
THEN COMES SILENCE • Nyctophilian

 

Same genre: DEATH ROCK / BATCAVE
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
TANGO MANGALORE • Dear Shore
VIRGIN IN VEIL • Deviances
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW / CHRISTIAN DEATH • Music Club B52, 22.10.2016
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
VIRGIN IN VEIL • The Glory Hole (EP)
LUNA RISE • Dark Days and Bright Nights
THE SCARLET FEVER • Collider
THEN COMES SILENCE • Strangers
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Road To Sacrosant 2015

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THEN COMES SILENCE • Trickery
WHISPERING SONS • The Great Calm
PARTIKUL • Having Gone
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
AGENT SIDE GRINDER • Jack Vegas
CUT • Dead City Nights
NEL & JP • Zelfbeeld van Denaldie
THE GODFATHERS • ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'
11
04
Celtic Circle Productions founder Alfred Kaenders past away...
06
04
KISS IS KILL Reveals An Anatomy Of Fear With Their New Album
06
04
FLEISCHKRIEG Unveils New Single & Video, 'I Believe In Gnomes'
05
04
Cathedral In Flames Tells A Dark Western Tale With New Single
05
04
E-TROPOLIS FESTIVAL 2025 - SOLAR FAKE, ROTERSAND, EMPATHY TEST & MORE BANDS CONFIRMED!

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

10
04
GHOST DANCE
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
THE MISTRESS OF JERSEY
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
GOTTERDAMMERUNG
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS
Black Spring Festival Engis
10
04
AZYLUM
Black Spring Festival Engis
01
04
MERCIFUL NUNS
Dark Skies over Witten Werkstadt Witten
01
04
RHOMBUS
Dark Skies over Witten Werkstadt Witten

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
04
ATTRITION
Silent Night
11
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
11
04
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear v2K18 (12' Mix)
11
04
D.A.F.
Brothers (Live @ BodyFest 2023)
11
04
SCHICKSAL
24 Hours
11
04
THIS MORN' OMINA
(the) rûach (of god) ccf - live 2011
11
04
LIFELESS PAST
A Safer Place (music video)