tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : EXPLODED VIEW - Exploded View

EXPLODED VIEW

Exploded View

MusicCD
Dark PopKrautrock

[94/100]   

Sacred Bones Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Six years ago, one of the most beautiful records was released, even though no one (or at least not many people) noticed it: the eponymous debut of Anika. The German-British is a political journalist whose icy voice was noticed by Geoff Barrow of Portishead when he was looking for a female voice for his band Beak.

In twelve days she recorded nine songs.The press was enthusiastic and a small tour followed, but that was it. Poor me, at that time I told everyone that she was the reincarnation of Nico. For years I thought the blonde had said goodbye to the music business, but now she is back with her new band Exploded View.

The debut was released on Sacred Bones and can be compared with her first album, and of course that is because of her cold, almost apathetic voice which is a cross-fertilization of Kim Gordon and Nico. The big difference with the debut is that Exploded View sounds more like a personal record, as after all the debut featured five covers (from The Kinks to Yoko Ono).

For the rest you can describe Exploded View as krautrock with a macabre character. The music is dark, gloomy and contains mainly the beauty of death. We had to wait six years, but welcome back Anika.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Zes jaar geleden verscheen één van de mooiste platen die door geen mens (of toch zeer weinig mensen) werd opgemerkt: het debuut van Anika. Deze Duits-Britse is een politieke journaliste, maar haar ijskoude stem werd door Geoff Barrow van Portishead opgemerkt, die op zoek was naar een gepaste vrouwenstem voor zijn band Beak.

In twaalf dagen tijd nam ze negen songs met hem op. De pers was enthousiast en er volgde een kleine tour, daar bleef het helaas bij. Tja, en zeggen dat ik haar destijds als de reïncarnatie van Nico zag. Jarenlang dacht ik dat de blondine het muziekleven voor altijd vaarwel had gezegd, nu is ze er plots weer met haar nieuwe band Exploded View.

Het debuut dat op Sacred Bones is uitgebracht, kan je gerust vergelijken met haar debuut, en dat komt natuurlijk door haar kille, bijna apathische stem die een kruisbestuiving is van Kim Gordon en (jawel) Nico. Het grote verschil is dat het debuut van haar band Exploded View meer als een eigen plaat klinkt, want op haar eersteling stonden er per slot van rekening vijf covers (van The Kinks tot Yoko Ono).

Voor de rest is ook Exploded View krautrock met een macaber karakter. De muziek is donker, somber en bevat alleen maar de schoonheid van de dood. Zes jaar hebben we er op moeten wachten, welkom terug Anika.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On