tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : EXPLODED VIEW - Exploded View

EXPLODED VIEW

Exploded View

MusicCD
Dark PopKrautrock

[94/100]   

Sacred Bones Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Six years ago, one of the most beautiful records was released, even though no one (or at least not many people) noticed it: the eponymous debut of Anika. The German-British is a political journalist whose icy voice was noticed by Geoff Barrow of Portishead when he was looking for a female voice for his band Beak.

In twelve days she recorded nine songs.The press was enthusiastic and a small tour followed, but that was it. Poor me, at that time I told everyone that she was the reincarnation of Nico. For years I thought the blonde had said goodbye to the music business, but now she is back with her new band Exploded View.

The debut was released on Sacred Bones and can be compared with her first album, and of course that is because of her cold, almost apathetic voice which is a cross-fertilization of Kim Gordon and Nico. The big difference with the debut is that Exploded View sounds more like a personal record, as after all the debut featured five covers (from The Kinks to Yoko Ono).

For the rest you can describe Exploded View as krautrock with a macabre character. The music is dark, gloomy and contains mainly the beauty of death. We had to wait six years, but welcome back Anika.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Zes jaar geleden verscheen één van de mooiste platen die door geen mens (of toch zeer weinig mensen) werd opgemerkt: het debuut van Anika. Deze Duits-Britse is een politieke journaliste, maar haar ijskoude stem werd door Geoff Barrow van Portishead opgemerkt, die op zoek was naar een gepaste vrouwenstem voor zijn band Beak.

In twaalf dagen tijd nam ze negen songs met hem op. De pers was enthousiast en er volgde een kleine tour, daar bleef het helaas bij. Tja, en zeggen dat ik haar destijds als de reïncarnatie van Nico zag. Jarenlang dacht ik dat de blondine het muziekleven voor altijd vaarwel had gezegd, nu is ze er plots weer met haar nieuwe band Exploded View.

Het debuut dat op Sacred Bones is uitgebracht, kan je gerust vergelijken met haar debuut, en dat komt natuurlijk door haar kille, bijna apathische stem die een kruisbestuiving is van Kim Gordon en (jawel) Nico. Het grote verschil is dat het debuut van haar band Exploded View meer als een eigen plaat klinkt, want op haar eersteling stonden er per slot van rekening vijf covers (van The Kinks tot Yoko Ono).

Voor de rest is ook Exploded View krautrock met een macaber karakter. De muziek is donker, somber en bevat alleen maar de schoonheid van de dood. Zes jaar hebben we er op moeten wachten, welkom terug Anika.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face