tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : EXPLODED VIEW - Exploded View

EXPLODED VIEW

Exploded View

MusicCD
Dark PopKrautrock

[94/100]   

Sacred Bones Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Six years ago, one of the most beautiful records was released, even though no one (or at least not many people) noticed it: the eponymous debut of Anika. The German-British is a political journalist whose icy voice was noticed by Geoff Barrow of Portishead when he was looking for a female voice for his band Beak.

In twelve days she recorded nine songs.The press was enthusiastic and a small tour followed, but that was it. Poor me, at that time I told everyone that she was the reincarnation of Nico. For years I thought the blonde had said goodbye to the music business, but now she is back with her new band Exploded View.

The debut was released on Sacred Bones and can be compared with her first album, and of course that is because of her cold, almost apathetic voice which is a cross-fertilization of Kim Gordon and Nico. The big difference with the debut is that Exploded View sounds more like a personal record, as after all the debut featured five covers (from The Kinks to Yoko Ono).

For the rest you can describe Exploded View as krautrock with a macabre character. The music is dark, gloomy and contains mainly the beauty of death. We had to wait six years, but welcome back Anika.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Zes jaar geleden verscheen één van de mooiste platen die door geen mens (of toch zeer weinig mensen) werd opgemerkt: het debuut van Anika. Deze Duits-Britse is een politieke journaliste, maar haar ijskoude stem werd door Geoff Barrow van Portishead opgemerkt, die op zoek was naar een gepaste vrouwenstem voor zijn band Beak.

In twaalf dagen tijd nam ze negen songs met hem op. De pers was enthousiast en er volgde een kleine tour, daar bleef het helaas bij. Tja, en zeggen dat ik haar destijds als de reïncarnatie van Nico zag. Jarenlang dacht ik dat de blondine het muziekleven voor altijd vaarwel had gezegd, nu is ze er plots weer met haar nieuwe band Exploded View.

Het debuut dat op Sacred Bones is uitgebracht, kan je gerust vergelijken met haar debuut, en dat komt natuurlijk door haar kille, bijna apathische stem die een kruisbestuiving is van Kim Gordon en (jawel) Nico. Het grote verschil is dat het debuut van haar band Exploded View meer als een eigen plaat klinkt, want op haar eersteling stonden er per slot van rekening vijf covers (van The Kinks tot Yoko Ono).

Voor de rest is ook Exploded View krautrock met een macaber karakter. De muziek is donker, somber en bevat alleen maar de schoonheid van de dood. Zes jaar hebben we er op moeten wachten, welkom terug Anika.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection