tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : EXPLODED VIEW - Exploded View

EXPLODED VIEW

Exploded View

MusicCD
Dark PopKrautrock

[94/100]   

Sacred Bones Records
11/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Six years ago, one of the most beautiful records was released, even though no one (or at least not many people) noticed it: the eponymous debut of Anika. The German-British is a political journalist whose icy voice was noticed by Geoff Barrow of Portishead when he was looking for a female voice for his band Beak.

In twelve days she recorded nine songs.The press was enthusiastic and a small tour followed, but that was it. Poor me, at that time I told everyone that she was the reincarnation of Nico. For years I thought the blonde had said goodbye to the music business, but now she is back with her new band Exploded View.

The debut was released on Sacred Bones and can be compared with her first album, and of course that is because of her cold, almost apathetic voice which is a cross-fertilization of Kim Gordon and Nico. The big difference with the debut is that Exploded View sounds more like a personal record, as after all the debut featured five covers (from The Kinks to Yoko Ono).

For the rest you can describe Exploded View as krautrock with a macabre character. The music is dark, gloomy and contains mainly the beauty of death. We had to wait six years, but welcome back Anika.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


NL

Zes jaar geleden verscheen één van de mooiste platen die door geen mens (of toch zeer weinig mensen) werd opgemerkt: het debuut van Anika. Deze Duits-Britse is een politieke journaliste, maar haar ijskoude stem werd door Geoff Barrow van Portishead opgemerkt, die op zoek was naar een gepaste vrouwenstem voor zijn band Beak.

In twaalf dagen tijd nam ze negen songs met hem op. De pers was enthousiast en er volgde een kleine tour, daar bleef het helaas bij. Tja, en zeggen dat ik haar destijds als de reïncarnatie van Nico zag. Jarenlang dacht ik dat de blondine het muziekleven voor altijd vaarwel had gezegd, nu is ze er plots weer met haar nieuwe band Exploded View.

Het debuut dat op Sacred Bones is uitgebracht, kan je gerust vergelijken met haar debuut, en dat komt natuurlijk door haar kille, bijna apathische stem die een kruisbestuiving is van Kim Gordon en (jawel) Nico. Het grote verschil is dat het debuut van haar band Exploded View meer als een eigen plaat klinkt, want op haar eersteling stonden er per slot van rekening vijf covers (van The Kinks tot Yoko Ono).

Voor de rest is ook Exploded View krautrock met een macaber karakter. De muziek is donker, somber en bevat alleen maar de schoonheid van de dood. Zes jaar hebben we er op moeten wachten, welkom terug Anika.

Didier BECU
11/12/2016


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 40 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 44 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 4 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 31 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
46 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

24
01
DUCTAPE
Dark Winter Liège Festival - Le Garage
07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
156
Kokoro
26
01
WARDRUNA
Raido
25
01
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
24
01
ELVYA DULCIMER
Spring Dance
23
01
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
22
01
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion