tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : JASTREB - Orient And Occident

JASTREB

Orient And Occident

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalKrautrockPsych RockSpacerock

[79/100]   

Hau Ruck!
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In recent years Albin Julius sold his heart to psychedelic music, and his brainchild Der Blutharsh went from neo-folk to psychedelic krautrock. He is also involved in other projects. He is the keyboard player of Jastreb, founded in 2012. Apparently, that band has a lot of inspiration, as Orient And Occident is the third album.

The Island is a slow song, every note is emphasized and sometimes you get the impression that Jim Morrison is singing from his grave, although the vocals are by Lina Baby Doll, the founder of Deutsch Nepal.

Amanda Lear and psychedelic music is a strange combination, but the band composed a song about the extravagant disco queen: Amanda Lear. Adam Cadell's violins sound psychotic, the song sounds like an intense and inescapable ritual.

Pasolini is also important enough to be the subject of a song. It's the slowest track on the CD. The plaintive (almost heartbreaking) voice blends perfectly with the exciting interplay between the violins and Gordan Tomic's bass.

In the end track Let Go, Blake Fleming's drums come to the fore. It is the most experimental track on this release, but it always keeps structure.

Orient And Occident is an absolute must, a perfect midway between traditional (often experimental) psychedelics and the mystical sound of Cold Meat Industry (we probably say that because of Lina Baby Doll). A great release.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De fans weten het natuurlijk al een hele poos: de laatste jaren heeft Albin Julius zich volledig op psychedelica gestort.Zijn geesteskind Der Blutharsh evolueerde van neo-folk tot psychedelische krautrock. Julius is ook bij andere projecten betrokken, bijv. als keyboardspeler bij Jastreb dat in 2012 werd opgericht. Blijkbaar heeft die band geen gebrek aan inspiratie, Orient And Occident is inmiddels de derde plaat.

The Island is een song die zich traag voortsleept, iedere noot wordt met de seconde intenser en soms heb je het gevoel alsof Jim Morrison vanuit zijn graf meezingt, hoewel het Lina Baby Doll is, de bezieler van Deutsch Nepal.

De extravagante discokoningin Amanda Lear linken we niet meteen aan psychedelische muziek, toch heeft Jastreb een song over deze diva gecomponeerd. Het vioolgeluid van Adam Cadell is ronduit psychotisch, het klinkt als een intens ritueel waaruit je niet kan ontsnappen.

Ook Pasolini is belangrijk genoeg om een song over te schrijven. Het is het traagste lied op deze cd. De klagerige (hartbrekende) stem past perfect bij het spannende samenspel tussen de vioolklanken en de bas van Gordan Tomic.

In de afsluiter Let Go zijn het vooral de drums van Blake Fleming die op de voorgrond treden. Het is de meest experimentele track op deze release zonder dat men ook maar één keer de pedalen verliest.

Orient And Occident is een absolute aanrader die ergens het midden houdt tussen klassieke (vaak experimentele) psychedelica en het mystieke geluid van Cold Meat Industry (wellicht zeggen we dat gewoon wegens Lina Baby Doll). Een ijzersterke release.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ROLF TROSTEL • Two Faces
SIGFRIED BURROUGHS (ONMENS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROISIN MURPHY • Take Her Up To Monto
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
JAYE LEIGH VINCENT (TORQUE ORDER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VICTOR VERZIJL (LA LUNE NOIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PALE THORNS • Somberland
JJD (SOFT RIOT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MESH • Kill Your Darlings
CLAUDIA NOTTEBELLA (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves
SUUNS • Hold/Still
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
THE TELESCOPES • Hidden Fields
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets