tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : JASTREB - Orient And Occident

JASTREB

Orient And Occident

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalKrautrockPsych RockSpacerock

[79/100]   

Hau Ruck!
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In recent years Albin Julius sold his heart to psychedelic music, and his brainchild Der Blutharsh went from neo-folk to psychedelic krautrock. He is also involved in other projects. He is the keyboard player of Jastreb, founded in 2012. Apparently, that band has a lot of inspiration, as Orient And Occident is the third album.

The Island is a slow song, every note is emphasized and sometimes you get the impression that Jim Morrison is singing from his grave, although the vocals are by Lina Baby Doll, the founder of Deutsch Nepal.

Amanda Lear and psychedelic music is a strange combination, but the band composed a song about the extravagant disco queen: Amanda Lear. Adam Cadell's violins sound psychotic, the song sounds like an intense and inescapable ritual.

Pasolini is also important enough to be the subject of a song. It's the slowest track on the CD. The plaintive (almost heartbreaking) voice blends perfectly with the exciting interplay between the violins and Gordan Tomic's bass.

In the end track Let Go, Blake Fleming's drums come to the fore. It is the most experimental track on this release, but it always keeps structure.

Orient And Occident is an absolute must, a perfect midway between traditional (often experimental) psychedelics and the mystical sound of Cold Meat Industry (we probably say that because of Lina Baby Doll). A great release.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De fans weten het natuurlijk al een hele poos: de laatste jaren heeft Albin Julius zich volledig op psychedelica gestort.Zijn geesteskind Der Blutharsh evolueerde van neo-folk tot psychedelische krautrock. Julius is ook bij andere projecten betrokken, bijv. als keyboardspeler bij Jastreb dat in 2012 werd opgericht. Blijkbaar heeft die band geen gebrek aan inspiratie, Orient And Occident is inmiddels de derde plaat.

The Island is een song die zich traag voortsleept, iedere noot wordt met de seconde intenser en soms heb je het gevoel alsof Jim Morrison vanuit zijn graf meezingt, hoewel het Lina Baby Doll is, de bezieler van Deutsch Nepal.

De extravagante discokoningin Amanda Lear linken we niet meteen aan psychedelische muziek, toch heeft Jastreb een song over deze diva gecomponeerd. Het vioolgeluid van Adam Cadell is ronduit psychotisch, het klinkt als een intens ritueel waaruit je niet kan ontsnappen.

Ook Pasolini is belangrijk genoeg om een song over te schrijven. Het is het traagste lied op deze cd. De klagerige (hartbrekende) stem past perfect bij het spannende samenspel tussen de vioolklanken en de bas van Gordan Tomic.

In de afsluiter Let Go zijn het vooral de drums van Blake Fleming die op de voorgrond treden. Het is de meest experimentele track op deze release zonder dat men ook maar één keer de pedalen verliest.

Orient And Occident is een absolute aanrader die ergens het midden houdt tussen klassieke (vaak experimentele) psychedelica en het mystieke geluid van Cold Meat Industry (wellicht zeggen we dat gewoon wegens Lina Baby Doll). Een ijzersterke release.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ROLF TROSTEL • Two Faces
SIGFRIED BURROUGHS (ONMENS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROISIN MURPHY • Take Her Up To Monto
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
JAYE LEIGH VINCENT (TORQUE ORDER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VICTOR VERZIJL (LA LUNE NOIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PALE THORNS • Somberland
JJD (SOFT RIOT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MESH • Kill Your Darlings
CLAUDIA NOTTEBELLA (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
MOTOR!K • Motor!k
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves
SUUNS • Hold/Still

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
THE TELESCOPES • Hidden Fields
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
02
Today it's exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 2 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 43 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
This Charming Band | 37 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album
19
02
Gothic Industrial Band BATAVIA Unveils Remix Album, Batavia And Their Friends
18
02
Dissonance's New Single, 'Damage: First Assault' Ft. Melodywhore out NOW

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp
25
02
NEW ORDER
Regret
24
02
MANDIVULA
GHSTNG
23
02
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Nag Nag Nag
22
02
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
21
02
SCHWEFELGELB
Zu Zweit