tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : JASTREB - Orient And Occident

JASTREB

Orient And Occident

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalKrautrockPsych RockSpacerock

[79/100]   

Hau Ruck!
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In recent years Albin Julius sold his heart to psychedelic music, and his brainchild Der Blutharsh went from neo-folk to psychedelic krautrock. He is also involved in other projects. He is the keyboard player of Jastreb, founded in 2012. Apparently, that band has a lot of inspiration, as Orient And Occident is the third album.

The Island is a slow song, every note is emphasized and sometimes you get the impression that Jim Morrison is singing from his grave, although the vocals are by Lina Baby Doll, the founder of Deutsch Nepal.

Amanda Lear and psychedelic music is a strange combination, but the band composed a song about the extravagant disco queen: Amanda Lear. Adam Cadell's violins sound psychotic, the song sounds like an intense and inescapable ritual.

Pasolini is also important enough to be the subject of a song. It's the slowest track on the CD. The plaintive (almost heartbreaking) voice blends perfectly with the exciting interplay between the violins and Gordan Tomic's bass.

In the end track Let Go, Blake Fleming's drums come to the fore. It is the most experimental track on this release, but it always keeps structure.

Orient And Occident is an absolute must, a perfect midway between traditional (often experimental) psychedelics and the mystical sound of Cold Meat Industry (we probably say that because of Lina Baby Doll). A great release.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De fans weten het natuurlijk al een hele poos: de laatste jaren heeft Albin Julius zich volledig op psychedelica gestort.Zijn geesteskind Der Blutharsh evolueerde van neo-folk tot psychedelische krautrock. Julius is ook bij andere projecten betrokken, bijv. als keyboardspeler bij Jastreb dat in 2012 werd opgericht. Blijkbaar heeft die band geen gebrek aan inspiratie, Orient And Occident is inmiddels de derde plaat.

The Island is een song die zich traag voortsleept, iedere noot wordt met de seconde intenser en soms heb je het gevoel alsof Jim Morrison vanuit zijn graf meezingt, hoewel het Lina Baby Doll is, de bezieler van Deutsch Nepal.

De extravagante discokoningin Amanda Lear linken we niet meteen aan psychedelische muziek, toch heeft Jastreb een song over deze diva gecomponeerd. Het vioolgeluid van Adam Cadell is ronduit psychotisch, het klinkt als een intens ritueel waaruit je niet kan ontsnappen.

Ook Pasolini is belangrijk genoeg om een song over te schrijven. Het is het traagste lied op deze cd. De klagerige (hartbrekende) stem past perfect bij het spannende samenspel tussen de vioolklanken en de bas van Gordan Tomic.

In de afsluiter Let Go zijn het vooral de drums van Blake Fleming die op de voorgrond treden. Het is de meest experimentele track op deze release zonder dat men ook maar één keer de pedalen verliest.

Orient And Occident is een absolute aanrader die ergens het midden houdt tussen klassieke (vaak experimentele) psychedelica en het mystieke geluid van Cold Meat Industry (wellicht zeggen we dat gewoon wegens Lina Baby Doll). Een ijzersterke release.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ROLF TROSTEL • Two Faces
SIGFRIED BURROUGHS (ONMENS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROISIN MURPHY • Take Her Up To Monto
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
JAYE LEIGH VINCENT (TORQUE ORDER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VICTOR VERZIJL (LA LUNE NOIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PALE THORNS • Somberland
JJD (SOFT RIOT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MESH • Kill Your Darlings
CLAUDIA NOTTEBELLA (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves
SUUNS • Hold/Still
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988
DIE KRUPPS • Stahlwerk Requiem

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
THE TELESCOPES • Hidden Fields
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice