tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : JASTREB - Orient And Occident

JASTREB

Orient And Occident

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalKrautrockPsych RockSpacerock

[79/100]   

Hau Ruck!
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

In recent years Albin Julius sold his heart to psychedelic music, and his brainchild Der Blutharsh went from neo-folk to psychedelic krautrock. He is also involved in other projects. He is the keyboard player of Jastreb, founded in 2012. Apparently, that band has a lot of inspiration, as Orient And Occident is the third album.

The Island is a slow song, every note is emphasized and sometimes you get the impression that Jim Morrison is singing from his grave, although the vocals are by Lina Baby Doll, the founder of Deutsch Nepal.

Amanda Lear and psychedelic music is a strange combination, but the band composed a song about the extravagant disco queen: Amanda Lear. Adam Cadell's violins sound psychotic, the song sounds like an intense and inescapable ritual.

Pasolini is also important enough to be the subject of a song. It's the slowest track on the CD. The plaintive (almost heartbreaking) voice blends perfectly with the exciting interplay between the violins and Gordan Tomic's bass.

In the end track Let Go, Blake Fleming's drums come to the fore. It is the most experimental track on this release, but it always keeps structure.

Orient And Occident is an absolute must, a perfect midway between traditional (often experimental) psychedelics and the mystical sound of Cold Meat Industry (we probably say that because of Lina Baby Doll). A great release.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

De fans weten het natuurlijk al een hele poos: de laatste jaren heeft Albin Julius zich volledig op psychedelica gestort.Zijn geesteskind Der Blutharsh evolueerde van neo-folk tot psychedelische krautrock. Julius is ook bij andere projecten betrokken, bijv. als keyboardspeler bij Jastreb dat in 2012 werd opgericht. Blijkbaar heeft die band geen gebrek aan inspiratie, Orient And Occident is inmiddels de derde plaat.

The Island is een song die zich traag voortsleept, iedere noot wordt met de seconde intenser en soms heb je het gevoel alsof Jim Morrison vanuit zijn graf meezingt, hoewel het Lina Baby Doll is, de bezieler van Deutsch Nepal.

De extravagante discokoningin Amanda Lear linken we niet meteen aan psychedelische muziek, toch heeft Jastreb een song over deze diva gecomponeerd. Het vioolgeluid van Adam Cadell is ronduit psychotisch, het klinkt als een intens ritueel waaruit je niet kan ontsnappen.

Ook Pasolini is belangrijk genoeg om een song over te schrijven. Het is het traagste lied op deze cd. De klagerige (hartbrekende) stem past perfect bij het spannende samenspel tussen de vioolklanken en de bas van Gordan Tomic.

In de afsluiter Let Go zijn het vooral de drums van Blake Fleming die op de voorgrond treden. Het is de meest experimentele track op deze release zonder dat men ook maar één keer de pedalen verliest.

Orient And Occident is een absolute aanrader die ergens het midden houdt tussen klassieke (vaak experimentele) psychedelica en het mystieke geluid van Cold Meat Industry (wellicht zeggen we dat gewoon wegens Lina Baby Doll). Een ijzersterke release.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
ROLF TROSTEL • Two Faces
SIGFRIED BURROUGHS (ONMENS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ROISIN MURPHY • Take Her Up To Monto
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
JAYE LEIGH VINCENT (TORQUE ORDER) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
VICTOR VERZIJL (LA LUNE NOIRE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PALE THORNS • Somberland
JJD (SOFT RIOT) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
MESH • Kill Your Darlings
CLAUDIA NOTTEBELLA (ASH CODE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves
SUUNS • Hold/Still
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988
DIE KRUPPS • Stahlwerk Requiem
WOLVENNEST • Wolvennest Featuring Der Blutharsch And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand

 

Same genre: PSYCH ROCK
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD • Murder Of The Universe
GOLDEN APES • Malus
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
DOMADORA • The Violent Mystical Sukuma
OS NOCTAMBULOS • Stranger
AHRAYEPH • Desert Songs
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • The Wolvennest Sessions
DAVID BOWIE • Five Years 1969 - 1973
RADAR MEN FROM THE MOON • Subversive I

 

Same genre: SPACEROCK
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven
THE TELESCOPES • Hidden Fields
CAUDAL • Ascension
PARáRA
DER BLUTHARSCH • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 15th March 2012

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading