tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CAMERA - Phantom Of Liberty

CAMERA

Phantom Of Liberty

MusicCD
Krautrock

[80/100]   

Bureau B
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

On this their third album, Berliners Camera set out their stall and statement of intent straight from the off with the relentless Affenfaust. Literally meaning Monkey Fist, it could also be a homage to Hamburg's contemporary art gallery.

This is (ahem) power-kraut in its finest form - remember Portishead's superb The Rip from their third full-length outing? This track and the following Fröhlichkeit exude all the qualities of the likes of Can and Neu, without paying any amount of fawning homage yet keeping the spirit of their peers well and truly alive.

Phantom of Liberty isn't all about progressive rock however - it's a fascinating travelogue that encompasses influences from across Europe. An element of the Med creeps into the hypnotic Festus while Reindenken/Raus has hallmarks of Scandinavian jazz coursing through its veins - ECM anyone?

Typically though, Ildefons and Tjamahal certainly have the Can influence in tow and Nevernine takes the whole ethos of Germanic rock n roll that bit further with its propulsive beats and riffs. Closer Tribal Mango fuses found-sounds and a Joy Division-esque riff to produce the album's most eerie outtake.

Considering Bureau B's usual quality control, I'm not a fan of the album's sleeve in the slightest - but the music represents some of the label's finest moments yet.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected