tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CAMERA - Phantom Of Liberty

CAMERA

Phantom Of Liberty

MusicCD
Krautrock

[80/100]   

Bureau B
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

On this their third album, Berliners Camera set out their stall and statement of intent straight from the off with the relentless Affenfaust. Literally meaning Monkey Fist, it could also be a homage to Hamburg's contemporary art gallery.

This is (ahem) power-kraut in its finest form - remember Portishead's superb The Rip from their third full-length outing? This track and the following Fröhlichkeit exude all the qualities of the likes of Can and Neu, without paying any amount of fawning homage yet keeping the spirit of their peers well and truly alive.

Phantom of Liberty isn't all about progressive rock however - it's a fascinating travelogue that encompasses influences from across Europe. An element of the Med creeps into the hypnotic Festus while Reindenken/Raus has hallmarks of Scandinavian jazz coursing through its veins - ECM anyone?

Typically though, Ildefons and Tjamahal certainly have the Can influence in tow and Nevernine takes the whole ethos of Germanic rock n roll that bit further with its propulsive beats and riffs. Closer Tribal Mango fuses found-sounds and a Joy Division-esque riff to produce the album's most eerie outtake.

Considering Bureau B's usual quality control, I'm not a fan of the album's sleeve in the slightest - but the music represents some of the label's finest moments yet.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl