tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : CAMERA - Phantom Of Liberty

CAMERA

Phantom Of Liberty

MusicCD
Krautrock

[80/100]   

Bureau B
10/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

On this their third album, Berliners Camera set out their stall and statement of intent straight from the off with the relentless Affenfaust. Literally meaning Monkey Fist, it could also be a homage to Hamburg's contemporary art gallery.

This is (ahem) power-kraut in its finest form - remember Portishead's superb The Rip from their third full-length outing? This track and the following Fröhlichkeit exude all the qualities of the likes of Can and Neu, without paying any amount of fawning homage yet keeping the spirit of their peers well and truly alive.

Phantom of Liberty isn't all about progressive rock however - it's a fascinating travelogue that encompasses influences from across Europe. An element of the Med creeps into the hypnotic Festus while Reindenken/Raus has hallmarks of Scandinavian jazz coursing through its veins - ECM anyone?

Typically though, Ildefons and Tjamahal certainly have the Can influence in tow and Nevernine takes the whole ethos of Germanic rock n roll that bit further with its propulsive beats and riffs. Closer Tribal Mango fuses found-sounds and a Joy Division-esque riff to produce the album's most eerie outtake.

Considering Bureau B's usual quality control, I'm not a fan of the album's sleeve in the slightest - but the music represents some of the label's finest moments yet.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
10/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice