tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL - Hoopsnake

ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL

Hoopsnake

MusicCD
KrautrockPsych Rock

[84/100]   

Fuzz Club
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

Psych rock is back. I has never been away, but the current scene hosts so many excellent acts, that the genre is more alive than when it was hip to grow long grey beards and dress like a gnome.

This London-based band already released two albums on Genepool Records (a label that is linked to Universal), but the newest record, that actually looks more like an old Section 25 album, is out on Fuzz Club.

It’s quite impressive when you see how many people were involved in this band (then again, One Unique Signal is already around for more than a decade), but today, Dan Davis, Byron Jackson and Nick Keech are responsible for the harsh psychedelic noises.

If you’re looking for a three minute pop song, you better not start unfolding the plastic package because you will think that One Unique Signal is boring. The band didn’t even give its songs a proper titles. You have to be satisfied with titles like HS 01, HS 02, HS 03 and HS04. Easy to remember, but it’s difficult to keep the tunes in your head.

Each of the songs is over ten minutes long and it feels like something is happening every second. In fact, if you think about it, something has to happen in every second when you’re listening to music, but that’s another matter.

At first hearing, you get the impression that the songs are improvised, but they are all well constructed with snippets of industrial, krautrock, psychedelics and post rock. Now and then you hear some vocals, not that you will understand what they’re singing about.

The aggressive tone reminds us a lot of La Muerte or the Belgian Wolvennest, but you actually hear Hawkind, Einsturzende Neubauten, Sun O))) or Can in it.

Saying that the music is easy would be a joke, but if you have an open (say sick) mind, then you will get the essence from the early start. After all, some people will never understand a band One Unique Signal that can f*** up your mind. The music is like having a trip, as if you have swallowed tons of pills: it puts your head on an uncontrolled roller coaster. You’ll hear many emotions: anger, aggression, fear,... but no happiness.

Excellent, we say. Music we absolutely like!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo