tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SUUNS - Hold/Still

SUUNS

Hold/Still

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndieKrautrock

[88/100]   

Jagjaguwar
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

2016 is not exactly the best music year. The man with the white beard takes away all the music gods, but at the same time we are overwhelmed by many super bands and this year's darkest records comes from the indie world. Previously, we mentioned the new The KVB and the enchanting Is The Is Are by DIIV, now we add the third CD of the Canadian Suuns.

The quartet from Montreal went to Texas for recording the new album and worked with producer John Congleton, who did wonderful things with Swans and The War On Drugs. Suuns sees Hold/Still as a new chapter, and although you hear the typical melancholic sound of the previous records, these 11 tracks are an unique blend of shoegaze, electronica and krautrock.

Suuns is not the kind of band that is looking for the ideal radio hit, because thert is none on Hold/Still. However, from the first tones of Fall (think of a jam session of My Bloody Valentine), you’re sucked into a special and very dark world.

Track after track you discover other influences, Instrument gets some electronics, and even though Suuns has probably never heard of them, this is still pure Haus Arafna.

Un-No is doomy, while Resistance is electronics with krautrock influences, which you also will hear in Mortise And Tenon as well. There is even experimenting, just listen to Brainwash.

You want more influences? How about the Television-like Paralyzer or Translate, on which you get tyhe impression that Kim Gordon is playing.

for those who only read the conclusion of a review: Hold/Still has to be in your collection, now!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

2016 is niet bepaald het leukste muziekjaar. De man met de witte baard in de hemel roept de muziekgoden één voor één tot zich. Tegelijkertijd worden we overweldigd door massa’s bands die kwaliteit leveren en de donkerste platen vind je dit jaar in de indiewereld. Eerder was er de nieuwe van The KVBe en het betoverende Is The Is Are van DIIV. We voegen daar hun ook maar de derde cd van de Canadese Suuns aan toe.

Het viertal uit Montreal trok voor zijn nieuwe plaat naar Texas voor een samenwerking met producer John Congleton die al mooie dingen deed met Swans en The War On Drugs. Suuns ziet Hold/Still als een nieuw hoofdstuk, en hoewel je er de typische zware melancholie van de vorige platen in hoort, bieden deze 11 tracks je toch een unieke mix van shoegaze, elektronica en krautrock.

Suuns is niet het soort band dat op zoek is naar de ideale radiohit, want die vind je op Hold/Still niet. Wel word je vanaf de eerste tonen van Fall (denk aan een uit de hand gelopen jampartij van My Bloody Valentine) meegezogen in een aparte, uiterst duistere wereld.

Track na track hoor je dat er andere invloeden bijkomen. Zo krijgt het beklemmende Instrument een vleugje elektronica, en ook al heeft Suuns er wellicht nog nooit van gehoord, is dit pure Haus Arafna.

Het blijft lekker doomy op Un-No, terwijl Resistance onweerstaanbare spielerei met elektronica is. Krautrock dus... een invloed die je op Mortise And Tenon nog meer hoort. Er wordt ook geëxperimenteerd, luister gewoon naar Brainwash.

Wil je nog meer invloeden? Wat dacht je van het Television-achtige Translate of Paralyzer, waarop het lijkt alsof Kim Gordon meespeelt.

Voor wie alleen maar de conclusie van een recensie leest: geef Hold/Still een plaats in je platenkast, nu!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
THE BENZENE RING • Crossing The Divide
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
INWOLVES • Involves
DIAMANDA GALAS • Gent, Handelsbeurs (20/04/16)
SERATONES • Get Gone
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
FENCE • The Winding
SPIELBANN • Wiedergänger
THE POSIES • Solid States
TIDES FROM NEBULA • Safehaven

 

Other reviews from SUUNS
SUUNS • Brussels, Botanique (22/05/2016)

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same genre: INDIE
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot
05
05
LA LUNE NOIRE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death
13
05
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning