tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SUUNS - Hold/Still

SUUNS

Hold/Still

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndieKrautrock

[88/100]   

Jagjaguwar
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

2016 is not exactly the best music year. The man with the white beard takes away all the music gods, but at the same time we are overwhelmed by many super bands and this year's darkest records comes from the indie world. Previously, we mentioned the new The KVB and the enchanting Is The Is Are by DIIV, now we add the third CD of the Canadian Suuns.

The quartet from Montreal went to Texas for recording the new album and worked with producer John Congleton, who did wonderful things with Swans and The War On Drugs. Suuns sees Hold/Still as a new chapter, and although you hear the typical melancholic sound of the previous records, these 11 tracks are an unique blend of shoegaze, electronica and krautrock.

Suuns is not the kind of band that is looking for the ideal radio hit, because thert is none on Hold/Still. However, from the first tones of Fall (think of a jam session of My Bloody Valentine), you’re sucked into a special and very dark world.

Track after track you discover other influences, Instrument gets some electronics, and even though Suuns has probably never heard of them, this is still pure Haus Arafna.

Un-No is doomy, while Resistance is electronics with krautrock influences, which you also will hear in Mortise And Tenon as well. There is even experimenting, just listen to Brainwash.

You want more influences? How about the Television-like Paralyzer or Translate, on which you get tyhe impression that Kim Gordon is playing.

for those who only read the conclusion of a review: Hold/Still has to be in your collection, now!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

2016 is niet bepaald het leukste muziekjaar. De man met de witte baard in de hemel roept de muziekgoden één voor één tot zich. Tegelijkertijd worden we overweldigd door massa’s bands die kwaliteit leveren en de donkerste platen vind je dit jaar in de indiewereld. Eerder was er de nieuwe van The KVBe en het betoverende Is The Is Are van DIIV. We voegen daar hun ook maar de derde cd van de Canadese Suuns aan toe.

Het viertal uit Montreal trok voor zijn nieuwe plaat naar Texas voor een samenwerking met producer John Congleton die al mooie dingen deed met Swans en The War On Drugs. Suuns ziet Hold/Still als een nieuw hoofdstuk, en hoewel je er de typische zware melancholie van de vorige platen in hoort, bieden deze 11 tracks je toch een unieke mix van shoegaze, elektronica en krautrock.

Suuns is niet het soort band dat op zoek is naar de ideale radiohit, want die vind je op Hold/Still niet. Wel word je vanaf de eerste tonen van Fall (denk aan een uit de hand gelopen jampartij van My Bloody Valentine) meegezogen in een aparte, uiterst duistere wereld.

Track na track hoor je dat er andere invloeden bijkomen. Zo krijgt het beklemmende Instrument een vleugje elektronica, en ook al heeft Suuns er wellicht nog nooit van gehoord, is dit pure Haus Arafna.

Het blijft lekker doomy op Un-No, terwijl Resistance onweerstaanbare spielerei met elektronica is. Krautrock dus... een invloed die je op Mortise And Tenon nog meer hoort. Er wordt ook geëxperimenteerd, luister gewoon naar Brainwash.

Wil je nog meer invloeden? Wat dacht je van het Television-achtige Translate of Paralyzer, waarop het lijkt alsof Kim Gordon meespeelt.

Voor wie alleen maar de conclusie van een recensie leest: geef Hold/Still een plaats in je platenkast, nu!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)