tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SUUNS - Hold/Still

SUUNS

Hold/Still

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndieKrautrock

[88/100]   

Jagjaguwar
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

2016 is not exactly the best music year. The man with the white beard takes away all the music gods, but at the same time we are overwhelmed by many super bands and this year's darkest records comes from the indie world. Previously, we mentioned the new The KVB and the enchanting Is The Is Are by DIIV, now we add the third CD of the Canadian Suuns.

The quartet from Montreal went to Texas for recording the new album and worked with producer John Congleton, who did wonderful things with Swans and The War On Drugs. Suuns sees Hold/Still as a new chapter, and although you hear the typical melancholic sound of the previous records, these 11 tracks are an unique blend of shoegaze, electronica and krautrock.

Suuns is not the kind of band that is looking for the ideal radio hit, because thert is none on Hold/Still. However, from the first tones of Fall (think of a jam session of My Bloody Valentine), you’re sucked into a special and very dark world.

Track after track you discover other influences, Instrument gets some electronics, and even though Suuns has probably never heard of them, this is still pure Haus Arafna.

Un-No is doomy, while Resistance is electronics with krautrock influences, which you also will hear in Mortise And Tenon as well. There is even experimenting, just listen to Brainwash.

You want more influences? How about the Television-like Paralyzer or Translate, on which you get tyhe impression that Kim Gordon is playing.

for those who only read the conclusion of a review: Hold/Still has to be in your collection, now!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

2016 is niet bepaald het leukste muziekjaar. De man met de witte baard in de hemel roept de muziekgoden één voor één tot zich. Tegelijkertijd worden we overweldigd door massa’s bands die kwaliteit leveren en de donkerste platen vind je dit jaar in de indiewereld. Eerder was er de nieuwe van The KVBe en het betoverende Is The Is Are van DIIV. We voegen daar hun ook maar de derde cd van de Canadese Suuns aan toe.

Het viertal uit Montreal trok voor zijn nieuwe plaat naar Texas voor een samenwerking met producer John Congleton die al mooie dingen deed met Swans en The War On Drugs. Suuns ziet Hold/Still als een nieuw hoofdstuk, en hoewel je er de typische zware melancholie van de vorige platen in hoort, bieden deze 11 tracks je toch een unieke mix van shoegaze, elektronica en krautrock.

Suuns is niet het soort band dat op zoek is naar de ideale radiohit, want die vind je op Hold/Still niet. Wel word je vanaf de eerste tonen van Fall (denk aan een uit de hand gelopen jampartij van My Bloody Valentine) meegezogen in een aparte, uiterst duistere wereld.

Track na track hoor je dat er andere invloeden bijkomen. Zo krijgt het beklemmende Instrument een vleugje elektronica, en ook al heeft Suuns er wellicht nog nooit van gehoord, is dit pure Haus Arafna.

Het blijft lekker doomy op Un-No, terwijl Resistance onweerstaanbare spielerei met elektronica is. Krautrock dus... een invloed die je op Mortise And Tenon nog meer hoort. Er wordt ook geëxperimenteerd, luister gewoon naar Brainwash.

Wil je nog meer invloeden? Wat dacht je van het Television-achtige Translate of Paralyzer, waarop het lijkt alsof Kim Gordon meespeelt.

Voor wie alleen maar de conclusie van een recensie leest: geef Hold/Still een plaats in je platenkast, nu!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR