tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SUUNS - Hold/Still

SUUNS

Hold/Still

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndieKrautrock

[88/100]   

Jagjaguwar
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

2016 is not exactly the best music year. The man with the white beard takes away all the music gods, but at the same time we are overwhelmed by many super bands and this year's darkest records comes from the indie world. Previously, we mentioned the new The KVB and the enchanting Is The Is Are by DIIV, now we add the third CD of the Canadian Suuns.

The quartet from Montreal went to Texas for recording the new album and worked with producer John Congleton, who did wonderful things with Swans and The War On Drugs. Suuns sees Hold/Still as a new chapter, and although you hear the typical melancholic sound of the previous records, these 11 tracks are an unique blend of shoegaze, electronica and krautrock.

Suuns is not the kind of band that is looking for the ideal radio hit, because thert is none on Hold/Still. However, from the first tones of Fall (think of a jam session of My Bloody Valentine), you’re sucked into a special and very dark world.

Track after track you discover other influences, Instrument gets some electronics, and even though Suuns has probably never heard of them, this is still pure Haus Arafna.

Un-No is doomy, while Resistance is electronics with krautrock influences, which you also will hear in Mortise And Tenon as well. There is even experimenting, just listen to Brainwash.

You want more influences? How about the Television-like Paralyzer or Translate, on which you get tyhe impression that Kim Gordon is playing.

for those who only read the conclusion of a review: Hold/Still has to be in your collection, now!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

2016 is niet bepaald het leukste muziekjaar. De man met de witte baard in de hemel roept de muziekgoden één voor één tot zich. Tegelijkertijd worden we overweldigd door massa’s bands die kwaliteit leveren en de donkerste platen vind je dit jaar in de indiewereld. Eerder was er de nieuwe van The KVBe en het betoverende Is The Is Are van DIIV. We voegen daar hun ook maar de derde cd van de Canadese Suuns aan toe.

Het viertal uit Montreal trok voor zijn nieuwe plaat naar Texas voor een samenwerking met producer John Congleton die al mooie dingen deed met Swans en The War On Drugs. Suuns ziet Hold/Still als een nieuw hoofdstuk, en hoewel je er de typische zware melancholie van de vorige platen in hoort, bieden deze 11 tracks je toch een unieke mix van shoegaze, elektronica en krautrock.

Suuns is niet het soort band dat op zoek is naar de ideale radiohit, want die vind je op Hold/Still niet. Wel word je vanaf de eerste tonen van Fall (denk aan een uit de hand gelopen jampartij van My Bloody Valentine) meegezogen in een aparte, uiterst duistere wereld.

Track na track hoor je dat er andere invloeden bijkomen. Zo krijgt het beklemmende Instrument een vleugje elektronica, en ook al heeft Suuns er wellicht nog nooit van gehoord, is dit pure Haus Arafna.

Het blijft lekker doomy op Un-No, terwijl Resistance onweerstaanbare spielerei met elektronica is. Krautrock dus... een invloed die je op Mortise And Tenon nog meer hoort. Er wordt ook geëxperimenteerd, luister gewoon naar Brainwash.

Wil je nog meer invloeden? Wat dacht je van het Television-achtige Translate of Paralyzer, waarop het lijkt alsof Kim Gordon meespeelt.

Voor wie alleen maar de conclusie van een recensie leest: geef Hold/Still een plaats in je platenkast, nu!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido