tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SPIELBANN - Wiedergänger

SPIELBANN

Wiedergänger

MusicCD
Goth MetalNeue Deutsche Härte

[74/100]   

Trisol
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you are not a German and you know who Spielbann is, then you know quite a lot about gothic. Well goth, it all sounds dark, but this band from Saarbrücken flirts on its album (which by the way has been released in a beautiful digipack) with traditional goth metal and Neue Deutsche Härte.

The group has been around since 2000 and Wiedergänger is the fourth album (released on the big Trisol label). It’s a kind of special album, because in addition to some reworked versions, it contains live performances of songs that were featured on the two previous albums (Schwesterchen Frost and In Gedenken).

The lyrics are in German and therefore mainly focused on the German market, but goth fans who like the harder work, definitely will enjoy this. At least, if you like Umbra Et Imago, because if you can forget the explicit erotic texts, then Spielbahn sounds indeed a lot like Mozart’s group, and we simply like that!

The songs are easy to listen to, and in some way a track like Feuerteufel can be described as a sing-along. Sometimes the heavy keyboards give the music an extra melancholic mood, as in Phantomeschmerz. A nice discovery for goth lovers who love German music.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Indien je geen Duitser bent en toch weet wie Spielbann is, dan weet je inderdaad heel wat van gothic af. Nou ja, gothic, het klinkt allemaal donker, maar de band uit Saarbrücken flirt op deze plaat (die trouwens in een prachtig digipack is uitgebracht) met traditionele gothmetal en Neue Deutsche Härte.

De groep is al bezig sinds 2000 en Wiedergänger is het vierde album dat wordt uitgebracht op het grote Trisol-label. Niet zo maar een gewoon album, want naast herwerkte versies, hoor je ook live-uitvoeringen van songs die op de beide vorige albums staan(Schwesterchen Frost en In Gedenken).

De teksten zijn helemaal in het Duits en dus voornamelijk op de Duitse markt gericht, maar gothliefhebbers die van het hardere werk houden, zullen er plezier aan beleven. Ten minste, als je van Umbra Et Imago houdt, want op de expliciete erotische teksten na, klinkt Spielbahn net zoals de groep Mozart, zonder dat er een afkooksel van te zijn.

De nummers liggen gemakkelijk in het gehoor en Feuerteufel mag je gerust als een meezinger bestempelen. Soms zorgen de zware keyboards voor een melancholische sfeer, zoals in Phantomeschmerz.

Een leuke ontdekking dus voor gothliefhebbers die gek zijn op Duitse muziek.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet