tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SPIELBANN - Wiedergänger

SPIELBANN

Wiedergänger

MusicCD
Goth MetalNeue Deutsche Härte

[74/100]   

Trisol
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

If you are not a German and you know who Spielbann is, then you know quite a lot about gothic. Well goth, it all sounds dark, but this band from Saarbrücken flirts on its album (which by the way has been released in a beautiful digipack) with traditional goth metal and Neue Deutsche Härte.

The group has been around since 2000 and Wiedergänger is the fourth album (released on the big Trisol label). It’s a kind of special album, because in addition to some reworked versions, it contains live performances of songs that were featured on the two previous albums (Schwesterchen Frost and In Gedenken).

The lyrics are in German and therefore mainly focused on the German market, but goth fans who like the harder work, definitely will enjoy this. At least, if you like Umbra Et Imago, because if you can forget the explicit erotic texts, then Spielbahn sounds indeed a lot like Mozart’s group, and we simply like that!

The songs are easy to listen to, and in some way a track like Feuerteufel can be described as a sing-along. Sometimes the heavy keyboards give the music an extra melancholic mood, as in Phantomeschmerz. A nice discovery for goth lovers who love German music.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Indien je geen Duitser bent en toch weet wie Spielbann is, dan weet je inderdaad heel wat van gothic af. Nou ja, gothic, het klinkt allemaal donker, maar de band uit Saarbrücken flirt op deze plaat (die trouwens in een prachtig digipack is uitgebracht) met traditionele gothmetal en Neue Deutsche Härte.

De groep is al bezig sinds 2000 en Wiedergänger is het vierde album dat wordt uitgebracht op het grote Trisol-label. Niet zo maar een gewoon album, want naast herwerkte versies, hoor je ook live-uitvoeringen van songs die op de beide vorige albums staan(Schwesterchen Frost en In Gedenken).

De teksten zijn helemaal in het Duits en dus voornamelijk op de Duitse markt gericht, maar gothliefhebbers die van het hardere werk houden, zullen er plezier aan beleven. Ten minste, als je van Umbra Et Imago houdt, want op de expliciete erotische teksten na, klinkt Spielbahn net zoals de groep Mozart, zonder dat er een afkooksel van te zijn.

De nummers liggen gemakkelijk in het gehoor en Feuerteufel mag je gerust als een meezinger bestempelen. Soms zorgen de zware keyboards voor een melancholische sfeer, zoals in Phantomeschmerz.

Een leuke ontdekking dus voor gothliefhebbers die gek zijn op Duitse muziek.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger