tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

09/12/2016 : MANTUS - Refugium

MANTUS

Refugium

MusicCD
Dark WaveGoth MetalGothic

[85/100]   

Trisol
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The record starts with a bombastic overture: a violin and tragic keyboards.Is this heaven or rather the gate of hell? No, you just entered the universe of Mantus, the German band that celebrated its fifteenth anniversary last year and is formed by Martin Schindler and Chiara Amberia.

It remains difficult to describe the music of Mantus and that has everything to do with its diversity. In in Zwischen den Nächten we hear loud metal guitars, but the song fits more into the dark wave genre. Sometimes Martin is singing, and then you hear Chiara in the beautiful Niemals Genug. As a result of the heavy guitars it sounds like a schizophrenic song, and the melancholy keyboards make it impossible to label this as goth metal.

However, Mantus is a band with many faces. The clenched fist in the booklet is one of anger, you hear it in in Schande: Du bist die Schande des Planeten, Du gibst der Dummheit ein Gesicht...

No, Mantus is indeed a bunch of black souls, but it also hates the way things are going on our planet these days (Kampf der Kulturen).

Süsses Gift is again bombastic, while Gefangener has that typical Danse Macabre sound from the 90s: German music that makes you speechless.

Refugium has many highlights, but if I have to pick out one song then it’ll be Schliess Die Augen, or maybe the heart-breaking Welt In Flammen, in which Chiara’s heavenly vocals are perfectly combinated with the dark, almost tragic synth sounds.

The CD ends with the modest title track Refugium. The piano sound gives the song an almost Goethes Erben feel. Or no, let's keep it to Mantus, a unique band, and that is proven once again on this new record!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

De plaat begint met een bombastische ouverture: een viool en tragische keyboards? Treed je de hemel binnen of zijn het de poorten van de hel die opengaan? Nee, geen van beide, het is gewoon het universum dat Mantus heet: de Duitse band die vorig jaar zijn vijftiende verjaardag vierde en wordt gevormd door Martin Schindler en Chiara Amberia.

Het blijft moeilijk om de muziek van Mantus te omschrijven en dat heeft alles te maken met de diversiteit ervan. Zo hoor je in Zwischen den Nächten weliswaar luide metalgitaren, toch hoort de song eerder in het darkwavegenre thuis. Soms zingt Martin, dan is het weer Chiara, zoals op het prachtige Niemals Genug. Ook hier maakt het stevige gitaarwerk er een schizofrene song van. Door de melancholische keyboards kun je dit niet zo maar als gothmetal bestempelen.

Mantus is een band met vele gezichten. De gebalde vuist die je in het boekje ziet, is er één van woede, je hoort het in Schande: Du bist die Schande des Planeten, Du gibst der Dummheit ein Gesicht... Neen, Mantus is niet alleen zwarte zielen, het is ook helemaal niet te spreken over de manier waarop onze planeet draait (Kampf der Kulturen).

Süsses Gift is opnieuw wat bombastischer, terwijl Gefangener dat typische Danse Macabre-geluid uit de jaren 90 heeft: Duitstalige muziek waar je stil van wordt.

Refugium heeft heel wat hoogtepunten, maar als we er eentje uitpikken dan is het toch Schliess Die Augen, of is het toch het hartbrekende Welt In Flammen, waarin de hemelse vocalen van Chiara perfect worden begeleid door donkere, bijna tragische synthgeluiden.

De cd wordt afgesloten met de ingetogen titeltrack Refugium. De pianoklanken geven de song bijna een Goethes Erben-gevoel. Of neen, laten we het maar gewoon bij Mantus houden, een unieke band en dat wordt op deze nieuwe plaat nogmaals bewezen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
TACOCAT • Lost Time
CAWATANA • Decline Of Privileges
THE 1975 • I Like It When You Sleep, For You Are So Beautiful Yet So Unaware Of It
GREG LAKE • Remastered: Greg Lake (1981) en Manoeuvres (1983)
NIGHTMEN • Fifteen Minutes of Pain
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
TUXEDOMOON • Half-Mute
THE NAMES • Names In Mutation
HYSTERESIS • Hegemonia Cultural
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
DARKHER • Realms
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
RAMMSIER • Blackflowers EP

 

Same genre: GOTH METAL
CRADLE OF FILTH • Dusk And Her Embrace – The Original Sin
SHIVERBURN • Road To Somewhere
SPIELBANN • Wiedergänger
ANTIMATTER • Zoetermeer, De Boerderij (25/03/2016)
DOMINANZ • Noxious
VAN HALST • World of Make Believe
VALKYRE • Our Glorious Demise
ON THORNS I LAY • Eternal Silence
DAWN OF OBLIVION • Phoenix Rising
CANTERRA • First Escape

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)

Music reviews

17
12
STRONG PRODUCT
Product III
11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
01
no:carrier drops 'Lovesong' video, a cover of The Cure hit in collaboration with Mills and Nadia S.
31
12
Today 26 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Godhead!
27
12
Belgian EBM band Pro Patria is back after 20 years with a new album Back to Basics!
24
12
A Christmas gift... From Seadrake... to you!
23
12
Exactly one year ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Not the Actual Events'.
18
12
North American Industrial/Metal band Ministry announce new album with new single & video!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

28
12
NERVENBEISSER
‘WE'RE DOING OUR THING AND WE'LL KEEP IT THAT WAY’
26
12
MILDREDA
'It's is very nice feeling to let dark bombastic music hit an audience'
23
12
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
‘EVERYTHING IS FASCINATING IN DARKNESS’
21
12
SCANNER
‘FAILURE IS ALSO AN ESSENTIAL PART OF ANY SUCCESS’
19
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
'Everything I've learned I know from records... (though I often misheard the words)'

PHOTOS

12
01
DANIEL.B.PROTHESE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
12
01
NOTHING BUT NOISE
CC Het Gasthuis, Aarschot, Belgium
06
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
The Backpacker Bar Brussel
02
01
SALVATION
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
SKELETAL FAMILY
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
02
01
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
O2 Forum Kentish Town, London, UK
22
12
TJENS MATIC
@ C-Mine Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
01
WOUTER DEWIT
La durée. - Strings Version
16
01
NO!ON
6
15
01
JAPAN SUICIDE
Circle
14
01
COIL
Tattooed Man
13
01
VIIII
Fury
13
01
VOITH
A Christmas Eve In Berlin (Official Video)
12
01
REIZSTROM
Invisible Force