tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MANTUS - Refugium

MANTUS

Refugium

MusicCD
Dark WaveGoth MetalGothic

[85/100]   

Trisol
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The record starts with a bombastic overture: a violin and tragic keyboards.Is this heaven or rather the gate of hell? No, you just entered the universe of Mantus, the German band that celebrated its fifteenth anniversary last year and is formed by Martin Schindler and Chiara Amberia.

It remains difficult to describe the music of Mantus and that has everything to do with its diversity. In in Zwischen den Nächten we hear loud metal guitars, but the song fits more into the dark wave genre. Sometimes Martin is singing, and then you hear Chiara in the beautiful Niemals Genug. As a result of the heavy guitars it sounds like a schizophrenic song, and the melancholy keyboards make it impossible to label this as goth metal.

However, Mantus is a band with many faces. The clenched fist in the booklet is one of anger, you hear it in in Schande: Du bist die Schande des Planeten, Du gibst der Dummheit ein Gesicht...

No, Mantus is indeed a bunch of black souls, but it also hates the way things are going on our planet these days (Kampf der Kulturen).

Süsses Gift is again bombastic, while Gefangener has that typical Danse Macabre sound from the 90s: German music that makes you speechless.

Refugium has many highlights, but if I have to pick out one song then it’ll be Schliess Die Augen, or maybe the heart-breaking Welt In Flammen, in which Chiara’s heavenly vocals are perfectly combinated with the dark, almost tragic synth sounds.

The CD ends with the modest title track Refugium. The piano sound gives the song an almost Goethes Erben feel. Or no, let's keep it to Mantus, a unique band, and that is proven once again on this new record!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

De plaat begint met een bombastische ouverture: een viool en tragische keyboards? Treed je de hemel binnen of zijn het de poorten van de hel die opengaan? Nee, geen van beide, het is gewoon het universum dat Mantus heet: de Duitse band die vorig jaar zijn vijftiende verjaardag vierde en wordt gevormd door Martin Schindler en Chiara Amberia.

Het blijft moeilijk om de muziek van Mantus te omschrijven en dat heeft alles te maken met de diversiteit ervan. Zo hoor je in Zwischen den Nächten weliswaar luide metalgitaren, toch hoort de song eerder in het darkwavegenre thuis. Soms zingt Martin, dan is het weer Chiara, zoals op het prachtige Niemals Genug. Ook hier maakt het stevige gitaarwerk er een schizofrene song van. Door de melancholische keyboards kun je dit niet zo maar als gothmetal bestempelen.

Mantus is een band met vele gezichten. De gebalde vuist die je in het boekje ziet, is er één van woede, je hoort het in Schande: Du bist die Schande des Planeten, Du gibst der Dummheit ein Gesicht... Neen, Mantus is niet alleen zwarte zielen, het is ook helemaal niet te spreken over de manier waarop onze planeet draait (Kampf der Kulturen).

Süsses Gift is opnieuw wat bombastischer, terwijl Gefangener dat typische Danse Macabre-geluid uit de jaren 90 heeft: Duitstalige muziek waar je stil van wordt.

Refugium heeft heel wat hoogtepunten, maar als we er eentje uitpikken dan is het toch Schliess Die Augen, of is het toch het hartbrekende Welt In Flammen, waarin de hemelse vocalen van Chiara perfect worden begeleid door donkere, bijna tragische synthgeluiden.

De cd wordt afgesloten met de ingetogen titeltrack Refugium. De pianoklanken geven de song bijna een Goethes Erben-gevoel. Of neen, laten we het maar gewoon bij Mantus houden, een unieke band en dat wordt op deze nieuwe plaat nogmaals bewezen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
VIVE LA FETE
YOU CAN SLEEP IN MY BED
23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi