tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MANTUS - Refugium

MANTUS

Refugium

MusicCD
Dark WaveGoth MetalGothic

[85/100]   

Trisol
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The record starts with a bombastic overture: a violin and tragic keyboards.Is this heaven or rather the gate of hell? No, you just entered the universe of Mantus, the German band that celebrated its fifteenth anniversary last year and is formed by Martin Schindler and Chiara Amberia.

It remains difficult to describe the music of Mantus and that has everything to do with its diversity. In in Zwischen den Nächten we hear loud metal guitars, but the song fits more into the dark wave genre. Sometimes Martin is singing, and then you hear Chiara in the beautiful Niemals Genug. As a result of the heavy guitars it sounds like a schizophrenic song, and the melancholy keyboards make it impossible to label this as goth metal.

However, Mantus is a band with many faces. The clenched fist in the booklet is one of anger, you hear it in in Schande: Du bist die Schande des Planeten, Du gibst der Dummheit ein Gesicht...

No, Mantus is indeed a bunch of black souls, but it also hates the way things are going on our planet these days (Kampf der Kulturen).

Süsses Gift is again bombastic, while Gefangener has that typical Danse Macabre sound from the 90s: German music that makes you speechless.

Refugium has many highlights, but if I have to pick out one song then it’ll be Schliess Die Augen, or maybe the heart-breaking Welt In Flammen, in which Chiara’s heavenly vocals are perfectly combinated with the dark, almost tragic synth sounds.

The CD ends with the modest title track Refugium. The piano sound gives the song an almost Goethes Erben feel. Or no, let's keep it to Mantus, a unique band, and that is proven once again on this new record!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

De plaat begint met een bombastische ouverture: een viool en tragische keyboards? Treed je de hemel binnen of zijn het de poorten van de hel die opengaan? Nee, geen van beide, het is gewoon het universum dat Mantus heet: de Duitse band die vorig jaar zijn vijftiende verjaardag vierde en wordt gevormd door Martin Schindler en Chiara Amberia.

Het blijft moeilijk om de muziek van Mantus te omschrijven en dat heeft alles te maken met de diversiteit ervan. Zo hoor je in Zwischen den Nächten weliswaar luide metalgitaren, toch hoort de song eerder in het darkwavegenre thuis. Soms zingt Martin, dan is het weer Chiara, zoals op het prachtige Niemals Genug. Ook hier maakt het stevige gitaarwerk er een schizofrene song van. Door de melancholische keyboards kun je dit niet zo maar als gothmetal bestempelen.

Mantus is een band met vele gezichten. De gebalde vuist die je in het boekje ziet, is er één van woede, je hoort het in Schande: Du bist die Schande des Planeten, Du gibst der Dummheit ein Gesicht... Neen, Mantus is niet alleen zwarte zielen, het is ook helemaal niet te spreken over de manier waarop onze planeet draait (Kampf der Kulturen).

Süsses Gift is opnieuw wat bombastischer, terwijl Gefangener dat typische Danse Macabre-geluid uit de jaren 90 heeft: Duitstalige muziek waar je stil van wordt.

Refugium heeft heel wat hoogtepunten, maar als we er eentje uitpikken dan is het toch Schliess Die Augen, of is het toch het hartbrekende Welt In Flammen, waarin de hemelse vocalen van Chiara perfect worden begeleid door donkere, bijna tragische synthgeluiden.

De cd wordt afgesloten met de ingetogen titeltrack Refugium. De pianoklanken geven de song bijna een Goethes Erben-gevoel. Of neen, laten we het maar gewoon bij Mantus houden, een unieke band en dat wordt op deze nieuwe plaat nogmaals bewezen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag