tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : MANTUS - Refugium

MANTUS

Refugium

MusicCD
Dark WaveGoth MetalGothic

[85/100]   

Trisol
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The record starts with a bombastic overture: a violin and tragic keyboards.Is this heaven or rather the gate of hell? No, you just entered the universe of Mantus, the German band that celebrated its fifteenth anniversary last year and is formed by Martin Schindler and Chiara Amberia.

It remains difficult to describe the music of Mantus and that has everything to do with its diversity. In in Zwischen den Nächten we hear loud metal guitars, but the song fits more into the dark wave genre. Sometimes Martin is singing, and then you hear Chiara in the beautiful Niemals Genug. As a result of the heavy guitars it sounds like a schizophrenic song, and the melancholy keyboards make it impossible to label this as goth metal.

However, Mantus is a band with many faces. The clenched fist in the booklet is one of anger, you hear it in in Schande: Du bist die Schande des Planeten, Du gibst der Dummheit ein Gesicht...

No, Mantus is indeed a bunch of black souls, but it also hates the way things are going on our planet these days (Kampf der Kulturen).

Süsses Gift is again bombastic, while Gefangener has that typical Danse Macabre sound from the 90s: German music that makes you speechless.

Refugium has many highlights, but if I have to pick out one song then it’ll be Schliess Die Augen, or maybe the heart-breaking Welt In Flammen, in which Chiara’s heavenly vocals are perfectly combinated with the dark, almost tragic synth sounds.

The CD ends with the modest title track Refugium. The piano sound gives the song an almost Goethes Erben feel. Or no, let's keep it to Mantus, a unique band, and that is proven once again on this new record!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

De plaat begint met een bombastische ouverture: een viool en tragische keyboards? Treed je de hemel binnen of zijn het de poorten van de hel die opengaan? Nee, geen van beide, het is gewoon het universum dat Mantus heet: de Duitse band die vorig jaar zijn vijftiende verjaardag vierde en wordt gevormd door Martin Schindler en Chiara Amberia.

Het blijft moeilijk om de muziek van Mantus te omschrijven en dat heeft alles te maken met de diversiteit ervan. Zo hoor je in Zwischen den Nächten weliswaar luide metalgitaren, toch hoort de song eerder in het darkwavegenre thuis. Soms zingt Martin, dan is het weer Chiara, zoals op het prachtige Niemals Genug. Ook hier maakt het stevige gitaarwerk er een schizofrene song van. Door de melancholische keyboards kun je dit niet zo maar als gothmetal bestempelen.

Mantus is een band met vele gezichten. De gebalde vuist die je in het boekje ziet, is er één van woede, je hoort het in Schande: Du bist die Schande des Planeten, Du gibst der Dummheit ein Gesicht... Neen, Mantus is niet alleen zwarte zielen, het is ook helemaal niet te spreken over de manier waarop onze planeet draait (Kampf der Kulturen).

Süsses Gift is opnieuw wat bombastischer, terwijl Gefangener dat typische Danse Macabre-geluid uit de jaren 90 heeft: Duitstalige muziek waar je stil van wordt.

Refugium heeft heel wat hoogtepunten, maar als we er eentje uitpikken dan is het toch Schliess Die Augen, of is het toch het hartbrekende Welt In Flammen, waarin de hemelse vocalen van Chiara perfect worden begeleid door donkere, bijna tragische synthgeluiden.

De cd wordt afgesloten met de ingetogen titeltrack Refugium. De pianoklanken geven de song bijna een Goethes Erben-gevoel. Of neen, laten we het maar gewoon bij Mantus houden, een unieke band en dat wordt op deze nieuwe plaat nogmaals bewezen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
01
On this day, 37 years ago, Fad Gadget performed at the Amsterdam Meervaart Theatre.
28
01
ASHRR’S Dark Industrialized New Single, “ALL YOURS ALL MINE (DARKER DAYS MIX)” Is Streaming Now
25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
01
TALK TO HER
IBISCO
28
01
BIG TIME KILL
Again and Again
28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht