tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TACOCAT - Lost Time

TACOCAT

Lost Time

MusicCD
IndiePunkSurf

[77/100]   

Hardly Art
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A fascination with grunge does not always result in a Nirvana copycat. Look at Tacocat! Okay, the American quartet called its first record NVM (Never Mind, got it?), but musically, you can describe it as pop-punk with superb female rock voices and irresistible surf guitars. Sexy, you say? You bet! This third album has it all: from the sing-along factor of The Ramones to the punk attitude of Bikini Kill.

Tacocat doesn’t take it all too seriously and even if the influences are crystal clear sometimes, they never are a disadvantage. Men Explains Things To Me is fun punk (Huggy Bear and Comet Gain, if those names tell you something), while Dana Katherine Scully sounds like The Go Go's (yes, those girls of Our Lips Are Sealed). The rhythmic Horse Grrls has the toxic touch of, say, The Cramps.

You laugh, because who makes music like The Go Go's or The Cramps these days? Wait until you hear FDP, as the first name that storms your brain is Toni Basil (yes, Mickey!). It feels indeed like you’re at a schoolyard with some hysterical cheerleaders. And they’re funny too, because who ever wrote a song called I Hate The Weekend?

Yes, there are bands around that make life more funny, Tacocat is one of them...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een fascinatie voor grunge moet niet altijd uitmonden in een Nirvana-copycat. Kijk naar Tacocat! Het Amerikaanse viertal doopte zijn eerste plaat NVM (Nevermind, snap je?), maar muzikaal kun je deze band eerder omschrijven als poppunk met heerlijke vrouwenstemmen en onweerstaanbare surfgitaren. Sexy, zeg je? Reken maar! Deze derde plaat bevat werkelijk alles wat een release van dit kaliber moet hebben: van de meezingfactor van The Ramones tot het schreeuwerige van Bikini Kill.

Tacocat neemt zichzelf niet al te serieus en de invloeden liggen er soms vingerdik op zonder dat het op de zenuwen werkt. Men Explains Things To Me is lekkere pretpunk (Huggy Bear en Comet Gain, als die namen je iets zeggen), terwijl Dana Katherine Scully wel iets van The Go Go’s heeft (ja, die meiden die Our Lips Are Sealed zongen). Het ritmische Horse Grrls bezit dan eerder het giftige karakter van pakweg The Cramps.

Je lacht, want wie maakt er vandaag nog muziekzoals The Go Go’s of The Cramps? Nou, wacht tot je FDP hoort, want de eerste naam die in je brein opdoemt is die van Toni Basil (ja, inderdaad die van Mickey!). Ook hier waan je je op een schoolplein met hysterische cheerleaders om je heen. Grappig zijn ze ook, want wie verzint er nu een song met de titel I Hate The Weekend ?

Ja, er zijn zo van die groepjes die het leven wat aangenamer maken, Tacocat is er zo eentje....

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten