tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TACOCAT - Lost Time

TACOCAT

Lost Time

MusicCD
IndiePunkSurf

[77/100]   

Hardly Art
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A fascination with grunge does not always result in a Nirvana copycat. Look at Tacocat! Okay, the American quartet called its first record NVM (Never Mind, got it?), but musically, you can describe it as pop-punk with superb female rock voices and irresistible surf guitars. Sexy, you say? You bet! This third album has it all: from the sing-along factor of The Ramones to the punk attitude of Bikini Kill.

Tacocat doesn’t take it all too seriously and even if the influences are crystal clear sometimes, they never are a disadvantage. Men Explains Things To Me is fun punk (Huggy Bear and Comet Gain, if those names tell you something), while Dana Katherine Scully sounds like The Go Go's (yes, those girls of Our Lips Are Sealed). The rhythmic Horse Grrls has the toxic touch of, say, The Cramps.

You laugh, because who makes music like The Go Go's or The Cramps these days? Wait until you hear FDP, as the first name that storms your brain is Toni Basil (yes, Mickey!). It feels indeed like you’re at a schoolyard with some hysterical cheerleaders. And they’re funny too, because who ever wrote a song called I Hate The Weekend?

Yes, there are bands around that make life more funny, Tacocat is one of them...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een fascinatie voor grunge moet niet altijd uitmonden in een Nirvana-copycat. Kijk naar Tacocat! Het Amerikaanse viertal doopte zijn eerste plaat NVM (Nevermind, snap je?), maar muzikaal kun je deze band eerder omschrijven als poppunk met heerlijke vrouwenstemmen en onweerstaanbare surfgitaren. Sexy, zeg je? Reken maar! Deze derde plaat bevat werkelijk alles wat een release van dit kaliber moet hebben: van de meezingfactor van The Ramones tot het schreeuwerige van Bikini Kill.

Tacocat neemt zichzelf niet al te serieus en de invloeden liggen er soms vingerdik op zonder dat het op de zenuwen werkt. Men Explains Things To Me is lekkere pretpunk (Huggy Bear en Comet Gain, als die namen je iets zeggen), terwijl Dana Katherine Scully wel iets van The Go Go’s heeft (ja, die meiden die Our Lips Are Sealed zongen). Het ritmische Horse Grrls bezit dan eerder het giftige karakter van pakweg The Cramps.

Je lacht, want wie maakt er vandaag nog muziekzoals The Go Go’s of The Cramps? Nou, wacht tot je FDP hoort, want de eerste naam die in je brein opdoemt is die van Toni Basil (ja, inderdaad die van Mickey!). Ook hier waan je je op een schoolplein met hysterische cheerleaders om je heen. Grappig zijn ze ook, want wie verzint er nu een song met de titel I Hate The Weekend ?

Ja, er zijn zo van die groepjes die het leven wat aangenamer maken, Tacocat is er zo eentje....

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 42 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
41 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 41 years ago!
26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

28
11
FAUN
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
SKALD
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
28
11
EKLIPSE
Phantastischer Lichter Weihnachtsmarkt Dortmund
25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
MAX LILJA
Twin Peaks Theme
27
11
WHISPERING SONS
The most beautiful Rock Rally-moment ever....
26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth