tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TACOCAT - Lost Time

TACOCAT

Lost Time

MusicCD
IndiePunkSurf

[77/100]   

Hardly Art
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A fascination with grunge does not always result in a Nirvana copycat. Look at Tacocat! Okay, the American quartet called its first record NVM (Never Mind, got it?), but musically, you can describe it as pop-punk with superb female rock voices and irresistible surf guitars. Sexy, you say? You bet! This third album has it all: from the sing-along factor of The Ramones to the punk attitude of Bikini Kill.

Tacocat doesn’t take it all too seriously and even if the influences are crystal clear sometimes, they never are a disadvantage. Men Explains Things To Me is fun punk (Huggy Bear and Comet Gain, if those names tell you something), while Dana Katherine Scully sounds like The Go Go's (yes, those girls of Our Lips Are Sealed). The rhythmic Horse Grrls has the toxic touch of, say, The Cramps.

You laugh, because who makes music like The Go Go's or The Cramps these days? Wait until you hear FDP, as the first name that storms your brain is Toni Basil (yes, Mickey!). It feels indeed like you’re at a schoolyard with some hysterical cheerleaders. And they’re funny too, because who ever wrote a song called I Hate The Weekend?

Yes, there are bands around that make life more funny, Tacocat is one of them...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een fascinatie voor grunge moet niet altijd uitmonden in een Nirvana-copycat. Kijk naar Tacocat! Het Amerikaanse viertal doopte zijn eerste plaat NVM (Nevermind, snap je?), maar muzikaal kun je deze band eerder omschrijven als poppunk met heerlijke vrouwenstemmen en onweerstaanbare surfgitaren. Sexy, zeg je? Reken maar! Deze derde plaat bevat werkelijk alles wat een release van dit kaliber moet hebben: van de meezingfactor van The Ramones tot het schreeuwerige van Bikini Kill.

Tacocat neemt zichzelf niet al te serieus en de invloeden liggen er soms vingerdik op zonder dat het op de zenuwen werkt. Men Explains Things To Me is lekkere pretpunk (Huggy Bear en Comet Gain, als die namen je iets zeggen), terwijl Dana Katherine Scully wel iets van The Go Go’s heeft (ja, die meiden die Our Lips Are Sealed zongen). Het ritmische Horse Grrls bezit dan eerder het giftige karakter van pakweg The Cramps.

Je lacht, want wie maakt er vandaag nog muziekzoals The Go Go’s of The Cramps? Nou, wacht tot je FDP hoort, want de eerste naam die in je brein opdoemt is die van Toni Basil (ja, inderdaad die van Mickey!). Ook hier waan je je op een schoolplein met hysterische cheerleaders om je heen. Grappig zijn ze ook, want wie verzint er nu een song met de titel I Hate The Weekend ?

Ja, er zijn zo van die groepjes die het leven wat aangenamer maken, Tacocat is er zo eentje....

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag