tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TACOCAT - Lost Time

TACOCAT

Lost Time

MusicCD
IndiePunkSurf

[77/100]   

Hardly Art
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A fascination with grunge does not always result in a Nirvana copycat. Look at Tacocat! Okay, the American quartet called its first record NVM (Never Mind, got it?), but musically, you can describe it as pop-punk with superb female rock voices and irresistible surf guitars. Sexy, you say? You bet! This third album has it all: from the sing-along factor of The Ramones to the punk attitude of Bikini Kill.

Tacocat doesn’t take it all too seriously and even if the influences are crystal clear sometimes, they never are a disadvantage. Men Explains Things To Me is fun punk (Huggy Bear and Comet Gain, if those names tell you something), while Dana Katherine Scully sounds like The Go Go's (yes, those girls of Our Lips Are Sealed). The rhythmic Horse Grrls has the toxic touch of, say, The Cramps.

You laugh, because who makes music like The Go Go's or The Cramps these days? Wait until you hear FDP, as the first name that storms your brain is Toni Basil (yes, Mickey!). It feels indeed like you’re at a schoolyard with some hysterical cheerleaders. And they’re funny too, because who ever wrote a song called I Hate The Weekend?

Yes, there are bands around that make life more funny, Tacocat is one of them...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een fascinatie voor grunge moet niet altijd uitmonden in een Nirvana-copycat. Kijk naar Tacocat! Het Amerikaanse viertal doopte zijn eerste plaat NVM (Nevermind, snap je?), maar muzikaal kun je deze band eerder omschrijven als poppunk met heerlijke vrouwenstemmen en onweerstaanbare surfgitaren. Sexy, zeg je? Reken maar! Deze derde plaat bevat werkelijk alles wat een release van dit kaliber moet hebben: van de meezingfactor van The Ramones tot het schreeuwerige van Bikini Kill.

Tacocat neemt zichzelf niet al te serieus en de invloeden liggen er soms vingerdik op zonder dat het op de zenuwen werkt. Men Explains Things To Me is lekkere pretpunk (Huggy Bear en Comet Gain, als die namen je iets zeggen), terwijl Dana Katherine Scully wel iets van The Go Go’s heeft (ja, die meiden die Our Lips Are Sealed zongen). Het ritmische Horse Grrls bezit dan eerder het giftige karakter van pakweg The Cramps.

Je lacht, want wie maakt er vandaag nog muziekzoals The Go Go’s of The Cramps? Nou, wacht tot je FDP hoort, want de eerste naam die in je brein opdoemt is die van Toni Basil (ja, inderdaad die van Mickey!). Ook hier waan je je op een schoolplein met hysterische cheerleaders om je heen. Grappig zijn ze ook, want wie verzint er nu een song met de titel I Hate The Weekend ?

Ja, er zijn zo van die groepjes die het leven wat aangenamer maken, Tacocat is er zo eentje....

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked