tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TACOCAT - Lost Time

TACOCAT

Lost Time

MusicCD
IndiePunkSurf

[77/100]   

Hardly Art
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

A fascination with grunge does not always result in a Nirvana copycat. Look at Tacocat! Okay, the American quartet called its first record NVM (Never Mind, got it?), but musically, you can describe it as pop-punk with superb female rock voices and irresistible surf guitars. Sexy, you say? You bet! This third album has it all: from the sing-along factor of The Ramones to the punk attitude of Bikini Kill.

Tacocat doesn’t take it all too seriously and even if the influences are crystal clear sometimes, they never are a disadvantage. Men Explains Things To Me is fun punk (Huggy Bear and Comet Gain, if those names tell you something), while Dana Katherine Scully sounds like The Go Go's (yes, those girls of Our Lips Are Sealed). The rhythmic Horse Grrls has the toxic touch of, say, The Cramps.

You laugh, because who makes music like The Go Go's or The Cramps these days? Wait until you hear FDP, as the first name that storms your brain is Toni Basil (yes, Mickey!). It feels indeed like you’re at a schoolyard with some hysterical cheerleaders. And they’re funny too, because who ever wrote a song called I Hate The Weekend?

Yes, there are bands around that make life more funny, Tacocat is one of them...

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een fascinatie voor grunge moet niet altijd uitmonden in een Nirvana-copycat. Kijk naar Tacocat! Het Amerikaanse viertal doopte zijn eerste plaat NVM (Nevermind, snap je?), maar muzikaal kun je deze band eerder omschrijven als poppunk met heerlijke vrouwenstemmen en onweerstaanbare surfgitaren. Sexy, zeg je? Reken maar! Deze derde plaat bevat werkelijk alles wat een release van dit kaliber moet hebben: van de meezingfactor van The Ramones tot het schreeuwerige van Bikini Kill.

Tacocat neemt zichzelf niet al te serieus en de invloeden liggen er soms vingerdik op zonder dat het op de zenuwen werkt. Men Explains Things To Me is lekkere pretpunk (Huggy Bear en Comet Gain, als die namen je iets zeggen), terwijl Dana Katherine Scully wel iets van The Go Go’s heeft (ja, die meiden die Our Lips Are Sealed zongen). Het ritmische Horse Grrls bezit dan eerder het giftige karakter van pakweg The Cramps.

Je lacht, want wie maakt er vandaag nog muziekzoals The Go Go’s of The Cramps? Nou, wacht tot je FDP hoort, want de eerste naam die in je brein opdoemt is die van Toni Basil (ja, inderdaad die van Mickey!). Ook hier waan je je op een schoolplein met hysterische cheerleaders om je heen. Grappig zijn ze ook, want wie verzint er nu een song met de titel I Hate The Weekend ?

Ja, er zijn zo van die groepjes die het leven wat aangenamer maken, Tacocat is er zo eentje....

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan