tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : CAWATANA - Decline Of Privileges

CAWATANA

Decline Of Privileges

MusicCD
Neofolk
Lichterklang
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

From the first notes of opener Like Petals In The Storm, you know where the Hungarian Kiss Balázs takes his inspiration from as this is pure Death In June. Not very original, but quite good and at times blood-curdling beautiful. Perhaps the vocals are not the best part of Cawatana, but that’s compensated by the beauty of the acoustic guitar and the xylophone-like keyboards.

Although there is not a change of style on this EP (or how else would you call a CD with six tracks?), there is enough variety in the music to sustain the attention: in Silverlight the drums are prominently in the foreground and In Front of the Shadow gets a slightly militaristic touch by using martial drums.

Kiss Balázs is no newcomer in the genre. With Cawatana he made the album Struggle For Wisdom (together with Soros Gergő who later formed the more famous Larrnakh) and the mini-album Advocation For Privileges thirteen years ago (yeah!). As mentioned, Cawatana doesn’t excel if it comes to originality, but as long as he makes beautiful songs, you won’t hear us complaining.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Vanaf de eerste noten van opener Like Petals In The Storm herken je duidelijk waar de Hongaar Kiss Balázs zijn mosterd haalt: dit is gewoon Death In June pur sang. Niet bijster origineel dus, wel steengoed en op bepaalde momenten ook bloedstollend mooi. De zang is misschien niet meteen van het zuiverste water, maar dat wordt ruimschoots gecompenseerd door de pracht van de akoestische gitaar of de xylofoonachtige keyboards. Ofschoon er op geen enkel ogenblik sprake is van enige stijlbreuk op deze ep (of hoe zou je een cd met zes titels anders noemen?), zit er genoeg variatie in de muziek om de aandacht gaande te houden. Zo treden in Silver Light de drums opvallend op de voorgrond of krijgt In Front Of The Shadow een licht militaristisch tintje door het gebruik van martial drums.

Kiss Balázs is zeker geen nieuwkomer in het genre. Met Cawatana maakt hij dertien jaar geleden al (tja) het album Struggle For Wisdom (samen met Sörös Gergő, die later het meer bekende Larrnakh oprichtte) en het mini-album Advocation For Privileges. Zoals gezegd blinkt Cawatana geen seconde uit als we het alleen maar over originaliteit hebben, zo lang dat schone liedjes oplevert, hoor je ons evenwl niet klagen.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover