tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HYSTERESIS - Hegemonia Cultural

HYSTERESIS

Hegemonia Cultural

MusicCD
Electro

[90/100]   

Hands Productions
09/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

Hysteresis, the Belgian electro-industrial project, is back with its fifth album, and the third one at the Dortmund based Hands label. The Antwerp boys did an extra effort and made a very variable album. Many aspects of electronic music pass by and put the fans of the genre in ecstasy.

They start with Coercion & Consent. The oriental sounds are mixed with fresh electronics and dark drums, all smoothly blended into a beautiful song. It reminds me a bit of Orbital in its best days. More ethnic beats on Gramsci In The Caribean, even darker than the opening track, with some guitar samples and hard, fat beats, a nice, but aggressive dance sensation.

During L'ouvrier Méprisé we hear again why Hysteresis is perfect for the Hands label: hard repetitive rhythm n 'noise that stays in your mind and puts you in a trance, with a very positive influence on the industrial dancefloor.

The variety of tunes on this CD is enormous. The positive maze of underground electronic styles makes it an album that does not bore quickly, but always offers new revelations. Tracks like Ordine Nuovo and certainly A Slut Utopia are perfect examples that make our feet dance. A superb techno style that suits the dark club circuit

Hysteresis remains very critical of society and is politically engaged, demanding, but always entertaining. Der Fabrikat combines drum step and samples, all topped with a touch of minimal synth rhythms.

During The Theory, it is difficult to sit still. The avalanche of repetitive bombastic sounds, spiced with some new beat influences, makes your body spontaneously move and puts your mind in an electronic trance. Dies Irae again shows the diversity of this album: solemn choirs in combination with the necessary electronics and the matching beats remind us of Laibach on speed.

But I want to finish with my favorite track, the fabulous La Impedad, the atheistic story of Stephen Hawking seen through electronic eyes and processed with a fresh synth melody.

This CD has almost everything that a fan of the genre requires, complemented with another superb mix of the opening track by Ah Cama-Sotz: it is darker, and of course it contains the necessary additional ethnic and ambient influences. Delicious!

Peter HESELMANS
09/12/2016


NL

Hysteresis, het Belgische electro/industrial project is terug met zijn vijfde album, en het derde op dit Dortmundse Hands label. De Antwerpse boys hebben een tandje bijgestoken en er een zeer variabel album van gemaakt. Heel wat aspecten van de elektronische muziek passeren de revue en zullen de liefhebbers van het genre in lichte extase brengen.

Ze beginnen met Coercion & Consent. De oriëntaalse geluiden worden hier met frisse elektronica en donkere drums vlekkeloos tot een prachtige song gemixt. Het geheel doet me wat denken aan Orbital in zijn beste dagen. Meer etnische beats op Gramsci In The Caribean, nog donkerder dan de openingstrack en zelfs met de nodige gitaar samples die samen met de harde en vette beats een aangename doch agressieve danssensatie opwekken.

Op L'ouvrier Méprisé krijgen we dan weer te horen waarom Hysteresis zich thuis voelt op het Hands label: harde repetitieve rhythm n’ noise die in je brein blijf plakken en je in een soort trance brengt en een zeer positieve invloed heeft op de industriële dansvloer

De verscheidenheid in melodieën op deze cd is zeer frappant, de positieve wirwar van elektronische underground stijlen maken er een album van dat niet snel verveelt, maar ons steeds nieuwe openbaringen brengt. Zoals de track Ordine Nuovo en zeker A Slut Utopia, die ons spontaan de dansschoenen laat aanbinden. Met deze zeer innemende techno stijl wanen we ons zelfs spontaan in het donkere clubcircuit

Hysteresis blijft ook nog steeds zeer kritisch op de maatschappij en is zelfs politiek geëngageerd, veeleisend maar toch steeds onderhoudend. Der Fabrikrat blinkt uit door een combinatie van drumstep en samples, overgoten met een vleugje minimale droge synthritmes van de bovenste plank.

Ook tijdens de track The Theory is het moeilijk om stil te blijven zitten. De lawine aan repetitieve bombastische klanken, gekruid met zelfs enige new beatinvloeden, brengt je lichaam spontaan in beweging en je geest in een aangename elektronische trance. Dies Irae geeft nogmaals de diversiteit van dit album weer: plechtige koorzang in combinatie met de nodige elektronica en bijhorende beats doet ons hier spontaan aan ‘Laibach on speed’ denken.

Maar ik wil toch eindigen met mijn favoriete nummer, het fantastische La Impedad, het atheïstische verhaaltje van Stephen Hawking vakkundig door de electronische molen gehaald en bewerkt met een frisse synthmelodie.

Deze cd heeft bijna alles wat de liefhebber van het genre verlangt, met als extraatje nog een prachtmix van de openingstrack door Ah-Cama-Sotz, donkerder en met natuurlijk de nodige supplementaire van etnische en ambient invloeden. Heerlijk!

Peter HESELMANS
09/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet