tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DPERD - V

DPERD

V

MusicCD
Dark Wave

[76/100]   

My Kindom Music
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Italy and dark wave, it always was a perfect duo. Carlo DiSimone and Valeria Buono are pioneers in the genre as they both were involved in Fear Of The Storm, a cult band from the 90s. When this band, that was signed to the famous Energeia label, stopped in 1995, the two decided to start DPERD. Their first material (just a CD-R) was praised in various fanzines, and Regalero Il Mio Tempo was released on My Kingdom Music, a label that mainly deals with the harder stuff. The CD had a lot of success among dark wave fans and now the fifth album is out, that simply is named V.

The title is simple, however the music is complex, because it seems as if Carlo and Valeria are influenced by tons of bands from the dark genre, although they finally have a very distinctive sound.

From the first notes of Frenetika (most songs are sung in Italian) you notice the enchanting voice of Valeria that floats on quite poppy wave guitars. Guitar sounds that seem to come from albums by The Cure, although it is all very original. You always discover something new in the songs. In Aggrappata Al Silenzio, you hear some Xymox guitars, but at the end of the day DPERD will always be DPERD.

A beautiful fifth album that is an outright winner for darkwave fans.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Italië en dark wave, het heeft altijd geklikt. Pioniers in het genre zijn Carlo Disimone en Valeria Buono die beiden bij Fear Of The Storm zaten, een cultband uit de jaren 90. Toen deze formatie, die op het befaamde Energeia-label zat, er in 1995 de brui aan gaf, besloten de twee om DPERD op te richten. Hun eerste materiaal (gewoon een cd-r) kreeg de nodige lof in allerlei fanzines, en met Regalero Il Mio Tempo raakte DPERD op My Kingdom Music, een label dat zich vooral met het hardere werk bezighoudt. De plaat had heel wat succes bij de darkwavefans en nu is er dus de vijfde plaat die het duo simpelweg V doopt.

Een eenvoudig de titel, maar complexe muziek, want het lijkt wel alsof Carlo en Valeria zich door zo wat alle bands uit het donkere genre hebben laten beïnvloeden om uiteindelijk toch tot een zeer eigen geluid te komen.

Meteen, bij de eerste tonen van Frenetika (de meeste songs zijn in het Italiaans gezongen) valt de prachtige stem van Valeria op die op vrij poppy wavegitaartjes drijft. Gitaartjes die uit platen van The Cure lijken te komen, ofschoon het allemaal zeer origineel is. Je ontdekt steeds wel iets in de songs, zo hoor je bijv. in Aggrappata Al Silenzio wat Xymoxgitaartjes, maar uiteindelijk blijft DPERD toch DPERD. Een mooie vijfde plaat dus die een regelrechte aanrader is voor darkwavefans.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire