tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DPERD - V

DPERD

V

MusicCD
Dark Wave

[76/100]   

My Kindom Music
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Italy and dark wave, it always was a perfect duo. Carlo DiSimone and Valeria Buono are pioneers in the genre as they both were involved in Fear Of The Storm, a cult band from the 90s. When this band, that was signed to the famous Energeia label, stopped in 1995, the two decided to start DPERD. Their first material (just a CD-R) was praised in various fanzines, and Regalero Il Mio Tempo was released on My Kingdom Music, a label that mainly deals with the harder stuff. The CD had a lot of success among dark wave fans and now the fifth album is out, that simply is named V.

The title is simple, however the music is complex, because it seems as if Carlo and Valeria are influenced by tons of bands from the dark genre, although they finally have a very distinctive sound.

From the first notes of Frenetika (most songs are sung in Italian) you notice the enchanting voice of Valeria that floats on quite poppy wave guitars. Guitar sounds that seem to come from albums by The Cure, although it is all very original. You always discover something new in the songs. In Aggrappata Al Silenzio, you hear some Xymox guitars, but at the end of the day DPERD will always be DPERD.

A beautiful fifth album that is an outright winner for darkwave fans.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Italië en dark wave, het heeft altijd geklikt. Pioniers in het genre zijn Carlo Disimone en Valeria Buono die beiden bij Fear Of The Storm zaten, een cultband uit de jaren 90. Toen deze formatie, die op het befaamde Energeia-label zat, er in 1995 de brui aan gaf, besloten de twee om DPERD op te richten. Hun eerste materiaal (gewoon een cd-r) kreeg de nodige lof in allerlei fanzines, en met Regalero Il Mio Tempo raakte DPERD op My Kingdom Music, een label dat zich vooral met het hardere werk bezighoudt. De plaat had heel wat succes bij de darkwavefans en nu is er dus de vijfde plaat die het duo simpelweg V doopt.

Een eenvoudig de titel, maar complexe muziek, want het lijkt wel alsof Carlo en Valeria zich door zo wat alle bands uit het donkere genre hebben laten beïnvloeden om uiteindelijk toch tot een zeer eigen geluid te komen.

Meteen, bij de eerste tonen van Frenetika (de meeste songs zijn in het Italiaans gezongen) valt de prachtige stem van Valeria op die op vrij poppy wavegitaartjes drijft. Gitaartjes die uit platen van The Cure lijken te komen, ofschoon het allemaal zeer origineel is. Je ontdekt steeds wel iets in de songs, zo hoor je bijv. in Aggrappata Al Silenzio wat Xymoxgitaartjes, maar uiteindelijk blijft DPERD toch DPERD. Een mooie vijfde plaat dus die een regelrechte aanrader is voor darkwavefans.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real