tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DPERD - V

DPERD

V

MusicCD
Dark Wave

[76/100]   

My Kindom Music
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Italy and dark wave, it always was a perfect duo. Carlo DiSimone and Valeria Buono are pioneers in the genre as they both were involved in Fear Of The Storm, a cult band from the 90s. When this band, that was signed to the famous Energeia label, stopped in 1995, the two decided to start DPERD. Their first material (just a CD-R) was praised in various fanzines, and Regalero Il Mio Tempo was released on My Kingdom Music, a label that mainly deals with the harder stuff. The CD had a lot of success among dark wave fans and now the fifth album is out, that simply is named V.

The title is simple, however the music is complex, because it seems as if Carlo and Valeria are influenced by tons of bands from the dark genre, although they finally have a very distinctive sound.

From the first notes of Frenetika (most songs are sung in Italian) you notice the enchanting voice of Valeria that floats on quite poppy wave guitars. Guitar sounds that seem to come from albums by The Cure, although it is all very original. You always discover something new in the songs. In Aggrappata Al Silenzio, you hear some Xymox guitars, but at the end of the day DPERD will always be DPERD.

A beautiful fifth album that is an outright winner for darkwave fans.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Italië en dark wave, het heeft altijd geklikt. Pioniers in het genre zijn Carlo Disimone en Valeria Buono die beiden bij Fear Of The Storm zaten, een cultband uit de jaren 90. Toen deze formatie, die op het befaamde Energeia-label zat, er in 1995 de brui aan gaf, besloten de twee om DPERD op te richten. Hun eerste materiaal (gewoon een cd-r) kreeg de nodige lof in allerlei fanzines, en met Regalero Il Mio Tempo raakte DPERD op My Kingdom Music, een label dat zich vooral met het hardere werk bezighoudt. De plaat had heel wat succes bij de darkwavefans en nu is er dus de vijfde plaat die het duo simpelweg V doopt.

Een eenvoudig de titel, maar complexe muziek, want het lijkt wel alsof Carlo en Valeria zich door zo wat alle bands uit het donkere genre hebben laten beïnvloeden om uiteindelijk toch tot een zeer eigen geluid te komen.

Meteen, bij de eerste tonen van Frenetika (de meeste songs zijn in het Italiaans gezongen) valt de prachtige stem van Valeria op die op vrij poppy wavegitaartjes drijft. Gitaartjes die uit platen van The Cure lijken te komen, ofschoon het allemaal zeer origineel is. Je ontdekt steeds wel iets in de songs, zo hoor je bijv. in Aggrappata Al Silenzio wat Xymoxgitaartjes, maar uiteindelijk blijft DPERD toch DPERD. Een mooie vijfde plaat dus die een regelrechte aanrader is voor darkwavefans.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap