tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HERON OBLIVION - Heron Oblivion

HERON OBLIVION

Heron Oblivion

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalPost RockPsychedelic

[79/100]   

SUBPOP
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Normally SUBPOP is the label of choice for harder work, but not in the case of Heron Oblivion from San Francisco, although you’ll hear loud guitars. The members of this band are not exactly what you call newbies. All of them were in several bands before (from psych rock to folk), and you those many years of experience on this album. The mesmerizing indie rock can be best described as a cross-pollination of the romantic dark indie pop of Mazzy Star and the apocalyptic post-rock of Explosions in The Sky. The music is dominated by the heavenly vocals of Meg Baird, who already released several solo albums.

This CD is certainly not an easy slab, as you have to let the compositions wash over you. Some pieces are quite long: everything is builds up quietly, and it ends up with an explosion of shoegaze guitars.

Folk music (or something like that) brought with deafening guitars. No, you can torture us for hours, we do not think that we can come up with a band that does what Heron Oblivion does. A band of which we will surely hear more!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Normaal is SUBPOP het label bij uitstek voor het hardere werk, maar dat is niet geval voor Heron Oblivion uit San Francisco, hoewel de gitaren van zich laten horen. De leden van deze band zijn niet bepaald aan hun proefstuk toe. Allemaal zaten ze in diverse bands (van psychrock tot folk) en die vele jaren ervaring hoor je op dit debuut. De bezwerende indierock die deze band maakt kan je het best omschrijven als een kruisbestuiving van de romantische donkere indiepop van Mazzy Star en de apocalyptische postrock van Explosions in The Sky. De muziek wordt gedomineerd door de hemelse vocalen van Meg Baird, die eerder al meerdere soloplaten uitbracht.

Deze cd is zeker geen gemakkelijke plaat, het zijn composities die je over je heen moet laten komen. Sommige stukken zijn vrij lang: alles wordt rustig opgebouwd, om te eindigen met een ware explosie van shoegazegitaren.

Folkmuziek (of zoiets) gebracht met loeiharde gitaren. Neen, ook al folter je ons urenlang, denken we niet meteen dat we met een band over de lippen krijgen die doet wat Heron Oblivion doet. Een band waarvan we beslist meer zullen horen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NEW ZERO GOD • Short Tales & Tall Shadows
SUUNS • Hold/Still
THE BENZENE RING • Crossing The Divide
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
INWOLVES • Involves
DIAMANDA GALAS • Gent, Handelsbeurs (20/04/16)
SERATONES • Get Gone
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
FENCE • The Winding
SPIELBANN • Wiedergänger

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
04
DAVID BOWIE
Blackstar
22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald