tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HERON OBLIVION - Heron Oblivion

HERON OBLIVION

Heron Oblivion

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalPost RockPsychedelic

[79/100]   

SUBPOP
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Normally SUBPOP is the label of choice for harder work, but not in the case of Heron Oblivion from San Francisco, although you’ll hear loud guitars. The members of this band are not exactly what you call newbies. All of them were in several bands before (from psych rock to folk), and you those many years of experience on this album. The mesmerizing indie rock can be best described as a cross-pollination of the romantic dark indie pop of Mazzy Star and the apocalyptic post-rock of Explosions in The Sky. The music is dominated by the heavenly vocals of Meg Baird, who already released several solo albums.

This CD is certainly not an easy slab, as you have to let the compositions wash over you. Some pieces are quite long: everything is builds up quietly, and it ends up with an explosion of shoegaze guitars.

Folk music (or something like that) brought with deafening guitars. No, you can torture us for hours, we do not think that we can come up with a band that does what Heron Oblivion does. A band of which we will surely hear more!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Normaal is SUBPOP het label bij uitstek voor het hardere werk, maar dat is niet geval voor Heron Oblivion uit San Francisco, hoewel de gitaren van zich laten horen. De leden van deze band zijn niet bepaald aan hun proefstuk toe. Allemaal zaten ze in diverse bands (van psychrock tot folk) en die vele jaren ervaring hoor je op dit debuut. De bezwerende indierock die deze band maakt kan je het best omschrijven als een kruisbestuiving van de romantische donkere indiepop van Mazzy Star en de apocalyptische postrock van Explosions in The Sky. De muziek wordt gedomineerd door de hemelse vocalen van Meg Baird, die eerder al meerdere soloplaten uitbracht.

Deze cd is zeker geen gemakkelijke plaat, het zijn composities die je over je heen moet laten komen. Sommige stukken zijn vrij lang: alles wordt rustig opgebouwd, om te eindigen met een ware explosie van shoegazegitaren.

Folkmuziek (of zoiets) gebracht met loeiharde gitaren. Neen, ook al folter je ons urenlang, denken we niet meteen dat we met een band over de lippen krijgen die doet wat Heron Oblivion doet. Een band waarvan we beslist meer zullen horen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NEW ZERO GOD • Short Tales & Tall Shadows
SUUNS • Hold/Still
THE BENZENE RING • Crossing The Divide
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
INWOLVES • Involves
DIAMANDA GALAS • Gent, Handelsbeurs (20/04/16)
SERATONES • Get Gone
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
FENCE • The Winding
SPIELBANN • Wiedergänger

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On