tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : HERON OBLIVION - Heron Oblivion

HERON OBLIVION

Heron Oblivion

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalPost RockPsychedelic

[79/100]   

SUBPOP
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Normally SUBPOP is the label of choice for harder work, but not in the case of Heron Oblivion from San Francisco, although you’ll hear loud guitars. The members of this band are not exactly what you call newbies. All of them were in several bands before (from psych rock to folk), and you those many years of experience on this album. The mesmerizing indie rock can be best described as a cross-pollination of the romantic dark indie pop of Mazzy Star and the apocalyptic post-rock of Explosions in The Sky. The music is dominated by the heavenly vocals of Meg Baird, who already released several solo albums.

This CD is certainly not an easy slab, as you have to let the compositions wash over you. Some pieces are quite long: everything is builds up quietly, and it ends up with an explosion of shoegaze guitars.

Folk music (or something like that) brought with deafening guitars. No, you can torture us for hours, we do not think that we can come up with a band that does what Heron Oblivion does. A band of which we will surely hear more!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Normaal is SUBPOP het label bij uitstek voor het hardere werk, maar dat is niet geval voor Heron Oblivion uit San Francisco, hoewel de gitaren van zich laten horen. De leden van deze band zijn niet bepaald aan hun proefstuk toe. Allemaal zaten ze in diverse bands (van psychrock tot folk) en die vele jaren ervaring hoor je op dit debuut. De bezwerende indierock die deze band maakt kan je het best omschrijven als een kruisbestuiving van de romantische donkere indiepop van Mazzy Star en de apocalyptische postrock van Explosions in The Sky. De muziek wordt gedomineerd door de hemelse vocalen van Meg Baird, die eerder al meerdere soloplaten uitbracht.

Deze cd is zeker geen gemakkelijke plaat, het zijn composities die je over je heen moet laten komen. Sommige stukken zijn vrij lang: alles wordt rustig opgebouwd, om te eindigen met een ware explosie van shoegazegitaren.

Folkmuziek (of zoiets) gebracht met loeiharde gitaren. Neen, ook al folter je ons urenlang, denken we niet meteen dat we met een band over de lippen krijgen die doet wat Heron Oblivion doet. Een band waarvan we beslist meer zullen horen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
NEW ZERO GOD • Short Tales & Tall Shadows
SUUNS • Hold/Still
THE BENZENE RING • Crossing The Divide
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
INWOLVES • Involves
DIAMANDA GALAS • Gent, Handelsbeurs (20/04/16)
SERATONES • Get Gone
NATALIA M. KING • Bluezzin t’il Dawn
FENCE • The Winding
SPIELBANN • Wiedergänger

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses