tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : INWOLVES - Involves

INWOLVES

Involves

MusicCD
IndustrialKrautrockPost Rock

[95/100]   

ConSouling Sounds
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Two years ago Air +, the debut EP of Inwolves was released. What seemed like a one-off project of Karen Willems (Yuko, Zita Swoon Group and Dirk Serries), Jurgen De Blonde (The Portables and Kohn) and Ward Dupan (Low Vertical), evolved into one of the most impressive records you'll hear this year. The debut album on Consouling Sounds guides you to all possible sides of your soul.

The first track I Va Va Vimedoom not only sounds very dark, it feels very weird too. Compare it with a walk through the catacombs: it gives you a nice feeling, but fear creeps inside your body. It’s just an intro, I mean…it’s only the beginning!

Minimal uses electronic sounds, post-rock with Tangerine Dream influences. A woolly sound, music that puts your mind in a certain (sublime) atmosphere.

Woolly? Well for one track only, as Vladimir is horrifying. This is post-rock as you rarely heard it before: the krautrock-like guitars almost sound like ghosts that embrace you.

Strange Waltz - well it is a cliché - is exactly what the title says. It's also a composition in which Karen Ward really pulls out all the stops. Experimental, but with a soul.

The drumming of Intown starts like something that comes out of My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts, you know the masterpiece by Brian Eno and David Byrne. You could say that Intown is kind of danceable, but these are dance steps of a madman.

Dirty Monks sounds like a bizarre death march, a church organ with influences of Bowie’s Low. Impressive.

The album concludes with a ten-minute epic that includes all styles of music. A brilliant ending of an impressive record.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016

ts=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true'>

NL

Twee jaar geleden verscheen Air+, het debuut van Inwolves. Wat toen op een eenmalig project van Karen Willems (Yuko, Zita Swoon Group en Dirk Serries) met Jurgen De Blonde (De Portables en Kohn) en Ward Dupan (Low Vertical) leek, is op dit debuut op Consouling Sounds uitgegroeid tot één van de meest indrukwekkende platen die je dit jaar zal horen. Het is muziek die je naar alle mogelijke kanten van je ziel voert.

De eerste track I Va Va Vimedoom klinkt niet alleen ontzettend donker, maar voelt ook ontzettend griezelig aan. Te vergelijken met een wandeling door de catacomben: hij geeft je wel een prettig gevoel, maar de angst sluipt in je lijf. Het is een intro voor wat volgt. Minimal maakt gebruikt van elektronische klanken, postrock met een flinke lading Tangerine Dream. Het klinkt allemaal zweverig, muziek die je geest in een bepaalde sfeer brengt.

Schreven we daarnet zweverig? Wel, dan wordt dat in Vladimir huiveringwekkend. Dit is postrock zoals je nog maar zelden hebt gehoord: de krautrockachtige gitaren klinken bijna als geesten die je omarmen.

Strange Waltz is, tja hoe groot het cliché ook is, precies wat de titel zegt. Het is ook meteen een compositie waarin Karen Willems alle regels aan haar laars lapt. Experimenteel, maar wel met een ziel.

Het drumwerk waarmee Intown begint doet wat aan My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts denken, je weet wel de samenwerkingsplaat van Brian Eno en Talking Heads-opperhoofd David Byrne. Je zou kunnen zeggen dat Intown dansbaar is, maar het zijn wel de danspassen van een waanzinnige.

Dirty Monks klinkt als een bizarre dodenmars, een kerkorgel met de invloeden van Low van Bowie. Indrukwekkend.

De plaat wordt afgesloten met een tien minuten durend epos waarin zowat alle muziekstijlen door elkaar worden geworpen. Een briljant afscheid van een imponerende plaat.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016

ts=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true'>

Music reviews

14
08
LUKE LUND
Hopium
13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AND ONE
Killing The Mercy
14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands