tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : INWOLVES - Involves

INWOLVES

Involves

MusicCD
IndustrialKrautrockPost Rock

[95/100]   

ConSouling Sounds
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Two years ago Air +, the debut EP of Inwolves was released. What seemed like a one-off project of Karen Willems (Yuko, Zita Swoon Group and Dirk Serries), Jurgen De Blonde (The Portables and Kohn) and Ward Dupan (Low Vertical), evolved into one of the most impressive records you'll hear this year. The debut album on Consouling Sounds guides you to all possible sides of your soul.

The first track I Va Va Vimedoom not only sounds very dark, it feels very weird too. Compare it with a walk through the catacombs: it gives you a nice feeling, but fear creeps inside your body. It’s just an intro, I mean…it’s only the beginning!

Minimal uses electronic sounds, post-rock with Tangerine Dream influences. A woolly sound, music that puts your mind in a certain (sublime) atmosphere.

Woolly? Well for one track only, as Vladimir is horrifying. This is post-rock as you rarely heard it before: the krautrock-like guitars almost sound like ghosts that embrace you.

Strange Waltz - well it is a cliché - is exactly what the title says. It's also a composition in which Karen Ward really pulls out all the stops. Experimental, but with a soul.

The drumming of Intown starts like something that comes out of My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts, you know the masterpiece by Brian Eno and David Byrne. You could say that Intown is kind of danceable, but these are dance steps of a madman.

Dirty Monks sounds like a bizarre death march, a church organ with influences of Bowie’s Low. Impressive.

The album concludes with a ten-minute epic that includes all styles of music. A brilliant ending of an impressive record.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016

ts=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true'>

NL

Twee jaar geleden verscheen Air+, het debuut van Inwolves. Wat toen op een eenmalig project van Karen Willems (Yuko, Zita Swoon Group en Dirk Serries) met Jurgen De Blonde (De Portables en Kohn) en Ward Dupan (Low Vertical) leek, is op dit debuut op Consouling Sounds uitgegroeid tot één van de meest indrukwekkende platen die je dit jaar zal horen. Het is muziek die je naar alle mogelijke kanten van je ziel voert.

De eerste track I Va Va Vimedoom klinkt niet alleen ontzettend donker, maar voelt ook ontzettend griezelig aan. Te vergelijken met een wandeling door de catacomben: hij geeft je wel een prettig gevoel, maar de angst sluipt in je lijf. Het is een intro voor wat volgt. Minimal maakt gebruikt van elektronische klanken, postrock met een flinke lading Tangerine Dream. Het klinkt allemaal zweverig, muziek die je geest in een bepaalde sfeer brengt.

Schreven we daarnet zweverig? Wel, dan wordt dat in Vladimir huiveringwekkend. Dit is postrock zoals je nog maar zelden hebt gehoord: de krautrockachtige gitaren klinken bijna als geesten die je omarmen.

Strange Waltz is, tja hoe groot het cliché ook is, precies wat de titel zegt. Het is ook meteen een compositie waarin Karen Willems alle regels aan haar laars lapt. Experimenteel, maar wel met een ziel.

Het drumwerk waarmee Intown begint doet wat aan My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts denken, je weet wel de samenwerkingsplaat van Brian Eno en Talking Heads-opperhoofd David Byrne. Je zou kunnen zeggen dat Intown dansbaar is, maar het zijn wel de danspassen van een waanzinnige.

Dirty Monks klinkt als een bizarre dodenmars, een kerkorgel met de invloeden van Low van Bowie. Indrukwekkend.

De plaat wordt afgesloten met een tien minuten durend epos waarin zowat alle muziekstijlen door elkaar worden geworpen. Een briljant afscheid van een imponerende plaat.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016

ts=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true'>

Music reviews

17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses