tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : INWOLVES - Involves

INWOLVES

Involves

MusicCD
IndustrialKrautrockPost Rock

[95/100]   

ConSouling Sounds
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Two years ago Air +, the debut EP of Inwolves was released. What seemed like a one-off project of Karen Willems (Yuko, Zita Swoon Group and Dirk Serries), Jurgen De Blonde (The Portables and Kohn) and Ward Dupan (Low Vertical), evolved into one of the most impressive records you'll hear this year. The debut album on Consouling Sounds guides you to all possible sides of your soul.

The first track I Va Va Vimedoom not only sounds very dark, it feels very weird too. Compare it with a walk through the catacombs: it gives you a nice feeling, but fear creeps inside your body. It’s just an intro, I mean…it’s only the beginning!

Minimal uses electronic sounds, post-rock with Tangerine Dream influences. A woolly sound, music that puts your mind in a certain (sublime) atmosphere.

Woolly? Well for one track only, as Vladimir is horrifying. This is post-rock as you rarely heard it before: the krautrock-like guitars almost sound like ghosts that embrace you.

Strange Waltz - well it is a cliché - is exactly what the title says. It's also a composition in which Karen Ward really pulls out all the stops. Experimental, but with a soul.

The drumming of Intown starts like something that comes out of My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts, you know the masterpiece by Brian Eno and David Byrne. You could say that Intown is kind of danceable, but these are dance steps of a madman.

Dirty Monks sounds like a bizarre death march, a church organ with influences of Bowie’s Low. Impressive.

The album concludes with a ten-minute epic that includes all styles of music. A brilliant ending of an impressive record.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016

ts=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true'>

NL

Twee jaar geleden verscheen Air+, het debuut van Inwolves. Wat toen op een eenmalig project van Karen Willems (Yuko, Zita Swoon Group en Dirk Serries) met Jurgen De Blonde (De Portables en Kohn) en Ward Dupan (Low Vertical) leek, is op dit debuut op Consouling Sounds uitgegroeid tot één van de meest indrukwekkende platen die je dit jaar zal horen. Het is muziek die je naar alle mogelijke kanten van je ziel voert.

De eerste track I Va Va Vimedoom klinkt niet alleen ontzettend donker, maar voelt ook ontzettend griezelig aan. Te vergelijken met een wandeling door de catacomben: hij geeft je wel een prettig gevoel, maar de angst sluipt in je lijf. Het is een intro voor wat volgt. Minimal maakt gebruikt van elektronische klanken, postrock met een flinke lading Tangerine Dream. Het klinkt allemaal zweverig, muziek die je geest in een bepaalde sfeer brengt.

Schreven we daarnet zweverig? Wel, dan wordt dat in Vladimir huiveringwekkend. Dit is postrock zoals je nog maar zelden hebt gehoord: de krautrockachtige gitaren klinken bijna als geesten die je omarmen.

Strange Waltz is, tja hoe groot het cliché ook is, precies wat de titel zegt. Het is ook meteen een compositie waarin Karen Willems alle regels aan haar laars lapt. Experimenteel, maar wel met een ziel.

Het drumwerk waarmee Intown begint doet wat aan My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts denken, je weet wel de samenwerkingsplaat van Brian Eno en Talking Heads-opperhoofd David Byrne. Je zou kunnen zeggen dat Intown dansbaar is, maar het zijn wel de danspassen van een waanzinnige.

Dirty Monks klinkt als een bizarre dodenmars, een kerkorgel met de invloeden van Low van Bowie. Indrukwekkend.

De plaat wordt afgesloten met een tien minuten durend epos waarin zowat alle muziekstijlen door elkaar worden geworpen. Een briljant afscheid van een imponerende plaat.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016

ts=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true'>

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent