tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : INWOLVES - Involves

INWOLVES

Involves

MusicCD
IndustrialKrautrockPost Rock

[95/100]   

ConSouling Sounds
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Two years ago Air +, the debut EP of Inwolves was released. What seemed like a one-off project of Karen Willems (Yuko, Zita Swoon Group and Dirk Serries), Jurgen De Blonde (The Portables and Kohn) and Ward Dupan (Low Vertical), evolved into one of the most impressive records you'll hear this year. The debut album on Consouling Sounds guides you to all possible sides of your soul.

The first track I Va Va Vimedoom not only sounds very dark, it feels very weird too. Compare it with a walk through the catacombs: it gives you a nice feeling, but fear creeps inside your body. It’s just an intro, I mean…it’s only the beginning!

Minimal uses electronic sounds, post-rock with Tangerine Dream influences. A woolly sound, music that puts your mind in a certain (sublime) atmosphere.

Woolly? Well for one track only, as Vladimir is horrifying. This is post-rock as you rarely heard it before: the krautrock-like guitars almost sound like ghosts that embrace you.

Strange Waltz - well it is a cliché - is exactly what the title says. It's also a composition in which Karen Ward really pulls out all the stops. Experimental, but with a soul.

The drumming of Intown starts like something that comes out of My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts, you know the masterpiece by Brian Eno and David Byrne. You could say that Intown is kind of danceable, but these are dance steps of a madman.

Dirty Monks sounds like a bizarre death march, a church organ with influences of Bowie’s Low. Impressive.

The album concludes with a ten-minute epic that includes all styles of music. A brilliant ending of an impressive record.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016

ts=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true'>

NL

Twee jaar geleden verscheen Air+, het debuut van Inwolves. Wat toen op een eenmalig project van Karen Willems (Yuko, Zita Swoon Group en Dirk Serries) met Jurgen De Blonde (De Portables en Kohn) en Ward Dupan (Low Vertical) leek, is op dit debuut op Consouling Sounds uitgegroeid tot één van de meest indrukwekkende platen die je dit jaar zal horen. Het is muziek die je naar alle mogelijke kanten van je ziel voert.

De eerste track I Va Va Vimedoom klinkt niet alleen ontzettend donker, maar voelt ook ontzettend griezelig aan. Te vergelijken met een wandeling door de catacomben: hij geeft je wel een prettig gevoel, maar de angst sluipt in je lijf. Het is een intro voor wat volgt. Minimal maakt gebruikt van elektronische klanken, postrock met een flinke lading Tangerine Dream. Het klinkt allemaal zweverig, muziek die je geest in een bepaalde sfeer brengt.

Schreven we daarnet zweverig? Wel, dan wordt dat in Vladimir huiveringwekkend. Dit is postrock zoals je nog maar zelden hebt gehoord: de krautrockachtige gitaren klinken bijna als geesten die je omarmen.

Strange Waltz is, tja hoe groot het cliché ook is, precies wat de titel zegt. Het is ook meteen een compositie waarin Karen Willems alle regels aan haar laars lapt. Experimenteel, maar wel met een ziel.

Het drumwerk waarmee Intown begint doet wat aan My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts denken, je weet wel de samenwerkingsplaat van Brian Eno en Talking Heads-opperhoofd David Byrne. Je zou kunnen zeggen dat Intown dansbaar is, maar het zijn wel de danspassen van een waanzinnige.

Dirty Monks klinkt als een bizarre dodenmars, een kerkorgel met de invloeden van Low van Bowie. Indrukwekkend.

De plaat wordt afgesloten met een tien minuten durend epos waarin zowat alle muziekstijlen door elkaar worden geworpen. Een briljant afscheid van een imponerende plaat.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016

ts=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false&visual=true'>

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)