tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven

TIDES FROM NEBULA

Safehaven

MusicCD
Post RockSpacerock

[80/100]   

Long Branch Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Polish post rockers of Tides From Nebula try to give their music a space feel. I can’t think of any better description for its atmospheric music. Their band name refers to the universe. A Nebula is an interstellar gas cloud that serves as a birthplace of stars. The issue is not new. More concept albums and songs are made about this theme: think of Space Oddity by David Bowie, Countdown by Rush or Interstellar Overdrive by Pink Floyd.

The band was formed in 2008 and Safe Haven is the fourth album. In early May it will be released through Mystic Productions (a big Polish label that features Coma, Riverside, Frontside, Betrayer) and Long Branch Records (Kaiser Chiefs or Everlast ).

Safe Haven is a strong and beautiful album. The title track opens the album in a quiet and thoughtful way. A bit like Pink Floyd’s Wish You Were Here. Halfway through the song, we hear a breaking rhythm and an echoing guitar. The keyboards sound very nice. Percussion and drumming reveal a delicate craftsmanship. Just listen to the intro of Knees To Earth... All The Steps I've Made contains subtle guitars, spacious-sounding keys, a singing bass and drums. We Are The Minor has just been released as a single and floats on a guitar riff that colors the entire song. All songs are decent and the result is a homogeneous and captivating album.

Tides From Nebula has made a spacy and emotional sounding instrumental album. Despite the lack of a voice, the songs have much to tell, in other words you don’t miss the vocals. It's a nice trip of 8 songs that is available as LP and CD (ev. with T-shirt).

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De Poolse postrockers van Tides From Nebula proberen met hun muziek ruimte en heelal weer te geven. Een betere omschrijving kan ik niet bedenken voor hun vrij atmosferische muziek. Ook hun bandnaam verwijst naar het heelal. Een Nebula is immers een interstellaire gas- en stofwolk die fungeert als geboorteplaats van sterren. Nu, het onderwerp is niet nieuw. Er zijn wel vaker conceptplaten en liedjes omtrent dit thema gemaakt. Denk aan Space Oddity door David Bowie, Countdown van Rush of Interstellar Overdrive van Pink Floyd.

De band zag het daglicht in 2008 en Safehaven is het vierde album. Begin mei wordt het op de wereld losgelaten via Mystic Productions (groot Pools label van o.a. Coma, Riverside, Frontside, Betrayer) en Long Branch Records (o.a. Kaiser Chiefs, Everlast…).

Safehaven is een sterk en mooi klinkend album. De titelsong opent de plaat op een rustige en doordachte manier. Een beetje zoals Pink Floyd op Wish You Were Here. Halfweg bloeit de song open met een brekend ritme en een galmende gitaar. De keyboards klinken heel erg mooi. Percussie en het drumwerk getuigen van fijnzinnig vakmanschap. Luister maar eens naar de intro van Knees To EarthAll The Steps I've Made bevat subtiel gitaarwerk, ruimtelijk klinkende keys, een zingende bas en ondersteund drumwerk. We Are The Minor is zopas als single verschenen en drijft op een gitaarriffje dat de hele song kleurt. Alle songs zijn degelijk en het resultaat is een homogeen en boeiend album.

Tides From Nebula heeft een spacy en emotioneel klinkend instrumentaal album gemaakt. Ondanks het ontbreken van een zangstem, hebben de tracks toch veel te vertellen, m.a.w. je mist de vocalen niet echt. Het is een mooie trip van 8 songs, verkrijgbaar als lp en cd (eventueel met T-shirt).

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven 09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, exactly 41 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 39 Today!
13
12
Horses | Patti Smith’s Debut Masterpiece 43 Years On!
12
12
This weekend, BIMFEST 2018 kicks off with Covenant, Leaether Strip, Light Asylum, Clock Dva & Agent Side Grinder amongst others!
12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

13
12
DIVE
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
13
12
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
OFELIADORME
Hands
13
12
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love