tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven

TIDES FROM NEBULA

Safehaven

MusicCD
Post RockSpacerock

[80/100]   

Long Branch Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Polish post rockers of Tides From Nebula try to give their music a space feel. I can’t think of any better description for its atmospheric music. Their band name refers to the universe. A Nebula is an interstellar gas cloud that serves as a birthplace of stars. The issue is not new. More concept albums and songs are made about this theme: think of Space Oddity by David Bowie, Countdown by Rush or Interstellar Overdrive by Pink Floyd.

The band was formed in 2008 and Safe Haven is the fourth album. In early May it will be released through Mystic Productions (a big Polish label that features Coma, Riverside, Frontside, Betrayer) and Long Branch Records (Kaiser Chiefs or Everlast ).

Safe Haven is a strong and beautiful album. The title track opens the album in a quiet and thoughtful way. A bit like Pink Floyd’s Wish You Were Here. Halfway through the song, we hear a breaking rhythm and an echoing guitar. The keyboards sound very nice. Percussion and drumming reveal a delicate craftsmanship. Just listen to the intro of Knees To Earth... All The Steps I've Made contains subtle guitars, spacious-sounding keys, a singing bass and drums. We Are The Minor has just been released as a single and floats on a guitar riff that colors the entire song. All songs are decent and the result is a homogeneous and captivating album.

Tides From Nebula has made a spacy and emotional sounding instrumental album. Despite the lack of a voice, the songs have much to tell, in other words you don’t miss the vocals. It's a nice trip of 8 songs that is available as LP and CD (ev. with T-shirt).

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De Poolse postrockers van Tides From Nebula proberen met hun muziek ruimte en heelal weer te geven. Een betere omschrijving kan ik niet bedenken voor hun vrij atmosferische muziek. Ook hun bandnaam verwijst naar het heelal. Een Nebula is immers een interstellaire gas- en stofwolk die fungeert als geboorteplaats van sterren. Nu, het onderwerp is niet nieuw. Er zijn wel vaker conceptplaten en liedjes omtrent dit thema gemaakt. Denk aan Space Oddity door David Bowie, Countdown van Rush of Interstellar Overdrive van Pink Floyd.

De band zag het daglicht in 2008 en Safehaven is het vierde album. Begin mei wordt het op de wereld losgelaten via Mystic Productions (groot Pools label van o.a. Coma, Riverside, Frontside, Betrayer) en Long Branch Records (o.a. Kaiser Chiefs, Everlast…).

Safehaven is een sterk en mooi klinkend album. De titelsong opent de plaat op een rustige en doordachte manier. Een beetje zoals Pink Floyd op Wish You Were Here. Halfweg bloeit de song open met een brekend ritme en een galmende gitaar. De keyboards klinken heel erg mooi. Percussie en het drumwerk getuigen van fijnzinnig vakmanschap. Luister maar eens naar de intro van Knees To EarthAll The Steps I've Made bevat subtiel gitaarwerk, ruimtelijk klinkende keys, een zingende bas en ondersteund drumwerk. We Are The Minor is zopas als single verschenen en drijft op een gitaarriffje dat de hele song kleurt. Alle songs zijn degelijk en het resultaat is een homogeen en boeiend album.

Tides From Nebula heeft een spacy en emotioneel klinkend instrumentaal album gemaakt. Ondanks het ontbreken van een zangstem, hebben de tracks toch veel te vertellen, m.a.w. je mist de vocalen niet echt. Het is een mooie trip van 8 songs, verkrijgbaar als lp en cd (eventueel met T-shirt).

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven 09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi