tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven

TIDES FROM NEBULA

Safehaven

MusicCD
Post RockSpacerock

[80/100]   

Long Branch Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Polish post rockers of Tides From Nebula try to give their music a space feel. I can’t think of any better description for its atmospheric music. Their band name refers to the universe. A Nebula is an interstellar gas cloud that serves as a birthplace of stars. The issue is not new. More concept albums and songs are made about this theme: think of Space Oddity by David Bowie, Countdown by Rush or Interstellar Overdrive by Pink Floyd.

The band was formed in 2008 and Safe Haven is the fourth album. In early May it will be released through Mystic Productions (a big Polish label that features Coma, Riverside, Frontside, Betrayer) and Long Branch Records (Kaiser Chiefs or Everlast ).

Safe Haven is a strong and beautiful album. The title track opens the album in a quiet and thoughtful way. A bit like Pink Floyd’s Wish You Were Here. Halfway through the song, we hear a breaking rhythm and an echoing guitar. The keyboards sound very nice. Percussion and drumming reveal a delicate craftsmanship. Just listen to the intro of Knees To Earth... All The Steps I've Made contains subtle guitars, spacious-sounding keys, a singing bass and drums. We Are The Minor has just been released as a single and floats on a guitar riff that colors the entire song. All songs are decent and the result is a homogeneous and captivating album.

Tides From Nebula has made a spacy and emotional sounding instrumental album. Despite the lack of a voice, the songs have much to tell, in other words you don’t miss the vocals. It's a nice trip of 8 songs that is available as LP and CD (ev. with T-shirt).

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De Poolse postrockers van Tides From Nebula proberen met hun muziek ruimte en heelal weer te geven. Een betere omschrijving kan ik niet bedenken voor hun vrij atmosferische muziek. Ook hun bandnaam verwijst naar het heelal. Een Nebula is immers een interstellaire gas- en stofwolk die fungeert als geboorteplaats van sterren. Nu, het onderwerp is niet nieuw. Er zijn wel vaker conceptplaten en liedjes omtrent dit thema gemaakt. Denk aan Space Oddity door David Bowie, Countdown van Rush of Interstellar Overdrive van Pink Floyd.

De band zag het daglicht in 2008 en Safehaven is het vierde album. Begin mei wordt het op de wereld losgelaten via Mystic Productions (groot Pools label van o.a. Coma, Riverside, Frontside, Betrayer) en Long Branch Records (o.a. Kaiser Chiefs, Everlast…).

Safehaven is een sterk en mooi klinkend album. De titelsong opent de plaat op een rustige en doordachte manier. Een beetje zoals Pink Floyd op Wish You Were Here. Halfweg bloeit de song open met een brekend ritme en een galmende gitaar. De keyboards klinken heel erg mooi. Percussie en het drumwerk getuigen van fijnzinnig vakmanschap. Luister maar eens naar de intro van Knees To EarthAll The Steps I've Made bevat subtiel gitaarwerk, ruimtelijk klinkende keys, een zingende bas en ondersteund drumwerk. We Are The Minor is zopas als single verschenen en drijft op een gitaarriffje dat de hele song kleurt. Alle songs zijn degelijk en het resultaat is een homogeen en boeiend album.

Tides From Nebula heeft een spacy en emotioneel klinkend instrumentaal album gemaakt. Ondanks het ontbreken van een zangstem, hebben de tracks toch veel te vertellen, m.a.w. je mist de vocalen niet echt. Het is een mooie trip van 8 songs, verkrijgbaar als lp en cd (eventueel met T-shirt).

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven 09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane