tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven

TIDES FROM NEBULA

Safehaven

MusicCD
Post RockSpacerock

[80/100]   

Long Branch Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Polish post rockers of Tides From Nebula try to give their music a space feel. I can’t think of any better description for its atmospheric music. Their band name refers to the universe. A Nebula is an interstellar gas cloud that serves as a birthplace of stars. The issue is not new. More concept albums and songs are made about this theme: think of Space Oddity by David Bowie, Countdown by Rush or Interstellar Overdrive by Pink Floyd.

The band was formed in 2008 and Safe Haven is the fourth album. In early May it will be released through Mystic Productions (a big Polish label that features Coma, Riverside, Frontside, Betrayer) and Long Branch Records (Kaiser Chiefs or Everlast ).

Safe Haven is a strong and beautiful album. The title track opens the album in a quiet and thoughtful way. A bit like Pink Floyd’s Wish You Were Here. Halfway through the song, we hear a breaking rhythm and an echoing guitar. The keyboards sound very nice. Percussion and drumming reveal a delicate craftsmanship. Just listen to the intro of Knees To Earth... All The Steps I've Made contains subtle guitars, spacious-sounding keys, a singing bass and drums. We Are The Minor has just been released as a single and floats on a guitar riff that colors the entire song. All songs are decent and the result is a homogeneous and captivating album.

Tides From Nebula has made a spacy and emotional sounding instrumental album. Despite the lack of a voice, the songs have much to tell, in other words you don’t miss the vocals. It's a nice trip of 8 songs that is available as LP and CD (ev. with T-shirt).

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

De Poolse postrockers van Tides From Nebula proberen met hun muziek ruimte en heelal weer te geven. Een betere omschrijving kan ik niet bedenken voor hun vrij atmosferische muziek. Ook hun bandnaam verwijst naar het heelal. Een Nebula is immers een interstellaire gas- en stofwolk die fungeert als geboorteplaats van sterren. Nu, het onderwerp is niet nieuw. Er zijn wel vaker conceptplaten en liedjes omtrent dit thema gemaakt. Denk aan Space Oddity door David Bowie, Countdown van Rush of Interstellar Overdrive van Pink Floyd.

De band zag het daglicht in 2008 en Safehaven is het vierde album. Begin mei wordt het op de wereld losgelaten via Mystic Productions (groot Pools label van o.a. Coma, Riverside, Frontside, Betrayer) en Long Branch Records (o.a. Kaiser Chiefs, Everlast…).

Safehaven is een sterk en mooi klinkend album. De titelsong opent de plaat op een rustige en doordachte manier. Een beetje zoals Pink Floyd op Wish You Were Here. Halfweg bloeit de song open met een brekend ritme en een galmende gitaar. De keyboards klinken heel erg mooi. Percussie en het drumwerk getuigen van fijnzinnig vakmanschap. Luister maar eens naar de intro van Knees To EarthAll The Steps I've Made bevat subtiel gitaarwerk, ruimtelijk klinkende keys, een zingende bas en ondersteund drumwerk. We Are The Minor is zopas als single verschenen en drijft op een gitaarriffje dat de hele song kleurt. Alle songs zijn degelijk en het resultaat is een homogeen en boeiend album.

Tides From Nebula heeft een spacy en emotioneel klinkend instrumentaal album gemaakt. Ondanks het ontbreken van een zangstem, hebben de tracks toch veel te vertellen, m.a.w. je mist de vocalen niet echt. Het is een mooie trip van 8 songs, verkrijgbaar als lp en cd (eventueel met T-shirt).

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven 09/12/2016 : TIDES FROM NEBULA - Safehaven

Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno