tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM - Monolith of Phobos

THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM

Monolith of Phobos

MusicCD
PsychedelicSpacerock

[90/100]   

ATO Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Some artists can’t be categorized. The project consistis of Sean Lennon (John’s son and member of The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger) and Les Claypool (singer assist of Primus).

This album is an integral musical landscape in the form of 11 tracks. Musically, you hear all kinds of influences: indie, psychedelic (Cricket and the Genie Movement I, Movement II), wave (opener Monolith Of Phobos), from jazz to early Pink Floyd (Boomerang Baby) or Alice Cooper (listen to Breathe of a Salesman)... the result is an album with a psychedelic feel. You do not have to take the ironic lyrics seriously, but they fit the musical madness. Captain Lariat is such a crazy example. It could be a song from a rock opera or a musical, with a 70s atmosphere. Zappa is never far away.

Mr. Wright begins with the typical bass play by Les Claypool. The gritty guitar riffs by Sean Lennon surprise me, but I only know him of his solo work that sounds more flat. This is more like prog funk.When playing live, they rely on Marky Ramos of Beastie Boys on keyboards and Paul Baldi of The Fungi Band on drums.

Monolith of Phobos is a concept album about space and it contains the atmosphere of the seventies. Above all it is a fine and good record, available on vinyl and CD.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Er zijn artiesten op wie je meteen een genre kan plakken. Voor een aantal anderen is het moeilijker om ze in een hokje te stoppen. Zo ook voor dit project dat bestaat uit Sean Lennon (ja, zoon van dé Lennon en lid van The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger) en Les Claypool (de zanger/bassist van Primus) en het ontstond nadat ze met hun bands samen toerden.

Er ontwikkelt zich op dit album een integrerend muzikaal landschap in de vorm van 11 tracks. Muzikaal hoor je allerlei invloeden passeren: indie, psychedelic (Cricket and the Genie Movement I en Movement II), wave (Opener Monolith of Phobos is een mooi voorbeeld en bevat een The Edge-gitaargeluid), en van jazz tot vroege Pink Floyd (Boomerang Baby) of Alice Cooper (luister naar Breathe of a Salesman)… Dit alles resulteert in een album met een psychedelische feel. De ironische teksten hoef je niet echt serieus te nemen, maar ze passen goed bij de muzikale gekte. Captain Lariat is zo’n gek geval. Het kon een nummer uit een rockopera of muzikale film zijn. Helemaal in de sfeer van de seventies. Zappa’s geest is nooit ver weg in deze song.

Mr Wright begint met de typische bascapriolen van Les Claypool, die in de songs overduidelijk aanwezig zijn. De gruizige gitaarriffs van Sean Lennon verrassen mij enigszins, maar ik ken hem dan ook alleen van zijn solowerk dat veel gepolijster klinkt dan wat hij hier doet. Hier klinkt het eerder als progfunk. Live nemen ze niet minder dan Marky Ramos van The Beastie Boys mee als toetsenist en Paul Baldi van The Fungi Band als drummer.

Monolith of Phobos is een conceptalbum over de ruimte en bevat de sfeer van de jaren zeventig. Bovenal is het een fijne en goede plaat, verkrijgbaar op vinyl en cd. Nu nog even mijn bloemetjeshemd en mijn broek met olifantenpijpen zoeken...

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets