tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM - Monolith of Phobos

THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM

Monolith of Phobos

MusicCD
PsychedelicSpacerock

[90/100]   

ATO Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Some artists can’t be categorized. The project consistis of Sean Lennon (John’s son and member of The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger) and Les Claypool (singer assist of Primus).

This album is an integral musical landscape in the form of 11 tracks. Musically, you hear all kinds of influences: indie, psychedelic (Cricket and the Genie Movement I, Movement II), wave (opener Monolith Of Phobos), from jazz to early Pink Floyd (Boomerang Baby) or Alice Cooper (listen to Breathe of a Salesman)... the result is an album with a psychedelic feel. You do not have to take the ironic lyrics seriously, but they fit the musical madness. Captain Lariat is such a crazy example. It could be a song from a rock opera or a musical, with a 70s atmosphere. Zappa is never far away.

Mr. Wright begins with the typical bass play by Les Claypool. The gritty guitar riffs by Sean Lennon surprise me, but I only know him of his solo work that sounds more flat. This is more like prog funk.When playing live, they rely on Marky Ramos of Beastie Boys on keyboards and Paul Baldi of The Fungi Band on drums.

Monolith of Phobos is a concept album about space and it contains the atmosphere of the seventies. Above all it is a fine and good record, available on vinyl and CD.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Er zijn artiesten op wie je meteen een genre kan plakken. Voor een aantal anderen is het moeilijker om ze in een hokje te stoppen. Zo ook voor dit project dat bestaat uit Sean Lennon (ja, zoon van dé Lennon en lid van The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger) en Les Claypool (de zanger/bassist van Primus) en het ontstond nadat ze met hun bands samen toerden.

Er ontwikkelt zich op dit album een integrerend muzikaal landschap in de vorm van 11 tracks. Muzikaal hoor je allerlei invloeden passeren: indie, psychedelic (Cricket and the Genie Movement I en Movement II), wave (Opener Monolith of Phobos is een mooi voorbeeld en bevat een The Edge-gitaargeluid), en van jazz tot vroege Pink Floyd (Boomerang Baby) of Alice Cooper (luister naar Breathe of a Salesman)… Dit alles resulteert in een album met een psychedelische feel. De ironische teksten hoef je niet echt serieus te nemen, maar ze passen goed bij de muzikale gekte. Captain Lariat is zo’n gek geval. Het kon een nummer uit een rockopera of muzikale film zijn. Helemaal in de sfeer van de seventies. Zappa’s geest is nooit ver weg in deze song.

Mr Wright begint met de typische bascapriolen van Les Claypool, die in de songs overduidelijk aanwezig zijn. De gruizige gitaarriffs van Sean Lennon verrassen mij enigszins, maar ik ken hem dan ook alleen van zijn solowerk dat veel gepolijster klinkt dan wat hij hier doet. Hier klinkt het eerder als progfunk. Live nemen ze niet minder dan Marky Ramos van The Beastie Boys mee als toetsenist en Paul Baldi van The Fungi Band als drummer.

Monolith of Phobos is een conceptalbum over de ruimte en bevat de sfeer van de jaren zeventig. Bovenal is het een fijne en goede plaat, verkrijgbaar op vinyl en cd. Nu nog even mijn bloemetjeshemd en mijn broek met olifantenpijpen zoeken...

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)