tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM - Monolith of Phobos

THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM

Monolith of Phobos

MusicCD
PsychedelicSpacerock

[90/100]   

ATO Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Some artists can’t be categorized. The project consistis of Sean Lennon (John’s son and member of The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger) and Les Claypool (singer assist of Primus).

This album is an integral musical landscape in the form of 11 tracks. Musically, you hear all kinds of influences: indie, psychedelic (Cricket and the Genie Movement I, Movement II), wave (opener Monolith Of Phobos), from jazz to early Pink Floyd (Boomerang Baby) or Alice Cooper (listen to Breathe of a Salesman)... the result is an album with a psychedelic feel. You do not have to take the ironic lyrics seriously, but they fit the musical madness. Captain Lariat is such a crazy example. It could be a song from a rock opera or a musical, with a 70s atmosphere. Zappa is never far away.

Mr. Wright begins with the typical bass play by Les Claypool. The gritty guitar riffs by Sean Lennon surprise me, but I only know him of his solo work that sounds more flat. This is more like prog funk.When playing live, they rely on Marky Ramos of Beastie Boys on keyboards and Paul Baldi of The Fungi Band on drums.

Monolith of Phobos is a concept album about space and it contains the atmosphere of the seventies. Above all it is a fine and good record, available on vinyl and CD.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Er zijn artiesten op wie je meteen een genre kan plakken. Voor een aantal anderen is het moeilijker om ze in een hokje te stoppen. Zo ook voor dit project dat bestaat uit Sean Lennon (ja, zoon van dé Lennon en lid van The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger) en Les Claypool (de zanger/bassist van Primus) en het ontstond nadat ze met hun bands samen toerden.

Er ontwikkelt zich op dit album een integrerend muzikaal landschap in de vorm van 11 tracks. Muzikaal hoor je allerlei invloeden passeren: indie, psychedelic (Cricket and the Genie Movement I en Movement II), wave (Opener Monolith of Phobos is een mooi voorbeeld en bevat een The Edge-gitaargeluid), en van jazz tot vroege Pink Floyd (Boomerang Baby) of Alice Cooper (luister naar Breathe of a Salesman)… Dit alles resulteert in een album met een psychedelische feel. De ironische teksten hoef je niet echt serieus te nemen, maar ze passen goed bij de muzikale gekte. Captain Lariat is zo’n gek geval. Het kon een nummer uit een rockopera of muzikale film zijn. Helemaal in de sfeer van de seventies. Zappa’s geest is nooit ver weg in deze song.

Mr Wright begint met de typische bascapriolen van Les Claypool, die in de songs overduidelijk aanwezig zijn. De gruizige gitaarriffs van Sean Lennon verrassen mij enigszins, maar ik ken hem dan ook alleen van zijn solowerk dat veel gepolijster klinkt dan wat hij hier doet. Hier klinkt het eerder als progfunk. Live nemen ze niet minder dan Marky Ramos van The Beastie Boys mee als toetsenist en Paul Baldi van The Fungi Band als drummer.

Monolith of Phobos is een conceptalbum over de ruimte en bevat de sfeer van de jaren zeventig. Bovenal is het een fijne en goede plaat, verkrijgbaar op vinyl en cd. Nu nog even mijn bloemetjeshemd en mijn broek met olifantenpijpen zoeken...

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
12
05
PRAGA KHAN
YAP Leopoldsburg
05
05
DER KLINKE
MysteriA Fantasy-Fair Aarschot

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures
14
05
IN DEATH IT ENDS
the most holy death