tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM - Monolith of Phobos

THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM

Monolith of Phobos

MusicCD
PsychedelicSpacerock

[90/100]   

ATO Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Some artists can’t be categorized. The project consistis of Sean Lennon (John’s son and member of The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger) and Les Claypool (singer assist of Primus).

This album is an integral musical landscape in the form of 11 tracks. Musically, you hear all kinds of influences: indie, psychedelic (Cricket and the Genie Movement I, Movement II), wave (opener Monolith Of Phobos), from jazz to early Pink Floyd (Boomerang Baby) or Alice Cooper (listen to Breathe of a Salesman)... the result is an album with a psychedelic feel. You do not have to take the ironic lyrics seriously, but they fit the musical madness. Captain Lariat is such a crazy example. It could be a song from a rock opera or a musical, with a 70s atmosphere. Zappa is never far away.

Mr. Wright begins with the typical bass play by Les Claypool. The gritty guitar riffs by Sean Lennon surprise me, but I only know him of his solo work that sounds more flat. This is more like prog funk.When playing live, they rely on Marky Ramos of Beastie Boys on keyboards and Paul Baldi of The Fungi Band on drums.

Monolith of Phobos is a concept album about space and it contains the atmosphere of the seventies. Above all it is a fine and good record, available on vinyl and CD.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Er zijn artiesten op wie je meteen een genre kan plakken. Voor een aantal anderen is het moeilijker om ze in een hokje te stoppen. Zo ook voor dit project dat bestaat uit Sean Lennon (ja, zoon van dé Lennon en lid van The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger) en Les Claypool (de zanger/bassist van Primus) en het ontstond nadat ze met hun bands samen toerden.

Er ontwikkelt zich op dit album een integrerend muzikaal landschap in de vorm van 11 tracks. Muzikaal hoor je allerlei invloeden passeren: indie, psychedelic (Cricket and the Genie Movement I en Movement II), wave (Opener Monolith of Phobos is een mooi voorbeeld en bevat een The Edge-gitaargeluid), en van jazz tot vroege Pink Floyd (Boomerang Baby) of Alice Cooper (luister naar Breathe of a Salesman)… Dit alles resulteert in een album met een psychedelische feel. De ironische teksten hoef je niet echt serieus te nemen, maar ze passen goed bij de muzikale gekte. Captain Lariat is zo’n gek geval. Het kon een nummer uit een rockopera of muzikale film zijn. Helemaal in de sfeer van de seventies. Zappa’s geest is nooit ver weg in deze song.

Mr Wright begint met de typische bascapriolen van Les Claypool, die in de songs overduidelijk aanwezig zijn. De gruizige gitaarriffs van Sean Lennon verrassen mij enigszins, maar ik ken hem dan ook alleen van zijn solowerk dat veel gepolijster klinkt dan wat hij hier doet. Hier klinkt het eerder als progfunk. Live nemen ze niet minder dan Marky Ramos van The Beastie Boys mee als toetsenist en Paul Baldi van The Fungi Band als drummer.

Monolith of Phobos is een conceptalbum over de ruimte en bevat de sfeer van de jaren zeventig. Bovenal is het een fijne en goede plaat, verkrijgbaar op vinyl en cd. Nu nog even mijn bloemetjeshemd en mijn broek met olifantenpijpen zoeken...

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift