tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM - Monolith of Phobos

THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM

Monolith of Phobos

MusicCD
PsychedelicSpacerock

[90/100]   

ATO Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Some artists can’t be categorized. The project consistis of Sean Lennon (John’s son and member of The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger) and Les Claypool (singer assist of Primus).

This album is an integral musical landscape in the form of 11 tracks. Musically, you hear all kinds of influences: indie, psychedelic (Cricket and the Genie Movement I, Movement II), wave (opener Monolith Of Phobos), from jazz to early Pink Floyd (Boomerang Baby) or Alice Cooper (listen to Breathe of a Salesman)... the result is an album with a psychedelic feel. You do not have to take the ironic lyrics seriously, but they fit the musical madness. Captain Lariat is such a crazy example. It could be a song from a rock opera or a musical, with a 70s atmosphere. Zappa is never far away.

Mr. Wright begins with the typical bass play by Les Claypool. The gritty guitar riffs by Sean Lennon surprise me, but I only know him of his solo work that sounds more flat. This is more like prog funk.When playing live, they rely on Marky Ramos of Beastie Boys on keyboards and Paul Baldi of The Fungi Band on drums.

Monolith of Phobos is a concept album about space and it contains the atmosphere of the seventies. Above all it is a fine and good record, available on vinyl and CD.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Er zijn artiesten op wie je meteen een genre kan plakken. Voor een aantal anderen is het moeilijker om ze in een hokje te stoppen. Zo ook voor dit project dat bestaat uit Sean Lennon (ja, zoon van dé Lennon en lid van The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger) en Les Claypool (de zanger/bassist van Primus) en het ontstond nadat ze met hun bands samen toerden.

Er ontwikkelt zich op dit album een integrerend muzikaal landschap in de vorm van 11 tracks. Muzikaal hoor je allerlei invloeden passeren: indie, psychedelic (Cricket and the Genie Movement I en Movement II), wave (Opener Monolith of Phobos is een mooi voorbeeld en bevat een The Edge-gitaargeluid), en van jazz tot vroege Pink Floyd (Boomerang Baby) of Alice Cooper (luister naar Breathe of a Salesman)… Dit alles resulteert in een album met een psychedelische feel. De ironische teksten hoef je niet echt serieus te nemen, maar ze passen goed bij de muzikale gekte. Captain Lariat is zo’n gek geval. Het kon een nummer uit een rockopera of muzikale film zijn. Helemaal in de sfeer van de seventies. Zappa’s geest is nooit ver weg in deze song.

Mr Wright begint met de typische bascapriolen van Les Claypool, die in de songs overduidelijk aanwezig zijn. De gruizige gitaarriffs van Sean Lennon verrassen mij enigszins, maar ik ken hem dan ook alleen van zijn solowerk dat veel gepolijster klinkt dan wat hij hier doet. Hier klinkt het eerder als progfunk. Live nemen ze niet minder dan Marky Ramos van The Beastie Boys mee als toetsenist en Paul Baldi van The Fungi Band als drummer.

Monolith of Phobos is een conceptalbum over de ruimte en bevat de sfeer van de jaren zeventig. Bovenal is het een fijne en goede plaat, verkrijgbaar op vinyl en cd. Nu nog even mijn bloemetjeshemd en mijn broek met olifantenpijpen zoeken...

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


Music reviews

19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love