tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

10/12/2016 : KOKO COHEN QUINTET - Kochenquit

KOKO COHEN QUINTET

Kochenquit

MusicDigital
AbstractBreakcoreElectroElectronicsIndustrialRock

[80/100]   

Laterax Recordings
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Koko Cohen has not been heard of since his album Bozophobia (2009). Now, there is new work: the EP Kochenquit with five tracks, in which Koko called on fellow musicians Esther Kirschenbaum (vocals), Arnold Kooij (guitar and keyboards), Florian von Francken (guitar and clarinet) and Dr. Graswinckle (programming, keyboards and bass guitar).

The first track of the EP is Gum. Esther Kirchenbaum sings her vocals against a backdrop of guitar strumming and humming electro. Later, dark electro sounds are added, while the track develops into a symphonic electro composition with nervous and metallic percussion and multiple vocal lines: a perfect and promising start. Beside Me gets a dark bass and crisp drums. Versatile electro sounds, loud, noisy and dark, are added with a musing Kirchenbaum on top. We frequently hear violent waves of synths, backed by dark drones, distorted and irregular, but also violent, with a peaceful guitar in between and then a fireworks of synths and drones: a cascade of bizarre and synthetic sounds.

I wish someone would clean up, Esther Kirchenbaum sings in the intro of Mouse against a humming background of electro sounds. After an attack of distorted percussion, the composition evolves into a synth pop track for the dance floor, with tin-like drums, buzzing and whistling synths. Urtica starts squeaking and scratching with a pinched woman's voice on top. What Dr. Graswinckle and Koko Cohen squeeze out of their computers, you have rarely or even never heard before: abstract electronic noise with industrial influences and yet melodic. Daring and original at the same time. Very special.

The fifth and last track on the EP is Lutser. You wonder how they do it, because tone, colour and tempo are constantly changing, while the composition always remains intact. We hear rusty and whistling synths, abrasive guitars, a whispering and reverberating Esther Kirchenbaum, dark drones and a grand finale in breakcore style. Im-press-ive.

The EP Kochenquit is like a tsunami of sound. It is amazing what the Koko Cohen Quintet achieves in only five tracks. It always sounds different and surprising, versatile, noisy and yet melodic, but most of all: original and captivating.

Tracklist:
1. Gum
2. Beside Me
3. Mouse
4. Urtica
5. Lutser

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Het is van 2009 geleden (album Bozophobia) dat Koko Cohen nog van zich liet horen. Nu is er nieuw werk: de ep Kochenquit met vijf tracks, waarvoor hij een beroep deed op collega-muzikanten Esther Kirschenbaum (zang), Arnold Kooij (gitaar en toetsen), Florian von Francken (gitaar en klarinet) en Dr Graswinckle (programmering, toetsen en basgitaar). Zelf neemt hij programmering, toetsen en achtergrondzang voor z’n rekening.

De eerste track van de ep is Gum. Esther Kirchenbaum neemt de vocalen voor haar rekening tegen een achtergrond van gitaargetokkel en zoemende elektro. Later worden donkere elektroklanken toegevoegd en ontwikkelt de track zich tot een symfonische elektrocompositie met zenuwachtig en metaalachtig slagwerk en waaierende zanglijnen: een perfecte en veelbelovende start. Een donkere bas en knisperend slagwerk leiden Beside Me in. Veelzijdig elektro, luid, lawaaierig en donker, wordt toegevoegd met een mijmerende Kirchenbaum tussendoor. Regelmatig horen we ferme uithalen van de synths, gesteund door donkere drones, distorted en haperend, maar vooral ook heftig, met een rustige gitaar tussendoor en dan opnieuw een vuurwerk van synths en drones: een waterval van bizarre en synthetische klanken.

I Wish someone would clean up, zingt Esther Kirchenbaum in de intro van Mouse tegen een zoemende achtergrond van elektro, en na een aanval van distorted slagwerk, groeit de compositie even uit tot een synthpoptrack voor de dansvloer, met blikachtig slagwerk, brommende en fluitende synths. Urtica komt piepend en krassend op gang met bovenop een afgeknepen vrouwenstem. Wat Dr Graswinckle en Koko Cohen uit hun computers tevoorschijn toveren heb je zelden of zelfs nooit eerder gehoord: abstract en elektronisch geluid met industriële toetsen, dat niettemin altijd melodisch blijft. Gedurfd en origineel tegelijk. Heel apart.

De vijfde en laatste track op de ep is Lutser. Je vraagt je af hoe ze het doen, want het geluid verandert voortdurend van toon en kleur en het tempo wisselt constant, terwijl de compositie toch altijd een geheel blijft vormen. We horen roestige en fluitende synths, schurende gitaren, een fluisterende en galmende Esther Kirchenbaum, donkere drones en een grootste finale in breakcore-stijl. In-druk-wek-kend.

De ep Kochenquit is als een tsunami van geluiden. Het is onvoorstelbaar wat de heren en dame van het Koko Cohen Quintet allemaal in niet meer dan vijf tracks stoppen. Het klinkt altijd anders en verrassend, veelzijdig, lawaaierig en toch melodisch, maar vooral: origineel en boeiend.

Tracklist:
1. Gum
2. Beside Me
3. Mouse
4. Urtica
5. Lutser

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • The Poet
NU:N • Nothing Unveils Nothing
PSYCHIC TV • Brussels, Recyclart (21/05/2016)
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
NASH THE SLASH • Children of the Night/Dreams and Nightmares:
STEVEN BROWN • Music For Film and Theatre

 

Same genre: ABSTRACT
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
ZONE DEMERSALE • Figura
JEAN-LUC GODARD • Adieu Au Langage 3D (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

 

Same genre: BREAKCORE
RUGITUS AETERNAM • RHYTHMS FOR A DISTORTED AGE
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
RUBY MY DEAR • Form
MONOLOG • 2 Dots Left
HIMIKO • Dethnoizzz
IGORRR • Hallelujah
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
NEEDLE FACTORY • Jubilee

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus