tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

10/12/2016 : KOKO COHEN QUINTET - Kochenquit

KOKO COHEN QUINTET

Kochenquit

MusicDigital
AbstractBreakcoreElectroElectronicsIndustrialRock

[80/100]   

Laterax Recordings
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Koko Cohen has not been heard of since his album Bozophobia (2009). Now, there is new work: the EP Kochenquit with five tracks, in which Koko called on fellow musicians Esther Kirschenbaum (vocals), Arnold Kooij (guitar and keyboards), Florian von Francken (guitar and clarinet) and Dr. Graswinckle (programming, keyboards and bass guitar).

The first track of the EP is Gum. Esther Kirchenbaum sings her vocals against a backdrop of guitar strumming and humming electro. Later, dark electro sounds are added, while the track develops into a symphonic electro composition with nervous and metallic percussion and multiple vocal lines: a perfect and promising start. Beside Me gets a dark bass and crisp drums. Versatile electro sounds, loud, noisy and dark, are added with a musing Kirchenbaum on top. We frequently hear violent waves of synths, backed by dark drones, distorted and irregular, but also violent, with a peaceful guitar in between and then a fireworks of synths and drones: a cascade of bizarre and synthetic sounds.

I wish someone would clean up, Esther Kirchenbaum sings in the intro of Mouse against a humming background of electro sounds. After an attack of distorted percussion, the composition evolves into a synth pop track for the dance floor, with tin-like drums, buzzing and whistling synths. Urtica starts squeaking and scratching with a pinched woman's voice on top. What Dr. Graswinckle and Koko Cohen squeeze out of their computers, you have rarely or even never heard before: abstract electronic noise with industrial influences and yet melodic. Daring and original at the same time. Very special.

The fifth and last track on the EP is Lutser. You wonder how they do it, because tone, colour and tempo are constantly changing, while the composition always remains intact. We hear rusty and whistling synths, abrasive guitars, a whispering and reverberating Esther Kirchenbaum, dark drones and a grand finale in breakcore style. Im-press-ive.

The EP Kochenquit is like a tsunami of sound. It is amazing what the Koko Cohen Quintet achieves in only five tracks. It always sounds different and surprising, versatile, noisy and yet melodic, but most of all: original and captivating.

Tracklist:
1. Gum
2. Beside Me
3. Mouse
4. Urtica
5. Lutser

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Het is van 2009 geleden (album Bozophobia) dat Koko Cohen nog van zich liet horen. Nu is er nieuw werk: de ep Kochenquit met vijf tracks, waarvoor hij een beroep deed op collega-muzikanten Esther Kirschenbaum (zang), Arnold Kooij (gitaar en toetsen), Florian von Francken (gitaar en klarinet) en Dr Graswinckle (programmering, toetsen en basgitaar). Zelf neemt hij programmering, toetsen en achtergrondzang voor z’n rekening.

De eerste track van de ep is Gum. Esther Kirchenbaum neemt de vocalen voor haar rekening tegen een achtergrond van gitaargetokkel en zoemende elektro. Later worden donkere elektroklanken toegevoegd en ontwikkelt de track zich tot een symfonische elektrocompositie met zenuwachtig en metaalachtig slagwerk en waaierende zanglijnen: een perfecte en veelbelovende start. Een donkere bas en knisperend slagwerk leiden Beside Me in. Veelzijdig elektro, luid, lawaaierig en donker, wordt toegevoegd met een mijmerende Kirchenbaum tussendoor. Regelmatig horen we ferme uithalen van de synths, gesteund door donkere drones, distorted en haperend, maar vooral ook heftig, met een rustige gitaar tussendoor en dan opnieuw een vuurwerk van synths en drones: een waterval van bizarre en synthetische klanken.

I Wish someone would clean up, zingt Esther Kirchenbaum in de intro van Mouse tegen een zoemende achtergrond van elektro, en na een aanval van distorted slagwerk, groeit de compositie even uit tot een synthpoptrack voor de dansvloer, met blikachtig slagwerk, brommende en fluitende synths. Urtica komt piepend en krassend op gang met bovenop een afgeknepen vrouwenstem. Wat Dr Graswinckle en Koko Cohen uit hun computers tevoorschijn toveren heb je zelden of zelfs nooit eerder gehoord: abstract en elektronisch geluid met industriële toetsen, dat niettemin altijd melodisch blijft. Gedurfd en origineel tegelijk. Heel apart.

De vijfde en laatste track op de ep is Lutser. Je vraagt je af hoe ze het doen, want het geluid verandert voortdurend van toon en kleur en het tempo wisselt constant, terwijl de compositie toch altijd een geheel blijft vormen. We horen roestige en fluitende synths, schurende gitaren, een fluisterende en galmende Esther Kirchenbaum, donkere drones en een grootste finale in breakcore-stijl. In-druk-wek-kend.

De ep Kochenquit is als een tsunami van geluiden. Het is onvoorstelbaar wat de heren en dame van het Koko Cohen Quintet allemaal in niet meer dan vijf tracks stoppen. Het klinkt altijd anders en verrassend, veelzijdig, lawaaierig en toch melodisch, maar vooral: origineel en boeiend.

Tracklist:
1. Gum
2. Beside Me
3. Mouse
4. Urtica
5. Lutser

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • The Poet
NU:N • Nothing Unveils Nothing
PSYCHIC TV • Brussels, Recyclart (21/05/2016)
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
NASH THE SLASH • Children of the Night/Dreams and Nightmares:
STEVEN BROWN • Music For Film and Theatre

 

Same genre: ABSTRACT
ALSO • Live in Celovec
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12

 

Same genre: BREAKCORE
RUGITUS AETERNAM • RHYTHMS FOR A DISTORTED AGE
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
RUBY MY DEAR • Form
MONOLOG • 2 Dots Left
HIMIKO • Dethnoizzz
IGORRR • Hallelujah
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
NEEDLE FACTORY • Jubilee

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear
DIVE • Where do we go from here
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected