tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

10/12/2016 : KOKO COHEN QUINTET - Kochenquit

KOKO COHEN QUINTET

Kochenquit

MusicDigital
AbstractBreakcoreElectroElectronicsIndustrialRock

[80/100]   

Laterax Recordings
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Koko Cohen has not been heard of since his album Bozophobia (2009). Now, there is new work: the EP Kochenquit with five tracks, in which Koko called on fellow musicians Esther Kirschenbaum (vocals), Arnold Kooij (guitar and keyboards), Florian von Francken (guitar and clarinet) and Dr. Graswinckle (programming, keyboards and bass guitar).

The first track of the EP is Gum. Esther Kirchenbaum sings her vocals against a backdrop of guitar strumming and humming electro. Later, dark electro sounds are added, while the track develops into a symphonic electro composition with nervous and metallic percussion and multiple vocal lines: a perfect and promising start. Beside Me gets a dark bass and crisp drums. Versatile electro sounds, loud, noisy and dark, are added with a musing Kirchenbaum on top. We frequently hear violent waves of synths, backed by dark drones, distorted and irregular, but also violent, with a peaceful guitar in between and then a fireworks of synths and drones: a cascade of bizarre and synthetic sounds.

I wish someone would clean up, Esther Kirchenbaum sings in the intro of Mouse against a humming background of electro sounds. After an attack of distorted percussion, the composition evolves into a synth pop track for the dance floor, with tin-like drums, buzzing and whistling synths. Urtica starts squeaking and scratching with a pinched woman's voice on top. What Dr. Graswinckle and Koko Cohen squeeze out of their computers, you have rarely or even never heard before: abstract electronic noise with industrial influences and yet melodic. Daring and original at the same time. Very special.

The fifth and last track on the EP is Lutser. You wonder how they do it, because tone, colour and tempo are constantly changing, while the composition always remains intact. We hear rusty and whistling synths, abrasive guitars, a whispering and reverberating Esther Kirchenbaum, dark drones and a grand finale in breakcore style. Im-press-ive.

The EP Kochenquit is like a tsunami of sound. It is amazing what the Koko Cohen Quintet achieves in only five tracks. It always sounds different and surprising, versatile, noisy and yet melodic, but most of all: original and captivating.

Tracklist:
1. Gum
2. Beside Me
3. Mouse
4. Urtica
5. Lutser

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Het is van 2009 geleden (album Bozophobia) dat Koko Cohen nog van zich liet horen. Nu is er nieuw werk: de ep Kochenquit met vijf tracks, waarvoor hij een beroep deed op collega-muzikanten Esther Kirschenbaum (zang), Arnold Kooij (gitaar en toetsen), Florian von Francken (gitaar en klarinet) en Dr Graswinckle (programmering, toetsen en basgitaar). Zelf neemt hij programmering, toetsen en achtergrondzang voor z’n rekening.

De eerste track van de ep is Gum. Esther Kirchenbaum neemt de vocalen voor haar rekening tegen een achtergrond van gitaargetokkel en zoemende elektro. Later worden donkere elektroklanken toegevoegd en ontwikkelt de track zich tot een symfonische elektrocompositie met zenuwachtig en metaalachtig slagwerk en waaierende zanglijnen: een perfecte en veelbelovende start. Een donkere bas en knisperend slagwerk leiden Beside Me in. Veelzijdig elektro, luid, lawaaierig en donker, wordt toegevoegd met een mijmerende Kirchenbaum tussendoor. Regelmatig horen we ferme uithalen van de synths, gesteund door donkere drones, distorted en haperend, maar vooral ook heftig, met een rustige gitaar tussendoor en dan opnieuw een vuurwerk van synths en drones: een waterval van bizarre en synthetische klanken.

I Wish someone would clean up, zingt Esther Kirchenbaum in de intro van Mouse tegen een zoemende achtergrond van elektro, en na een aanval van distorted slagwerk, groeit de compositie even uit tot een synthpoptrack voor de dansvloer, met blikachtig slagwerk, brommende en fluitende synths. Urtica komt piepend en krassend op gang met bovenop een afgeknepen vrouwenstem. Wat Dr Graswinckle en Koko Cohen uit hun computers tevoorschijn toveren heb je zelden of zelfs nooit eerder gehoord: abstract en elektronisch geluid met industriële toetsen, dat niettemin altijd melodisch blijft. Gedurfd en origineel tegelijk. Heel apart.

De vijfde en laatste track op de ep is Lutser. Je vraagt je af hoe ze het doen, want het geluid verandert voortdurend van toon en kleur en het tempo wisselt constant, terwijl de compositie toch altijd een geheel blijft vormen. We horen roestige en fluitende synths, schurende gitaren, een fluisterende en galmende Esther Kirchenbaum, donkere drones en een grootste finale in breakcore-stijl. In-druk-wek-kend.

De ep Kochenquit is als een tsunami van geluiden. Het is onvoorstelbaar wat de heren en dame van het Koko Cohen Quintet allemaal in niet meer dan vijf tracks stoppen. Het klinkt altijd anders en verrassend, veelzijdig, lawaaierig en toch melodisch, maar vooral: origineel en boeiend.

Tracklist:
1. Gum
2. Beside Me
3. Mouse
4. Urtica
5. Lutser

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • The Poet
NU:N • Nothing Unveils Nothing
PSYCHIC TV • Brussels, Recyclart (21/05/2016)
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
NASH THE SLASH • Children of the Night/Dreams and Nightmares:
STEVEN BROWN • Music For Film and Theatre

 

Same genre: ABSTRACT
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
ZONE DEMERSALE • Figura

 

Same genre: BREAKCORE
RUGITUS AETERNAM • RHYTHMS FOR A DISTORTED AGE
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
RUBY MY DEAR • Form
MONOLOG • 2 Dots Left
HIMIKO • Dethnoizzz
IGORRR • Hallelujah
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
NEEDLE FACTORY • Jubilee

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

 

Same genre: ROCK
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis