tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

10/12/2016 : KOKO COHEN QUINTET - Kochenquit

KOKO COHEN QUINTET

Kochenquit

MusicDigital
AbstractBreakcoreElectroElectronicsIndustrialRock

[80/100]   

Laterax Recordings
10/12/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

Koko Cohen has not been heard of since his album Bozophobia (2009). Now, there is new work: the EP Kochenquit with five tracks, in which Koko called on fellow musicians Esther Kirschenbaum (vocals), Arnold Kooij (guitar and keyboards), Florian von Francken (guitar and clarinet) and Dr. Graswinckle (programming, keyboards and bass guitar).

The first track of the EP is Gum. Esther Kirchenbaum sings her vocals against a backdrop of guitar strumming and humming electro. Later, dark electro sounds are added, while the track develops into a symphonic electro composition with nervous and metallic percussion and multiple vocal lines: a perfect and promising start. Beside Me gets a dark bass and crisp drums. Versatile electro sounds, loud, noisy and dark, are added with a musing Kirchenbaum on top. We frequently hear violent waves of synths, backed by dark drones, distorted and irregular, but also violent, with a peaceful guitar in between and then a fireworks of synths and drones: a cascade of bizarre and synthetic sounds.

I wish someone would clean up, Esther Kirchenbaum sings in the intro of Mouse against a humming background of electro sounds. After an attack of distorted percussion, the composition evolves into a synth pop track for the dance floor, with tin-like drums, buzzing and whistling synths. Urtica starts squeaking and scratching with a pinched woman's voice on top. What Dr. Graswinckle and Koko Cohen squeeze out of their computers, you have rarely or even never heard before: abstract electronic noise with industrial influences and yet melodic. Daring and original at the same time. Very special.

The fifth and last track on the EP is Lutser. You wonder how they do it, because tone, colour and tempo are constantly changing, while the composition always remains intact. We hear rusty and whistling synths, abrasive guitars, a whispering and reverberating Esther Kirchenbaum, dark drones and a grand finale in breakcore style. Im-press-ive.

The EP Kochenquit is like a tsunami of sound. It is amazing what the Koko Cohen Quintet achieves in only five tracks. It always sounds different and surprising, versatile, noisy and yet melodic, but most of all: original and captivating.

Tracklist:
1. Gum
2. Beside Me
3. Mouse
4. Urtica
5. Lutser

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


NL

Het is van 2009 geleden (album Bozophobia) dat Koko Cohen nog van zich liet horen. Nu is er nieuw werk: de ep Kochenquit met vijf tracks, waarvoor hij een beroep deed op collega-muzikanten Esther Kirschenbaum (zang), Arnold Kooij (gitaar en toetsen), Florian von Francken (gitaar en klarinet) en Dr Graswinckle (programmering, toetsen en basgitaar). Zelf neemt hij programmering, toetsen en achtergrondzang voor z’n rekening.

De eerste track van de ep is Gum. Esther Kirchenbaum neemt de vocalen voor haar rekening tegen een achtergrond van gitaargetokkel en zoemende elektro. Later worden donkere elektroklanken toegevoegd en ontwikkelt de track zich tot een symfonische elektrocompositie met zenuwachtig en metaalachtig slagwerk en waaierende zanglijnen: een perfecte en veelbelovende start. Een donkere bas en knisperend slagwerk leiden Beside Me in. Veelzijdig elektro, luid, lawaaierig en donker, wordt toegevoegd met een mijmerende Kirchenbaum tussendoor. Regelmatig horen we ferme uithalen van de synths, gesteund door donkere drones, distorted en haperend, maar vooral ook heftig, met een rustige gitaar tussendoor en dan opnieuw een vuurwerk van synths en drones: een waterval van bizarre en synthetische klanken.

I Wish someone would clean up, zingt Esther Kirchenbaum in de intro van Mouse tegen een zoemende achtergrond van elektro, en na een aanval van distorted slagwerk, groeit de compositie even uit tot een synthpoptrack voor de dansvloer, met blikachtig slagwerk, brommende en fluitende synths. Urtica komt piepend en krassend op gang met bovenop een afgeknepen vrouwenstem. Wat Dr Graswinckle en Koko Cohen uit hun computers tevoorschijn toveren heb je zelden of zelfs nooit eerder gehoord: abstract en elektronisch geluid met industriële toetsen, dat niettemin altijd melodisch blijft. Gedurfd en origineel tegelijk. Heel apart.

De vijfde en laatste track op de ep is Lutser. Je vraagt je af hoe ze het doen, want het geluid verandert voortdurend van toon en kleur en het tempo wisselt constant, terwijl de compositie toch altijd een geheel blijft vormen. We horen roestige en fluitende synths, schurende gitaren, een fluisterende en galmende Esther Kirchenbaum, donkere drones en een grootste finale in breakcore-stijl. In-druk-wek-kend.

De ep Kochenquit is als een tsunami van geluiden. Het is onvoorstelbaar wat de heren en dame van het Koko Cohen Quintet allemaal in niet meer dan vijf tracks stoppen. Het klinkt altijd anders en verrassend, veelzijdig, lawaaierig en toch melodisch, maar vooral: origineel en boeiend.

Tracklist:
1. Gum
2. Beside Me
3. Mouse
4. Urtica
5. Lutser

William LIÉNARD
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • The Poet
NU:N • Nothing Unveils Nothing
PSYCHIC TV • Brussels, Recyclart (21/05/2016)
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
NASH THE SLASH • Children of the Night/Dreams and Nightmares:
STEVEN BROWN • Music For Film and Theatre

 

Same genre: ABSTRACT
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ANNIE COHEN-SOLAL • Mark Rothko
STEFAN CHRISTOFF/POST MORTEM • Tape Crash #12
MICHAEL IDEHALL • Deep Code Sol
THIS SIDE OF JORDAN • Set The Record Straight
ZONE DEMERSALE • Figura
JEAN-LUC GODARD • Adieu Au Langage 3D (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

 

Same genre: BREAKCORE
RUGITUS AETERNAM • RHYTHMS FOR A DISTORTED AGE
ETHAN FAWKES • ALL YOUR LIES
LABORATORY 5 • Awake in the dark
LABORATORY 5 • Rise ov The Machines EP
RUBY MY DEAR • Form
MONOLOG • 2 Dots Left
HIMIKO • Dethnoizzz
IGORRR • Hallelujah
WHOURKR • 4247 Snare Drums
NEEDLE FACTORY • Jubilee

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter

 

Same genre: ROCK
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life