tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/02/2014 : RUBY MY DEAR - Form

RUBY MY DEAR

Form

MusicCD
BreakcoreDubstepTrip Hop

[85/100]   

Ad Noiseam
20/02/2014, Chris KONINGS

Some people might remember my review of Underhill, where the mix of hiphop, dubstep and breakbeat brought your reviewer drooling for more. Well one year later, Ruby My Dear achieves in doing the exact same.

The intro lures you in a laidback mood but "Stax" let's loose the quirky idm breaks, love the minimal piano outro by Igorrr. Then the epic "Spleen" shakes your senses, dark triphop with gangsta movie samples and then the shooting resulls in a frantic drum n break inferno pimped with wobble bass and soprano vocals. Great song! "Carradine Suicide" goes further with the Aphex Twin idm and afro dubstep. Crisp production everywhere!

Did I mention Aphex Twin? Well wacky downtempo tune "Jitter Room" could've come straight from him... "Annwvyn" has the same sound, upgraded with some heavy breaks. The playful strings on "20 Bits Fish" lighten up the rollercoaster breaks, the contrast a slap in the face. "Geysa" is even more experimental, leaving behind all rules, a bit like Björk's Biophilia.

"Focus On Sanity", hard to do when there's 200bpm killing your senses, love the wink towards hardcore techno and the bubbly playfulness of tthe song. "Oct Crystal" is the silence before the storm and final track "Embruns" is another epic track. A base of downtempo triphop mixed with more breaks you can shake a stick at.

Form, defined by it's contours and filled with just about everything you can think of. Great album!

Chris KONINGS
20/02/2014


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway