tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/02/2014 : RUBY MY DEAR - Form

RUBY MY DEAR

Form

MusicCD
BreakcoreDubstepTrip Hop

[85/100]   

Ad Noiseam
20/02/2014, Chris KONINGS

Some people might remember my review of Underhill, where the mix of hiphop, dubstep and breakbeat brought your reviewer drooling for more. Well one year later, Ruby My Dear achieves in doing the exact same.

The intro lures you in a laidback mood but "Stax" let's loose the quirky idm breaks, love the minimal piano outro by Igorrr. Then the epic "Spleen" shakes your senses, dark triphop with gangsta movie samples and then the shooting resulls in a frantic drum n break inferno pimped with wobble bass and soprano vocals. Great song! "Carradine Suicide" goes further with the Aphex Twin idm and afro dubstep. Crisp production everywhere!

Did I mention Aphex Twin? Well wacky downtempo tune "Jitter Room" could've come straight from him... "Annwvyn" has the same sound, upgraded with some heavy breaks. The playful strings on "20 Bits Fish" lighten up the rollercoaster breaks, the contrast a slap in the face. "Geysa" is even more experimental, leaving behind all rules, a bit like Björk's Biophilia.

"Focus On Sanity", hard to do when there's 200bpm killing your senses, love the wink towards hardcore techno and the bubbly playfulness of tthe song. "Oct Crystal" is the silence before the storm and final track "Embruns" is another epic track. A base of downtempo triphop mixed with more breaks you can shake a stick at.

Form, defined by it's contours and filled with just about everything you can think of. Great album!

Chris KONINGS
20/02/2014


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!
02
02
Anarchy And Innocence | Sid Vicious Died 44 Years Ago Today...

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face
31
01
W. PIKE
We were lucky