tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/02/2014 : RUBY MY DEAR - Form

RUBY MY DEAR

Form

MusicCD
BreakcoreDubstepTrip Hop

[85/100]   

Ad Noiseam
20/02/2014, Chris KONINGS

Some people might remember my review of Underhill, where the mix of hiphop, dubstep and breakbeat brought your reviewer drooling for more. Well one year later, Ruby My Dear achieves in doing the exact same.

The intro lures you in a laidback mood but "Stax" let's loose the quirky idm breaks, love the minimal piano outro by Igorrr. Then the epic "Spleen" shakes your senses, dark triphop with gangsta movie samples and then the shooting resulls in a frantic drum n break inferno pimped with wobble bass and soprano vocals. Great song! "Carradine Suicide" goes further with the Aphex Twin idm and afro dubstep. Crisp production everywhere!

Did I mention Aphex Twin? Well wacky downtempo tune "Jitter Room" could've come straight from him... "Annwvyn" has the same sound, upgraded with some heavy breaks. The playful strings on "20 Bits Fish" lighten up the rollercoaster breaks, the contrast a slap in the face. "Geysa" is even more experimental, leaving behind all rules, a bit like Björk's Biophilia.

"Focus On Sanity", hard to do when there's 200bpm killing your senses, love the wink towards hardcore techno and the bubbly playfulness of tthe song. "Oct Crystal" is the silence before the storm and final track "Embruns" is another epic track. A base of downtempo triphop mixed with more breaks you can shake a stick at.

Form, defined by it's contours and filled with just about everything you can think of. Great album!

Chris KONINGS
20/02/2014


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked