tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/02/2014 : RUBY MY DEAR - Form

RUBY MY DEAR

Form

MusicCD
BreakcoreDubstepTrip Hop

[85/100]   

Ad Noiseam
20/02/2014, Chris KONINGS

Some people might remember my review of Underhill, where the mix of hiphop, dubstep and breakbeat brought your reviewer drooling for more. Well one year later, Ruby My Dear achieves in doing the exact same.

The intro lures you in a laidback mood but "Stax" let's loose the quirky idm breaks, love the minimal piano outro by Igorrr. Then the epic "Spleen" shakes your senses, dark triphop with gangsta movie samples and then the shooting resulls in a frantic drum n break inferno pimped with wobble bass and soprano vocals. Great song! "Carradine Suicide" goes further with the Aphex Twin idm and afro dubstep. Crisp production everywhere!

Did I mention Aphex Twin? Well wacky downtempo tune "Jitter Room" could've come straight from him... "Annwvyn" has the same sound, upgraded with some heavy breaks. The playful strings on "20 Bits Fish" lighten up the rollercoaster breaks, the contrast a slap in the face. "Geysa" is even more experimental, leaving behind all rules, a bit like Björk's Biophilia.

"Focus On Sanity", hard to do when there's 200bpm killing your senses, love the wink towards hardcore techno and the bubbly playfulness of tthe song. "Oct Crystal" is the silence before the storm and final track "Embruns" is another epic track. A base of downtempo triphop mixed with more breaks you can shake a stick at.

Form, defined by it's contours and filled with just about everything you can think of. Great album!

Chris KONINGS
20/02/2014


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life