tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/02/2014 : RUBY MY DEAR - Form

RUBY MY DEAR

Form

MusicCD
BreakcoreDubstepTrip Hop

[85/100]   

Ad Noiseam
20/02/2014, Chris KONINGS

Some people might remember my review of Underhill, where the mix of hiphop, dubstep and breakbeat brought your reviewer drooling for more. Well one year later, Ruby My Dear achieves in doing the exact same.

The intro lures you in a laidback mood but "Stax" let's loose the quirky idm breaks, love the minimal piano outro by Igorrr. Then the epic "Spleen" shakes your senses, dark triphop with gangsta movie samples and then the shooting resulls in a frantic drum n break inferno pimped with wobble bass and soprano vocals. Great song! "Carradine Suicide" goes further with the Aphex Twin idm and afro dubstep. Crisp production everywhere!

Did I mention Aphex Twin? Well wacky downtempo tune "Jitter Room" could've come straight from him... "Annwvyn" has the same sound, upgraded with some heavy breaks. The playful strings on "20 Bits Fish" lighten up the rollercoaster breaks, the contrast a slap in the face. "Geysa" is even more experimental, leaving behind all rules, a bit like Björk's Biophilia.

"Focus On Sanity", hard to do when there's 200bpm killing your senses, love the wink towards hardcore techno and the bubbly playfulness of tthe song. "Oct Crystal" is the silence before the storm and final track "Embruns" is another epic track. A base of downtempo triphop mixed with more breaks you can shake a stick at.

Form, defined by it's contours and filled with just about everything you can think of. Great album!

Chris KONINGS
20/02/2014


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap