tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2016 : LAMB - 5

LAMB

5

MusicCD
Electro PopTrip Hop

[80/100]   

Butler Records
15/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fifteen years after the release of their debut album and after a long pause, Lamb released '5' in 2011. The album was followed by a major tour, and in 2014 Backspace Unwind came out. Five years after '5' ,Butler Records now reissues the album including four unreleased songs.

The main difference with the previous album is that the voice of Louise Rhodes is more prominent on "5". The songs are warmer and in some way more accessible than before. The album received good reviews everywhere. Outstanding tracks are Back To Beginning with Damian Rice, the warm and subdued Rounds, as well as the electronic tracks like Butterfly Effect and Another Language. You won’t find big hits here, but Lamb fans won't mind! They expect beautiful and quirky songs, and those are included!

The press release says that the four bonus tracks are worth to be released. Well, you really can’t say they’re real surprises. Dischords, the demo version of Rounds, the instrumental version of Last Night The Sky and The Spectacle (Reprise) already were available on the limited double CD.

Don’t be upset by all this. In case you don’t have this album in your collection, this is your ultimate chance to buy it and to (re)discover its splendour. The music is still relevant, excellent and timeless. And what an unique voice Louise has!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2016


NL

Vijftien jaar na de release van hun debuutalbum en na een lange pauze bracht Lamb in 2011 ‘5’ uit. Die werd gevolgd door een grote tournee en in 2014 verscheen de aardige plaat Backspace Unwind. Vijf jaar na ‘5’ brengt Butler Records het album opnieuw uit, aangevuld met vier onuitgebrachte nummers.

Het voornaamste verschil met het vorige album was dat op ‘5’ de stem van Louise Rhodes nog meer op de voorgrond kwam. De zang was warmer en minder tegendraads (toegankelijker dus) dan voorheen. Het album kreeg overal goede kritieken. Uitschieters waren Back to beginning met Damian Rice of het warme en ingetogen Rounds, alsook de elektronische tracks zoals Butterfly Effect en Another Language. Grote hits staan er niet op, maar Lamb-fans zitten daar ook niet op te wachten. Zij verwachten eerder mooie en eigenzinnige songs en die zijn hier wel aanwezig!

In de perstekst wordt vermeld dat de vier bonustracks het waard zijn om uitgebracht te worden. Nou ja, echte verrassingen kan je het niet noemen. Dischords, de demoversie van Rounds, de instrumentale versie van Last Night The Sky en The Spectacle (Reprise) stonden eerder al op de gelimiteerde dubbel-cd.

Laat dit alles niet aan je hart komen. Heb je dit album nog niet in huis, dan is dit je kans om deze cd alsnog aan te schaffen en de pracht ervan te (her)ontdekken. De muziek klinkt nog steeds relevant, knap en tijdloos. En die stem van Louise blijft toch wel uniek!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2016


Music reviews

22
04
PINK TURNS BLUE
There Must Be So Much More
21
04
POTOCHKINE
Sortilèges
20
04
BLUTENGEL
Fountain of Destiny
19
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Witches' Lullaby
18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 35 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
I ask myself time after time: can love still save us?
15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
Mountains Crave
21
04
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
20
04
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
19
04
VUKOVAR
When Rome Falls (Official Video)
19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl