tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2016 : LAMB - 5

LAMB

5

MusicCD
Electro PopTrip Hop

[80/100]   

Butler Records
15/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fifteen years after the release of their debut album and after a long pause, Lamb released '5' in 2011. The album was followed by a major tour, and in 2014 Backspace Unwind came out. Five years after '5' ,Butler Records now reissues the album including four unreleased songs.

The main difference with the previous album is that the voice of Louise Rhodes is more prominent on "5". The songs are warmer and in some way more accessible than before. The album received good reviews everywhere. Outstanding tracks are Back To Beginning with Damian Rice, the warm and subdued Rounds, as well as the electronic tracks like Butterfly Effect and Another Language. You won’t find big hits here, but Lamb fans won't mind! They expect beautiful and quirky songs, and those are included!

The press release says that the four bonus tracks are worth to be released. Well, you really can’t say they’re real surprises. Dischords, the demo version of Rounds, the instrumental version of Last Night The Sky and The Spectacle (Reprise) already were available on the limited double CD.

Don’t be upset by all this. In case you don’t have this album in your collection, this is your ultimate chance to buy it and to (re)discover its splendour. The music is still relevant, excellent and timeless. And what an unique voice Louise has!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2016


NL

Vijftien jaar na de release van hun debuutalbum en na een lange pauze bracht Lamb in 2011 ‘5’ uit. Die werd gevolgd door een grote tournee en in 2014 verscheen de aardige plaat Backspace Unwind. Vijf jaar na ‘5’ brengt Butler Records het album opnieuw uit, aangevuld met vier onuitgebrachte nummers.

Het voornaamste verschil met het vorige album was dat op ‘5’ de stem van Louise Rhodes nog meer op de voorgrond kwam. De zang was warmer en minder tegendraads (toegankelijker dus) dan voorheen. Het album kreeg overal goede kritieken. Uitschieters waren Back to beginning met Damian Rice of het warme en ingetogen Rounds, alsook de elektronische tracks zoals Butterfly Effect en Another Language. Grote hits staan er niet op, maar Lamb-fans zitten daar ook niet op te wachten. Zij verwachten eerder mooie en eigenzinnige songs en die zijn hier wel aanwezig!

In de perstekst wordt vermeld dat de vier bonustracks het waard zijn om uitgebracht te worden. Nou ja, echte verrassingen kan je het niet noemen. Dischords, de demoversie van Rounds, de instrumentale versie van Last Night The Sky en The Spectacle (Reprise) stonden eerder al op de gelimiteerde dubbel-cd.

Laat dit alles niet aan je hart komen. Heb je dit album nog niet in huis, dan is dit je kans om deze cd alsnog aan te schaffen en de pracht ervan te (her)ontdekken. De muziek klinkt nog steeds relevant, knap en tijdloos. En die stem van Louise blijft toch wel uniek!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

28
06
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
THE MISSION
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
IAMX
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
W.H. LUNG
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
FORCED TO MODE
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
TORUL
Sinner's Day Oostende
28
06
ATMOSPHERE
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete