tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2016 : LAMB - 5

LAMB

5

MusicCD
Electro PopTrip Hop

[80/100]   

Butler Records
15/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fifteen years after the release of their debut album and after a long pause, Lamb released '5' in 2011. The album was followed by a major tour, and in 2014 Backspace Unwind came out. Five years after '5' ,Butler Records now reissues the album including four unreleased songs.

The main difference with the previous album is that the voice of Louise Rhodes is more prominent on "5". The songs are warmer and in some way more accessible than before. The album received good reviews everywhere. Outstanding tracks are Back To Beginning with Damian Rice, the warm and subdued Rounds, as well as the electronic tracks like Butterfly Effect and Another Language. You won’t find big hits here, but Lamb fans won't mind! They expect beautiful and quirky songs, and those are included!

The press release says that the four bonus tracks are worth to be released. Well, you really can’t say they’re real surprises. Dischords, the demo version of Rounds, the instrumental version of Last Night The Sky and The Spectacle (Reprise) already were available on the limited double CD.

Don’t be upset by all this. In case you don’t have this album in your collection, this is your ultimate chance to buy it and to (re)discover its splendour. The music is still relevant, excellent and timeless. And what an unique voice Louise has!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2016


NL

Vijftien jaar na de release van hun debuutalbum en na een lange pauze bracht Lamb in 2011 ‘5’ uit. Die werd gevolgd door een grote tournee en in 2014 verscheen de aardige plaat Backspace Unwind. Vijf jaar na ‘5’ brengt Butler Records het album opnieuw uit, aangevuld met vier onuitgebrachte nummers.

Het voornaamste verschil met het vorige album was dat op ‘5’ de stem van Louise Rhodes nog meer op de voorgrond kwam. De zang was warmer en minder tegendraads (toegankelijker dus) dan voorheen. Het album kreeg overal goede kritieken. Uitschieters waren Back to beginning met Damian Rice of het warme en ingetogen Rounds, alsook de elektronische tracks zoals Butterfly Effect en Another Language. Grote hits staan er niet op, maar Lamb-fans zitten daar ook niet op te wachten. Zij verwachten eerder mooie en eigenzinnige songs en die zijn hier wel aanwezig!

In de perstekst wordt vermeld dat de vier bonustracks het waard zijn om uitgebracht te worden. Nou ja, echte verrassingen kan je het niet noemen. Dischords, de demoversie van Rounds, de instrumentale versie van Last Night The Sky en The Spectacle (Reprise) stonden eerder al op de gelimiteerde dubbel-cd.

Laat dit alles niet aan je hart komen. Heb je dit album nog niet in huis, dan is dit je kans om deze cd alsnog aan te schaffen en de pracht ervan te (her)ontdekken. De muziek klinkt nog steeds relevant, knap en tijdloos. En die stem van Louise blijft toch wel uniek!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2016


Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
02
Peek-a-Boo founder Ward De Prins has passed away...
18
02
Darkness On Demand (Ex-Dance Or Die) release new video, EP and album!
18
02
Today, exactly 15 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

19
02
THE SOFT MOON
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
19
02
SARIN
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
PUNISH YOURSELF
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
SPANKRAGHT
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
18
02
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado