tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/01/2016 : LAMB - 5

LAMB

5

MusicCD
Electro PopTrip Hop

[80/100]   

Butler Records
15/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fifteen years after the release of their debut album and after a long pause, Lamb released '5' in 2011. The album was followed by a major tour, and in 2014 Backspace Unwind came out. Five years after '5' ,Butler Records now reissues the album including four unreleased songs.

The main difference with the previous album is that the voice of Louise Rhodes is more prominent on "5". The songs are warmer and in some way more accessible than before. The album received good reviews everywhere. Outstanding tracks are Back To Beginning with Damian Rice, the warm and subdued Rounds, as well as the electronic tracks like Butterfly Effect and Another Language. You won’t find big hits here, but Lamb fans won't mind! They expect beautiful and quirky songs, and those are included!

The press release says that the four bonus tracks are worth to be released. Well, you really can’t say they’re real surprises. Dischords, the demo version of Rounds, the instrumental version of Last Night The Sky and The Spectacle (Reprise) already were available on the limited double CD.

Don’t be upset by all this. In case you don’t have this album in your collection, this is your ultimate chance to buy it and to (re)discover its splendour. The music is still relevant, excellent and timeless. And what an unique voice Louise has!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2016


NL

Vijftien jaar na de release van hun debuutalbum en na een lange pauze bracht Lamb in 2011 ‘5’ uit. Die werd gevolgd door een grote tournee en in 2014 verscheen de aardige plaat Backspace Unwind. Vijf jaar na ‘5’ brengt Butler Records het album opnieuw uit, aangevuld met vier onuitgebrachte nummers.

Het voornaamste verschil met het vorige album was dat op ‘5’ de stem van Louise Rhodes nog meer op de voorgrond kwam. De zang was warmer en minder tegendraads (toegankelijker dus) dan voorheen. Het album kreeg overal goede kritieken. Uitschieters waren Back to beginning met Damian Rice of het warme en ingetogen Rounds, alsook de elektronische tracks zoals Butterfly Effect en Another Language. Grote hits staan er niet op, maar Lamb-fans zitten daar ook niet op te wachten. Zij verwachten eerder mooie en eigenzinnige songs en die zijn hier wel aanwezig!

In de perstekst wordt vermeld dat de vier bonustracks het waard zijn om uitgebracht te worden. Nou ja, echte verrassingen kan je het niet noemen. Dischords, de demoversie van Rounds, de instrumentale versie van Last Night The Sky en The Spectacle (Reprise) stonden eerder al op de gelimiteerde dubbel-cd.

Laat dit alles niet aan je hart komen. Heb je dit album nog niet in huis, dan is dit je kans om deze cd alsnog aan te schaffen en de pracht ervan te (her)ontdekken. De muziek klinkt nog steeds relevant, knap en tijdloos. En die stem van Louise blijft toch wel uniek!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/01/2016


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline