tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/01/2016 : AROMA DI AMORE - Zin

AROMA DI AMORE

Zin

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[85/100]   

Starman Records
13/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Note: Aroma Di Amore is one of the most important Belgian post-punk bands. One of its trademarks is the use of razor sharp lyrics, and in some way the band is comparable to their country mates of Arbeid Adelt!

The following words are almost the same as those we used when we reviewed Slik by Arbeid Adelt! some months ago. The 80s are back. And no, for once we are not referring to the great music, but we’re talking about the anxiety, the fear that the earth can explode within seconds. During the 80s, Elvis Peeters, Fred Angst and Lo Meulen were (and still are!) the mouthpiece of the socially critical Fleming in the style of Marcel Vanthilt’s band. And to expand the comparison: just like Arbeid Adelt!, Aroma Di Amore is back. And how!

The danceable (and sublime) digital single De Nacht En Het Kwaad already revealed it a bit: Zin is post-punk at its best! The band was assisted by Geert Waegeman, Luc Van Lieshout, Barbara Sarmentero and Judith Van Eeckhout. After hearing the new album, you almost get the impression that the band reinvented itself.

There are twelve tracks on the new CD, and on each of them Aroma Di Amore shows the stupidity of mankind. All actual elements are covered that make Mother Earth not always such a perfect planet. Weg sounds like an alarm signal. "They know how they’ll find me, they are not always friends", Elvis Peeters sings (in Dutch). It is the start of a black, almost cynical album. Kwaad Bericht just lasts two minutes and it sounds like the early days of Wire, pure post-punk!

Het Andere Meisje has an eerie atmosphere. It is one of the most poignant (yet punky) songs Aroma Di Amore ever composed. It’s a shame to say it in 2016, but Dansen Op De Korte Golf is a song about radioactivity, and it sounds more topical than ever before.

"God is my prophet. He tells what I forget", Elvis sings in Mijn Profeet. It is an indictment of the importance of religion. T-shirt is a protest song against child labor in the textile industry. The drums are like lashes and Elvis's voice feels like a slowly penetrating deadly poison.

Leef Mij Uit is a punk song with great fuzz guitars that sound like The Birthday Party. Post-punk can be mystic, and that’s demonstrated in Jouw Masker. The album closes with Smalle Blinde God, the track makes you silent.

Zin is a hard (in all its senses), but fantastic album! What a comeback!

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


NL

Bijna dezelfde woorden gebruikten toen we Slik van Arbeid Adelt! bespraken, want de jaren 80 zijn terug. Neen, we hebben het nu eventjes niet over de heerlijke muziek, wel over het angstgevoel, de vrees dat de aardbol iedere seconde kan exploderen. En tja, net zoals de band van Marcel Vanthilt dat destijds was, waren ook Elvis Peeters, Fred Angst en Lo Meulen in de jaren 80 de spreekbuis van de maatschappijkritische Vlaming, ook al lijkt die nu soms dood. En om de vergelijking met Arbeid Adelt! helemaal compleet te maken: ook Aroma Di Amore is terug, en hoe!

De dansbare (en sublieme) digitale single De Nacht En Het Kwaad liet het al vermoeden en Zin is postpunk van het allerhoogste kaliber. Zelden klonken de drie (geholpen door Geert Waegeman, Luc Van Lieshout, Barbara Sarmentero en Judith Van Eeckhout) zo fris, en na het beluisteren van de nieuwe plaat krijg je bijna de indruk dat de band zichzelf heeft heruitgevonden.

Er staan twaalf tracks op de nieuweling en in elke compositie wijst Aroma Di Amore de mensheid op zijn domheid. Zowat alle actuele elementen die ervoor zorgen dat deze aardbol niet altijd zo’n leuke planeet is, komen op de nieuwe cd aan bod. Weg klinkt als een alarmsignaal. “Ze weten mij te vinden, het zijn niet altijd vrienden”, zingt Elvis Peeters. Daarmee is meteen de toon gezet voor een zwarte, bijna cynische plaat. Kwaad Bericht duurt amper twee minuten en de song lijkt wat op de begindagen van Wire, pure postpunk dus!

Het Andere Meisje heeft een angstaanjagende sfeer. Het is zonder twijfel één van de meest aangrijpende (maar tegelijkertijd ook punky) nummers die Aroma Di Amore ooit componeerde. We zouden er ons anno 2016 voor moeten schamen, maar Dansen Op de Korte Golf (een nummer over radioactiviteit) klinkt actueler dan ooit.

God is mijn profeet. Hij vertelt wat ik vergeet”, zingt Elvis op Mijn Profeet. Het is een aanklacht tegen het belang van de religie in een wereld die het nog nauwelijks waard is om moeder aarde te worden genoemd. T-shirt is een prangende protestsong tegen de kinderarbeid in de textielindustrie. De drums lijken bijna zweepslagen en de stem van Elvis voelt aan als een langzaam doordringend dodelijke gif.

Leef Mij Uit is een punknummer met heerlijke fuzzgitaren die klinken als The Birthday Party. Dat postpunk ook mystiek kan zijn, wordt mooi bewezen in Jouw Masker. Het album wordt afgesloten met Smalle Blinde God, je wordt er bijna stil van.

Zin is een harde (in alle betekenissen van het woord), maar fantastische plaat! Wat een terugkeer!

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


 

Next reviews
ANVIL FX • Prova De Biologia
DIE FORM MUSIQUE CONCRETE • Cinema Obscura
ATMOSPHERES • The Departure
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Dissociative Identity
SIEVEHEAD • Into the Blue
DAVID BOWIE • DAVID BOWIE WAS
DAVID BOWIE • David Bowie Is (Groningen, Groninger Museum, Until/tot 13.3.2016)
ADVANCED ART • Archive
PHILIP GLASS • Words Without Music/Woorden Zonder Muziek
DAVID BOWIE • The Unfolding Mystery? | A Fan Speaks...

 

Other reviews from AROMA DI AMORE
AROMA DI AMORE • Samizdat

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire