tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/01/2016 : AROMA DI AMORE - Zin

AROMA DI AMORE

Zin

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[85/100]   

Starman Records
13/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Note: Aroma Di Amore is one of the most important Belgian post-punk bands. One of its trademarks is the use of razor sharp lyrics, and in some way the band is comparable to their country mates of Arbeid Adelt!

The following words are almost the same as those we used when we reviewed Slik by Arbeid Adelt! some months ago. The 80s are back. And no, for once we are not referring to the great music, but we’re talking about the anxiety, the fear that the earth can explode within seconds. During the 80s, Elvis Peeters, Fred Angst and Lo Meulen were (and still are!) the mouthpiece of the socially critical Fleming in the style of Marcel Vanthilt’s band. And to expand the comparison: just like Arbeid Adelt!, Aroma Di Amore is back. And how!

The danceable (and sublime) digital single De Nacht En Het Kwaad already revealed it a bit: Zin is post-punk at its best! The band was assisted by Geert Waegeman, Luc Van Lieshout, Barbara Sarmentero and Judith Van Eeckhout. After hearing the new album, you almost get the impression that the band reinvented itself.

There are twelve tracks on the new CD, and on each of them Aroma Di Amore shows the stupidity of mankind. All actual elements are covered that make Mother Earth not always such a perfect planet. Weg sounds like an alarm signal. "They know how they’ll find me, they are not always friends", Elvis Peeters sings (in Dutch). It is the start of a black, almost cynical album. Kwaad Bericht just lasts two minutes and it sounds like the early days of Wire, pure post-punk!

Het Andere Meisje has an eerie atmosphere. It is one of the most poignant (yet punky) songs Aroma Di Amore ever composed. It’s a shame to say it in 2016, but Dansen Op De Korte Golf is a song about radioactivity, and it sounds more topical than ever before.

"God is my prophet. He tells what I forget", Elvis sings in Mijn Profeet. It is an indictment of the importance of religion. T-shirt is a protest song against child labor in the textile industry. The drums are like lashes and Elvis's voice feels like a slowly penetrating deadly poison.

Leef Mij Uit is a punk song with great fuzz guitars that sound like The Birthday Party. Post-punk can be mystic, and that’s demonstrated in Jouw Masker. The album closes with Smalle Blinde God, the track makes you silent.

Zin is a hard (in all its senses), but fantastic album! What a comeback!

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


NL

Bijna dezelfde woorden gebruikten toen we Slik van Arbeid Adelt! bespraken, want de jaren 80 zijn terug. Neen, we hebben het nu eventjes niet over de heerlijke muziek, wel over het angstgevoel, de vrees dat de aardbol iedere seconde kan exploderen. En tja, net zoals de band van Marcel Vanthilt dat destijds was, waren ook Elvis Peeters, Fred Angst en Lo Meulen in de jaren 80 de spreekbuis van de maatschappijkritische Vlaming, ook al lijkt die nu soms dood. En om de vergelijking met Arbeid Adelt! helemaal compleet te maken: ook Aroma Di Amore is terug, en hoe!

De dansbare (en sublieme) digitale single De Nacht En Het Kwaad liet het al vermoeden en Zin is postpunk van het allerhoogste kaliber. Zelden klonken de drie (geholpen door Geert Waegeman, Luc Van Lieshout, Barbara Sarmentero en Judith Van Eeckhout) zo fris, en na het beluisteren van de nieuwe plaat krijg je bijna de indruk dat de band zichzelf heeft heruitgevonden.

Er staan twaalf tracks op de nieuweling en in elke compositie wijst Aroma Di Amore de mensheid op zijn domheid. Zowat alle actuele elementen die ervoor zorgen dat deze aardbol niet altijd zo’n leuke planeet is, komen op de nieuwe cd aan bod. Weg klinkt als een alarmsignaal. “Ze weten mij te vinden, het zijn niet altijd vrienden”, zingt Elvis Peeters. Daarmee is meteen de toon gezet voor een zwarte, bijna cynische plaat. Kwaad Bericht duurt amper twee minuten en de song lijkt wat op de begindagen van Wire, pure postpunk dus!

Het Andere Meisje heeft een angstaanjagende sfeer. Het is zonder twijfel één van de meest aangrijpende (maar tegelijkertijd ook punky) nummers die Aroma Di Amore ooit componeerde. We zouden er ons anno 2016 voor moeten schamen, maar Dansen Op de Korte Golf (een nummer over radioactiviteit) klinkt actueler dan ooit.

God is mijn profeet. Hij vertelt wat ik vergeet”, zingt Elvis op Mijn Profeet. Het is een aanklacht tegen het belang van de religie in een wereld die het nog nauwelijks waard is om moeder aarde te worden genoemd. T-shirt is een prangende protestsong tegen de kinderarbeid in de textielindustrie. De drums lijken bijna zweepslagen en de stem van Elvis voelt aan als een langzaam doordringend dodelijke gif.

Leef Mij Uit is een punknummer met heerlijke fuzzgitaren die klinken als The Birthday Party. Dat postpunk ook mystiek kan zijn, wordt mooi bewezen in Jouw Masker. Het album wordt afgesloten met Smalle Blinde God, je wordt er bijna stil van.

Zin is een harde (in alle betekenissen van het woord), maar fantastische plaat! Wat een terugkeer!

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


 

Next reviews
ANVIL FX • Prova De Biologia
DIE FORM MUSIQUE CONCRETE • Cinema Obscura
ATMOSPHERES • The Departure
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Dissociative Identity
SIEVEHEAD • Into the Blue
DAVID BOWIE • DAVID BOWIE WAS
DAVID BOWIE • David Bowie Is (Groningen, Groninger Museum, Until/tot 13.3.2016)
ADVANCED ART • Archive
PHILIP GLASS • Words Without Music/Woorden Zonder Muziek
DAVID BOWIE • The Unfolding Mystery? | A Fan Speaks...

 

Other reviews from AROMA DI AMORE
AROMA DI AMORE • Samizdat

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
THE ASSOCIATES • Sulk

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself