tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/01/2016 : AROMA DI AMORE - Zin

AROMA DI AMORE

Zin

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[85/100]   

Starman Records
13/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Note: Aroma Di Amore is one of the most important Belgian post-punk bands. One of its trademarks is the use of razor sharp lyrics, and in some way the band is comparable to their country mates of Arbeid Adelt!

The following words are almost the same as those we used when we reviewed Slik by Arbeid Adelt! some months ago. The 80s are back. And no, for once we are not referring to the great music, but we’re talking about the anxiety, the fear that the earth can explode within seconds. During the 80s, Elvis Peeters, Fred Angst and Lo Meulen were (and still are!) the mouthpiece of the socially critical Fleming in the style of Marcel Vanthilt’s band. And to expand the comparison: just like Arbeid Adelt!, Aroma Di Amore is back. And how!

The danceable (and sublime) digital single De Nacht En Het Kwaad already revealed it a bit: Zin is post-punk at its best! The band was assisted by Geert Waegeman, Luc Van Lieshout, Barbara Sarmentero and Judith Van Eeckhout. After hearing the new album, you almost get the impression that the band reinvented itself.

There are twelve tracks on the new CD, and on each of them Aroma Di Amore shows the stupidity of mankind. All actual elements are covered that make Mother Earth not always such a perfect planet. Weg sounds like an alarm signal. "They know how they’ll find me, they are not always friends", Elvis Peeters sings (in Dutch). It is the start of a black, almost cynical album. Kwaad Bericht just lasts two minutes and it sounds like the early days of Wire, pure post-punk!

Het Andere Meisje has an eerie atmosphere. It is one of the most poignant (yet punky) songs Aroma Di Amore ever composed. It’s a shame to say it in 2016, but Dansen Op De Korte Golf is a song about radioactivity, and it sounds more topical than ever before.

"God is my prophet. He tells what I forget", Elvis sings in Mijn Profeet. It is an indictment of the importance of religion. T-shirt is a protest song against child labor in the textile industry. The drums are like lashes and Elvis's voice feels like a slowly penetrating deadly poison.

Leef Mij Uit is a punk song with great fuzz guitars that sound like The Birthday Party. Post-punk can be mystic, and that’s demonstrated in Jouw Masker. The album closes with Smalle Blinde God, the track makes you silent.

Zin is a hard (in all its senses), but fantastic album! What a comeback!

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


NL

Bijna dezelfde woorden gebruikten toen we Slik van Arbeid Adelt! bespraken, want de jaren 80 zijn terug. Neen, we hebben het nu eventjes niet over de heerlijke muziek, wel over het angstgevoel, de vrees dat de aardbol iedere seconde kan exploderen. En tja, net zoals de band van Marcel Vanthilt dat destijds was, waren ook Elvis Peeters, Fred Angst en Lo Meulen in de jaren 80 de spreekbuis van de maatschappijkritische Vlaming, ook al lijkt die nu soms dood. En om de vergelijking met Arbeid Adelt! helemaal compleet te maken: ook Aroma Di Amore is terug, en hoe!

De dansbare (en sublieme) digitale single De Nacht En Het Kwaad liet het al vermoeden en Zin is postpunk van het allerhoogste kaliber. Zelden klonken de drie (geholpen door Geert Waegeman, Luc Van Lieshout, Barbara Sarmentero en Judith Van Eeckhout) zo fris, en na het beluisteren van de nieuwe plaat krijg je bijna de indruk dat de band zichzelf heeft heruitgevonden.

Er staan twaalf tracks op de nieuweling en in elke compositie wijst Aroma Di Amore de mensheid op zijn domheid. Zowat alle actuele elementen die ervoor zorgen dat deze aardbol niet altijd zo’n leuke planeet is, komen op de nieuwe cd aan bod. Weg klinkt als een alarmsignaal. “Ze weten mij te vinden, het zijn niet altijd vrienden”, zingt Elvis Peeters. Daarmee is meteen de toon gezet voor een zwarte, bijna cynische plaat. Kwaad Bericht duurt amper twee minuten en de song lijkt wat op de begindagen van Wire, pure postpunk dus!

Het Andere Meisje heeft een angstaanjagende sfeer. Het is zonder twijfel één van de meest aangrijpende (maar tegelijkertijd ook punky) nummers die Aroma Di Amore ooit componeerde. We zouden er ons anno 2016 voor moeten schamen, maar Dansen Op de Korte Golf (een nummer over radioactiviteit) klinkt actueler dan ooit.

God is mijn profeet. Hij vertelt wat ik vergeet”, zingt Elvis op Mijn Profeet. Het is een aanklacht tegen het belang van de religie in een wereld die het nog nauwelijks waard is om moeder aarde te worden genoemd. T-shirt is een prangende protestsong tegen de kinderarbeid in de textielindustrie. De drums lijken bijna zweepslagen en de stem van Elvis voelt aan als een langzaam doordringend dodelijke gif.

Leef Mij Uit is een punknummer met heerlijke fuzzgitaren die klinken als The Birthday Party. Dat postpunk ook mystiek kan zijn, wordt mooi bewezen in Jouw Masker. Het album wordt afgesloten met Smalle Blinde God, je wordt er bijna stil van.

Zin is een harde (in alle betekenissen van het woord), maar fantastische plaat! Wat een terugkeer!

Didier BECU
13/01/2016


 

Next reviews
ANVIL FX • Prova De Biologia
DIE FORM MUSIQUE CONCRETE • Cinema Obscura
ATMOSPHERES • The Departure
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Dissociative Identity
SIEVEHEAD • Into the Blue
DAVID BOWIE • DAVID BOWIE WAS
DAVID BOWIE • David Bowie Is (Groningen, Groninger Museum, Until/tot 13.3.2016)
ADVANCED ART • Archive
PHILIP GLASS • Words Without Music/Woorden Zonder Muziek
DAVID BOWIE • The Unfolding Mystery? | A Fan Speaks...

 

Other reviews from AROMA DI AMORE
AROMA DI AMORE • Samizdat

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict

Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela