tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure

ATMOSPHERES

The Departure

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[88/100]   

Self-released
12/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fans of prog rock probably are familiar with bands like Oceansize, Naive and Palms. Just like those bands, Atmospheres creates the same type of atmospheric post-rock/prog-rock. In 2012 this Belgian band started as a one man project, but these days it is a four-piece band. The music contains fascinating and complex arrangements,characterized by crunchy guitars, melodic sound blankets and synths that give it some extra atmosphere.

The album sounds cosmic. That’s anything but surprising, if you know the themes. A good example is The Farthest Star. In the middle of the song youl notice synths that create a cosmic atmosphere. The vocals are emotional, there’s a nice bass and both the drums and guitar do their duty. The Void is more ambient.

Into Orbit starts with echoing guitar sounds that actually could be played by The Edge, the rest of the song is prog-rock with breaking rhythms and a punchy bass. The album contains ten tracks that take you on an exciting space trip.

You probably noticed that we are reviewing a release of very high quality. Everything is put together in an almost genius way, but it never is difficult. The Departure is an exciting album that is addictive. Give it a chance, but don’t complain afterwards if you keep on listening to it, as you’ve been warned.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2016


NL

Liefhebbers van progrock zullen wellicht bands als Oceansize, Naive en Palms kennen. Net zoals zij, maakt ook Atmospheres sfeerrijke postrock/progrock. In 2012 startte deze Belgische band als een eenmansproject, maar hij is sinds een tijdje uitgegroeid tot een vierkoppige band. De muziek bevat boeiende en complexe arrangementen die worden gekenmerkt door crunchy gitaren, melodieuze geluidsdekens en synths die voor wat extra sfeer zorgen.

Het album klinkt kosmisch en als je de thema’s kent, is dat allesbehalve verwonderlijk. Een mooi voorbeeld is The Farthest Star waarin halverwege het nummer de synths voor een kosmisch gevoel zorgen. Voorts horen we een emotionele zang, een leuke bas, alsook een drum en een gitaar die hun plicht vervullen. The Void gaat in de richting van ambient uit.

Into Orbit start met galmende gitaarklanken die eigenlijk uit het instrument van The Edge konden komen. Daarna krijgen we nog wat progrock met brekende ritmes en een vette bas. Tien tracks die je op een boeiende ruimtetrip meenemen.

Je zal waarschijnlijk al hebben gemerkt dat we over een release van zeer hoog niveau schrijven. Alles zit vernuftig in elkaar zonder dat het te moeilijk wordt om te volgen. The Departure is dan ook een boeiend album met veel zin voor detail, dat enorm verslavend werkt. Een kans geven zou ik zeggen, maar kom achteraf niet klagen dat je er blijft naar luisteren. Je was gewaarschuwd.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2016


12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure 12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)