tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure

ATMOSPHERES

The Departure

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[88/100]   

Self-released
12/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fans of prog rock probably are familiar with bands like Oceansize, Naive and Palms. Just like those bands, Atmospheres creates the same type of atmospheric post-rock/prog-rock. In 2012 this Belgian band started as a one man project, but these days it is a four-piece band. The music contains fascinating and complex arrangements,characterized by crunchy guitars, melodic sound blankets and synths that give it some extra atmosphere.

The album sounds cosmic. That’s anything but surprising, if you know the themes. A good example is The Farthest Star. In the middle of the song youl notice synths that create a cosmic atmosphere. The vocals are emotional, there’s a nice bass and both the drums and guitar do their duty. The Void is more ambient.

Into Orbit starts with echoing guitar sounds that actually could be played by The Edge, the rest of the song is prog-rock with breaking rhythms and a punchy bass. The album contains ten tracks that take you on an exciting space trip.

You probably noticed that we are reviewing a release of very high quality. Everything is put together in an almost genius way, but it never is difficult. The Departure is an exciting album that is addictive. Give it a chance, but don’t complain afterwards if you keep on listening to it, as you’ve been warned.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2016


NL

Liefhebbers van progrock zullen wellicht bands als Oceansize, Naive en Palms kennen. Net zoals zij, maakt ook Atmospheres sfeerrijke postrock/progrock. In 2012 startte deze Belgische band als een eenmansproject, maar hij is sinds een tijdje uitgegroeid tot een vierkoppige band. De muziek bevat boeiende en complexe arrangementen die worden gekenmerkt door crunchy gitaren, melodieuze geluidsdekens en synths die voor wat extra sfeer zorgen.

Het album klinkt kosmisch en als je de thema’s kent, is dat allesbehalve verwonderlijk. Een mooi voorbeeld is The Farthest Star waarin halverwege het nummer de synths voor een kosmisch gevoel zorgen. Voorts horen we een emotionele zang, een leuke bas, alsook een drum en een gitaar die hun plicht vervullen. The Void gaat in de richting van ambient uit.

Into Orbit start met galmende gitaarklanken die eigenlijk uit het instrument van The Edge konden komen. Daarna krijgen we nog wat progrock met brekende ritmes en een vette bas. Tien tracks die je op een boeiende ruimtetrip meenemen.

Je zal waarschijnlijk al hebben gemerkt dat we over een release van zeer hoog niveau schrijven. Alles zit vernuftig in elkaar zonder dat het te moeilijk wordt om te volgen. The Departure is dan ook een boeiend album met veel zin voor detail, dat enorm verslavend werkt. Een kans geven zou ik zeggen, maar kom achteraf niet klagen dat je er blijft naar luisteren. Je was gewaarschuwd.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2016


12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure 12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 42 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
41 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 41 years ago!
26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
11
WHISPERING SONS
The most beautiful Rock Rally-moment ever....
26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask