tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure

ATMOSPHERES

The Departure

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[88/100]   

Self-released
12/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fans of prog rock probably are familiar with bands like Oceansize, Naive and Palms. Just like those bands, Atmospheres creates the same type of atmospheric post-rock/prog-rock. In 2012 this Belgian band started as a one man project, but these days it is a four-piece band. The music contains fascinating and complex arrangements,characterized by crunchy guitars, melodic sound blankets and synths that give it some extra atmosphere.

The album sounds cosmic. That’s anything but surprising, if you know the themes. A good example is The Farthest Star. In the middle of the song youl notice synths that create a cosmic atmosphere. The vocals are emotional, there’s a nice bass and both the drums and guitar do their duty. The Void is more ambient.

Into Orbit starts with echoing guitar sounds that actually could be played by The Edge, the rest of the song is prog-rock with breaking rhythms and a punchy bass. The album contains ten tracks that take you on an exciting space trip.

You probably noticed that we are reviewing a release of very high quality. Everything is put together in an almost genius way, but it never is difficult. The Departure is an exciting album that is addictive. Give it a chance, but don’t complain afterwards if you keep on listening to it, as you’ve been warned.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2016


NL

Liefhebbers van progrock zullen wellicht bands als Oceansize, Naive en Palms kennen. Net zoals zij, maakt ook Atmospheres sfeerrijke postrock/progrock. In 2012 startte deze Belgische band als een eenmansproject, maar hij is sinds een tijdje uitgegroeid tot een vierkoppige band. De muziek bevat boeiende en complexe arrangementen die worden gekenmerkt door crunchy gitaren, melodieuze geluidsdekens en synths die voor wat extra sfeer zorgen.

Het album klinkt kosmisch en als je de thema’s kent, is dat allesbehalve verwonderlijk. Een mooi voorbeeld is The Farthest Star waarin halverwege het nummer de synths voor een kosmisch gevoel zorgen. Voorts horen we een emotionele zang, een leuke bas, alsook een drum en een gitaar die hun plicht vervullen. The Void gaat in de richting van ambient uit.

Into Orbit start met galmende gitaarklanken die eigenlijk uit het instrument van The Edge konden komen. Daarna krijgen we nog wat progrock met brekende ritmes en een vette bas. Tien tracks die je op een boeiende ruimtetrip meenemen.

Je zal waarschijnlijk al hebben gemerkt dat we over een release van zeer hoog niveau schrijven. Alles zit vernuftig in elkaar zonder dat het te moeilijk wordt om te volgen. The Departure is dan ook een boeiend album met veel zin voor detail, dat enorm verslavend werkt. Een kans geven zou ik zeggen, maar kom achteraf niet klagen dat je er blijft naar luisteren. Je was gewaarschuwd.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2016


12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure 12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls