tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure

ATMOSPHERES

The Departure

MusicCD
Prog Rock

[88/100]   

Self-released
12/01/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Fans of prog rock probably are familiar with bands like Oceansize, Naive and Palms. Just like those bands, Atmospheres creates the same type of atmospheric post-rock/prog-rock. In 2012 this Belgian band started as a one man project, but these days it is a four-piece band. The music contains fascinating and complex arrangements,characterized by crunchy guitars, melodic sound blankets and synths that give it some extra atmosphere.

The album sounds cosmic. That’s anything but surprising, if you know the themes. A good example is The Farthest Star. In the middle of the song youl notice synths that create a cosmic atmosphere. The vocals are emotional, there’s a nice bass and both the drums and guitar do their duty. The Void is more ambient.

Into Orbit starts with echoing guitar sounds that actually could be played by The Edge, the rest of the song is prog-rock with breaking rhythms and a punchy bass. The album contains ten tracks that take you on an exciting space trip.

You probably noticed that we are reviewing a release of very high quality. Everything is put together in an almost genius way, but it never is difficult. The Departure is an exciting album that is addictive. Give it a chance, but don’t complain afterwards if you keep on listening to it, as you’ve been warned.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2016


NL

Liefhebbers van progrock zullen wellicht bands als Oceansize, Naive en Palms kennen. Net zoals zij, maakt ook Atmospheres sfeerrijke postrock/progrock. In 2012 startte deze Belgische band als een eenmansproject, maar hij is sinds een tijdje uitgegroeid tot een vierkoppige band. De muziek bevat boeiende en complexe arrangementen die worden gekenmerkt door crunchy gitaren, melodieuze geluidsdekens en synths die voor wat extra sfeer zorgen.

Het album klinkt kosmisch en als je de thema’s kent, is dat allesbehalve verwonderlijk. Een mooi voorbeeld is The Farthest Star waarin halverwege het nummer de synths voor een kosmisch gevoel zorgen. Voorts horen we een emotionele zang, een leuke bas, alsook een drum en een gitaar die hun plicht vervullen. The Void gaat in de richting van ambient uit.

Into Orbit start met galmende gitaarklanken die eigenlijk uit het instrument van The Edge konden komen. Daarna krijgen we nog wat progrock met brekende ritmes en een vette bas. Tien tracks die je op een boeiende ruimtetrip meenemen.

Je zal waarschijnlijk al hebben gemerkt dat we over een release van zeer hoog niveau schrijven. Alles zit vernuftig in elkaar zonder dat het te moeilijk wordt om te volgen. The Departure is dan ook een boeiend album met veel zin voor detail, dat enorm verslavend werkt. Een kans geven zou ik zeggen, maar kom achteraf niet klagen dat je er blijft naar luisteren. Je was gewaarschuwd.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2016


12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure 12/01/2016 : ATMOSPHERES - The Departure

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
02
MIREXXX
Nine angles
19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession